User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 133
  2. Negative: 96 out of 133
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2018
    9
    I really enjoyed what the presentation side of the game had to offer because both the visuals and sound design enhanced the gameplay quite considerably in my opinion. In terms of content the game has a huge amount for you to get to grips with and the variety present in the content will no doubt keep you satisfied for ages. Exploring the huge areas in the game always feels rewarding andI really enjoyed what the presentation side of the game had to offer because both the visuals and sound design enhanced the gameplay quite considerably in my opinion. In terms of content the game has a huge amount for you to get to grips with and the variety present in the content will no doubt keep you satisfied for ages. Exploring the huge areas in the game always feels rewarding and this in turn gives the game even more when it comes to replay ability. There is an array of different challenges for you to undertake in the game and pretty much all of them are fun due to the amount of thought and effort that’s gone into them. Each different mechanic in the game works well and even though it can be quite difficult every now and then I didn’t get frustrated very often. I was a little disappointed with the story because nothing much stood out here. Sometimes the AI can respond unusual which can harm the immersion and feel of the levels a little bit. The Hitman franchise has had a special place in my heart for quite a while now and even though I had some reservations of the episodic direction they went with in regards to Hitman I thought they did the series a lot of justice. As you can imagine then I was chomping at the bit to get to grips with Hitman 2 and thankfully I’m pleased to say that once again they’ve done this fantastic series justice. This time around there’s a lot more content for you to get to grips with straight away and if you’re a fan of Hitman then you’ll no doubt enjoy what the content delivers to you. This game will without a doubt keep you satisfied for ages because there’s a number of different and very varied challenges for you to undertake and whilst the story could’ve been better this aspect doesn’t hold the game back much at all. Instead you forget about this small issue quickly because exploring the vast areas is very satisfying and always rewarding. In terms of problems the game has very few and you’ll be pleased to know that each different mechanic has been pretty much done to perfection. At the end of the day then recommending Hitman 2 is very easy indeed and if you’ve never played a game in this franchise before then I thoroughly recommend that you try this game out because the stealth action has never been better. Expand
  2. Nov 10, 2018
    10
    Hitman isn't for everybody, if you didn't enjoy the first season then you're definitely not going to enjoy this one. However if like me you absolutely loved the first season then you're going to love this one even more. It's essentially the same amazing gameplay from season one but now there are six huge brand new levels to explore and murder people in. However this time, better attentionHitman isn't for everybody, if you didn't enjoy the first season then you're definitely not going to enjoy this one. However if like me you absolutely loved the first season then you're going to love this one even more. It's essentially the same amazing gameplay from season one but now there are six huge brand new levels to explore and murder people in. However this time, better attention has been paid to level design and the levels are more consistent in quality, whereas in the first some levels were great but others were lacking. If you love Hitman then this developer deserves all your support. They're one of the few developers left who make game like this. Buy this game, it's worth it. Expand
  3. Nov 10, 2018
    8
    The first game was to be from the beginning with io interactive, not with square enix and this policy of playing in episodes full of microtransactions. excellent game but with little change compared to the previous one. 8/10
  4. Nov 9, 2018
    10
    If you love Hitman 2 this game is for you. Its one of the best Hitman game's ever made
  5. Nov 16, 2018
    6
    I love the Hitman series, but this game is the first Hitman I'm not impressed with. I'm not trying to say it's a complete disaster but it's a huge disappointment and you should put your $60 towards something else and wait until the price drops a lot or rent it. It's more of a downgrade spinning off Hitman 2016. Not much of it is different from the last one either. Graphically in a lot ofI love the Hitman series, but this game is the first Hitman I'm not impressed with. I'm not trying to say it's a complete disaster but it's a huge disappointment and you should put your $60 towards something else and wait until the price drops a lot or rent it. It's more of a downgrade spinning off Hitman 2016. Not much of it is different from the last one either. Graphically in a lot of areas it looks worse than it's predecessor. I know it's only been two years, but damn! You guys couldn't have improve the lighting, textures, characters models, colors, etc.? But instead they only had time to enhanced the resolution to 4K. Wow... It's 2018 and some gaming industries still don't understand that high resolution isn't the only thing needed to make a game look good. The cut scenes are so dated! I mean seriously pictures only? No motion at all in the cut scenes in between missions. What the **** is this 1996? OK, enough talking about graphics, because that doesn't matter as much as the gameplay. The assassination are still great and it's cool that there are still a ton of opportunities to make missions more fun, easier and replay-able. The levels are huge and detailed as usual and there's a lot to going on in them. However there are flaws. The NPC's AI is just stupid. You can easily run pass them, or run away from them when detected and if they don't get a good look at you they won't report it. If you're hidden and shoot the target you're after and they normally don't go into high alert. There's a lot of flaw in Hitman 2's enemy and AI system. The game has a few glitches and some of them are pretty annoying. To list two sometimes NPCs will stop talking and that often results in them not getting the things done they're suppose to in revealed opportunities. Sometimes the game will load for really long time or never load at all. Come on polish your **** Hitman 2 is a game that had so much potential. But sadly the Warner Bros. Interactive entertainment wanted a quick cash grab, so they obviously rushed it. They should've waited 1-2 more years to release it, that way the designers and programmers could've done their jobs correctly. The only things the game improves upon is having better accent that fit the country that you're in level by level and all levels our open this time. It even includes episodes from Hitman 2016. But other than that there really isn't anything worthy to look into. Expand
  6. Nov 13, 2018
    10
    Excellent game, improves on the last installment in many ways. Massive amount of things to do if you want to complete all the challenges.
