User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 150 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 150

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 22, 2018
    10
    Undertale has everything to be a good game, people are endearing and funny, the atmosphere is nice, the music is beautiful in short the game is a masterpiece if you are a fan of RPG or not I advise you strongly to try it
  2. Sep 23, 2018
    10
    I have always looked away from this game until now that it's on switch and I realize now I was such an idiot. This game uses mechanics I have never seen in an RPG where your skill can decide how much damage you take / give while most RPG's make me just click the a button to skip the text and attack again. Also, while most games just show one method of defending, this game shows differentI have always looked away from this game until now that it's on switch and I realize now I was such an idiot. This game uses mechanics I have never seen in an RPG where your skill can decide how much damage you take / give while most RPG's make me just click the a button to skip the text and attack again. Also, while most games just show one method of defending, this game shows different methods of defending and sometimes attacking but never stalls on it so you can have a new experience and not have to play a repetitive game over and over.

    UnderTale also has great replay-ability because even though the map does not change, your actions on certain people can change how the game is played and theirs multiple endings to make the game always feel new and fresh.

    When I was a child I had this ability known as "Sucking at games" which would make the game way more fun learning and getting better at bosses like Mario Galaxy 2 the Perfect Run would just be a good time spender but games will all use the same format which is why i have lost the feeling of learning a game but this is new and inspiring giving me the nostalgic feeling I have wanted for a long time, learning, trying different methods of killing bosses.

    In conclusion, UnderTale has a great story line with new kinds of methods of attacking and defending and in my total of 10 hours of playing I can say this is one of the best games I have ever played and I'm not just saying that because everyone else likes it, It has a great chunk of story on it's bones and I can't wait to see whats the next ending I can get. Thank you Toby Fox for giving me this feeling again I haven't felt in a long time.
    Expand
  3. Sep 29, 2018
    8
    This game has a fantastic story, simple gameplay mechanics and great art design and music. The game is very easy to pick up and very enjoyable to see through. The character's talking noises can get a little irritating but something very easy to overcome
  4. Sep 27, 2018
    10
    It's a masterpiece. From mechanics, to character design, to level design, to music, to little details, toward the variety of choices. The list pretty much goes on, and at fifteen dollars? There are very minor issues, more-say gripes which comes down as niche-picking, (but what game comes without those?). It's more a story based game, with mechanics and graphics that may not appeal to theIt's a masterpiece. From mechanics, to character design, to level design, to music, to little details, toward the variety of choices. The list pretty much goes on, and at fifteen dollars? There are very minor issues, more-say gripes which comes down as niche-picking, (but what game comes without those?). It's more a story based game, with mechanics and graphics that may not appeal to the modern age, but those that seek what this game provides, it does so with a heart throbbing punch.

    Easy 10/10.
    Expand
  5. Dec 18, 2018
    8
    I only played this game to see if it was as good as the insane fans say it is. in the end I don't think undertale is very good as a video game, but it's more of just something you experience. so is it worth experiencing? . . . yeah, it really is.
  6. Nov 13, 2018
    8
    Undertale is a good and unique game, although not without its flaws.

    The gameplay, writing and art are a weird yet mostly successful mix of comedic self-parody and earnestness. The core fighting mechanic involves controlling a little heart, dodging obstacles to avoid damage. To engage with the enemy, you can choose either to fight or to interact and talk. It's unique, fun, and the
    Undertale is a good and unique game, although not without its flaws.

    The gameplay, writing and art are a weird yet mostly successful mix of comedic self-parody and earnestness.

    The core fighting mechanic involves controlling a little heart, dodging obstacles to avoid damage. To engage with the enemy, you can choose either to fight or to interact and talk. It's unique, fun, and the game constantly riffs on the concept.

    There are a handful of puzzles. They are okay but not inspired.

    The writing is full of jokes, meta-humour, and absurdism, and there are a cast of memorable characters. I enjoyed this side of the game a lot.

