User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 331 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Hitman isn't for everybody, if you didn't enjoy the first season then you're definitely not going to enjoy this one. However if like me you absolutely loved the first season then you're going to love this one even more. It's essentially the same amazing gameplay from season one but now there are six huge brand new levels to explore and murder people in. However this time, better attentionHitman isn't for everybody, if you didn't enjoy the first season then you're definitely not going to enjoy this one. However if like me you absolutely loved the first season then you're going to love this one even more. It's essentially the same amazing gameplay from season one but now there are six huge brand new levels to explore and murder people in. However this time, better attention has been paid to level design and the levels are more consistent in quality, whereas in the first some levels were great but others were lacking. If you love Hitman then this developer deserves all your support. They're one of the few developers left who make game like this. Buy this game, it's worth it. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    9
    Although the story and cutscenes appear to have been shorted due to the financial strain of IO Interactive finally having to buy the Hitman IP from SE and seek out outside publiahing, the core of Hitman is more uncompromising than ever. Where Hitman 2016 had caused divisiveness in perception of the new design philosophy, Hitman 2 fills itself out to be unquestionably the definitive HitmanAlthough the story and cutscenes appear to have been shorted due to the financial strain of IO Interactive finally having to buy the Hitman IP from SE and seek out outside publiahing, the core of Hitman is more uncompromising than ever. Where Hitman 2016 had caused divisiveness in perception of the new design philosophy, Hitman 2 fills itself out to be unquestionably the definitive Hitman experience.

    At its core, Hitman 2 retains a mildly similar engine to its predecessor, but the real underlying changes add a whole new depth to the challenge of the game. Hiding in foliage presents a whole new layer of strategy, while the previously-overpowered instinct has had many of its properties toned down to keep it viable while keeping it from being a source of near-omnipotence. Head tracking js better than ever, and depth of field is improved, so even going back to Legacy chapters, the internal metagame requires a bit more care and precision. Enemies do indeed respond in real time to mirror reflections, and minor AI variation has been implemented to prevent certain easier assassination methods from being 100% bulletproof.

    In keeping custom contract creation with both the new locations and the Legacy locations, along with the addition of a multiplayer Ghost Mode (currently in beta) and a co-op featured Sniper Assassin mode, Hitman 2 is also now officialky the most content-complete stealth game ever created - especially with the decision to shy away completely from episodic content.

    The online-only requirement and elusive targets may scare some people away, but the previous game was actually made better by the inclusion of these community systems, so hopefully this game fares as well in that area too. Surprisingly for a game which has been fully integrated with a previous, two-year-old game, the network functions are surprisingly robust, and load times are infinitely improved.

    If you were never a fan of Hitman or stealth games as their core, then this game will probably not sway your decision any more than the last game. But for fans of the genre, it may be lacking in story, but story was never the franchise's real strength: for a game that appears to just be 'more of a good thing', it's worth noting that Hitman 2 pulls off a major feat by feeling strongly familiar, yet completely different. While the game is essentially Hitman Season 2, the entire experience has been completely overhauled from the ground up, and if you include the content of the Legacy Pack, new players will have two whole games worth of completely overhauled progression-based stealth gameplay, and a whole host of endlessly-replayable community and multiplayer functions entirely separate from the main game
    Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    Everything I wanted in another installment of Hitman. Large dense levels, each map is different from the last, weapons and AI have improved, and new mechanics. My favorite "new" mechanic being the picture in picture display of events, returning from the older games.

    The developer really listened to the community, fixing several annoying issues and even bringing in all the levels from
    Everything I wanted in another installment of Hitman. Large dense levels, each map is different from the last, weapons and AI have improved, and new mechanics. My favorite "new" mechanic being the picture in picture display of events, returning from the older games.

    The developer really listened to the community, fixing several annoying issues and even bringing in all the levels from season 1, with improvements - FREE for those who own Hitman, as well as some other goodies for people who supported the 2016 game.

    Absolutely having a blast so far, looking forward to learning all the corners of the levels - which will take quite awhile.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Season 2, that everyone who played the previous game really wanted, but without the episodic format.

    Levels are better than Season 1, with more consistent quality and no annoying levels like Colorado. The fact that they remastered the entire previous game, and give it for free (or for 20$, if you don't own it) nearly doubles the value here. Also, for the first time ever, PvP
    Season 2, that everyone who played the previous game really wanted, but without the episodic format.

    Levels are better than Season 1, with more consistent quality and no annoying levels like Colorado. The fact that they remastered the entire previous game, and give it for free (or for 20$, if you don't own it) nearly doubles the value here. Also, for the first time ever, PvP multiplayer.

    Game journos whining about "feels like Hitman 1.5" can shove it, it's the Season 2 that everyone asked for + much more than that... of course it shares some elements with Season 1, don't fix what isn't broken.
    Expand
  5. Nov 16, 2018
    10
    A worthy successor to Hitman 2016. I am so glad IOI got a chance to make more after Square-Enix dropped them. They will always have my full support for creating a kind of sand-box stealth game that are very rare these days. Let alone Hitman games which are completely unique unto themselves.

