User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 37 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 37
  2. Negative: 7 out of 37

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 20, 2018
    10
    Larry is back: the real oldschool Larry with fun puzzles and nice 2D graphics. Recommended for retro-fans like me.
  2. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    This newest additiion to the Larry series is great. IT finally goes back to the roots and delivers a charming and funny game.
    It's hard not to laugh with all the subtle and more often not so subtle hints to existing persons, companys, apps
    Everyone who likes point and click adventures should be playing this. It's not like humor filled ones are abundant these days.
  3. Fuz
    Nov 12, 2018
    3
    - Looks like a flash game
    - That's not Larry
    - No Al Lowe
    - Bad writing and joke that try to monkey the original but don't come even close

    = trash
  4. Nov 8, 2018
    10
    So far I love it. It's funny, challenging and it feels exactly like playing the old games outside of some modern gameplay improvements (ie: fast travel, better controls, graphics, etc) which are a welcome improvement. Easily my favorite one.
  5. Nov 7, 2018
    9
    And here we have Larry again. Wet dreams don't dry and wet brands are milked forever. Let's get this straight - it's a rip-off. But who cares if it's great? I love it, I've just played 7th and to be honest, this one makes me laugh louder (I don't laugh to a computer, I'm not some kind of a weirdo, let's say I've just smiled). Great job, 2/10. I got you! I don't like a few puns and theAnd here we have Larry again. Wet dreams don't dry and wet brands are milked forever. Let's get this straight - it's a rip-off. But who cares if it's great? I love it, I've just played 7th and to be honest, this one makes me laugh louder (I don't laugh to a computer, I'm not some kind of a weirdo, let's say I've just smiled). Great job, 2/10. I got you! I don't like a few puns and the humour is from recent times which isn't a minus, but I just miss the old times like a grandpa or something. I have a great time but I can't rate it 10 because it's Larry and he is a legend. You can't rate 10/10 on a rip-off ok? But it's awesome to feel like a child again. (I definitely didn't play Larry when I was a kid ok? Definitely.) Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2018
    8
    Rather positively surprised about the game. Don’t trust the negative user scores, especially the guy with the 3 point negative. I know for a fact from an adventure game forum that he didn’t even play the game. Regrettably I had posted about the release and he immediately rejected it without playing a single second (apparently just by looking at screenshots and a trailer he "knows" thatRather positively surprised about the game. Don’t trust the negative user scores, especially the guy with the 3 point negative. I know for a fact from an adventure game forum that he didn’t even play the game. Regrettably I had posted about the release and he immediately rejected it without playing a single second (apparently just by looking at screenshots and a trailer he "knows" that this game is "wrong from head to toe"). That his "review" is the most liked here really says a lot about the intelligence and niveau of a lot of Metacritic users ...

    It’s also pretty suspicious that - apart from Fuz’ fake review - none of the negatives are able to back up their score with any reasons - A few accounts just have voted the game and most positive reviews down with very little effort. Before this it had 7.5 user score - similar to the critic’s average. Make of that what you will ... The game‘s certainly no masterpiece but just giving a terrible score from screenshots or because it doesn‘t have pixel graphics like LSL from the 80‘s is a crappy thing to do.

    Anyway, didn‘t expect too much when I first heard of it but in the end LSL: Wet Dreams Don‘t Dry has become a very decent classic Point’n’click adventure with a neatly balanced puzzle difficulty, quirky characters and for the most part a funny story.

    I also liked the in-game time jump from 1987 to 2018 which has resulted in the game being full to the brim with witty references to our modern social media culture but also plenty of nods to the older LSL games (eg it‘s possible to die - thanks to autosave without much consequences though, there‘s a section that plays and looks similar to the first Larry game etc).

    Pros:
    - Plenty of classic (inventory-based) puzzles with usually perfectly balanced difficulty.
    - As long as you pay attention and revisit locations/NPCs help from a walkthrough should hardly ever be necessary.
    - Long playing time, especially for an adventure (~15 hours)
    - Easy, efficient controls
    - Great gameflow, you usually always know what has to be done next in order to further the story
    - Nice humor with lots of funny cultural references
    - World is full of positively weird and quirky NPCs
    - A lot of usable items, which speaks for the great variety in puzzles and quests. Of course the size of the game’s inventory can look intimidating as it blows up quickly at first. You sometimes have 20 items or more. It usually gets obvious what to use where and when though which is a very impressive feat imo considering the item count.
    - Story stays interesting up until the last chapter, as you just want to help Larry getting his "Timber" score to 90

    Cons:
    - Some errors with the English Localization. Most are just smaller spelling, grammatical errors but there are also instances where the text doesn’t match the spoken word. For example, one bouncer says Larry can only enter his club when his Timber score is at least 25. In the subtitles it says 40 though.
    - The German voice of Larry doesn’t fit at all and his lines often lack any emotion. Even though he’s the German voice of Barney Stinson of HIMYM, he didn’t do a very good job in this game and it doesn’t sound as if he felt like making a lot of effort.
    - Because of this I switched to English after a while (which is pretty rare for me with a game from a German developer). But the English speaker does a much better job, the only drawback being that his high pitched voice doesn’t fit the new taller, leaner version of Larry as much anymore. Luckily, most of the other characters are voiced fittingly and flawlessly though.
    - Even though it‘s rarely necessary as long as one pays attention to dialogue and surroundings, some people might be deterred by the lack of a hint system.
    - The humor and Larry’s sexual innuendos probably aren’t for anybody, especially today. But he’s a guy from the 80s who overslept the past 30 years after all.
    - The game loses steam at the end, especially after you reached the 90 points "Timber" score. Puzzles get very easy in the last hour or so and the conclusion of the story is rather silly and unsatisfying.

