Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Dec 28, 2018
    90
    In spite of an ending that arrives too soon, Moonlighter manages to offer an engaging balance of commerce and action up to the very end.
  2. Dec 5, 2018
    90
    Moonlighter is a fantastic and unique adventure that can be played for either five minutes or five hours at a time. The gameplay works significantly well on the Nintendo Switch, making it a perfect pick-up-and-play game. Whether you just want the simple serenity of running your own shop, or the big adventure of beating each dungeon, you will find a great time with Moonlighter. You should definitely invest your gold into this title.
  3. Nov 25, 2018
    90
    The harmony that Moonlighter transmits is great. We can highlight its impeccable animation, its outstanding soundtrack and its artistic style that will take us to an immersive world, although the story is rather short.
  4. Nov 5, 2018
    90
    Moonlighter manages to perfectly balance the best bits of Stardew Valley, Dark Souls and Binding of Isaac for a game that just keeps you coming back for more.
  5. Nov 3, 2018
    90
    Moonlighter is an overall brilliant sum of its parts with the kind of things roguelike fans, action RPG fans or even lifestyle sim fans can find engaging. It's an addicting piece of grinding RPG gaming that comes highly recommended on any platform you choose.
  6. Nov 20, 2018
    88
    Moonlighter does an excellent job of getting the player to want to delve deeper into the dungeons, since venturing further yields greater rewards. Intricate details and visuals give Moonlighter a memorable style. Enemy designs provide an ample challenge for the risky adventurer, but the story falls short because the narrative isn't memorable.
  7. Nov 14, 2018
    85
    Either going to the dungeon on an adventure or becoming a master shopkeeper, Moonlighter is the kind of game you'll struggle to put down. The Switch feels like its true home, so if you haven't tried it yet, with this version you'll be out of excuses.
  8. Nov 6, 2018
    85
    One of the best news for the indie scene in this year. Moonlighter is old-school RPG with a pinch of roguelike, which combines real time battles with looting and shopping mechanics in a very innovative and effective way.
  9. Nov 3, 2018
    85
    Moonlighter is yet another perfect fit for the Switch. It combines some great aspects from games I like and adds its own charm with a brilliant soundtrack. The gameplay here perfectly suits portable play and the port is mostly excellent. If you’ve been waiting on the Switch version, the wait has definitely been worth it. I hope the minor performance and visual issues get addressed in a patch to make this the definitive Moonlighter experience.
  10. 85
    The beauty of Moonlighter is how seamlessly it bends dungeon-crawling with a store simulator. Every action you take, whether it be in the dungeons collecting materials or in your shop earning gold to spend on upgrades, helps to move you further along towards your end goal. There were a few technical hiccups that cropped up from time to time and the last few upgrades needed a bit of grinding to unlock. But despite that, I constantly found myself falling victim to the classic 'just one more run'.
  11. Nov 6, 2018
    82
    An original adventure than combines RPG, action an Management in the right way that, although it retains some shortcomings, is perfectly suited to Nintendo Switch.
  12. Nov 5, 2018
    82
    Even if it doesn't really shine in any particular aspect, Moonlighter is one of the best hybrid pixelated RPGs you can find on Nintendo Switch.
  13. Dec 11, 2018
    80
    With its unique premise of being a brave shopkeeper, Moonlighter creates an entertaining loop divided between two genres. Despite some minor bugs, it is still one of the best indies available on Switch this year.
  14. Nov 20, 2018
    80
    Moonlighter is a fun, unique mashup of 2D dungeon crawler meets small business simulator.
  15. Nov 20, 2018
    80
    Moonlighter is quite an original action game with roguelike elements and a management component which is surprisingly appealing to a wider segment of players than first thought. It also features a very swanky animation, plenty of visual details, a healthy lifespan and has the added advantage of being possible to play anywhere and anytime, which only makes this an even more attractive release.
  16. Nov 16, 2018
    80
    Moonlighter is a wonderfully charming adventure with a gorgeous style. Fans of the genre will have an absolute blast. Managing the store and exploring the many procedural dungeons never grew tiresome and the games upgrade system for both the Town and Will kept me going back for just one more round long into the evenings.
  17. Nov 1, 2018
    80
    If you want to play a top-down Legend of Zelda game as a rogue-lite while also taking shifts as a shopkeeper then, hey, Moonlighter is about to scratch a distinctive itch for you. It hits a sweet spot somewhere between satisfying swordplay and nitty-gritty economic sim, although some players may feel it gets ‘grindy’ after a while in its mechanics. Nonetheless, Digital Sun Games has produced a lush work it can be proud of; one that even touches on our humanity in an optimistic way.
  18. Oct 21, 2018
    80
    Moonlighter is one of the most beautiful pixel games of the past few years, with a fun twist on both roguelikes and rpgs.
  19. Nov 15, 2018
    77
    Interesting mix of action-roleplaying and shop management that offers added content on Switch, but suffers from a hardly readable font in handheld mode.
  20. Nov 12, 2018
    75
    Moonlighter’s original conceit blends shopkeeping with monster-slaying in a way that’s satisfying for most of its length. While both its combat and trading eventually get repetitive, the gorgeous graphics and pixel art make it a pleasant journey while it lasts. Unfortunately, your character’s quest comes to feel as shallow as the merchant’s life he wants to escape with its uninteresting goal and uninspired conclusion.
  21. 70
    Moonlighter is a cute -- if not overly repetitive -- dungeon crawler that puts a unique and much-needed spin on roguelikes.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 3 out of 33
  1. Jan 4, 2019
    10
    Bought this on Steam then when it was released on Switch I bought it again. It's just an amazing game for casual play and is perfect for theBought this on Steam then when it was released on Switch I bought it again. It's just an amazing game for casual play and is perfect for the Switch. Also great for 30 min lunch breaks. Full Review »
  2. Dec 31, 2018
    9
    Moonlighter is a top-down action rpg, where you play as the owner of a store named Moonlighter, whom has a dream to be a hero. To become thatMoonlighter is a top-down action rpg, where you play as the owner of a store named Moonlighter, whom has a dream to be a hero. To become that hero he embarks on an adventure to clear four dungeons, each one ruled by a deadly boss, each night to find items to sell, monsters to slay, and glory to hold.

