User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 531 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 49 out of 531
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Hitman isn't for everybody, if you didn't enjoy the first season then you're definitely not going to enjoy this one. However if like me you absolutely loved the first season then you're going to love this one even more. It's essentially the same amazing gameplay from season one but now there are six huge brand new levels to explore and murder people in. However this time, better attentionHitman isn't for everybody, if you didn't enjoy the first season then you're definitely not going to enjoy this one. However if like me you absolutely loved the first season then you're going to love this one even more. It's essentially the same amazing gameplay from season one but now there are six huge brand new levels to explore and murder people in. However this time, better attention has been paid to level design and the levels are more consistent in quality, whereas in the first some levels were great but others were lacking. If you love Hitman then this developer deserves all your support. They're one of the few developers left who make game like this. Buy this game, it's worth it. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2018
    9
    Although the story and cutscenes appear to have been shorted due to the financial strain of IO Interactive finally having to buy the Hitman IP from SE and seek out outside publiahing, the core of Hitman is more uncompromising than ever. Where Hitman 2016 had caused divisiveness in perception of the new design philosophy, Hitman 2 fills itself out to be unquestionably the definitive HitmanAlthough the story and cutscenes appear to have been shorted due to the financial strain of IO Interactive finally having to buy the Hitman IP from SE and seek out outside publiahing, the core of Hitman is more uncompromising than ever. Where Hitman 2016 had caused divisiveness in perception of the new design philosophy, Hitman 2 fills itself out to be unquestionably the definitive Hitman experience.

    At its core, Hitman 2 retains a mildly similar engine to its predecessor, but the real underlying changes add a whole new depth to the challenge of the game. Hiding in foliage presents a whole new layer of strategy, while the previously-overpowered instinct has had many of its properties toned down to keep it viable while keeping it from being a source of near-omnipotence. Head tracking js better than ever, and depth of field is improved, so even going back to Legacy chapters, the internal metagame requires a bit more care and precision. Enemies do indeed respond in real time to mirror reflections, and minor AI variation has been implemented to prevent certain easier assassination methods from being 100% bulletproof.

    In keeping custom contract creation with both the new locations and the Legacy locations, along with the addition of a multiplayer Ghost Mode (currently in beta) and a co-op featured Sniper Assassin mode, Hitman 2 is also now officialky the most content-complete stealth game ever created - especially with the decision to shy away completely from episodic content.

    The online-only requirement and elusive targets may scare some people away, but the previous game was actually made better by the inclusion of these community systems, so hopefully this game fares as well in that area too. Surprisingly for a game which has been fully integrated with a previous, two-year-old game, the network functions are surprisingly robust, and load times are infinitely improved.

    If you were never a fan of Hitman or stealth games as their core, then this game will probably not sway your decision any more than the last game. But for fans of the genre, it may be lacking in story, but story was never the franchise's real strength: for a game that appears to just be 'more of a good thing', it's worth noting that Hitman 2 pulls off a major feat by feeling strongly familiar, yet completely different. While the game is essentially Hitman Season 2, the entire experience has been completely overhauled from the ground up, and if you include the content of the Legacy Pack, new players will have two whole games worth of completely overhauled progression-based stealth gameplay, and a whole host of endlessly-replayable community and multiplayer functions entirely separate from the main game
    Expand
  3. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    Everything I wanted in another installment of Hitman. Large dense levels, each map is different from the last, weapons and AI have improved, and new mechanics. My favorite "new" mechanic being the picture in picture display of events, returning from the older games.

    The developer really listened to the community, fixing several annoying issues and even bringing in all the levels from
    Everything I wanted in another installment of Hitman. Large dense levels, each map is different from the last, weapons and AI have improved, and new mechanics. My favorite "new" mechanic being the picture in picture display of events, returning from the older games.

    The developer really listened to the community, fixing several annoying issues and even bringing in all the levels from season 1, with improvements - FREE for those who own Hitman, as well as some other goodies for people who supported the 2016 game.

    Absolutely having a blast so far, looking forward to learning all the corners of the levels - which will take quite awhile.
    Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Season 2, that everyone who played the previous game really wanted, but without the episodic format.

