Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
Buy On
  1. 70
    While GRIP isn’t perfect by any means, the game’s change of pace from my standard racing fare in Mario Kart 8 Deluxe was welcome and somewhat addicting. For Nintendo Switch owners who are looking for a racing game that differs from the “kart” scene, the low-gravity and speedy thrill of GRIP is the way to go.
  2. Nov 30, 2018
    70
    GRIP: Combat Racing is an entertaining racer for the Nintendo Switch. It isn’t the best racing title the system has to offer, but as a tribute and a throwback to arcade racers of the old days, it certainly succeeds in achieving its goal.
  3. Nov 2, 2018
    70
    While its controls can often be a little too unforgiving - especially when travelling at such high speeds - once you’ve got the hang of each vehicle's unique yet temperamental handling, GRIP: Combat Racing really opens up. Serving as a faithful nod to the original Rollcage, the wide range of modes and unlockable parts could make it the next Rocket League - if it manages to gather a similar cult following. If you’re in the market for a larger than life racer that isn’t Mario Kart 8 Deluxe, this could well be your next racing obsession.
  4. Nov 12, 2018
    69
    Extreme speed, lethal weapons, explosions, turbos and driving through the roof and walls is what awaits you in GRIP: Combat Racing. Even with its technical issues, the sensation when driving any vehicle, accompanied by electronic music, is excellent.
  5. 65
    GRIP is a racing game filled with issues of give and take. The combat races and Arena matches are fun, but the straight-on racing is subpar. The courses are detailed and varied, but they’re hard to make sense of when going fast. While it’s certainly nice to see a throwback to old racing games, especially one with local split-screen, I wish it could have been a game I’d want to break out with friends more often.
  6. Jan 2, 2019
    60
    GRIP: Combat Racing boasts exciting gameplay that is sadly held back by technical issues. It's worth a look into for fans of racers, but other folk may want to wait until a price drop.
  7. Nov 27, 2018
    60
    GRIP: Combat Racing is a decent racing game that can get a little too wild at times.
  8. Nov 8, 2018
    58
    There are enough consistently frustrating issues to hold it back from being truly exceptional for most. Both the gameplay and performance can feel a little too inconsistent at times as the controls and frame rate can sometimes be equally bumpy. Regardless, at its core, GRIP: Combat Racing is still an impressively fast racer that almost anybody should be able to have at least some fun with.
  9. Feb 1, 2019
    50
    It offers plenty of content and variety when it comes to its game modes, but this version is far from its full potential and will rely on updates and additional elements to improve the experience, not to mention it has a high number of technical issues which need to be solved in the near future and that there are points which need more than just updates in order to make GRIP a memorable game.
  10. 50
    A no-thrills arcade racer that straddles the line between nostalgic throwback and outdated curio, and while fun in short doses it quickly loses its novelty.
  11. Dec 13, 2018
    40
    On paper, GRIP sounds like a thrilling combat-racing experience. In practice, it’s a dull and outdated execution despite its content-rich package.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 2, 2018
    It strikes me as an unrefined throwback that recreates a cult game without asking how it might have evolved in the past couple of decades, or what it can bring to modern racing games that they have been missing since then. It's a time capsule, a way to step back into that smoky living room and close the door behind you. I had fun back then, but these days I'd rather leave the door open - I think we need the air.
User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Nov 8, 2018
    9
    In the time of people always saying you need 60fps and 4K resolution, I had to just let my son (10) play it and ask what he thought. EvenIn the time of people always saying you need 60fps and 4K resolution, I had to just let my son (10) play it and ask what he thought. Even though the 1080p with 30fps on the Switch, he had a blast and he and his friends said this deserves a 9.

    And what can I say, it looks great, it's challenging in a fun way and kids know how to have fun without taking things to seriously, so that 9 is well deserved.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 14, 2018
    2
    This game would have needed more time in development.
    I was really interested in how the developers solved all the gameplay problems with
    This game would have needed more time in development.
    I was really interested in how the developers solved all the gameplay problems with high speeds, wide open terrains, upside-down driving, player collisions and so on...
    Turns out: They didn't. This game is massively unbalanced and the controls, camera, UI, physics, gamedesign, trackdesign and sound are really flawed. Pure luck decides if you win or lose. It's a bit like tossing a coin into one of those coin-based slot machines at the arcades - physics will bounce the coin around but you're mostly out of control...
    If you, like myself, enjoy fast sci-fi racing, go for "Fast RMX" instead and if you can't live without guns and rockets then stick to "Wipeout". This game would have needed another year in development and a lot more user-testing.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 22, 2019
    10
    Think extreme G 1, 2 3 , twisted metal , F Zero, Rush 2049 etc. ...do you miss those games?!? Then buy this one. indie games suck and shootersThink extreme G 1, 2 3 , twisted metal , F Zero, Rush 2049 etc. ...do you miss those games?!? Then buy this one. indie games suck and shooters are stale nowadays but you peeps buy that instead of a worthwhile fresh experience in a dieing genre that could go extinct in the face of the mediocre game scene it is today. Buy just because you don't want Vanilla to be the only flavor. Full Review »