    Beginning with only a broom and a small simple shop, you are dropped into the first dungeon where you’re quickly shown the ropes and learn that when you die in the dungeons you lose ‘all of the items you have collected on that run and are teleported back to town. You are then given a sword and shield to better fight your foes, beginning your journey.

    As you play through each dungeon you collect items that will stock your shop the next day. The deeper in the dungeon that you go, the better loot you’ll find. So when stocking your shelves that night when you get home, you price the items accordingly. The common items lower and the rare items higher, monitoring your customers reactions and trying new price points until you reach that perfect number to keep your popularity at its peak potential. Make sure you don’t overflood the market with certain items as then they won’t be worth as much, the same goes for holding back certain items to supply that demand for them.

    At the end of your sales day you’ll get a full rundown of your sales, and robbery attempts! Yes you thieves will steal your goods, but if you catch them in time you can give them a good walloping and send them on their way.

    The earnings for the day are yours to choose the best way to progress forward. Should you upgrade your shop? Allowing you more spaces to have more items on the sales floor at once or craft that new great sword enabling you to slay more golems to collect higher valued items? The choice is yours and boy is it a satisfying one. Saving up tons of greatly valued items after upgrading my shop space to have a HUGE sales day, then using my 500% increase in profit to enchant my weapons and demolish a dungeon boss is rewarding on so many levels that you have to experience.

    Along with the incredibly rewarding progression is the addictive combat. When inside the dungeons the levels are reminiscent of early gen Zelda games, moving from room to room trying to find the door to the next level of that dungeon.

    The combat consists of a light attack, heavy Zelda like 360 attack, shield block, and if you equip a bow, a ranged attack. Personally I used a great sword for heavier damage and a bow. Also having a dodge roll similar to Enter the Gungeon, where you are invincible during the roll and use it to leap over gaps. Truly giving you the complexity of modern melee games and once you get into a rhythm you’ll be blowing your way through dungeons with ease. A perfect balancing of getting good and upgrading your gear.

    Playing on both the PlayStation 4 and Nintendo Switch, they both look fantastic and while experiencing minor bugs on the Nintendo Switch, which I put in much more time on, none of them had serious repercussions. I’d definitely recommend the Switch version, because on planes, trains, and automobiles, you can Moonlight.

    Moonlighter is an absolutely amazing. From the moment I started playing I knew this game was made for someone just like me. The systems of shop keep/base building work so incredibly well with the rogue like dungeon crawling that it’s hard to put down and I can happily recommend it on PlayStation 4 and the Nintendo Switch.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 24, 2018
    7
    I got big Azure Dreams vibes from the early trailers for this game. Don´t get me wrong, it´s a ok game, a nice little adventure. Besides allI got big Azure Dreams vibes from the early trailers for this game. Don´t get me wrong, it´s a ok game, a nice little adventure. Besides all the bugs I had I was missing some puzzles and more secrets in the dungeons. Hit a wall, move a statue, hit stuffs in a special order, find some strange writings, anything that will give the dungeons more interesting deep and exploration. And why not have strange random characters in the town that both give you missions, strange items or whataver, just to make the town more interesting and a reason to explore it more.
    But I can understand, probly money and time like always when you have to kill your darlings in game production. But overallt, a ok game.
    Full Review »