    Levels are better than Season 1, with more consistent quality and no annoying levels like Colorado. The fact that they remastered the entire previous game, and give it for free (or for 20$, if you don't own it) nearly doubles the value here. Also, for the first time ever, PvP
    Season 2, that everyone who played the previous game really wanted, but without the episodic format.

    Levels are better than Season 1, with more consistent quality and no annoying levels like Colorado. The fact that they remastered the entire previous game, and give it for free (or for 20$, if you don't own it) nearly doubles the value here. Also, for the first time ever, PvP multiplayer.

    Game journos whining about "feels like Hitman 1.5" can shove it, it's the Season 2 that everyone asked for + much more than that... of course it shares some elements with Season 1, don't fix what isn't broken.
    Expand
  5. Nov 21, 2018
    9
    Hitman 2 is another substantial entry in the franchise that plot-wise is becoming very intriguing to say the least with the twists this chapter introduces. There is no real major changes to the gameplay or the mechanics, which is a probably a good thing considering IO Interactive has the formula on lock and has for many years. With all the plotlines, ways to solve all of the contracts andHitman 2 is another substantial entry in the franchise that plot-wise is becoming very intriguing to say the least with the twists this chapter introduces. There is no real major changes to the gameplay or the mechanics, which is a probably a good thing considering IO Interactive has the formula on lock and has for many years. With all the plotlines, ways to solve all of the contracts and new content arriving soon, the replayability factor is off the chart. Plus, the first Elusive Contract is Sean Bean himself. How often you can execute a hit on Boromir in The Lord of the Rings, Alec Trevelyan from Goldeneye, Chris Da Silva from Silent Hill or Eddard “Ned” Stark from Game of Thrones all in one go? The Starks will endure? Not if Agent 47 has anything to say about it. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2018
    9
    Thoroughly decent new entry to the series continuing everything that worked from the 2016 'refresh'. Engrossing blend of clockwork ai patterns, detailed environments, humour and fun gameplay. It can feel a bit last gen in some ways, but it is just so fiendishly addictive and detailed in its execution I cant stop thinking about playing each level just one more time... And the ability toThoroughly decent new entry to the series continuing everything that worked from the 2016 'refresh'. Engrossing blend of clockwork ai patterns, detailed environments, humour and fun gameplay. It can feel a bit last gen in some ways, but it is just so fiendishly addictive and detailed in its execution I cant stop thinking about playing each level just one more time... And the ability to load in legacy versions of the first season into its install is fantastic. It makes me wonder if one day IOI could deliver a super next gen interconnected hitman 'world'! Expand
  7. Nov 22, 2018
    10
    Great game! Much like the predecessor it gives you lots of freedom to do whatever you want to!
  8. Nov 23, 2018
    10
    The Hitman franchise is at it's peak at the moment and the game is outstanding. The missions are huge and there is a lot to explore. The Mumbai mission is the most outstanding one where you even have to track down an unknown target and have to collect clues about his outlook.

    IO addressed some early bugs within a short ammount of time and if you jump in right now, you will have a blast
    The Hitman franchise is at it's peak at the moment and the game is outstanding. The missions are huge and there is a lot to explore. The Mumbai mission is the most outstanding one where you even have to track down an unknown target and have to collect clues about his outlook.

    IO addressed some early bugs within a short ammount of time and if you jump in right now, you will have a blast because the early troubles are gone.

