User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 137 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 137
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 19, 2018
    10
    You're probably wondering how Tetris could be worth £30 right? Trust me, this is the best game I have bought in 2018, it is so addictive, so enjoyable. Always asking questions of your talent, and begging you to have one more go. Insta buy status. I haven't even tried it in VR yet.
  2. Nov 29, 2018
    9
    I was hesitant to spend £35 on Tetris, even after playing the Demo, but now have spent 7.5 hours so far playing it (+ about 2 hours on the demo).
    Yes it is just Tetris, but played on a board the size of a house, and with fantastic audio and beautiful visuals.
    I have enjoyed every second I have been playing this game, and I honestly can't say that about many AAA games, as they have their
    I was hesitant to spend £35 on Tetris, even after playing the Demo, but now have spent 7.5 hours so far playing it (+ about 2 hours on the demo).
    Yes it is just Tetris, but played on a board the size of a house, and with fantastic audio and beautiful visuals.
    I have enjoyed every second I have been playing this game, and I honestly can't say that about many AAA games, as they have their dull moments. This is not the case with Tetris Effect. It is wonderful from the moment you start.
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2018
    10
    Tetris Effect is easily one of the greatest versions of Tetris ever released. It's also one of the best VR games ever released. With incredible visuals and music, it's an experience you shouldn't miss whether or not you own a PSVR. Though if you don't, you should consider it for this alone. The only real con is that it's short, but with a bunch of modes and difficulty levels it shoulf lastTetris Effect is easily one of the greatest versions of Tetris ever released. It's also one of the best VR games ever released. With incredible visuals and music, it's an experience you shouldn't miss whether or not you own a PSVR. Though if you don't, you should consider it for this alone. The only real con is that it's short, but with a bunch of modes and difficulty levels it shoulf last you a fair while...especially if you're a completionist. Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    No review can sum up the magic of this game. Even if you arent a puzzle game fan, try it. You wont regret it.
  5. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    This game is the best Tetris game you will ever find. Stunning visuals, perfect music/sounds.

    This is a must-buy for everyone that likes Tetris.
  6. Nov 11, 2018
    10
    When I played the demo briefly I thought it was a good gimmick but would not keep me entertained. I was wrong. This is a worthy successor to Tetris. It's actually Tetris like it should be in 2018. The weird part is that it feels and plays like Tetris but you experience it as a totally different game.

    The visuals are weird but great and accompanied by a very good soundtrack with matching
    When I played the demo briefly I thought it was a good gimmick but would not keep me entertained. I was wrong. This is a worthy successor to Tetris. It's actually Tetris like it should be in 2018. The weird part is that it feels and plays like Tetris but you experience it as a totally different game.

    The visuals are weird but great and accompanied by a very good soundtrack with matching sound effects make this game worth buying. The presentation is very inviting and clean. This is what I would call an AAA puzzler!

    The only thing I have to warn you about: It's very addictive
    Expand
  7. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Tetris Effect has exceeded my already high expectations of being not only one of the best PSVR titles to release but also the best virtual reality experience ever. The addictive gameplay mixed with eye-watering visuals and music creates a gaming experience that will haunt me in my dreams for many nights to come. After all, the game is named after the strangest phenomena in entertainment.
  8. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Awesome game! beautiful music and visual effects! a piece of art very recommended, a local or online multiplayer would be very good to play with friends, Excellent job in this game
  9. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    Tetris finally became art
    It may not have a direct online multiplayer or local, but it compensates on music, visuals and apresentation
  10. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Best version of Tetris ever created and an amaxing experience in VR akin to thumper and REZ infinite. You enter a zen state that is almost opiate like. Everything is top notch aside from the high price but I don't regret a single cent, it's just so damn addicting, chill and at times heart pumping. If you like Tetris or liked REZ/Thumper this is a must buy if you don't mind the price.
  11. Jan 17, 2019
    3
    Nice visual effects and nice music, but it is still just Tetris, so the 39,90€ price tag is completely and utterly unjustified.