    It is probably important to think of this as Hitman 2016 Season 2, as it was probably likely
    A worthy successor to Hitman 2016. I am so glad IOI got a chance to make more after Square-Enix dropped them. They will always have my full support for creating a kind of sand-box stealth game that are very rare these days. Let alone Hitman games which are completely unique unto themselves.

    It is probably important to think of this as Hitman 2016 Season 2, as it was probably likely intentioned as before the shake up with the publisher. Despite that there are lots of important improvements and added mechanics that change how the game is played. Foliage, crowd blending, mirrors, etc add up.

    Additionally, having Season 1 content transfer into the new game makes it clear this is what IOI hopes to keep as the Hitman frontpage going forward. I rarely buy Season Passes in advance but I have faith in IOI based on how they managed Hitman 2016. I look foward to seeing how the game continues to expand.

    The levels in this game are larger than ever and the vast amount of assassination opprotunities are varied. I have already got all the challenges on the first stage and now working on Miami. I look foward to going through each stage meticulously.

    If you liked Hitman 2016, then this is a brain dead obvious purchase.
    Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2018
    10
    Excellent game, improves on the last installment in many ways. Massive amount of things to do if you want to complete all the challenges.
  7. Nov 17, 2018
    10
    A game that knows exactly what it is and flawlessly executes its vision with only a few forgivable hiccups along the way. Always Online is the reason for most of the negative reviews, but it's entirely justified in the format the game is presented in.
  8. Nov 18, 2018
    10
    I'm not surprised that this and a whole bunch of other games have been down voted by fake reviews nearly ever single day now as I see these scores get lower and lower in almost the same amount of fake scores at the same time each day and I wish metacritic would have a serious look into that.

