Warner Bros. | Release Date: October 5, 2018
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 1156 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
991
Mixed:
85
Negative:
80
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
pabloagusOct 5, 2018
This film does not disappoint!! So many good things to say about this film...the script, the performances, the music and Bradley Cooper's self-assured, direction. With her performance, Lady Gaga establishes herself as a First-Rate Actress. AThis film does not disappoint!! So many good things to say about this film...the script, the performances, the music and Bradley Cooper's self-assured, direction. With her performance, Lady Gaga establishes herself as a First-Rate Actress. A star is born, indeed! Well done!! Expand
49 of 76 users found this helpful4927
All this user's reviews
10
joanne-Oct 5, 2018
back to hollywood golden age. The chemistry between protagonists is magical.
22 of 37 users found this helpful2215
All this user's reviews
10
JvdMOct 5, 2018
Amazing movie, Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga deliver a career high with this spectacle. The movie delivers an emotional rollercoaster with amazing songs and stellar musical performances (all original music.) I laughed, smiled, cried andAmazing movie, Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga deliver a career high with this spectacle. The movie delivers an emotional rollercoaster with amazing songs and stellar musical performances (all original music.) I laughed, smiled, cried and enjoyed myself and everyone in the audience loved it. the end was tragic, didn't see it coming. Everyone should see this movie period. Expand
20 of 34 users found this helpful2014
All this user's reviews
10
jamesbluesOct 5, 2018
wow. Bradley did such an amazing job at storytelling. They way the camera flows and how it captures the characters face expression with that close shots, it's just simply magic. Lady gaga did such a tremendous work with the soundtrack and shewow. Bradley did such an amazing job at storytelling. They way the camera flows and how it captures the characters face expression with that close shots, it's just simply magic. Lady gaga did such a tremendous work with the soundtrack and she shines as bright as ever, I think this is the best version of herself that we have ever seen. Also lady gaga provides an excellent job portraying ally's character. The 2h that the movie lasts just passed so fast. I had an awesome time seeing this movie so i recommend it for everyone! Expand
15 of 27 users found this helpful1512
All this user's reviews
10
Stan1106Oct 5, 2018
Amazing songs, amazing artists

Very emotional (especially the last scene !!!)
16 of 29 users found this helpful1613
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Oct 6, 2018
I will not talk about the other films, regardless of whether this is the third remake of the same story.

But I will talk about what I saw and what I really think this film is and first of all I must mention that the hype in my opinion was
I will not talk about the other films, regardless of whether this is the third remake of the same story.

But I will talk about what I saw and what I really think this film is and first of all I must mention that the hype in my opinion was excessive.

Bradley Cooper did good in his debut behind the scenes, but I don't think it's the wonder a lot of critics are saying it is. Regrettably, I think this film will actually get some nominations for the Academy Award and in my opinion it doesn't deserve them.

This remake is as basic as it is predictable and no matter that we are in a story updated to our times all its elements feel too predictable. Regardless of whether you've seen the remakes or not, if you've seen romantic films in your life you know where the story is going and that takes away much of its charm.

Cooper gives a sustained rhythm to the first hour. The music is pretty good, the concerts scenes are vibrant, everything unfolds in a pleasant, entertaining and interesting way but there comes a point where the rhythm begins to fall drastically and Cooper loses control of the story because when the drama and the emotional break arrives, he only stacks one event after another in order to provoke an emotional reaction from the viewers in order to prepare them for the final and huge dramatic point of the story.

Yes, there's quality, that I will not deny it, Cooper delivers a sincere performance although in points it's kinda cliche. Lady Gaga does the same because she starts well but when the moment comes she only becomes a more fictional version of her real life stage persona. No surprise on that side.