    If you love a slower stealthier approach and a very dense enviroment where it's up to you to decide how to approach it, this game is everything you've ever wanted. It's a very unique game and there is nothing like it!
    Expand
  9. Nov 17, 2018
    8
    having tried the free prologue, its safe to say that it's an improvement from the first by major means. the games need to have a more proper story (im looking at you, absolution) and should not be online only. otherwise it seems pretty fun to play
  10. Nov 26, 2018
    10
    Not many games especially in my uni years caught this much attention of mine. If you were a fan of the 2016 Hitman you will seriously enjoy this, they packed everything they could and even tho it's not perfect and I encountered some bugs, this is still the most fun Hitman game I have ever played and I'm coming from Hitman 2 Silent Assassin and Blood Money so believe me this is a must buyNot many games especially in my uni years caught this much attention of mine. If you were a fan of the 2016 Hitman you will seriously enjoy this, they packed everything they could and even tho it's not perfect and I encountered some bugs, this is still the most fun Hitman game I have ever played and I'm coming from Hitman 2 Silent Assassin and Blood Money so believe me this is a must buy if your truly love the Hitman game style because we have a lot here! 10/10 Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2018
    10
    An enjoyable sequel to one of the best games of 2017. Check it out if you were a fan of the first one for sure
  12. Nov 13, 2018
    10
    Excellent game, improves on the last installment in many ways. Massive amount of things to do if you want to complete all the challenges.
  13. Nov 16, 2018
    10
    A worthy successor to Hitman 2016. I am so glad IOI got a chance to make more after Square-Enix dropped them. They will always have my full support for creating a kind of sand-box stealth game that are very rare these days. Let alone Hitman games which are completely unique unto themselves.

    It is probably important to think of this as Hitman 2016 Season 2, as it was probably likely
    A worthy successor to Hitman 2016. I am so glad IOI got a chance to make more after Square-Enix dropped them. They will always have my full support for creating a kind of sand-box stealth game that are very rare these days. Let alone Hitman games which are completely unique unto themselves.

    It is probably important to think of this as Hitman 2016 Season 2, as it was probably likely intentioned as before the shake up with the publisher. Despite that there are lots of important improvements and added mechanics that change how the game is played. Foliage, crowd blending, mirrors, etc add up.

    Additionally, having Season 1 content transfer into the new game makes it clear this is what IOI hopes to keep as the Hitman frontpage going forward. I rarely buy Season Passes in advance but I have faith in IOI based on how they managed Hitman 2016. I look foward to seeing how the game continues to expand.

    The levels in this game are larger than ever and the vast amount of assassination opprotunities are varied. I have already got all the challenges on the first stage and now working on Miami. I look foward to going through each stage meticulously.

    If you liked Hitman 2016, then this is a brain dead obvious purchase.
    Expand
  14. Nov 9, 2018
    8
    The game is quite fresh with new stuff to do, it's a pretty decent sequel to Hitman which is nice, the game could have improved a little more on the gameplay though.
  15. Nov 17, 2018
    10
    A game that knows exactly what it is and flawlessly executes its vision with only a few forgivable hiccups along the way. Always Online is the reason for most of the negative reviews, but it's entirely justified in the format the game is presented in.
  16. Nov 20, 2018
    8
    Hitman 2 isn't magnificent or 10/10, but it's a solid experience with great replay ability on each level. I felt like there are even more ways to deal with targets on each and every map, so the replaying was like solving a riddle with an alternative solution, which is really satisfying.
    I can't say, that Hitman 2 is really innovative in terms of mechanics, but that doesn't matter If they
    Hitman 2 isn't magnificent or 10/10, but it's a solid experience with great replay ability on each level. I felt like there are even more ways to deal with targets on each and every map, so the replaying was like solving a riddle with an alternative solution, which is really satisfying.
    I can't say, that Hitman 2 is really innovative in terms of mechanics, but that doesn't matter If they are polished and almost perfect(unless IO will make Hitman 3 the same. IO interactive, please don't :) ). By the way, don't try to shoot in this game, because it felt like a nightmare. Really, it is so tempting to take a big riffle and start shooting, but it felt like shooting in Deus Ex(possible, but unsatisfying and really clumsy(so don't shoot, unless it's a camera).
    if you are desperately trying to find a great stealth-action came - Hitman 2 is your way to go(considering that there aren't that many good games in this genre in 2018). For now it's a great game, which makes almost everything right, but doesn't really add much in terms of the gameplay. Let's hope that this project will be a success for IO and that their new game will bring Hitman to a new level of quality or that their new IP will make a breakthrough. (By the way, sorry for my English, if it was hard for you to understand)
    Expand
  17. Nov 18, 2018
    10
    I'm not surprised that this and a whole bunch of other games have been down voted by fake reviews nearly ever single day now as I see these scores get lower and lower in almost the same amount of fake scores at the same time each day and I wish metacritic would have a serious look into that.

