User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 29
  2. Negative: 3 out of 29

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    It's bright. It's happy. It's fun. It's Katamari. This is an all time favorite, and the port onto the Switch is in HD and has never looked better. The colors are bright; rolling is as smooth as ever, and the quirkiness of the game will have you rolling your worries away far into the night. Very few games are a must have, but this one ranks above just about all of them. It's perfect forIt's bright. It's happy. It's fun. It's Katamari. This is an all time favorite, and the port onto the Switch is in HD and has never looked better. The colors are bright; rolling is as smooth as ever, and the quirkiness of the game will have you rolling your worries away far into the night. Very few games are a must have, but this one ranks above just about all of them. It's perfect for kids and adults alike. Nothing beats the King of All Cosmos waking up the day after a huge bender making his son fix yesterday's machinations to one of the best soundtracks in gaming history. Na... na na na na na na na na na na na na na... Enjoy. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    Excellent game. I played all of the previous in the franchise including the terrible PSP version. This is perfect for the Switch. The artistic graphic style holds up really well in HD. Got while at the Gamestop Smash launch. I think I was the only dude in line picking this up too lol. Im not going to reduce my score because the asymmetrical analog sticks take a little away vs a Dualshock.Excellent game. I played all of the previous in the franchise including the terrible PSP version. This is perfect for the Switch. The artistic graphic style holds up really well in HD. Got while at the Gamestop Smash launch. I think I was the only dude in line picking this up too lol. Im not going to reduce my score because the asymmetrical analog sticks take a little away vs a Dualshock. This is a must have game for anyone on the switch if you like quirky Japanese games and want something different. Have not tried to 2 player mode yet, really looking forward to it. Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Guess the game that got me to stop playing Super Smash Bros for Switch? You guessed it! I'm addicted to this highly original game, that has one of the greatest soundtracks ever! Use the regular controls NOT the simple controls. The controls for this game do have a learning curve though once you get how it works, you truly do feel like you are controlling this giant ball!
  4. Dec 8, 2018
    9
    It’s the same katamari as before. There doesnt appear to be a change to frame rate but the images are a little more clear. I love this game. It was a 10/10 before but the lack of any real framerate remastering makes me feel it’s 9/10.

    The music is so good though. Maybe they updated the bitrate on the tracks because they are the best chillwave tracks on any game
  5. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    A delightful reprieve from the monotony of switch games hopping on the metroidvania-train. Katamari Damacy is 14 years old, and is still a unique and entertaining experience. This is the perfect opportunity for new players and veterans to enjoy Keita Takahashi's wacky world on the go or at home on their TV.
  6. Dec 12, 2018
    0
    This game is boring and a total waste of money. Was looking for a new switch game and was disappointed.
  7. Dec 30, 2018
    9
    I always wanted to play Katamari Damacy, but never had the chance until this Switch release. It's wonderful, of course. It's like a purified little droplet of video gaming.

    The core gameplay mechanic of rolling up stuff into an ever-growing ball is unique, ingenious, and pure satisfaction. What surprised me is that the controls are also weird, and initially difficult; I admit I was a
    I always wanted to play Katamari Damacy, but never had the chance until this Switch release. It's wonderful, of course. It's like a purified little droplet of video gaming.

    The core gameplay mechanic of rolling up stuff into an ever-growing ball is unique, ingenious, and pure satisfaction. What surprised me is that the controls are also weird, and initially difficult; I admit I was a bit annoyed at what seemed like intentional over-complication. Don't be put off, however. After persevering for a short while, the controls feel natural, and moreover, you realise that they are in fact perfectly designed, forming a large part of the fun and depth of the game. They give the katamari a palpable weight, and allow you to manoeuvre it around, which is useful for avoiding funny shapes. The katamari can sometimes get stuck somewhere bad and start breaking apart, which is frustrating, but this is rare and never broke the game.

