User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 69 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 69
  2. Negative: 6 out of 69

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 18, 2018
    10
    After 500+ hours with this during early access and the beta versions, this is about the best $30 I’ve ever spent. If you want a truly landmark game that can run on almost any computer and provides a nearly limitless amount of entertainment, you don't need me to tell you to pick this one up. Congrats to Tynan (the main dev) and the rest at Ludeon!
  2. Oct 19, 2018
    10
    It isn't very often I find a game that comes along and takes my attention away completely. Rimworld has done that, and I have put over 500 hours into the game at this point. I still find myself coming back with new mods and new challenges.

    The Soundtrack is fantastic, Aiistair Lindsay did a great job bringing an atmospheric sound track that has gone longer than any game I've ever played
    It isn't very often I find a game that comes along and takes my attention away completely. Rimworld has done that, and I have put over 500 hours into the game at this point. I still find myself coming back with new mods and new challenges.

    The Soundtrack is fantastic, Aiistair Lindsay did a great job bringing an atmospheric sound track that has gone longer than any game I've ever played without being turned off. Even Elder Scrolls games have worn on me.

    The Graphics are functional.

    A bit of frustration with the game for most players will be the interface and learning curve. You don't really tell your pawns to do things in a direct manner. Instead you set tasks, priorities, bills, and other things and allow it to auto-run. It is possible to micromanage every task, but that would get daunting quickly. It is worth running through the tutorial for the basic idea, if you get stuck there are a lot of channels on Youtube with some guidance. I will admit though the game does have some issues with conveyance.

    There is no real story for the game, instead the events, pawn interactions, and goals of your colony really dictate the story that happens for each and every time you start a new colony.

    The mods for the game aren't really something I like to count for or against a game. It isn't often a game does a good enough job with mods to make the experience change entirely. Rimworld is one of those games, the community has made a lot of interesting and game changing mods.

    Overall I strongly recommend this game to people who like city/colony simulators.
    Expand
  3. Oct 24, 2018
    10
    Quite frankly a stunning game. Great credit to how easy it is to pick up and play something that becomes so engrossing and complex. I'm not a huge fan of strategy mechanics but somehow I found something new here - a mix of practical decision-making with a layer of genuine choice and strategy running beneath it. For a game that is focussed on base-building and resource management, I findQuite frankly a stunning game. Great credit to how easy it is to pick up and play something that becomes so engrossing and complex. I'm not a huge fan of strategy mechanics but somehow I found something new here - a mix of practical decision-making with a layer of genuine choice and strategy running beneath it. For a game that is focussed on base-building and resource management, I find that the combat system that grows out of the game's simple control system is actually one of the most satisfying I've played. It's a game you play and realise that what has evolved out of your efforts is a story of lives lived that you created by accident yet find it hard to let go of. Expand
  4. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    Didn't play the early access, have the whole new fresh experience now :) Totally my game!
  5. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    I very rarely give 10s. However, over 1000 hours later, I can safely say that, for me at least, Rimworld is one of the top five games I've played in my 30 years of gaming. It is a masterpiece; a labour of love from a developer who has hit every target they set out to achieve.

    It won't be for everyone though - it is difficult to get into and can overwhelm if not prepared to give it a
    I very rarely give 10s. However, over 1000 hours later, I can safely say that, for me at least, Rimworld is one of the top five games I've played in my 30 years of gaming. It is a masterpiece; a labour of love from a developer who has hit every target they set out to achieve.

    It won't be for everyone though - it is difficult to get into and can overwhelm if not prepared to give it a chance. This is especially due to the rudimentary graphics, which can be offputting on first glance yet become endearing with time. Rimworld isn't a 'looker' in the traditional sense, but it is highly functional and visually conveys all the information you need.