  7. Nov 13, 2018
    0
    Purchased a physical copy of the game but can't even get to play it! You put the game disc in start it up but all the content is locked. When trying to click on any of the content it tells me that i don't have the content required and to go to the Xbox Store. However, when i go to the Xbox Store it tells me that i own the game and that it's is ready to play, despite the game telling me iPurchased a physical copy of the game but can't even get to play it! You put the game disc in start it up but all the content is locked. When trying to click on any of the content it tells me that i don't have the content required and to go to the Xbox Store. However, when i go to the Xbox Store it tells me that i own the game and that it's is ready to play, despite the game telling me i don't have the required content. So i've spent the past hour just trying to get the game to work! Going to be taking it back and getting a refund on it. Expand
  8. Nov 13, 2018
    0
    The game disc just acts as a posh download key! When you put the disc in it won't allow you to play anything. It tells you that you don't have the required content and to go to the store, but when you go to the store it tells you that you own the game and that it is installed ready to play!? After 30 minutes back and forth trying to work it out i finally discovered that you have to findThe game disc just acts as a posh download key! When you put the disc in it won't allow you to play anything. It tells you that you don't have the required content and to go to the store, but when you go to the store it tells you that you own the game and that it is installed ready to play!? After 30 minutes back and forth trying to work it out i finally discovered that you have to find each individual mission and download each one individually!! It doesn't even tell you this! To make things worse i can only select some of the missions to download them. For some bizarre reason it won't allow me to select certain missions of the main game to download. And because you have to search for each mission on the store and download them individually it meant i had to search online for what missions the game has so i knew exactly what missions i was looking for! IOI Interactive has done some really silly things in its time but this one really does take the cake. They have a bizarre habit of making things unnecessarily complicated for themselves and for their fans. Like how Season 1 had about 3 or 4 different release models as they kept scrapping and changing them and confusing everyone. It's as if they enjoy annoying us or something. Expand
  9. Nov 13, 2018
    2
    As a Hitman veteran who has been with the franchise since it began this pains me to say this. Hitman 2 isn't very good. The original Hitman dev team left IO Interactive after Hitman Blood Money in 2006. Hitman Absolution, Hitman series 1 and now Hitman series 2 were made by the Kane & Lynch team. This team are still failing to workout what made Hitman such a great Franchise. Proof thatAs a Hitman veteran who has been with the franchise since it began this pains me to say this. Hitman 2 isn't very good. The original Hitman dev team left IO Interactive after Hitman Blood Money in 2006. Hitman Absolution, Hitman series 1 and now Hitman series 2 were made by the Kane & Lynch team. This team are still failing to workout what made Hitman such a great Franchise. Proof that they fail to realise what makes Hitman a great franchise are....Hitman Absolution wasn't even a Hitman game. It took everything that made Hitman, Hitman and chucked it out the window. The developers even apologised for it and said looking back on it is wasn't very good. Neither Hitman Absolution or Hitman Series 1 had Agent 47's signature briefcase. Not having his signature briefcase is like making a Bond movie without a Bond car. Fans demanded the briefcase back and its taken 12yrs to get it back! Not asking composer Jesper Kyd back to do the soundtrack despite fans asking for it and signing petitions to get him back. Jesper Kyd said he has no idea why they never asked him back. This shows the devs have no clue. Anyway, what makes Hitman 2 stupid. I just played a mission where i had to steal a famous British tattoo artist and reality stars clothes and pretend to be him so i could meet and give a Columbian drug lord and his wife a tattoo. Both the drug lord and his wife say they are massive fans of yours. The problem is Agent 47 looks nothing like the famous tattoo artist, he doesn't even resemble him one bit. And he has a thick British accent and Agent 47 has an American one. You just wear his clothes and that's it you are now a famous British tattoo artist and reality star and the Columbian drug lord