    Anyway the game itself is great and if you enjoyed the first one then you will love this one.
  18. Nov 13, 2018
    10
    this game is much more better, and level design improve from previos game, AI is such better too, i really love this Series game of hitman, i was played from the first Hitman (code name 47) this series is good nostalgic for me :)
  19. Nov 19, 2018
    9
    Fantastic game that delivers on a epic form, the briefcase is back which for most was so needed, the missions are full, Rich and explorable. The sounds are spot on and the story is rather gripping continuing on from the last game, only the Cut scenes where a little let down as they were part static images with voice acting but i personally think this hitman has been a right turn round toFantastic game that delivers on a epic form, the briefcase is back which for most was so needed, the missions are full, Rich and explorable. The sounds are spot on and the story is rather gripping continuing on from the last game, only the Cut scenes where a little let down as they were part static images with voice acting but i personally think this hitman has been a right turn round to the way fans will love again from the older games. Amazing! Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2018
    8
    The first game was to be from the beginning with io interactive, not with square enix and this policy of playing in episodes full of microtransactions. excellent game but with little change compared to the previous one. 8/10
  21. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    Just really fun, rewarding game play and a beautiful game. It's really more of the same from the 2016 game, which i have no complaints about. The legacy pack to add the 2016 levels to this game for free was nice (i definitely got lucky buying that game late and i get why people are pissed if they didn't get this free with the goty edition, thats bs to not reward people for buying your gameJust really fun, rewarding game play and a beautiful game. It's really more of the same from the 2016 game, which i have no complaints about. The legacy pack to add the 2016 levels to this game for free was nice (i definitely got lucky buying that game late and i get why people are pissed if they didn't get this free with the goty edition, thats bs to not reward people for buying your game full price and early). Either way, I'm hooked on this series again and love having 12 full levels of Hitman to try and perfect. Expand
  22. Nov 19, 2018
    9
    More like 8,5/10 than 9/10.

    The life of a spy isn't a very pleasant job. Snake and Sam Fisher knows that feeling. Avoid being discovered, wearing disguises, discovering certain information, avoiding making noises, creating distractions, pursuing and eliminating targets, and making the evidence disappear. All this is part of the life of an agent for governmental purposes or, in some
    More like 8,5/10 than 9/10.

    The life of a spy isn't a very pleasant job. Snake and Sam Fisher knows that feeling. Avoid being discovered, wearing disguises, discovering certain information, avoiding making noises, creating distractions, pursuing and eliminating targets, and making the evidence disappear. All this is part of the life of an agent for governmental purposes or, in some cases, to save the world. And the life of Agent 47 created by IO Interactive couldn't be different.

    Here our friend 47 travels on a mission to hunt down the strange Shadow Client and dismember his militia. And the first clue is to find the location of Alma Reynard, who is the lieutenant of the Shadow Client. And the rest... you have to find out for yourselves as always.

    Well, as I said before, avoiding being discovered, wearing disguises, and making use of the tools at our disposal to complete the mission is part of the DNA of the Hitman series. But nothing is that simple. To get into certain restricted places where the targets or secret information are, we have to be disguised and yet we must be careful because some individuals know "their troops". And the solution to this is to stand with our backs to them, or hide in the tall grass or in the middle of the crowd. Avoid making noise? No kicking around with the target with witnesses nearby and no bang bang without muffler. Yes, it's a good idea to eliminate our targets with our silencer gun, but there are other ways to eliminate targets such as being killed when they ingest drinks with rat poison or pushing them directly from a tall building. As you can see, there are a thousand and one ways to eliminate the targets, as long as there are no witnesses.

    We can also create distractions for certain individuals including targets, such as the open bathroom faucet, all to lure our fly into our spider's web. But a very rare occasion, probably a bug, I saw one of the targets on one of the missions "undecided" whether to close the bathroom faucet or not. But it was a strange little detail. For those who come from the 2016 Hitman, in terms of gameplay is almost exactly the same, despite having received a few improvements. On the one hand, this means that we are facing a Hitman 1.5, but on the other hand, the excellent gameplay has remained. And yes, it is possible to play the Hitman 1 DLC's (remastered) if they have the 2016 game.