    If you are looking for a 'pick up and play' experience, this won't be for you - if you are looking for a stunning strategy and real time management experience, that delivers buckets of memorable moments via a perfect, customisable procedural story generator, then this is very much for you. In a world where you can pay £60 for a six hour long game with a predictable gameplay loop, £28 for Rimworld is an absolute steal.
    Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2018
    10
    Uno de los juegos mas locos, y geniales que he jugado nunca, en mi top 5 de toda mi vida, muy muy recomendado si te gustan los juegos de estrategia, gestion dificiles, y no eres una putita grafica
  7. Nov 17, 2018
    10
    Rimworld came into my world out of nowhere. I bought the game on a whim, launched it, and a few moments later it began telling me its first story. The story of Chi:

    Chi is ugly as ****, so he saved up what he could and went for plastic surgery… That was the last thing he remembered, when he woke up below the remnants of his escape pod on an unknown distant planet - bruised, naked and
    Rimworld came into my world out of nowhere. I bought the game on a whim, launched it, and a few moments later it began telling me its first story. The story of Chi:

    Chi is ugly as ****, so he saved up what he could and went for plastic surgery…
    That was the last thing he remembered, when he woke up below the remnants of his escape pod on an unknown distant planet - bruised, naked and covered in slime. Bummer. And he was still ugly as ****. Bummer. Bummer!
    Chi doesn't give up easily, though. He is not a whimp, so he built himself a home from nothing.
    In a year he went from sleeping on the cold hard ground, picking berries and chewing on raw rat meat to having a real kitchen (with a fridge!), a comfy bed and heater to warm him during the cold winter nights.
    He even made an acquaintance, a friend (kind of). The acquaintance was an actor named Tom. Tom came screaming into Chi's life, fleeing the club wielding maniac who was close behind him. Chi and Tom somehow managed to survive the fight against the aggressor, and Tom chose to stay in Chi's crib (although he didn’t like Chi, because he really IS ugly as ****).
    Another year went by, and Chi and Tom managed to get along. This was probably because Chi is a night owl who enjoys sleeping during the day and working in the moonlight. They only crossed each other during breakfast/dinner.
    Everything was… well, not peaceful, but at least without events such as starvation, disease or violent murder… for a while.
    Until the day, they received a message, telling them that Chi's sister had somehow arrived on the same planet and was now being held captive by a group not too dissimilar to Chi and Tom.
    They gathered their best (awful) weapons and went on a journey to save the poor girl (who was also ugly as ****).
    The mission turned out to be slightly more challenging than anticipated.
    Two bandits had locked Chi's sister up in a small shed, so far, so good... but the place was defended by gun turrets and bloody mortar fire!
    Chi and Tom only had a spiked club and an old six shooter, but as I said - Chi doesn't give up easily.!
    He ordered Tom to shoot at the solar panel, which provided power to the gun turrets, while Chi himself started running.
    Chi dodged whistling bullets and flying shrapnel from mortar explosions as he screamed for death and revenge.
    Somehow, he didn't die.
    Chi's sister was saved.
    Tom was blown to bits by mortar shells.
    They buried Tom next to the solar panel.
    Brother and sister went back to Chi's little hideout and lived on a little while longer…

    Rimworld is a storyteller. Rimworld is an absolutely awesome game, because Rimworld is FUN! Rimworld is ugly as ****, but somehow this makes everything exactly right. It underlines the fact that it is all about the story and the gameplay – most of all the story. Rimworld is hard and unforgiving. Rimworld is stealing my sleep. Rimworld is never leaving my hard disk…
    Expand
  8. Dec 1, 2018
    10
    The immense amount of possibilities and outcomes of this game along with its insane management and strategy, plus the hilarious yet sick amusement i got and still getting from it makes me catalogue it simply as ******* dope masterpiece. A 500mb game that runs in almost any PC, packed with more depth, quality gameplay, content, and fun than almost any of the so called finished games i haveThe immense amount of possibilities and outcomes of this game along with its insane management and strategy, plus the hilarious yet sick amusement i got and still getting from it makes me catalogue it simply as ******* dope masterpiece. A 500mb game that runs in almost any PC, packed with more depth, quality gameplay, content, and fun than almost any of the so called finished games i have seen recently, u can feel the love of the gamedevs for the project. All this and still, they have the humble audacity to call it an early access game. Well i'm glad there's still people like these guys at Ludeon. Expand
  9. Oct 31, 2018
    9
    I'll be honest. This game has taken too much of time since I purchased it. Though my playtime has been limited over the final patches due to other games taking up my time.