    The game basically has a single-minded focus on this core mechanic, meaning its short play time of around 5 hours is the correct length. I do wish there could have been some more variation in the gameplay, or more complex levels, for a longer and more fleshed-out game.

    Then of course there are the weird and wonderful aesthetics. The main character designs are brilliant, the dialogue is bizarre and genuinely funny (although a little repetitive), the art style is lovely, the sound design is great and the music is absolutely incredible.

    Overall, for both its aesthetic sensibilities and its ingenious, polished and joyous gameplay, I can definitely see why Katamari Damacy is so often held up as an example of video games as art. Strongly recommended.
    Expand
  8. Dec 17, 2018
    10
    Incredibly creative game, excellent soundtrack, if you like new mechanics and fresh ideas (ironically, the game is a remake, remaster) then check it out, is a blast to play and the port is really good.
  9. 0w0
    Dec 25, 2018
    8
    This is great! Katamari is a fantastic franchise with a simple but insanely fun concept. I've played several Katamari games in the past and this game works great on the switch. Full of charm, humor, and creativity with lots of fun little surprises. All the levels are fun to play over and over again, and it's fun to try to find the hidden gifts!
    There were a few disappointments for me,
    This is great! Katamari is a fantastic franchise with a simple but insanely fun concept. I've played several Katamari games in the past and this game works great on the switch. Full of charm, humor, and creativity with lots of fun little surprises. All the levels are fun to play over and over again, and it's fun to try to find the hidden gifts!
    There were a few disappointments for me, however. There were some features included in Katamari Forever for PS3 that I wish were implemented here. I miss being able to choose a different cousin to play as as well as finding them within the levels. I also wish that the pause menu in single player gave you the option to restart the level rather than just the two options of going back to the home planet or continuing. Not being able to jump took a bit of getting used to, but being a damacy remake I understood why that is. If you've played previous katamari games, the asymmetrical control sticks can be tricky to get a hang of at first but if you keep at it it becomes second nature. Definitely one of my favorite games for the switch!
    Expand
  10. Jan 11, 2019
    9
    Mmmmmmmmmmm vary goob vary fun. Only leik 6 hours but still very fun. Wish there were different characters. Mmmmmmm still nonetheless vary entartaning
  11. Jan 13, 2019
    10
    The person who left the bad review literally does not know what theyre talking about. if you are familiar with this series you know what to expect, and this game DELIVERS.

    This is a remake of Katamari Damacy, and while i cant really tell if they changed anything, it still feels fresh, the levels dont feel exactly the same as the first, while i do remember some of them. This game is easy
    The person who left the bad review literally does not know what theyre talking about. if you are familiar with this series you know what to expect, and this game DELIVERS.

    This is a remake of Katamari Damacy, and while i cant really tell if they changed anything, it still feels fresh, the levels dont feel exactly the same as the first, while i do remember some of them. This game is easy to pick up and exciting, but also hard to master.

    Visually, its beautiful as always, i think the graphics are actually a little too good (coming from the ps2 games lol) , but im glad they kept it more or less the same. The music, as in the last games, still 10/10 one of the best and most high production music soundtracks featuring tunes played by renowned musicians and jazz bands from japan.

    If you're a Katamari fan this is a must have. If you've never played the game this is a great introduction. The Katamari series is one of a kind. its artistic, funky, japanese vibe, colorful, psychedelic, funny and cute. Even if you're not a fan of this series i think you will feel like a kid the first time you pick up this game, it's a silly experience and oddly gratifying.
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Jan 10, 2019
    80
    The game was funnier — and harder — than I expected. Its sunny nihilism brightened my winter nights.
  2. Dec 28, 2018
    85
    From its quirkiness in its aesthetic to its unique level design and progression, Reroll kept me entertained from start to finish while holding a polish that you should expect from a remaster.
  3. Dec 23, 2018
    79
    Katamari Damacy Reroll is basically the same game that came out in 2004 but it looks a lot better and can be played portably. So, if you've never played it before and you want to experience something truly off-the-wall then it's a must-buy game.