Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 30, 2018
    100
    Stories, stories, stories. RimWorld sets you up for an ever changing game in which only your engagement remains the same, potentially for hundreds of hours. And when you’re done with the vanilla version of RimWorld, there are thousands of mods that enhance or change the game in such a way that it is all fresh again. I am in awe of RimWorld, and it deserves a Big Fat 10 out of 10.
  2. Oct 18, 2018
    100
    Rimworld is a new standard in survival/strategy sims, and has emerged from early access with grace. Now the REAL fun can begin...
  3. Oct 26, 2018
    95
    Some minor flaws turn RimWorld into a slightly flawed diamond. It is a truly unique game, one that appears every few years. I have been following RimWorld's development from the beginning, and every session with this game was superb. The same comment applies now.
  4. Nov 30, 2018
    90
    This strategy game offers survival and business simulation in one package. With the player learning from trial and error, numerous unpredictable events bring additional challenges to solve, while enriching the story at the same time.
  5. Nov 11, 2018
    85
    Successful mixture of strategy, tower defense, survival sandbox and sci-fi story generator with a guaranteed high replay value.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. It can a bit confounding at first, not to mention the ugliness of those grey boxes. But it doesn’t take long to realise that this is something special. A management game that feels like you’re in charge of people – beautiful, flawed people – instead of a handful of impersonal bots. And it’s those little people who will keep you going. [RPS Bestest Bests]
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 68
  2. Negative: 6 out of 68
  1. Oct 18, 2018
    10
    After 500+ hours with this during early access and the beta versions, this is about the best $30 I’ve ever spent. If you want a truly landmarkAfter 500+ hours with this during early access and the beta versions, this is about the best $30 I’ve ever spent. If you want a truly landmark game that can run on almost any computer and provides a nearly limitless amount of entertainment, you don't need me to tell you to pick this one up. Congrats to Tynan (the main dev) and the rest at Ludeon! Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2018
    10
    It isn't very often I find a game that comes along and takes my attention away completely. Rimworld has done that, and I have put over 500It isn't very often I find a game that comes along and takes my attention away completely. Rimworld has done that, and I have put over 500 hours into the game at this point. I still find myself coming back with new mods and new challenges.

    The Soundtrack is fantastic, Aiistair Lindsay did a great job bringing an atmospheric sound track that has gone longer than any game I've ever played without being turned off. Even Elder Scrolls games have worn on me.

    The Graphics are functional.

    A bit of frustration with the game for most players will be the interface and learning curve. You don't really tell your pawns to do things in a direct manner. Instead you set tasks, priorities, bills, and other things and allow it to auto-run. It is possible to micromanage every task, but that would get daunting quickly. It is worth running through the tutorial for the basic idea, if you get stuck there are a lot of channels on Youtube with some guidance. I will admit though the game does have some issues with conveyance.

    There is no real story for the game, instead the events, pawn interactions, and goals of your colony really dictate the story that happens for each and every time you start a new colony.

    The mods for the game aren't really something I like to count for or against a game. It isn't often a game does a good enough job with mods to make the experience change entirely. Rimworld is one of those games, the community has made a lot of interesting and game changing mods.

    Overall I strongly recommend this game to people who like city/colony simulators.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    Quite frankly a stunning game. Great credit to how easy it is to pick up and play something that becomes so engrossing and complex. I'm not aQuite frankly a stunning game. Great credit to how easy it is to pick up and play something that becomes so engrossing and complex. I'm not a huge fan of strategy mechanics but somehow I found something new here - a mix of practical decision-making with a layer of genuine choice and strategy running beneath it. For a game that is focussed on base-building and resource management, I find that the combat system that grows out of the game's simple control system is actually one of the most satisfying I've played. It's a game you play and realise that what has evolved out of your efforts is a story of lives lived that you created by accident yet find it hard to let go of. Full Review »