    That being said RImworld is still a truly amazing game. The opportunities available are staggering and sometimes downright unethical as hell but no matter what, you'll find a way to have fun. Want to live off plants
    I'll be honest. This game has taken too much of time since I purchased it. Though my playtime has been limited over the final patches due to other games taking up my time.

    That being said RImworld is still a truly amazing game. The opportunities available are staggering and sometimes downright unethical as hell but no matter what, you'll find a way to have fun. Want to live off plants alone in a vegetarian society? Sure. Want to create a medical colony that heals their allies with the organs of unfortunate raiders? Why not! The scenarios this game creates are frankly the best part of it.

    It is not a great looking game to be fair. A grey block interface, blob pawns and rather basic sprites don't seem that appealing on the surface, but it is clear the devs were putting the work into where it was needed and that is entirely the mechanics and other features. On top of the main game it has been very well optimised for mods meaning that even if you get bored of the standard gameplay there is a wide variety of community made expansions to help expand gameplay further.

    So yeah. Buy Rimworld. Its good.
    Expand
  10. Nov 20, 2018
    10
    I have ~322 hours paying this game, and I've been playing for many years in the "pre-alpha". To be perfectly honest, this never felt like an alpha game. This is an incredible, in-depth "build-your-own-story" colony simulator. The game only "released" about a month ago, but it's felt like a full-featured, rich experience for many years before releasing. There's so much to enjoy about thisI have ~322 hours paying this game, and I've been playing for many years in the "pre-alpha". To be perfectly honest, this never felt like an alpha game. This is an incredible, in-depth "build-your-own-story" colony simulator. The game only "released" about a month ago, but it's felt like a full-featured, rich experience for many years before releasing. There's so much to enjoy about this game that I struggle to find where to start.

    + Randomly generated worlds (yes, there is an entire world to explore)
    + Randomly generated maps (this is the map that you control your colonists, whether in your colony, in random encounters in the world, or even other settlements)
    + Rich colonist biographies/stats, with each attribute being important in it's own respect
    + In depth colony management system; fairly easy to navigate/understand, difficult to master!
    + Interesting colony community, colonists interact with each other in positive and negative ways. Some colonists fall in love, others form rivalries, sometimes getting in fights to the death. This leads to unparalleled role-playing and story-building, that is fresh every time you play the game.
    + Lots of difficulty options, from standard "easy, medium, hard" to different "game masters", which dictate how your game progresses.
    + Randomized events, which can have a positive or negative effect on your colony

    The only gripe I can think of with regards to this game is the fact that you can't form more than one colony at a time. I understand why though, so it's not necessarily a fault with the game. How would the game manage time progression in one colony while you're managing another colony? Not a trivial thing to manage/program.

    So if that is the only thing I can think of that is a "downside" to this game, then what we have is a pretty much flawless game. I'm not kidding when I say that. You compare this with any AAA game and you see that there has been so much care put in to developing every aspect of this game (and to be clear, I believe this game was developed by ONE GUY for most of the 5 years in pre-alpha; can you believe that?).

    I'll finish this off with a recent story from my most recent game. The colony of three was just established, and we had minimal resources and were in the process of becoming fully sustainable. Suddenly, we get a report that there is an incapacitated colonist that needs rescuing, which happens to be the father of one of the colonists, Veronika. Even though we have minimal supplies, we can't just leave him. So Veronika embarks on a journey to go save him. With just enough supplies to get there and back, she successfully reaches her father, Francis, only to find that he's unable to walk. Veronika picks Francis up and begins the journey home. About half a day into the trek, with the extra weight of carrying Francis, she notices her supplies won't last both of them. She was left with the choice, try to continue to carry her father home, with a risk of them both starving, or leaving him behind, all but guaranteed to die alone. It was at this point when I thought of what the father most be saying. "Veronika, it makes me so happy to see that you came to save me. You've grown into a fine woman, and I couldn't be more proud of you. But, we both know that we won't make it home at this rate. We both know what needs to be done. Leave me here with my thoughts, and go live your life." Reluctantly with a tear in her eye, she sits him up against a rock, gives him a big hug and says her goodbyes. The entire colony gets a boost to mood for saving a colonist, but gets a negative mood boost for leaving him behind. Veronika is the most affected by this, getting "my father died" negative mood boost. All of this affected how the colonists interacted with one another, leading to some "rebuffs" to even some fighting. At the end of the day, this ended up strengthening the friendship with one of the colonists and creating a rivalry with the other. This was just one example of a random event that can enrich your experience playing this game, and these events are plentiful.

