Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 29
  2. Negative: 0 out of 29
Buy On
  1. 100
    I already know that this will be my most-played game on the Switch over the longer term. Once you start playing Civilization, it has the most incredible ability to make you lose all sense of time, and desire to play anything else.
  2. Nov 15, 2018
    94
    Civilization VI is as brilliant a 4X strategy game on Switch as it is on PC, tablets, or phones. With touch and Joy-Con controls that work reasonably well in both handheld and docked modes, I wouldn't be too upset about an even longer commute because it would give me more time to play a few turns.
  3. Nov 19, 2018
    92
    Civilization 6 is a huge and deep game, and on Nintendo Switch it'is more valid than ever thanks to an excellent porting.
  4. Dec 3, 2018
    90
    The Switch version is just the base game, but that’s more than OK. There’s plenty to sink your teeth into, providing hours upon hours of unique experiences, accompanied by a divine soundtrack to really get you in the mood for building nations. Civ VI is a titan of a game and well worth your time, even if you’ve already spent hours on the PC version, because, now it’s portable, which is potentially dangerous to those who have jobs.
  5. Nov 28, 2018
    90
    The Switch edition of Civilization VI brings the full (base) Civ experience to a handheld. For this alone it's an essential purchase for strategy players, but the interface and presentation make this one of the best games on the console on its own merits.
  6. 90
    It's Civilzation on Nintendo Switch in all its glory. It's full featured, plays great with the Switch control schemes and is addictive as ever.
  7. Nov 25, 2018
    90
    It's Civilization VI on the Nintendo Switch, practically immaculate and able to run even better than it used to do on certain rattling laptops.
  8. Nov 25, 2018
    90
    Firaxis Games has done a magnificent job of porting Civilization 6 to the Nintendo Switch. While the PC version offers superior graphics and controls, you won’t be able to put this Civilization 6 Switch port down. It retains the series’ effortlessly addictive gameplay and is the perfect title for newcomers and long-time Civilization fans alike. Just one more turn.
  9. Nov 22, 2018
    90
    An excellent conversion for one of the best Civs to date. Great interface, good performances. Too bad for the battery drain, but with two full hours playtime of it's very reasonable and acceptable, considering the quality of the port.
  10. Nov 20, 2018
    90
    One of the best PC to console ports ever, with the strategy great working impressively well on the Switch and opening up the series to a whole new audience.
  11. Nov 20, 2018
    90
    If you think Civilization peaked at IV, the sixth entry won’t change your mind, but we envy anyone who’s never played the series – Civilization VI on Switch is a brilliant introduction. Watching - and influencing - how the world unfolds is as addictive as ever, and the boon of portability make this a great way to play. Lack of online play is an obvious disappointment, but the core game works fantastically well on the handheld and we had an absolute blast; take our advice and get stuck in. Also, give Phillip II a wide berth – true to his word, he’ll get your wealth one way or another!
  12. Nov 20, 2018
    90
    A smart adaptation that use Switch full potential. A great game that is fun to play both with touch and analogic controls.
  13. Nov 20, 2018
    90
    The great Civilization VI works perfectly well in Nintendo Switch. Is one of the best strategic game of the last years, and it's pure addictive thanks to portable mode.
  14. Nov 17, 2018
    89
    Civilization VI is a great adaptation of the strategy classic for Nintendo Switch. Controls need some learning, but the game is deep and fun (and we love local multiplayer).
  15. Nov 21, 2018
    88
    A blend of touchscreen controls and physical buttons makes this one of the most convenient ways to play Civilization VI, and the portability makes it the best version to play on the go. Recommended to everyone who's looking to build a nation or take over the world.
  16. Dec 16, 2018
    86
    The perfect turn based strategy game on the go. Civilization 6 feels at home on the switch.
  17. Nov 29, 2018
    85
    Civilization VI on Switch is my favourite way to play. It makes a great handheld game, while the options to jump between physical and touch controls, or to swap to a TV screen, improve the already great mobile experience.
  18. Nov 27, 2018
    85
    It’s clear to see that Civ 6 is going to be one of my most-played Switch games, because that’s just the kind of game it is. You can’t say no to one more turn, and I can already foresee many times where my feet fall asleep in the bathroom.
  19. Nov 20, 2018
    85
    This is a great version of a great game. It plays great on the Switch, both on TV and on handheld.
  20. Nov 28, 2018
    82
    A decent port of the global turn based strategy that will entertain you for weeks.
  21. Jan 15, 2019
    80
    Lack of several DLCs can be overlooked, impossibility to buy the big Rise & Fall expansion less so, and the butchered multiplayer options are downright annoying. Still, this is a good port of a brilliant game which is a perfect fit for Nintendo Switch.