    If you find this in a -75% discount or more, it is a buy, but with the current price tag it is just a huge disappointment.
  12. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    ....................... TETRIS ist a perfect game. ........................
  13. Nov 12, 2018
    10
    This is one of the best if not the best version of tetris to date, if you love gameplay you need to get it, but is not only about gameplay it's a completely a new experience a burst of music and light, having PSVR makes it a must buy.
  14. Nov 9, 2018
    7
    This game has some awesome effects. It is one of the best PSVR experiences. I also like the playlists and how they are set by mood. But it has no multiplayer, not even local. $40 is bit too much, and I expect multiplayer at that price.
  15. Nov 11, 2018
    3
    It's a shiny Tetris game. 4K and HDR, or VR do not make Tetris "more fun". The dynamic soundtrack and visuals don't add much either. I think they missed a huge opportunity to re-release Teterisphere, especially in VR. A much overlooked entry in the vast # of Tetris games, this game would have looked great with new visuals/music/gameplay. They could've added a Tetris game with the package.It's a shiny Tetris game. 4K and HDR, or VR do not make Tetris "more fun". The dynamic soundtrack and visuals don't add much either. I think they missed a huge opportunity to re-release Teterisphere, especially in VR. A much overlooked entry in the vast # of Tetris games, this game would have looked great with new visuals/music/gameplay. They could've added a Tetris game with the package. However, for the price tag, Tetris Effect is a no go. Expand
  16. Dec 20, 2018
    9
    Even for a Tetris game this is a very unique way of presenting it. The combination of music to go along with how well you're doing in the board is great. Some of the animations though can block what you're doing on screen sometimes, and I've lost a couple of times because it was moving so fast and I couldn't see where I was dropping a piece due to that. However this is a game that is veryEven for a Tetris game this is a very unique way of presenting it. The combination of music to go along with how well you're doing in the board is great. Some of the animations though can block what you're doing on screen sometimes, and I've lost a couple of times because it was moving so fast and I couldn't see where I was dropping a piece due to that. However this is a game that is very soothing and works well to help wind a person down from a long day. I'd recommend it to anyone who enjoys Tetris even a little bit. Expand
  17. Feb 12, 2019
    8
    A beautiful version of that genius puzzle game called Tetris.
    The game looks beautiful, the music matches the visuals and gameplay wonderfully. The controls are also great and responsive. The button layout can be changed to your personal tastes.
    The only downside to the game is that the journey mode is quite short and a 2 player option would be very welcome. The price is a bit steep,
    A beautiful version of that genius puzzle game called Tetris.
    The game looks beautiful, the music matches the visuals and gameplay wonderfully. The controls are also great and responsive. The button layout can be changed to your personal tastes.
    The only downside to the game is that the journey mode is quite short and a 2 player option would be very welcome.
    The price is a bit steep, but I definitely recommend to buy the game when it's discounted.
    Expand
  18. Feb 14, 2019
    7
    Tetris Effect
    I don’t see the hype
    Tetris Effect is your standard Tetris game, but there’s an added element of music and visuals… Don’t get me wrong, this game is beautiful and I love the musical elements, but I didn’t find this to be a mind blowing iteration for Tetris… but please keep in mind I played this game as is, without PlayStation vr… that being said Tetris Effect is easily my
    Tetris Effect
    I don’t see the hype
    Tetris Effect is your standard Tetris game, but there’s an added element of music and visuals…
    Don’t get me wrong, this game is beautiful and I love the musical elements, but I didn’t find this to be a mind blowing iteration for Tetris… but please keep in mind I played this game as is, without PlayStation vr…
    that being said Tetris Effect is easily my favorite Tetris game…
    there are multiple modes, campaign which can take around 3 to 4 hours to complete with multiple difficulty choices as well as an online mode where you can chase scores, just zen out and play Tetris with no game overs.. plenty of variety…
    I’m more of a campaign guy, so that’s where I stayed and I wasn’t that impressed…
    The game tricks you by giving you the best level from the jump…
    the first song is literally the only song in the entire game I cared for.. making me wish they went the rout of licensing music instead of just having originals, the lack of care for the music kind of dampened the experience for me… I was just out of it… focused on the puzzle of tetris while there was noise in the background, except for of course the very first level, I was immersed with the music, the gorgeous visuals in the background…
    I was so excited to see what more this campaign had to blow me away and it just never came…
    All in all if you love or enjoy tetris I highly recommend you pick tetris effect up, again its my favorite tetris game to date, but if you’ve never really been into it, theres not enough done here for me to really urge you to give it another shot.. its tetris with modern rules.
    I give Tetris Effect
    a 7.5/10
    Expand
  19. Dec 20, 2018
    8
    The visuals and music fit perfectly to create the best version of Tetris. One of the few games to really take advantage of HDR. I don't have PSVR, but the game is great on its own. This is the type of game I will be pulling out to play at least once a week or so as a palate cleanser from all the FPS & action games I play. Plus, I picked it up for 20 bucks which should have been theThe visuals and music fit perfectly to create the best version of Tetris. One of the few games to really take advantage of HDR. I don't have PSVR, but the game is great on its own. This is the type of game I will be pulling out to play at least once a week or so as a palate cleanser from all the FPS & action games I play. Plus, I picked it up for 20 bucks which should have been the original price. Expand
  20. Feb 17, 2019
    9
    Gameplay/Mechanics: 9
    Sound/Music: 9.5
    Graphics/Art: 8.5
    Story/Atmosphere: 9
    OVERALL: 9
  21. Jan 29, 2019
    7
    It's a damn good Tetris game except for:
    1. No multiplayer - Not even local - This is a big one.
    2. There's no way to turn off the particle effects, which can be bothersome.