Bradley Cooper ends up offering a solid debut as a director but one too predictable and safe. It doesn't take any risk and everything walks from point A to point B by a very straight path and although functional, it doesn't offer anything new or refreshing.
Expand
17 of 31 users found this helpful1714
All this user's reviews
10
pranikmOct 5, 2018
Literally legend. comin through. thanks a lot for Gaga and Bradley, iconic duo
18 of 33 users found this helpful1815
All this user's reviews
8
tropicAcesOct 5, 2018
The first act is great (including a truly anxiety-inducing sequence, it’s shot/edited/composed perfectly), the middle sags a bit and the climax brings it home. Very well acted and constructed drama, and impressive directorial debut effort byThe first act is great (including a truly anxiety-inducing sequence, it’s shot/edited/composed perfectly), the middle sags a bit and the climax brings it home. Very well acted and constructed drama, and impressive directorial debut effort by Cooper. Expand
15 of 28 users found this helpful1513
All this user's reviews
10
antoniofernandoOct 5, 2018
Amazing. Even better than I1 thought it would be. Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper are the best
15 of 28 users found this helpful1513
All this user's reviews
10
AquranOct 5, 2018
A great movie worth watching. Bradley Cooper is excellent both as an actor & first time director. Lady Gaga is an excellent vocalist and her acting efforts are not that bad!
15 of 28 users found this helpful1513
All this user's reviews
10
kadumirandaOct 5, 2018
I predict some oscars coming for this movie. Lady Gaga is extraordinarily good as an actress, Bradley does a great directing and surprises the audience with a good voice and the soundtrack is amazing. This movie will be probably nominated toI predict some oscars coming for this movie. Lady Gaga is extraordinarily good as an actress, Bradley does a great directing and surprises the audience with a good voice and the soundtrack is amazing. This movie will be probably nominated to at least 4 Oscars: Best Motion Picture, Best Director, Best Actress and Best Soundtrack Expand
15 of 28 users found this helpful1513
All this user's reviews
10
derek29Oct 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. BRADLEY MASTERFULLY tribute a musical that he loves. "a masterpiece for the ages" Expand
15 of 28 users found this helpful1513
All this user's reviews
10
TVJerryOct 5, 2018
This 4th remake of the classic is about a young star on the rise (Lady Gaga), while her lover (Bradley Cooper) is failing. More importantly, it's their love story is a beautiful combination of perfect chemistry and wonderful performances.This 4th remake of the classic is about a young star on the rise (Lady Gaga), while her lover (Bradley Cooper) is failing. More importantly, it's their love story is a beautiful combination of perfect chemistry and wonderful performances. Gaga is astounding with charisma and subtlety that's continually captivating. Of course, her singing (done live) is spectacular (the song's are strong too). This is probably Cooper's best performance, he lays out his character with magnetism and raw emotion. Being an accomplished actor pays off when it came to Cooper directing the film. Not only has he elicited poignant moments from every member of the cast (with lots of lingering closeups), he's skillfully created an appealing narrative (the strong script helps). My only complaint is that the ending, although sad, didn't move me. Otherwise, this film features 2 wonderfully-compelling performances in a truly touching love story. Expand
16 of 31 users found this helpful1615
All this user's reviews
10
MarceloPazOct 5, 2018
The music is divine, Bradley gave his best in everything, Gaga the biggest surprise of the film, beautiful photography and a very firm hand in the direction
16 of 32 users found this helpful1616
All this user's reviews
4
ric1978Oct 5, 2018
What a over hyped film ..i went in the cinema with high hopes and high expectations and i was totally bored throughout the movie it was like a lady gaga concert with backstage scenes if you're a lady gaga fan you will most likely love it -What a over hyped film ..i went in the cinema with high hopes and high expectations and i was totally bored throughout the movie it was like a lady gaga concert with backstage scenes if you're a lady gaga fan you will most likely love it - the most overhyped movie of all time ..hugely disappointed Expand
17 of 45 users found this helpful1728
All this user's reviews
3
Andypandy7Oct 5, 2018
Cooper's painfully earnest depiction of a (very unlikeable and greasy-haired) addict is far too heavy for this frothy material. As one reviewer said, more 'A Star Goes Out' than 'A Star Is Born'. At least the self-indulgent focus on himCooper's painfully earnest depiction of a (very unlikeable and greasy-haired) addict is far too heavy for this frothy material. As one reviewer said, more 'A Star Goes Out' than 'A Star Is Born'. At least the self-indulgent focus on him spares us much of Gaga's precariously near-wooden acting. If Cooper was insistent on giving it the heavy-handed treatment he should have had the character's addiction stem from the pressures of fame and not from his family background. The resulting premise makes the music industry setting redundant. Subsequently, there is no palpable reason for tension between the leads, which makes for a very lacklustre experience. This might have been saved by a crackle of sexual chemistry but there is none. Cooper looks good without his shirt on but so what? Nobody wants to stare at those two weird faces for two and half hours. Some of the gruff-voiced dialogue is embarrassing (Sam Elliott, anyone?). Following in the unfortunate footsteps of 'Mother!' and 'Hereditary', it's unintentionally funny in parts and boring in others. The songs aren't bad but they're not in the same league as those from the 1976 version. Gaga's performance on the stage is, of course, good but not that good. She screeches out the songs from the beginning and consequently has nowhere to go for the denouement. Let's face it, she has about a quarter of Streisand's talent and none of the charisma. I can see the effort, but mediocre results. Next! Expand
24 of 71 users found this helpful2447
All this user's reviews
9
harvdog03Oct 30, 2018
Super awesome film. Somewhat predictable but Bradley Cooper and Lady are so talented that it didn't matter.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
whoischarlotteOct 23, 2018
The first half an hour was amazing, this including the performance of ‘Shallow’ which have me major goosebumps. This film was an emotional journey. Lady Gaga is such a talented singer, just in case you didn’t know that already.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
annbdDec 27, 2018
A Star Is Born left me speechless and I'm sure left even God speechless too. Immersed in the story till the end, I felt every part of the movie. Because it was so honest and both Gaga and especially Bradly Cooper's performances and all theA Star Is Born left me speechless and I'm sure left even God speechless too. Immersed in the story till the end, I felt every part of the movie. Because it was so honest and both Gaga and especially Bradly Cooper's performances and all the cast basically, the viewer got involved in the emotional experience and feels everything. Applause to Bradley Cooper's acting and his directing, which convex and will be remembered forever. Also amazed me with his voice. Gaga showed once again what she is capable of, but also acted unexpectedly good. So a summary 2 Oscars for Bradley and 1 for Gagaa !!!!! Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
RAMPunkDec 7, 2018
This movie is Absolutely amazing, one of the best I've seen in ages. The performance is awesome by Lady Gaga, and Bradley Cooper is definitely worth watching.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
DiegisDec 15, 2018
Everything about the film is perfect. Superb & incredible acting By Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga, powerful, touching, realistic. Wow!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
maugzzOct 21, 2018
This is a great movie; it really manages to show a reality that many have tried, but few had managed. The music is on point, with Gaga's AMAZING voice, while Bradley Cooper sings good for a debut. The acting is great from Cooper and good fromThis is a great movie; it really manages to show a reality that many have tried, but few had managed. The music is on point, with Gaga's AMAZING voice, while Bradley Cooper sings good for a debut. The acting is great from Cooper and good from Gaga; nomination for him, nothing for her. From watching it for 2 times now I can say that it is a strong 85, which from a cold, calculating point of view is 80 (acting, camera, etc.), but from a feelings and human way it is a 90, making me shiver many times in the movie. So 85 is the ending result; congratulations to Cooper for directing this Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
PipeCDec 17, 2018
"Far from the shallow," Gaga, Cooper and Libatique hit the right notes on this electrifying, gritty and down-to-earth journey to the stars.