  22. Dec 11, 2018
    80
    This is the same Civilization VI experience you would expect to find on a PC, for better and for worse. It’s portable Civilization VI and it actually works. Civ fans probably didn’t even read this far down before they made the decision to jump in. Series newcomers shouldn’t be afraid to give it a shot, there’s a great tutorial and the reworked interface makes things seem a little less daunting, for the first few dozen hours at least.
  23. Dec 5, 2018
    80
    Civilization 6 is great thanks to the many rulers, it's addicting gameplay and because of how well it works on Switch. It's a shame the online multiplayer is missing. It shows it doesn't have everything the PC has, but the gameplay will keep you playing.
  24. Dec 3, 2018
    80
    Civilization VI has been one of the most demanding experiences I’ve ever played and while the barrier to entry will be intimidating to newcomers, it’s a game that rewards those willing to put in the time. You wouldn’t think a PC series would work so well on the Nintendo Switch but Firaxis has accomplished quite the feat and delivered one of the strongest third-party offerings the console has seen.
  25. Nov 30, 2018
    80
    A very good port. If you don't have a PC and want to discover Civilization VI, head straight to this Switch version. The game is nearly identical, except it doesn't include the Rise and Fall extension nor the multiplayer mode. For the rest, it is the same game, the same pleasure that you can carry wherever you want. You will just have to be patient at the end of a game, because each turn will last quite a long time.
  26. Nov 25, 2018
    80
    Even if we recommend going for the PC version of Civilization VI, the Switch version is quite tempting with cleaver controls and a full experience on mobile format. We only regret the very long processing time between turns towards the end-game.
  27. Nov 21, 2018
    80
    Even on the little Switch, Civilization VI doesn’t lose any of it features, thus it’s still as deep and complete as the other versions. And the Joycons do a great job, even if it’s far from perfect.
  28. 75
    With the exception of the missing online play, Civ VI is - for better or worse - a faithful and complete port of the PC experience. It’s disappointing to be stuck primarily playing with AI but there’s a lot to love about Civ VI’s single player experience, and playing on Switch turns out to be a solid way to experience the rise and fall of entire civilizations.
  29. Dec 6, 2018
    70
    The possibility of playing Sid Meier's Civilization VI wherever you are is a good incentive to buy this great title that is perfectly adapted to Nintendo Switch, although it is necessary to highlight the lack of online multiplayer.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Nov 30, 2018
    Civ 6 is a decent port, but the reason it’s grabbed me so thoroughly on Switch even after hundreds of hours logged on PC is because this game is perfect for this sort of handheld mode play. Civ’s turn-based nature makes it perfect for quick pick-up, put-down sessions, and the Switch’s nature as a dedicated gaming device means that this is now arguably a better shout for a few turns of Civ on the go than a larger, more cumbersome laptop.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 82 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 82
  2. Negative: 14 out of 82
  1. Nov 16, 2018
    9
    It's a great port. Sure, it's missing several multiplayer features but the controls, graphics and gameplay work exceedingly well on the Switch.
  2. Nov 20, 2018
    10
    This is the first Civ game I've played. I tried to dabble with Civ 3 decades ago but I didn't get the hang of it. Civ 6 on the Switch thoughThis is the first Civ game I've played. I tried to dabble with Civ 3 decades ago but I didn't get the hang of it. Civ 6 on the Switch though is PERFECT. I like the balance and mechanics and I simply cannot put it down. Being on a handheld it's easy to pick up and play again where I left off even during short breaks. The rest of the time in between though all I think about is my city. If you're having second thoughts let this review be the one to sway you into getting it. Full Review »
  3. Nov 17, 2018
    9
    I took the plunge on a first day purchase and I have to say I do not regret it. I have loved the Civ games and own them all, on PC, ConsolesI took the plunge on a first day purchase and I have to say I do not regret it. I have loved the Civ games and own them all, on PC, Consoles and mobile. This game is an excellent port. The controls feel natural, the graphics are great, no slow down, the soundtrack is there, and now with the added bonus of crashed out on the sofa playing it on a large screen TV until early hours of the morning.
    Handheld mode is great too.
    One little tip is, press the - button on the switch, and it puts tooltips on so you know what each icon does for beginners. ( Tooltips is off by default )
    Warning through, this game will take your life away. As for the people complaining about no multiplay etc, it doesnt bother me one bit... I always class Civ as a single player game that you can sit there play for hours in your own time and stop whenever you want.
    Full Review »