    The addition of the concussive grenades and the vision of the security cameras helps to vary only a little the mechanics of the game, as well as help the Hitman 2 to be an accessible game, depending on the difficulty. I really enjoyed the locations that are present and well portrayed in this Hitman 2. We will be in places like the Favelas of Brazil, Miami and Colombia.

    I notice that the enemy AI of this Hitman 2 is clever, although they are a bit generous, but it is one thing that makes sense. For example, if I go directly to the restricted zones, the AI, when it sees us, order us to leave the forbidden zone immediately. Which gives us a few seconds to get out of this zone and avoid the maximum alert. One small interesting detail is the AI carrying the dead bodies inside the bags. Also present are Sniper Assassin modes (Single-player and Multiplayer) and Ghost Mode (Multiplayer) modes. In short, if you love the Hitman series or love espionage games, Hitman 2 is totally recommended to you.

    Veredict: Although it doesn't offer much in relation to its predecessor, Hitman 2 is a game of enormous quality.
    Expand
  23. Nov 24, 2018
    0
    horrible, annoying, unsufferable off centered camera completely ruins the game's enjoyement

    why do you have to keep the character on the side? why?
  24. Nov 10, 2018
    7
    Hitman 2 is the natural continues of hitman 2016 ..6 location and very short campain... but a lot to do in offline sub mode and online mode. The impression is this hitman and that of 2016 should have been a single chapter .. instead the developers have split it into two and have earned double
  25. Nov 13, 2018
    0
    The game disc just acts as a posh download key! When you put the disc in it won't allow you to play anything. It tells you that you don't have the required content and to go to the store, but when you go to the store it tells you that you own the game and that it is installed ready to play!? After 30 minutes back and forth trying to work it out i finally discovered that you have to findThe game disc just acts as a posh download key! When you put the disc in it won't allow you to play anything. It tells you that you don't have the required content and to go to the store, but when you go to the store it tells you that you own the game and that it is installed ready to play!? After 30 minutes back and forth trying to work it out i finally discovered that you have to find each individual mission and download each one individually!! It doesn't even tell you this! To make things worse i can only select some of the missions to download them. For some bizarre reason it won't allow me to select certain missions of the main game to download. And because you have to search for each mission on the store and download them individually it meant i had to search online for what missions the game has so i knew exactly what missions i was looking for! IOI Interactive has done some really silly things in its time but this one really does take the cake. They have a bizarre habit of making things unnecessarily complicated for themselves and for their fans. Like how Season 1 had about 3 or 4 different release models as they kept scrapping and changing them and confusing everyone. It's as if they enjoy annoying us or something. If i'd known this i wouldn't have bought the silly thing. Expand
  26. Nov 13, 2018
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As a Hitman veteran who has been with the franchise since it began this pains me to say this. Hitman 2 isn't very good. The original Hitman dev team left IO Interactive after Hitman Blood Money in 2006. Hitman Absolution, Hitman series 1 and now Hitman series 2 were made by the Kane & Lynch team. This team are still failing to workout what made Hitman such a great Franchise. Proof that they fail to realise what makes Hitman a great franchise are....Hitman Absolution wasn't even a Hitman game. It took everything that made Hitman, Hitman and chucked it out the window. The developers even apologised for it and said looking back on it is wasn't very good. Neither Hitman Absolution or Hitman Series 1 had Agent 47's signature briefcase. Not having his signature briefcase is like making a Bond movie without a Bond car. Fans demanded the briefcase back and its taken 12yrs to get it back! Not asking composer Jesper Kyd back to do the soundtrack despite fans asking for it and signing petitions to get him back. Jesper Kyd said he has no idea why they never asked him back. This shows the devs have no clue. Anyway, what makes Hitman 2 stupid. I just played a mission where i had to steal a famous British tattoo artist and reality stars clothes and pretend to be him so i could meet and give a Columbian drug lord and his wife a tattoo. Both the drug lord and his wife say they are massive fans of yours. The problem is Agent 47 looks nothing like the famous tattoo artist, he doesn't even resemble him one bit. And he has a thick British accent and Agent 47 has an American one. You just wear his clothes and that's it you are now a famous British tattoo artist and reality star and the Columbian drug lord and his wife are none the wiser, despite the fact that are massive fans of yours! (Maybe they have real bad eyesight and hearing? lol) But then on the other hand when you steal and wear an enemy disguise that has a full face mask and balaclava, other enemies can recognise you despite having your face fully covered! Fans gave IO Interactive so much stick for this in Hitman Absolution way