    I found the story mixed, though. The broad strokes of an underground realm of mosters is good, but it's overly complex and confusing, partially due to a reliance on exposition dumps, and there are about twenty endings, which rob the game of its narrative momentum about halfway through and start to grate. I wasn't very emotionally engaged.

    The art is very basic, largely in the spirit of self-parody, but about half of the character designs are actually really strong, and there are some pretty environments. However, the other half is pretty bad. Some of the in-world character designs are not even intelligible, and there's an absence of animation which, while joked at, seems lazy.

    The music is unreservedly excellent.

    Overall, if just due to its sheer oddity, I have to recommend playing this.
    Expand
  7. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Absolutely a must-play. A masterpiece RPG lovers and haters alike. Please give the game an actual chance before just posting a negative review.
  8. Oct 7, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. 10/10 great dating sim. Got to date a skele-dude and get beat up by his brother. Fight a fish. Date a dinosuar. Date the fish. Beat up a doll in a sink. What else is needed in a video game? Also died 100 times by a goat. Just thought I'd mention that. Expand
  9. Oct 8, 2018
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is a masterpiece. The jokes are funny, the atmosphere is relaxing, the music is well done (due to the fact Fox is a composer), the characters are likable, action is provided, and some of the twists are definitely shocking. In the True pacifist Ending, you are just stricken with sadness due to the fact that despite saving everyone, you cannot save one monster. My one small complaint is the graphics and sprites. I highly recommend playing this game on PC, PS4, PS Vita or Nintendo Switch. Expand
  10. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    Undertale has an interesting story plot, simple game mechanics and music that seems to enhance the atmosphere of the game. The game is very enjoyable and I'd recommend it to anybody who has not tried it out yet.
  11. Nov 21, 2018
    9
    Ya eh juegado este juego y sinceramente le doy un 9 ya que su historia su gameplay son realmente de un clasico rpg me eh pasado este juego en neutral y me ah encantado ese final y voy a probar los demas sinceramente un buen juego
  12. Dec 16, 2018
    7
    I liked Undertale fine, but I don't think it lives up to the hype. I was expecting the transcendental experience the indie community has raved about, but instead I got something that is part brilliant deconstruction of the genre and part lazy gag game. The primitive graphics certainly don't help--other games have done brilliant things with limited resources, but Undertale just kinda looksI liked Undertale fine, but I don't think it lives up to the hype. I was expecting the transcendental experience the indie community has raved about, but instead I got something that is part brilliant deconstruction of the genre and part lazy gag game. The primitive graphics certainly don't help--other games have done brilliant things with limited resources, but Undertale just kinda looks like the worst of the games that inspired it with occasional flourishes that remind you it was made in 2015. Expand
  13. Dec 7, 2018
    10
    I am not an RPG fan. I've played Pokemon, Final Fantasy, and a few others that were just not memorable enough for me. But Undertale is different. It takes RPG tropes I hate and turns them on their head. I really enjoyed the combat in this game, it's unique, challenging, and interesting.

    The characters are endearing and the humor is fantastic. The music does a fantastic job of
    I am not an RPG fan. I've played Pokemon, Final Fantasy, and a few others that were just not memorable enough for me. But Undertale is different. It takes RPG tropes I hate and turns them on their head. I really enjoyed the combat in this game, it's unique, challenging, and interesting.

    The characters are endearing and the humor is fantastic. The music does a fantastic job of representing the character's personalities and traits (especially Death by Glamour). I cannot say how much I love this soundtrack. It's definitely a jammer.

    The complaints I have with the game are that the sprite work can be boring sometimes. You can walk down a hallway with 1 color, so you cannot even tell if you are moving or not. It's weird because there are some points in the game that are gorgeous (like the room where you fight sans). If all sprite work was like this it'd be incredible. Genocide run can be a little grindy.