and his wife are none the wiser, despite the fact that are massive fans of yours! (Maybe they have real bad eyesight and hearing? lol) But then on the other hand when you steal and wear an enemy disguise that has a full face mask and balaclava, other enemies can recognise you despite having your face fully covered! Fans gave IO Interactive so much stick for this in Hitman Absolution way back in 2012. It was one of the fans biggest annoyances with that game. Yet they've done it again for Hitman 2! Enforcers are more annoying than ever. Enforcers have a little white circle above their heads and you can't go near these people as they recognise you and blow your cover. There are lots of them in this game and they are all placed in stupid places. Some of them don't even move and just stay in one spot so you find yourself just having sprint away and quickly get around a corner before your detected and cover is blown. As a Hitman your not supposed to act suspicious. But suddenly being forced to sprint around a corner to avoid having your cover blown just makes you look very suspicious and is stupid. Especially when playing the story and having to follow a main character on a certain path and they walk down a path full of enforcers that recognise you and blow your cover. Other guards are also placed in stupid places so you don't get time to breath. Like 1 at every entry point. And none of the targets seem to be left alone, not even for a brief second. They all have bodyguards glued to them. This means the game forces you to follow set paths and kill the targets via IO Interactives set staged kills. You kinda have to play the game how THEY want not how YOU want. In previous Hitman's, Like Blood Money, targets would often be alone for a brief moment and give you opportunities to whack them how you wanted, with silverballers, whatever, before someone came back and caught you. You could play around and experiment, have fun, you had the time to do so. But this game doesn't really allow that because of all the bodyguards, enforcers and their poor placement within the maps. So what should be fun just becomes super annoying. If you buy the physical version you should be warned there is no game on the actual disc. The disc just serves and a verification key that allows you to download the game. So if you have no internet or poor internet stay well away as the disc version has to be downloaded removing the whole point of a disc version. I really wanted to enjoy this game. I did enjoy the first level in New Zealand, that was genuinely good if very short and small. It's just a house on beach but looks cool with a great atmosphere and was almost made right. But other levels simply aren't. Graphis are probably a little worse than Hitman Season 1, but not far off. Cutscenes are now still images which isn't great. Also, if you own Hitman Season 1 you can download a remastered Season 1 for free. But bare in mind you lose all saves and unlocks and have to start again. And some of the remastered levels look worse because of changes to lighting etc. And some levels are removed altogether like the Christmas Holiday Hoarders Paris mission. Expand
  10. Nov 12, 2018
    9
    Semi-derisively labeled "Hitman Season 2" rather than a true sequel, with Hitman 2 it feels as though the episodic experiment IO began in 2016 is finally a complete game. The fact that all of the content from the previous entry can be ported over reinforces the fact that Hitman 2 is simply the latest build of IO's Hitman client, now filled with a robust library of assassinationSemi-derisively labeled "Hitman Season 2" rather than a true sequel, with Hitman 2 it feels as though the episodic experiment IO began in 2016 is finally a complete game. The fact that all of the content from the previous entry can be ported over reinforces the fact that Hitman 2 is simply the latest build of IO's Hitman client, now filled with a robust library of assassination playgrounds. Whether this is worth the price tag of a whole new game ultimately depends on how serious of a devotee to the series you are. As a die-hard Agent 47 aficionado, Hitman 2 delivers. All the missions are solid and the suburban episode "Another Life" ranks highly in the canon of great Hitman environments. Hitman Blood Money is still the best overall entry in the series and 2016 HItman's Sapienza still wears the crown of best individual mission, but Hitman 2 is a great continuation of the franchise's legacy. My only fear is that WB will pressure the studio to start cranking out sequels every year and dilute the quality (a la Assassin's Creed or Call of Duty). Expand
  11. Nov 16, 2018
    10
    Best HITMAN Game ever made.

    love the fact you can play the first one in this game.