back in 2012. It was one of the fans biggest annoyances with that game. Yet they've done it again for Hitman 2! Enforcers are more annoying than ever. Enforcers have a little white circle above their heads and you can't go near these people as they recognise you and blow your cover. There are lots of them in this game and they are all placed in stupid places. Some of them don't even move and just stay in one spot so you find yourself just having sprint away and quickly get around a corner before your detected and cover is blown. As a Hitman your not supposed to act suspicious. But suddenly being forced to sprint around a corner to avoid having your cover blown just makes you look very suspicious and is stupid. Especially when playing the story and having to follow a main character on a certain path and they walk down a path full of enforcers that recognise you and blow your cover. Other guards are also placed in stupid places so you don't get time to breath. Like 1 at every entry point. And none of the targets seem to be left alone, not even for a brief second. They all have bodyguards glued to them. This means the game forces you to follow set paths and kill the targets via IO Interactives set staged kills. You kinda have to play the game how THEY want not how YOU want. In previous Hitman's, Like Blood Money, targets would often be alone for a brief moment and give you opportunities to whack them how you wanted, with silverballers, whatever, before someone came back and caught you. You could play around and experiment, have fun, you had the time to do so. But this game doesn't really allow that because of all the bodyguards, enforcers and their poor placement within the maps. So what should be fun just becomes super annoying. If you buy the physical version you should be warned there is no game on the actual disc. The disc just serves and a verification key that allows you to download the game. So if you have no internet or poor internet stay well away as the disc version has to be downloaded removing the whole point of a disc version. I really wanted to enjoy this game. I did enjoy the first level in New Zealand, that was genuinely good if very short and small. It's just a house on beach but looks cool with a great atmosphere and was almost made right. But other levels simply aren't. Graphis are probably a little worse than Hitman Season 1, but not far off. Cutscenes are now still images which isn't great. Also, if you own Hitman Season 1 you can download a remastered Season 1 for free. But bare in mind you lose all saves and unlocks and have to start again. And some of the remastered levels look worse because of changes to lighting etc. And some levels are removed altogether like the Christmas Holiday Hoarders Paris mission. Such a shame. Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2018
    7
    It's a wonderful Hitman game, more of what we found in Hitman "Season" 1. I miss full motion video in the cut scenes, but it does get the message and story out in a good way.
  28. Dec 16, 2018
    8
    This game is great! Not only does it have tons of replay value ( contracts, storylines, etc. ) but it is hilarious as well. The fact that when you kill a target in front of everyone, and hide out for 10 minutes, their partner who is still alive, has no idea that his partner got murdered, its like the thought of cell phones are non existent in the Hitman universe. Besides that loophole,This game is great! Not only does it have tons of replay value ( contracts, storylines, etc. ) but it is hilarious as well. The fact that when you kill a target in front of everyone, and hide out for 10 minutes, their partner who is still alive, has no idea that his partner got murdered, its like the thought of cell phones are non existent in the Hitman universe. Besides that loophole, this game is is really fun and lets you be creative in how you manhit through it's many modes. Expand
  29. Dec 17, 2018
    10
    A super fun game with loads of replayability as the missions can be accomplished in many different ways. I can see why this game has such a high User score.
  30. Dec 10, 2018
    8
    Hitman 2 is a very good game meant for STEALTH so if you are not that type of player it is not for you. It is a very well programmed game with nice graphics and good touch to details. Game is a bit difficult and can get frustrating. It is a bit short as main story but good fun!
  31. Dec 9, 2018
    10
    This is everything a Hitman game should be, they've truly nailed the formula.
  32. Jan 6, 2019
    8
    Hitman 2 is a great game, no question. But IO Interactive had a real opportunity to make Hitman 2 the best stealth game ever. Unfortunately, it is more a somewhat improved extension of Hitman 2016, which was in many ways brilliant but as well seriously flawed (for me and I think for the average player). Hitman 2016 was my first Hitman game. I had to take it in small bites over longer timeHitman 2 is a great game, no question. But IO Interactive had a real opportunity to make Hitman 2 the best stealth game ever. Unfortunately, it is more a somewhat improved extension of Hitman 2016, which was in many ways brilliant but as well seriously flawed (for me and I think for the average player). Hitman 2016 was my first Hitman game. I had to take it in small bites over longer time than issued due to lack of patience needed, even though I generally like stealth play style. But it was nice to get back to it from time to time and I guess the same will apply for Hitman 2.