    This is one of the best games I have ever played, and if you haven't played it yet, make this a priority. Go in blind if you can.
    Expand
  14. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    There is so much to love about Undertale. i have played hundreds of video games in my life, but nothing ever made me feel quite this way before. Taking inspiration from the Earthbound series for its quirkiness and sincerity, Undertale twists that formula into something new. Instead of kids against a world of corrupt adults and alien beings, we have in this game a lone child thrust into aThere is so much to love about Undertale. i have played hundreds of video games in my life, but nothing ever made me feel quite this way before. Taking inspiration from the Earthbound series for its quirkiness and sincerity, Undertale twists that formula into something new. Instead of kids against a world of corrupt adults and alien beings, we have in this game a lone child thrust into a society of mostly well-meaning monsters. Will you disrupt the monsters' world with your entrance, or will you find a way to see them as people, too?

    I find it hard to rank my favorite video games, but I think more fondly of my time with Undertale than I do of any other game. That may change with time, of course, but I can't think of another experience that generated this kind of instant nostalgia. I can't recommend this game enough. Please do yourself a favor, give it a try -- and don't go looking for spoilers!!!
    Expand
  15. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    I’ve heard of this game but never played it. Now I have and it’s interesting to see why people loved it back then. I love the humor and jokes in the game it’s very entertaining and a very fun game to play when you have nothing else to do.
  16. Oct 23, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the best indie game ever made. No doubt. It looks and sounds beautiful. The characters all have their own special charm. The world around you is wonderfully designed. The music is amazing. The stories are very well done, namely the Pacifist story. If that didn't give it away, this is one of those games where every single choice you make affects the ending of the game. Say you don't kill anything and do a bunch of other really specific stuff. You'll get the Pacifist ending. If you play through the game normally (and most likely blindly), you'll get the Neutral ending. But if you literally go around hunting for enemies to kill, eventually none will show up. Do this in every area of the game, and you'll get the Genocide ending (and one of the hardest boss fights every made). Overall, Undertale is modern masterpiece. Just don't go looking up fan-art of Undyne x Alphys... I've seen some s***. Expand
  17. Oct 24, 2018
    5
    Undertale has some unique mechanics which are interesting, such as the mini-game you play to mitigate any damage you receive, however for an RPG the storyline seemed overly simple and the humour is fairly basic. I found this game underwhelming after reading all the extremely positive comments, especially if you consider that at the time of writing it's almost ranked the same by players asUndertale has some unique mechanics which are interesting, such as the mini-game you play to mitigate any damage you receive, however for an RPG the storyline seemed overly simple and the humour is fairly basic. I found this game underwhelming after reading all the extremely positive comments, especially if you consider that at the time of writing it's almost ranked the same by players as Zelda BOTW (8.5) and Mario Kart (8.6). I'm a big fan of 8 bit games, but I wouldn't recommend this to a friend. Expand
  18. Nov 29, 2018
    10
    One of the best games ever made. I have no idea why there are so many negative reviews, did you even play the game?
  19. Nov 19, 2018
    1
    I played this game with high expectations because of it's positive reviews. I know many people love this game but it's not for everyone. I was very dissapointed in the story, humor, and combat mechanics of this game. I think it is way over hyped. The best thing I can say about this game is that it's charming, it has good characters, and it has good music.
  20. Dec 5, 2018
    0
    Everyone said go in blind, to trust them, it will be great. After wasting several hours in trauma and nonsense, I gave up.

    I read this game was reminiscent of ghibli, no.
  21. Oct 2, 2018
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Holier-than-thou, preachy, moralistic, emotionally manipulative game that criticizes you for doing things it's designed to do without even being morally consistent

    Unfair morality: I'm expected to sympathize with the monsters who plan to murder an innocent child, have already murdered several children, and also plan to commit genocide but I am criticized if i cross a similar line, killing is only treated seriously when the player commits it and not the monsters

    Emotionally manipulative design:
    - Frog during tutorial tells you that some enemies need to be weakened to be spared, sparing Toriel is unintuitive so a on a first run if you haven't been spoiled you will probably try to weaken her but the hit that should weaken her is uniquely set by design to do enough damage to kill her
    - Sans judges your actions and tells you the "true meaning" of rpg terms in the ui (EXP stands for Execution Points) right before the end of game where it makes no sense in-universe since at this point most of the deeds have already been done, the intention is clear that during an unspoiled playthrough you're supposed to kill occasionally and then get caught off guard and feel guilty at the end when you're judged, as a result of this design Sans comes across as a preachy moralistic hypocrite