Being honest, it's my duty to acknowledge I haven't seen any of the previous three movies, my
"Far from the shallow," Gaga, Cooper and Libatique hit the right notes on this electrifying, gritty and down-to-earth journey to the stars.

Being honest, it's my duty to acknowledge I haven't seen any of the previous three movies, my knowledge about them does not go beyond what I have had the pleasure of extracting from think pieces, interviews and critics' reviews. It's also my duty to acknowledge, due to the nature of this new movie, it's not a remake that gets inventiveness as greatest grip; Cooper's "A Star Is Born" does not conquer by raw innovation, but the suitability of the new takes and shifts that make it shines purposely with a force never seen before in the spate of remakes. Will Fetters, Eric Roth y Cooper, based on William Wellman' and Robert Carson's story, have updated the material with such commitment and passion that not only is the most poignant big-studio star-crossed-romances since "La La Land" or the most powerful feature film on music since "Whiplash" came out, both of them directed by Damien Chazelle, but is one of the most wide-ranging, honest-to-goodness and resounding inspections on addiction, vice, aspiration, celebrity, entertainment industry and sacrifice in Hollywood. The script creates its own leitmotifs with respect, improves some others, dragging them into a new stylized "world" looking to set up a perfectly paced melodrama with overwhelming rhythm, with chiaroscuros making this complex romance drama as painfully as inspiring; A dreamy-yet-grounded portrait of dreams and showbiz, one star is born, whereas another is flaming out.