    The first cons can probably be explained by limited budget and time constraints. All in all LSL: WDDD is an above average classic Point’n’click adventure with very good production value, an amusing story and funny characters. The devs showed a great love for details and packed the game with challenging, yet still logical puzzles. For anybody who likes classic, puzzle-heavy Point’n’Click adventures - games in the vein of Monkey Island or some of the titles from Daedalic for example - this is a must buy.
    Expand
  7. Nov 13, 2018
    8
    Although sometimes the humor is less sophisticated than the original games, this new Leisure Suit Larry adventure is a return to form for the character. A thoroughly enjoyable adventure game that is full of clever puzzles and funny characters. If you are a fan of the old adventure games, give this game a go, you wont regret it. If you are a new fan... jump in both feet at a time, you'llAlthough sometimes the humor is less sophisticated than the original games, this new Leisure Suit Larry adventure is a return to form for the character. A thoroughly enjoyable adventure game that is full of clever puzzles and funny characters. If you are a fan of the old adventure games, give this game a go, you wont regret it. If you are a new fan... jump in both feet at a time, you'll have a blast. Expand
  8. Nov 12, 2018
    7
    Leisure Suite Larry: Wet Dreams don't dry is not the best point-to-click adventure I've played. But voices and jokes are well done.
    The progress while playing is however new and annoying for adventure games. You'll find far too many items that you won't be able to use until much later. In addition, at the same time you are confronted with far too many puzzles that require items that you
    Leisure Suite Larry: Wet Dreams don't dry is not the best point-to-click adventure I've played. But voices and jokes are well done.
    The progress while playing is however new and annoying for adventure games. You'll find far too many items that you won't be able to use until much later. In addition, at the same time you are confronted with far too many puzzles that require items that you can't find yet. This always leads to frustrating moments when you combine all kinds of items only to find out that you can't find the required items yet and as soon as you finally get into a new area, the required items literally fly towards you without any enjoyable effort. This way the once stubborn puzzles are mastered far too easily and without any fun in puzzling or combining.
    Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2019
    6
    The graphics and voice acting are great. The humor is on point. The atmosphere of the old Larry games is definitely here. But the decision to put illogical puzzles in the game is the biggest mistake they could have made. Completely ruins the game. Why would they choose to keep THAT part of 90's adventure gameplay? And it's even worse because the rest of the game is so well made.

    So what
    The graphics and voice acting are great. The humor is on point. The atmosphere of the old Larry games is definitely here. But the decision to put illogical puzzles in the game is the biggest mistake they could have made. Completely ruins the game. Why would they choose to keep THAT part of 90's adventure gameplay? And it's even worse because the rest of the game is so well made.

    So what you end up doing is clicking everything everywhere, trying to combine everything with everything else in case it works, eventually something works and it makes no sense at all and you just end up getting bored and frustrated cause that sht gets old quickly.

    Adventures have progressed past the illogical puzzles for decades now, and for a good reason. Why on earth would the devs want that in their game? For nostalgia reasons? To stay true to the formula? My god what a huge mistake and what a missed opportunity to bring back this legendary series. GG to whoever thought this would be a good idea, you single handed ruined the game.

    If I could use just a little bit of logic to solve the puzzles, it would be a 10/10 from me. But now I'll just watch a playthrough on Youtube because it is not fun to play with game design mistakes that the genre has put behind for over 2 decades.
    Expand
  10. Jan 28, 2019
    8
    Haiku Review: After playing this / I had to go look up if / screwnicorn was real
    Favorite Thing: Surprising, it's a sold adventure game!
    Least Favorite Thing: Suffers from my least favorite adventure game problem of "too much junk" syndrome.

    Date Completed: 2019-01-15
    Playtime: 10h
    Enjoyment: 8/10
    Recommendation: Fellow adventure game connoisseurs will find it a delight.
  11. Jan 15, 2019
    8
    Great game, a classic game with refreshing things. Logic and well done puzzles. High recomendable if you like old school games.
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 16
  2. Negative: 1 out of 16
  1. Jan 31, 2019
    70
    Leisure Suit Larry: Wet Dreams Don't Dry is a good start to a potential comeback for the series. The return to the classic point-and-click formula is appreciated, even if some of the puzzle solutions can be obscure. The humor could be much better, but some of the jokes do stick, and the presentation is decent. Franchise fans will enjoy this title if they won't miss the original creator's nuances.
  2. Dec 30, 2018
    48
    A disgustingly average game not worthy of being a Leisure Suit Larry adventure. You have to get drunk if you want to squeeze any fun out of it.
  3. Dec 6, 2018
    70
    I wasn’t wild about Leisure Suit Larry: Wet Dreams Don’t Dry. The puzzles work pretty well, and that’s the most important thing for an adventure, but the writing is sub-par, and the longer I played the game, the more I felt bad for Al Lowe, the franchise’s creator. Wet Dreams is definitely a game for adults — with a slew of references to penises, dildos, fleshlights, and more — but if you’re a part of that target demographic, and if you like adventures, then you might get enough out of the title for it to be a worthwhile purchase. Just wait for it to go on sale first.