    Anyway the game itself is great and if you enjoyed the first one then you will love this one.
  9. Nov 9, 2018
    8
    The game is quite fresh with new stuff to do, it's a pretty decent sequel to Hitman which is nice, the game could have improved a little more on the gameplay though.
  10. Nov 10, 2018
    8
    The first game was to be from the beginning with io interactive, not with square enix and this policy of playing in episodes full of microtransactions. excellent game but with little change compared to the previous one. 8/10
  11. Nov 13, 2018
    10
    this game is much more better, and level design improve from previos game, AI is such better too, i really love this Series game of hitman, i was played from the first Hitman (code name 47) this series is good nostalgic for me :)
  12. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    Just really fun, rewarding game play and a beautiful game. It's really more of the same from the 2016 game, which i have no complaints about. The legacy pack to add the 2016 levels to this game for free was nice (i definitely got lucky buying that game late and i get why people are pissed if they didn't get this free with the goty edition, thats bs to not reward people for buying your gameJust really fun, rewarding game play and a beautiful game. It's really more of the same from the 2016 game, which i have no complaints about. The legacy pack to add the 2016 levels to this game for free was nice (i definitely got lucky buying that game late and i get why people are pissed if they didn't get this free with the goty edition, thats bs to not reward people for buying your game full price and early). Either way, I'm hooked on this series again and love having 12 full levels of Hitman to try and perfect. Expand
  13. Nov 10, 2018
    7
    Hitman 2 is the natural continues of hitman 2016 ..6 location and very short campain... but a lot to do in offline sub mode and online mode. The impression is this hitman and that of 2016 should have been a single chapter .. instead the developers have split it into two and have earned double
  14. Nov 13, 2018
    0
    The game disc just acts as a posh download key! When you put the disc in it won't allow you to play anything. It tells you that you don't have the required content and to go to the store, but when you go to the store it tells you that you own the game and that it is installed ready to play!? After 30 minutes back and forth trying to work it out i finally discovered that you have to findThe game disc just acts as a posh download key! When you put the disc in it won't allow you to play anything. It tells you that you don't have the required content and to go to the store, but when you go to the store it tells you that you own the game and that it is installed ready to play!? After 30 minutes back and forth trying to work it out i finally discovered that you have to find each individual mission and download each one individually!! It doesn't even tell you this! To make things worse i can only select some of the missions to download them. For some bizarre reason it won't allow me to select certain missions of the main game to download. And because you have to search for each mission on the store and download them individually it meant i had to search online for what missions the game has so i knew exactly what missions i was looking for! IOI Interactive has done some really silly things in its time but this one really does take the cake. They have a bizarre habit of making things unnecessarily complicated for themselves and for their fans. Like how Season 1 had about 3 or 4 different release models as they kept scrapping and changing them and confusing everyone. It's as if they enjoy annoying us or something. If i'd known this i wouldn't have bought the silly thing. Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2018
    7
    It's a wonderful Hitman game, more of what we found in Hitman "Season" 1. I miss full motion video in the cut scenes, but it does get the message and story out in a good way.
  16. Nov 13, 2018
    2
    As a Hitman veteran who has been with the franchise since it began this pains me to say this. Hitman 2 isn't very good. The original Hitman dev team left IO Interactive after Hitman Blood Money in 2006. Hitman Absolution, Hitman series 1 and now Hitman series 2 were made by the Kane & Lynch team. This team are still failing to workout what made Hitman such a great Franchise. Proof thatAs a Hitman veteran who has been with the franchise since it began this pains me to say this. Hitman 2 isn't very good. The original Hitman dev team left IO Interactive after Hitman Blood Money in 2006. Hitman Absolution, Hitman series 1 and now Hitman series 2 were made by the Kane & Lynch team. This team are still failing to workout what made Hitman such a great Franchise. Proof that they fail to realise what makes Hitman a great franchise are....Hitman Absolution wasn't even a Hitman game. It took everything that made Hitman, Hitman and chucked it out the window. The developers even apologised for it and said looking back on it is wasn't very good. Neither Hitman Absolution or Hitman Series 1 had Agent 47's signature briefcase. Not having his signature briefcase is like making a Bond movie without a Bond car. Fans demanded the briefcase back and its taken 12yrs to get it back! Not asking composer Jesper Kyd back to do the soundtrack despite fans asking for it and signing petitions to get him back. Jesper Kyd said he has no idea why they never asked him back. This shows the devs have no clue. Anyway, what makes Hitman 2 stupid. I just played a mission where i had to steal a famous British tattoo artist and reality stars clothes and pretend to be him so i could meet and give a Columbian drug lord and his wife a tattoo. Both the drug lord and his wife say they are massive fans of yours. The problem is Agent 47 looks nothing like the famous tattoo artist, he doesn't even resemble him one bit. And he has a thick British accent and Agent 47 has an American one. You just wear his clothes and that's it you are now a famous British tattoo artist and reality star and the Columbian drug lord and his wife are none the wiser, despite the fact that are massive fans of yours! (Maybe they have real bad eyesight and hearing? lol) But then on the other hand when you steal and wear an enemy disguise that has a full face mask and balaclava, other enemies can recognise you despite having your face fully covered! Fans gave IO Interactive so much stick for this in Hitman Absolution way back in 2012. It was one of the fans biggest annoyances with that game. Yet they've done it again for Hitman 2! Enforcers are more annoying than ever. Enforcers have a little white circle above their heads and you can't go near these people as they recognise you and blow your cover. There are lots of them in this game and they are all placed in stupid places. Some of them don't even move and just stay in one spot so you find yourself just having sprint away and quickly get around a corner before your detected and cover is blown. As a Hitman your not supposed to act suspicious. But suddenly being forced to sprint around a corner to avoid having your cover blown just makes you look very suspicious and is stupid. Especially when playing the story and having to follow a main character on a certain path and they walk down a path full of enforcers that recognise you and blow your cover. Other guards are also placed in stupid places so you don't get time to breath. Like 1 at every entry point. And none of the targets seem to be left alone, not even for a brief second. They all have bodyguards glued to them. This means the game forces you to follow set paths and kill the targets via IO Interactives set staged kills. You kinda have to play the game how THEY want not how YOU want. In previous Hitman's, Like Blood Money, targets would often be alone for a brief moment and give you opportunities to whack them how you wanted, with silverballers, whatever, before someone came back and caught you. You could play around and experiment, have fun, you had the time to do so. But this game doesn't really allow that because of all the bodyguards, enforcers and their poor placement within the maps. So what should be fun just becomes super annoying. If you buy the physical version you should be warned there is no game on the actual disc. The disc just serves and a verification key that allows you to download the game. So if you have no internet or poor internet stay well away as the disc version has to be downloaded removing the whole point of a disc version. I really wanted to enjoy this game. I did enjoy the first level in New Zealand, that was genuinely good if very short and small. It's just a house on beach but looks cool with a great atmosphere and was almost made right. But other levels simply aren't. Graphis are probably a little worse than Hitman Season 1, but not far off. Cutscenes are now still images which isn't great. Also, if you own Hitman Season 1 you can download a remastered Season 1 for free. But bare in mind you lose all saves and unlocks and have to start again. And some of the remastered levels look worse because of changes to lighting etc. And some levels are removed altogether like the Christmas Holiday Hoarders Paris mission. Such a shame. Expand
  17. Nov 17, 2018
    8
    having tried the free prologue, its safe to say that it's an improvement from the first by major means. the games need to have a more proper story (im looking at you, absolution) and should not be online only. otherwise it seems pretty fun to play
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 53
  2. Negative: 0 out of 53
  1. Nov 17, 2018
    80
    Hitman 2's locations cover almost as much exotic ground as those in the first game, from a high-tech Miami speedway to a drug cartel's jungle compound, suburban Anytown USA and a secret island meeting of billionaires who not-so-secretly run the world.
  2. In creating a scoundrel of our choosing, we might actually end up learning a little bit about ourselves.
  3. 90
    Hitman 2 is suave, amusing, and delightfully silly. It has all the blockbuster sensibilities and refinements, but a willingness to be different and, critically, laugh at itself. And, like I said at the start of this review, it doesn't treat its players like idiots. There's no forced path or endless pile of hints to the point that the game almost plays itself. Hitman 2 lets you play your own way, and it's all the more rewarding as a result.