    Characters: With the exception of Sans and Mettaton characters are dumb enough to be pets, clearly they were intended to be endearing but I found them to be obnoxious, Sans comes across as preachy, moralistic, and self important, I did like Mettaton though

    I Really Hate Sans:
    - Even during a genocide run Sans makes no real attempt to persuade or stop you from killing monsters, even Papyrus who he supposedly cares deeply for. Instead he makes immature holier-than-thou threats that achieve nothing ("ur gonna have a bad time"). He only likes to judge you for killing monsters while glossing over the actions and plans of the monsters. What kind of person would tell you "u shouldve done better ur a bad person for killing" after having been chased through a hostile environment of people who want to murder you, have murdered people before you, want to commit genocide, and have been impaling you with spears and **** ?! The monster's motivations are irrelevant because the player is an innocent victim under no obligation to sympathize with the assailants and the promise to Toriel to "protect" the player doesn't remotely justify any of this

    The rules of the world are not believable, it seems that anything goes. Player's unique ability to manipulate time is a major plot point, it's explained that the player has the ability because he or she is the most "determined" being in the Underground. Flowey loses the ability because only one person can manipulate time. The rule is too simple to be believable. Humans are an entire race of beings and the player is probably not the most "determined" being in existence. There's a whole world outside the Underground, what makes the Underground so special that you get to time travel only when you're in it? Why does the place that the humans sealed the monsters just happen to be this special? What are the boundaries? Who or what judges "determination" in order to determine who gets to time travel and how? Is it just a stat to be compared?

    Meta shock value is cheap

    Has charm in presentation and great music but the story and characters offend me which are the main draws of this game

    rant over
    Expand
  22. Sep 21, 2018
    1
    Don't believe the lies. There are those who will tell you that Undertale is one of the most unique, charming, and creative RPGs ever made. There are people who will tell you that the music is spectacular, that the characters are incredibly likeabe, and that Toby Fox has crafted one of the most beloved video games of all time.

    These people have NEVER played a video game before or since
    Don't believe the lies. There are those who will tell you that Undertale is one of the most unique, charming, and creative RPGs ever made. There are people who will tell you that the music is spectacular, that the characters are incredibly likeabe, and that Toby Fox has crafted one of the most beloved video games of all time.

    These people have NEVER played a video game before or since they played Undertale. The game offers nothing of value as a video game. The gameplay is lackluster and uninspired. The plot, clearly designed to subvert JRPG tropes, feels hackneyed and forced. And the often praised humor reminds me of how children will do something stupid and laugh.

    It falls far short of the games that very clearly inspired it. Earthbound, Cave Story, Shin Megami Tensei, and its contemporary indie titles, such as Shovel Knight, Freedom Planet, Stealth 2, Thumper, or virtually any other major indie Switch release.

    Undertale is increasingly garnering a reputation for being one of the most overhyped video game titles ever made. It is amazing how fans of the title, to this day, write off very real criticisms towards the game under the belief that the game is only disliked because of how popular it is.

    If the game was actually good, how the fans behave should not matter.

    If you do not already know who Toby Fox is you will not enjoy Undertale. It is not a good game.
    Expand
  23. Nov 5, 2018
    5
    eh it was ok

    kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  24. Jan 7, 2019
    8
    To some, an affecting masterpiece. To others, a joke that lands the first time, but grows tired as it's repeated over and over. Whatever you think of Undertale, it's impossible to deny that it goes down its own path, subverting almost every RPG and gaming convention along the way.
    If you play it, then you should definitely play it again to get the best ending. The endings and the many
    To some, an affecting masterpiece. To others, a joke that lands the first time, but grows tired as it's repeated over and over. Whatever you think of Undertale, it's impossible to deny that it goes down its own path, subverting almost every RPG and gaming convention along the way.
    If you play it, then you should definitely play it again to get the best ending. The endings and the many hidden secrets are not just different tucked-on cutscenes–they retroactively transform Undertale into a different game.
    Expand
  25. Jan 15, 2019
    10
    There is no other game like this. Period. If there was one video game that everybody, even non-gamers should play, it's this one. Because it has a very important message. Probably the most emotional video game experience I've ever had. Don't even get me started on the music, Toby Fox is a genius. Do yourself a favour and play this as soon as possible, no matter the platform.

    P.S.: Lol @
    There is no other game like this. Period. If there was one video game that everybody, even non-gamers should play, it's this one. Because it has a very important message. Probably the most emotional video game experience I've ever had. Don't even get me started on the music, Toby Fox is a genius. Do yourself a favour and play this as soon as possible, no matter the platform.

    P.S.: Lol @ ochinchin's review down there. Maybe you should print that out and hand it to a clinical psychologist. You seem to have a lot of problems with being judged.
    Expand
  26. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    Absolutely flipping amazing. All of the characters are so loveable, the story hits you right in the feels. I have nothing bad to say about the game. It's difficult at some parts but is still fun, no matter how difficult it gets.
  27. Nov 21, 2018
    10
    Undertale is the perfect game it has everything a good story nice characters. The art style looks very good and the game is working well on Nintendo switch!
  28. Dec 11, 2018
    10
    This game is definitely a hit or miss. If you're like me it was a hit, and it's considered to be one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences ever. Not for everyone though.
  29. Dec 8, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. TBH tho, game =x= fandom.
    A trash fandom doesn't defines a game.
    Now, with that out of the way, the actual review.
    Coming from someone that played it on 2014, the game has aged pretty well, it still feels pretty fresh and innovative. Even if Toby's jokes are despisable, they're just lines of text so I don't think they affect the score. The MewMew fight was pretty good, the music felt a little bit underwhelming tho, but it was a nice extra.

    A must play indeed, and it's a great way of introducing someone to RPGs.
    Expand
  30. Jan 4, 2019
    9
    Now let's be honest, Undertale is a piece of art. A piece of art you cannot miss out to admire. And now that it's on the Nintendo Switch, I decided to try it out, and no regrets. Holy damn this game was fun. It has a great story, amazing soundtrack, and a unique gameplay. I'm playing Earthbound: Beginnings next.
  31. Dec 30, 2018
    10
    This is my favorite game right now. I love RPGs and the soundtrack is amazing. Even if the fandom might be bad it doesn't have anything to do with the game.
  32. Jan 4, 2019
    9
    If I'm being honest this game is lackluster. No side quests other than three and two just to get the Good Ending and the game your first time will take between 5 to 7 hours though surprisingly I surpassed that limit quite a bit thanks to the multiple endings. The things that make me love this game so much are the cool battle system, main story, comedy, and the feels. This game is veryIf I'm being honest this game is lackluster. No side quests other than three and two just to get the Good Ending and the game your first time will take between 5 to 7 hours though surprisingly I surpassed that limit quite a bit thanks to the multiple endings. The things that make me love this game so much are the cool battle system, main story, comedy, and the feels. This game is very inexpensive so you ought to give this game a fair shot. Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. NF Magazine
    Oct 29, 2018
    95
    If you haven't played Undertale before, you will want to pick this Switch version up to experience what everyone's talking about for yourself. [Issue #36 – November/December 2018, p. 17]
  2. Oct 25, 2018
    100
    One of the most original modern JRPGs of all time, and beatable at the fraction of the time. Once you get over its primitive aesthetic, you’ll soon realise why everyone else has been so captivated by Toby Fox’s creation.
  3. Sep 25, 2018
    90
    Toby Fox's work is not just an anecdote: it is perfectly well-thought out. It hides something that connects directly or indirectly to anyone who has spent too much time with a gamepad in his hands.