Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Jan 11, 2019
    90
    A great meshing of different types of gameplay styles that I love.
  2. Jan 10, 2019
    90
    The whole experience is just a lot of fun to play. While the game is completely new it somehow has some of the spirit of many of the classic platformers. The combat is surprisingly deep, the platforming is equal parts satisfying and immensely punishing, it is all brilliantly balanced. The story and characters are all charming enough to keep you playing, overall the whole game is just wonderful. It is easily the best platformer I’ve played this year. Of course, it’s the only platformer I’ve played this year, but I honestly believe it will still be one of the best platformers come year end.
  3. Jan 21, 2019
    85
    Double Cross is great when it’s all about platforming, but the detective sections and the combat make it much less enjoyable. A sequel with some adjustments and a more appealing art style could be fantastic.
  4. Jan 10, 2019
    83
    The level designs are extremely varied and pretty smart, with fun puzzles that feel unique and make good use of the environments in each world. The grappling mechanic gets a lot of use, but in a way that feels fresh throughout the game.
  5. 80
    I had a great time with Double Cross. Its wonderfully done combat and visuals, along with the creativity behind its multitude of worlds, all come to fruition in what is genuinely a fresh, exciting game.
  6. 80
    With some better combat choices and animation this could have been a revolutionary release from 13AM Games, but even without that lofty goal it's a definite safe buy for anyone wanting a great new platformer.
  7. Jan 11, 2019
    75
    Double Cross is an enjoyable adventure through a fun and interesting Saturday morning cartoon. The characters are unique and charming, the art style grabs your attention at every turn, and the gameplay feels fresh despite being a simple platformer. While the ending was predictable early on, the journey to get there was captivating and fun, and the various unlockable abilities will surely make each players experience a unique one.
  8. Jan 10, 2019
    72
    Double Cross features superb and challenging 2D platforming with an awesome upgrade system that relies on finding collectibles. That being said, its combat is quite tedious and uninteresting which makes gameplay sometimes feel like a chore.
  9. Jan 14, 2019
    70
    Double Cross is a pretty good platformer with an interesting story and stage mechanics, but the game itself feels a tad too easy and short. The ability customization is a nice concept, but the game itself is already easy enough to where the abilities just make the game easier. The investigation mechanic basically just moves the plot along and has no real bearing on the gameplay and is more like a linear puzzle than anything else where you’ll eventually stumble upon the solution instead of having to actually think and deduce anything to proceed. Still, Double Cross is an interesting game, but one you might want to wait for to go on sale.
  10. Jan 11, 2019
    70
    Double Cross has enough clever ideas and level design to deliver a fun experience, despite some of its nagging problems.
  11. 70
    Double Cross is almost great. With all the different ways to use the proton slinger in this game, I definitely had a blast progressing through the levels. Unfortunately, the investigation and combat sections make for such dull interruptions that at least a third of your time spent as an agent of R.I.F.T. will be a forgettable slog.
  12. Jan 21, 2019
    65
    Double Cross could be a great game. The ideas are fantastic, but it's riddled with missed chances. The levels are good, but there should be more. The gameplay is good, but it lacks depth and challenge. In the end the game is good, but nothing more.
  13. Jan 15, 2019
    60
    Had Double Cross opted to focus more on its strength--fun physics platforming--and de-emphasized things like combat and the tedious mystery-solving element, the game would have been an easy recommendation. But the weak parts of the package drag down the whole, and Double Cross winds up feeling like it's a somewhat undercooked mash of ideas.
  14. Jan 10, 2019
    60
    We’d be lying if we said that Double Cross wasn’t disappointing; after the raucously enjoyable platforming offered up by Runbow, this is an underwhelming follow up that never manages to hit the same highs. Though Double Cross has an interesting premise and some exceptionally well-designed levels, it’s weighed down by a series of ho-hum gameplay elements that aren’t adequately fleshed out and give the overall experience something of an identity crisis. We’d give Double Cross a light recommendation for those of you that have enjoyed the likes of Mega Man 11 or Shantae: Half-Genie Hero; this is still an enjoyable side-scrolling adventure with some genuinely thrilling moments, but don't expect it to live long in your memory after you've finished it.
  15. Jan 17, 2019
    50
    There’s too much in Double Cross that either bores or frustrates for the quality moments to be worth struggling towards.
  16. Jan 10, 2019
    50
    Despite a cool concept on paper, Double Cross spreads itself too thin trying in vain to emulate the platforming action of Mega Man and the investigative intrigue of Phoenix Wright to do anything original. Instead, Double Cross is a derivative, flat game with tepid combat and very little actual investigating to do.
  17. Jan 10, 2019
    50
    For the right age and type of gamer there's a lot to enjoy in Double Cross. As an introduction to the platformer or adventure game, Double Cross does well enough but it only works as an introduction. Anyone looking for a challenge or unique gameplay should probably let Double Cross pass them by for the moment. There are far better and more interesting indie game to find and play especially on Nintendo Switch.
  18. Jan 14, 2019
    40
    Double Cross is an up and down ride, but I can’t shake the feeling that there’s another dimension out there.
  19. Jan 10, 2019
    40
    Double Cross ultimately plays things too safe to its own determent with mechanics that can be found, and are done better, elsewhere.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 2 out of 3
  1. Jan 18, 2019
    10
    Well... Another good game that may get tanked because of critic reviews. I really like this game. I like the bright and festive artstyle, IWell... Another good game that may get tanked because of critic reviews. I really like this game. I like the bright and festive artstyle, I like the characters and I love the swinging/slinging mechanic. The combat is as you would expect from a 2D platformer focused on platforming. It reminds me of Shantae in that respect. Punch, kick, take out the bad guy. You have some extra moves you can acquire as you play. The mystery aspect of the game is unique—it makes you engage in the story apart from just watching a cut scene. It looks great on my Switch in portable mode and the levels are nice and bite sized. My only gripe, which I have become accustomed to, is that there is a small delay in moving the character when I move my left joycon stick. It may just be my joycon is old, I cannot say. But, it is not an issue, I simply got used to it. In short, this is a fun game and worth playing if you are into Shantae. Enjoy! Full Review »