    The strength of both games, i.e. unprecedented flexibility and intuity to access and execute assassination missions, is as well the greatest weakness. The major puzzles are basically to find the right disguise in order to get around and get access to and assassinate the target. It is relatively easy two times around but thereafter it can get heavy. In addition to a lot of patience, I often found that improvisation led to time-consuming and frustrating dead end search of ways out when trying new playthroughs. Savings and reloads are often needed as it is easy to alert NPCs and get caught when trying new routes and it can be a irritating due to online requirement of both games. The online system is not a game-breaker though. The lack of in-game hints may be great for hardcore Hitman fans but I often turned off the game in frustration after running around for a long time without success. I try to avoid to Google game solutions but I cheated at times as I found myself aimlessly in a dead-end street. Games are supposed to be fun too. The menu system is not great and some items, e.g. heavy guns, are generally useless. Most assassinations are best executed by hands and e.g. scissors are much more handy for a silent third party take-down. The silenced gun was not as quiet as I had hoped but fun to use at times.

    The Hitman concept is truly great but there is something lacking. If Hitman 2 e.g. had a bit better story, better level-up system and in particular better in-game hints for us the impatient, it would have been a smoother experience. It is still a great game and far more fun than e.g. RDR2. I only hope that IO Interactive will have the opportunity to develop the Hitman concept into a new exceptionally good stealth assassination game. The fan club for an outstanding stealth game big and IO Interactive seem to be so close.
    Expand
  33. Dec 19, 2018
    10
    It feels like critics don't give a lot of love to Hitman in general. I found Hitman 2 to be highly addictive and fun. The new levels are bigger, better and shinier. The kills are awesome. It's a puzzle game with guns and explosives. It's a great time if you like strategy.
  34. Dec 25, 2018
    10
    Usually spend about 4 hours in 1 mission! Too interesting and atmospheric game! Of course, with one of the best soundtrack! Need HITMAN 3 or new missions ))) thanks IO Interactive !
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 69
  2. Negative: 0 out of 69
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 10, 2019
    80
    A killer sandbox that is hurt by repetitiveness and linear approach in levels. But once you manage to use your imagination, you’ll start enjoying the game, worthy of agent 47. [Issue#292]
  2. Dec 14, 2018
    85
    Hitman 2 is not leaps and bounds better or even different than its predecessor, as it feels less like a sequel and more like the second season. However, it manages to hit the mark where it truly matters with expansive level designs and a wealth of gameplay options that makes playing through the same missions multiple times consistently fun but feel different every time.
  3. Dec 2, 2018
    65
    Everything that makes Hitman 2 a good game, also makes it a boring one. You still have the ability to be anything you'd want to be - a silent, smart assassin who can forge anything in this world into his weapon, or an assassin that likes to leave some mess behind him and run away. The absurd part is, despite the endless opportunities to advance and complete your tasks, every mission feels the same, and you can't play 2 missions in a row without having to catch a break or go back to whatever else you have to play. Hitman 2 proves that even creativity could be boring, which is truly a remarkable accomplishment.