    PSVR gives the game very low latency (16ms) and this is the best way to experience it.

    The best Tetris game in later years is still Tetris DS.
  22. Feb 10, 2019
    8
    Tetris Effect is a visual audio experience that is extraordinary but misses a few spots to reach perfection. For the regular price tag I want to give it a 7 but as I had really fun with it I decided to give it an 8.

    Tetris Effect features the old-school Tetris experience combined with many other game modes such as such surprise stages, multi-stages, time attacks, marathon and many more.
    Tetris Effect is a visual audio experience that is extraordinary but misses a few spots to reach perfection. For the regular price tag I want to give it a 7 but as I had really fun with it I decided to give it an 8.

    Tetris Effect features the old-school Tetris experience combined with many other game modes such as such surprise stages, multi-stages, time attacks, marathon and many more. The core is the "journey" where you travel through (20?) different levels with dynamic themed musics and extraordinary graphical support in 4K HDR. Even without PSVR this game features an outstanding game experience. If you like Tetris as a game I highly suggest to get Tetris Effect.

    The gameplay is easy and fluent. Tutorial is at hand for newer people. You can unlock numerous avatars, soundtracks and more. There must be around 10-15 game modes all with minimal differences but they add up to a meaningful Tetris experience.

    Although game-play, visuals and audio are superb the game lacks a few things:

    - There is no multiplayer at all. I think this is a huge missed out opportunity. I m mostly on single player only games but Tetris can be really fun versus others. So this decision makes me a little bit sad.
    - Some of the visuals block the screen, which is really bothersome when you face levels at speed 10+. In my honest opinion, they SHOULD be fixed because it hurts the game-play experience which should come first before visuals.
    - The core journey is very short, which is really sad because it is an awesome experience. On normal it took me around an hour to finish which is way too short for the price tag it is sold at. If they would ve double or tripled the size with considerable stage differences the game experience would ve been insane.

    I want to give this game a 10 because it is awesome but the price tag does not fit. I would suggest to get it at a sale of at least 50%. For this price tag I would probably give it a 8.5 to 9. Still the missed multiplayer opportunity and some visual blockage wont make this a 10 for me. Overall I really like this game and it is a worthwhile experience coming back to Tetris after so many years.
    Expand
  23. Feb 18, 2019
    9
    这是个好游戏,喜欢俄罗斯方块的朋友绝对不能错过,如果游戏打折了更要入手,游戏也适合休闲玩家游玩,10分给9分!适合喜欢俄罗斯方块游戏的玩家必买神作!
  24. Feb 15, 2019
    7
    Beautiful, the most enjoyable game of Tetris.
    If you have PSVR is obligatory to play it, is super cool.
  25. Jan 8, 2019
    10
    Much more than Tetris. This game is a Synesthesia Symphony. A multisensory experience that triggers one sense by stimulating another. It MUST be played.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Dec 17, 2018
    85
    Tetris Effect is a well-designed new generation Tetris game with gorgeous visuals. It would be even greater if it were to include any multiplayer features.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 12, 2018
    100
    Tetris Effect and PS VR go together like ham and eggs. It’s the perfect pairing of tech and game design. Don’t have a headset? You can still join in but you’re missing out on the definitive way to play. [Issue#157, p.92]
  3. Dec 11, 2018
    80
    Tetris Effect is a beautiful journey to the rhythm of blocks falling that provides the ultimate means of escapism.