    So if you are in to the colony-building RPG-style game, I cannot recommend this game enough. It's a steal for $30, honestly. This game should be $60 if that's what bigger companies are charging for their buggy game with minimal replayabiity at launch and "optional" DLC that you have to pay for. Do yourself a favor and support this game and its developers!
    Expand
  11. Dec 5, 2018
    10
    Great game with a lot of time to be spend, also a large modding comunity which helps with replay options
  12. Dec 2, 2018
    10
    Simply a master piece. It is amazing, and probably the best game of its kind.
  13. Dec 2, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the complexity of this game. It feels, like everything matters. Each character you get, each resource, even time. You need to think, use your area to last bit and be prepared for everything. Got something about 200+ hours, still no save with end game. But looking towards finishing this awesome masterpiece. Oh, and not to forget, if this game look empty for you, there are mods, so enjoy everything you want. Expand
  14. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    An exceptionaly deep and vaired game. It's like Dwarf Fortress but prity. Incredible replayable, and a brilliant 'Story Engine'.
  15. Nov 1, 2018
    10
    Buy people, capture people, force the captured people to eat corpses of their friends, sell their organs. - Rimworld
  16. Nov 27, 2018
    9
    Fair warning, like many reviewers before me, I've sunk far too many hours into this game to give a unbiased review. I discovered this game back when it was around A12 (Alpha 12, before the game was available on Steam) and when it was still quite early in development. Being a Dwarven Fortress enthusiast, I enjoyed the first experience of a more casual colony management game. Even back thenFair warning, like many reviewers before me, I've sunk far too many hours into this game to give a unbiased review. I discovered this game back when it was around A12 (Alpha 12, before the game was available on Steam) and when it was still quite early in development. Being a Dwarven Fortress enthusiast, I enjoyed the first experience of a more casual colony management game. Even back then the amount of individual story you could create amongst your colonists was quite interesting, you could see a colony rise and fall, each and every event adding a unique and individual twist on the game that adds a massive amount of replay value.

    As time progressed and the game picked up interest and grew (the modding scene is quite active. Not quite near Bethesda levels of modding scene, but it doesn't need to be. It's also heavily supported by the creator of Rimworld and a lot of mods made it into the full release), the game grew along with it. Each and every update was a true addition to the game. It expanded the possibilities, the story, the scope of the game.

    I could go on and on about this game and turn this entire review into a love letter to Tynan Sylvester (and the crew that came onboard), but honestly, you should just pick it up and play it. It's relatively cheap, it runs on every potato imaginable (thanks to the adequate graphics, which is the only thing that could really turn a person off if you're all about high fidelity) and the replay value as well as unique storytelling keeps you coming back for.... well, in my case, well over 800 hours.
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Nov 30, 2018
    90
    This strategy game offers survival and business simulation in one package. With the player learning from trial and error, numerous unpredictable events bring additional challenges to solve, while enriching the story at the same time.
  2. Nov 30, 2018
    100
    Stories, stories, stories. RimWorld sets you up for an ever changing game in which only your engagement remains the same, potentially for hundreds of hours. And when you’re done with the vanilla version of RimWorld, there are thousands of mods that enhance or change the game in such a way that it is all fresh again. I am in awe of RimWorld, and it deserves a Big Fat 10 out of 10.
  3. Nov 11, 2018
    85
    Successful mixture of strategy, tower defense, survival sandbox and sci-fi story generator with a guaranteed high replay value.