Characters are slightly shifted and/or refined likewise, not only more relatable and true to the running entertainment scene, but to today's audiences. Jackson Maine, inspired by American musician, multi-instrumentalist and singer-songwriter Eddie Vedder, is a country rocker star widely known for his musical talent, his old songs and his messy "private" life. Dipsomaniac, downhearted and unhappy — unless a guitar is present, — Jackson begins to catch the sense of dreams when he finds another person to make them come true; a way out that changes worlds, but not fates. Although his final decision could be debated forever, screenwriters are respectful to the original ending, making some fitting, enriching changes along the way, drawing a more holistic design for a man who feels his most beautiful song is gone. In a feature film crowded with accolades and kudos, Matthew Libatique is the one who must take much of the praise. Skipping from L.A. to California, Libatique encapsulates a vibe of naturalness via pink sunsets, the illusion of natural lighting suffuses pictures of a dreamy spirit and the atmosphere of an annihilating stoicism and fluency. Director Darren Aronofsky's longtime collaborator converges lighting, control of form and vision with glorious prowess, the performance scenes shot at the Coachella and Glastonbury festivals and Saturday Night Live are organic and honest because of the fantastic camerawork, focusing entirely on the actors and impregnating intimacy and deprivation into Jackson and Ally's relationship.

Set in a supposed present-day entertainment world, cameos as Halsey and Alec Baldwin are guarantees of veracity for this remake, allowing audiences to relate briskly with the atmosphere. Above the romance and drama, "A Star Is Born" is not a musical, is a film about music, therefore, this feature corresponds to and pushes forward the plot. The soundtrack isn't as catchy as "La La Land"'s iconic and fadeless compositions; however, Lady Gaga' and Bradley Cooper's "Shallow" is a shoo-in for Best Original Song, a global phenomenon, a hit aimed by a meaningful, intense live performance amid the film. "A Star Is Born" has enjoyed a rapturous reception by tracks like "Always Remember Us This Way," "Maybe It's Time and "Look What I Found.


"A Star Is Born" by Bradley Cooper goes beyond a drama piece of loss and pleasure, fame and failure, hate and love, self-acceptance and selfishness; a fable of showbiz creatures designed in recording studios directed unflinchingly by Cooper and stylized by Libatique's keen visual eye, a meditation on Gaga's career, who delivers one of the performances of the year, shakes the music and film world up at the same time and leaves the viewer a bittersweet feeling, mirroring the true nature of dreaming. This generation's "A Star Is Born" is a painful breakdown of the toxic excesses from success, a vérité-ish take on the false "perfection" of an artist's public persona, a grounded and raw commentary as for how music and entertainment industry works, a love letter to love itself, a downright unwavering and beautiful depiction of the little compatibility between dreams and relationships, a theatrical melodrama and, in the end, a vehicle of spiritual magnificence and emotional depth on what dreaming really involves: some stars are born as others just flame out.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
The3AcademySinsOct 24, 2018
A Star is Born is an incredible directorial debut from Bradley Cooper, who also gives possibly the best performance of his career. Lady Gaga gives an incredible breakout performance that in my eyes, establishes her as one of Hollywood'sA Star is Born is an incredible directorial debut from Bradley Cooper, who also gives possibly the best performance of his career. Lady Gaga gives an incredible breakout performance that in my eyes, establishes her as one of Hollywood's A-List actresses. Her portrayal of a girl on the verge of stardom is incredibly honest, and her chemistry with Cooper is all at once cute, heartbreaking, and palpable. Cooper and Gaga give one of the best romantic performances I have seen in a while. Also in terms of performance, I want to give a special shout-out to Sam Elliot, who is in maybe 15 minutes of the movie, and absolutely steals every scene he is in.