  12. Nov 16, 2018
    2
    A beautiful looking game that is let down by poor level design and poor A.I. Hitman 2 is trying to be like fan favourite Hitman Blood Money from 2006. Blatantly so. That's not a bad thing, if they could get it right. But they can't get it right. Previous Hitmans like Hitman Blood Money catered for all playstyles and had great well thought out level design to allow for that. Hitman 2 'sA beautiful looking game that is let down by poor level design and poor A.I. Hitman 2 is trying to be like fan favourite Hitman Blood Money from 2006. Blatantly so. That's not a bad thing, if they could get it right. But they can't get it right. Previous Hitmans like Hitman Blood Money catered for all playstyles and had great well thought out level design to allow for that. Hitman 2 's level design is a mess and not well thought out and doesn't cater to all playstyles. Not all maps are like it, but the majority are. Take the map called, Another Life. It's blatantly trying to copy the iconic Hitman Blood Money map called, A New Life. But if falls flat compared to the iconic Hitman Blood Money map that it's desperately trying to imitate. Everything is there and his the potential to be amazing, but poor level design totally spoils it. For example, you have sniping locations, but none of them are any good and field of view is blocked by objects like sheds, marquee tents and trees so you cannot get a shot on the target. I went into 2 houses and all sniping spots from open windows were blocked by objects, or the sun was glaring in way too bright to see. (Bloom is another issue here) I then tried the 3 house in the row but couldn't enter via a door. To get to the sniping spot i had to climb a drain pipe or a ladder. But unlike older Hitman games, Agent 47 can no longer carry his briefcase up drain pipes or ladders. He just drops it and goes up without it. Considering Hitman games way back on the Playstation 2 had the ability to climb up drain pipes and ladders with his sniper case it seems really stupid not to have that simple useful mechanic 12yrs later on much more advanced hardware. And this poor level design carried on through 99% of the levels. If you're the kind who likes to snipe or go up close and personal with silverballer silenced pistols, fibre wire, poisons or other close combat weapons, this Hitman really doesn't seemed designed to be played this way. It is mainly designed for you to follow a linear story in an big open map and kill the targets in staged ways like IO Interactive has created. Fetch quests like fetch this object, now fetch or find another object all to set up a staged kill to progress through the story. In older Hitman games targets would be go somewhere alone and allow you time to kill them and get out of there. Hitman 2 isn;t designed this way either. Whenever you have to go steal a disguise or try to kill a target they are always in public areas where you cannot get them or have a bodyguard or bodyguards with them at all times. I tried to get one target they way i wanted to and not follow the story missions. But they just never went anywhere private. I followed them for over an hour trying everything, even setting off fire alarms in hope the target would just go somewhere i could kill them. But they never did. They would just run back to a room and get covered with even more bodyguards. To kill the targets or get past enforcers (Enforcers have white dots above them and recognise you and blow your cover, and there are alot of them even on casual difficulty) you have to quickly kill and then run away in a split second. Or run from enforcers just so they don't blow your cover. That's if you don't get trapped in a corner by one you didn't see coming. And they even recognise you even when wearing a full face mask, which is very stupid. So you spend alot of the time blowing the missions and just have to run away and hide or reload a save point. Older Hitman games gave you a wealth of opportunity and time, Hitman 2 doesn't. A.I is stupid as well. Throw a brick at someones head knocking them out loudly right beside a guard and the guard hears and sees nothing, Fire a silenced pistol and they a hear it and your cover is blown. Fire a sniper rifle from miles away and they instantly know where you are and come at you in seconds. So you just have to snipe then instantly run away as quick as you can. Get a totally unnoticed kill and walk into a room of people and guards come by no problem. Then all of a sudden they turn into enforcers and your the only guilty man in the room and your cover is blown despite it being an unnoticed kill. To unlock stuff like weapons you have grind for hours maybe playing the same map over and over. Took me 6 hours playing the same map just to unlock a silenced sniper rifle i wanted. It looks great for the most part, and has the best HDR i've seen in a game. But some bits are too bright and bloomy. Also quite a few bugs, characters clipping, holding invisible guns, lights vanishing, characters floating. Out of the 6 new levels i only like 1, the first one in New Zealand. And that was more of a tutorial level. No doubt these levels are big an impressive, just poorly used. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Nov 17, 2018
    80
    This sequel offers plenty of reasons to revisit the world of assassination, whether you're an experienced hitman or just trying out the fiber wire for the first time.
  2. Nov 16, 2018
    90
    IO deserves praise for knowing their series so well and bringing the types of changes to this sequel that longtime fans will appreciate most of all. It's the most accessible Hitman to date thanks to improved information sharing, but it also runs deeper than anything before it, making it a game truly built for the fans that know Agent 47 best. No other stealth game plays like Hitman, and Hitman 2 is the best this unique series has ever been.
  3. Nov 15, 2018
    100
    It’s serious if they want it to be serious, but it’s also incredibly silly if you’re in the mood for that. Which ever way you choose to play it, though, it’s consistently fun, and that makes Hitman 2 well worth checking out.