In terms of the direction, every shot is beautiful and vibrant, even in the lowest moments in the story. Also, from a story perspective, A Star is Born is a roller coaster of emotions. A Star is Born deftly crosses the huge scale and expanse of Ally and Jack's tumultuous relationship without ever losing sight of it's characters. This is no small feat when there are as many different scenes and locations all across the United States in this script! The music was very well written and well done, and Gaga's performances are the spotlight of the show. Bradley Cooper's musical moments honestly can hold their own too!

A few minor flaws with A Star is Born hold it back from being a perfect 10 for me. One, is that I didn't believe Lady Gaga's character blew up as big and as quickly as is portrayed in the movie. However, the movie does have a "music-video" type quality to it, so this is easily forgiven. The bigger problem, without getting into too many spoilers, is that it ends way too quickly. However abrupt the ending, the last shot of the film is beautiful. This is a great, musical romantic drama that I will watch again and again.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
dalilaDec 18, 2018
This movie is phenomenal. Everyone did such a good job. Coming for those Oscars.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
TrevorsViewOct 12, 2018
We all must use our best traits of excellence, as passion plus skill equals impact beyond the grave, sustaining the salt of the earth and the light of the world. True to the expectation of our existence, Bradley Cooper’s directorial debutWe all must use our best traits of excellence, as passion plus skill equals impact beyond the grave, sustaining the salt of the earth and the light of the world. True to the expectation of our existence, Bradley Cooper’s directorial debut brings everything he excels at in updating the tragically romantic classic A Star is Born for the 21st century.

Before seeing this movie, the horrible, mega cheesy trailer got me worried, I thought despite all the early Oscar attention, this might match The Greatest Showman’s quality, thankfully I was wrong. In fact, beyond just making a dang enjoyable film, the three-time Academy Award nominee exploits his clear skill in acting, singing, and directing. Bradley enhances his reputation beyond just the sincere tear drips he controls, but also shows a grand soul at a small-scale production size that proves bigger is not always better, unless that bigger thing is the heart.

This character of his that represents all of Arizona shares marvelous chemistry alongside Lady Gaga enough to deeply move her performance in a way that will inspire any women watching. The famous pop singer first croons down a dark alley to communicate pain whilst the memorable title card comes up, then tops it off with a heavy-hitting finale she put her entire self into. It’s honestly such a joy to see the similar journey these two love-birds go through, even proving how a conversation about some random bag of frozen peas goes a long way.

Almost the rest of the whole cast puts their best foot forward, including the briefly present comedian Dave Chappelle, whose realistic speech further justifies our care about the main couple. That doesn’t include everyone though, as Rafi Gavron proves unoriginality on the screen he ought to avoid from here on out. This “actor” plays a British guy who serves an antagonistic force with an accent that suggests slight racism. Along with its misrepresentation of those from the UK, there is also a missed opportunity for Mexican representation, considering its Southern US setting, to make this reflect more close-to-home our culture nowadays; look at No Country for Old Men to see Mexicans portrayed in a much timelier fashion.

Although Americans are represented terrifically, as their culture is shown through all the small moments. Much like the mass obsession of appearance, Lady Gaga’s big nose is emphasized, which her character thinks roadblocks her road to fame. Then once her pain is justified, Gaga’s singing no longer sounds 100% pitch perfect, as her voice often cracks as she belts in front of the crowd. Normally, this would prove unprofessionalism, but in this case, our given perspective enables insight on her vulnerability as a growing celebrity. Then away from the spotlight, cute memories are lingered on between the two: peeling off artificial eyebrows, smearing pie on face, moments that naturally trigger laughter with sincerity surpassed beyond any West Side Story duet.

Yet not every moment helps refine the final product, for editor Jay Cassidy (Into the Wild, Silver Linings Playbook) rushes things carelessly to lay out little time passage around some life milestones that come off as ineffective. One unimportant component lingered on includes the usage of old people for the comic relief of misunderstanding technology, which really should have been cut entirely to help the obtrusive scene-to-scene transitions not feel cut too short.

Essentially, it just means this movie has a mind on featuring the world of fame with insurmountable depth. Instead of brash outfits, the costume designer Erin Benach (Drive, The Neon Demon) clearly understands how color complements human form. For instance, Lady Gaga at one point dyes her hair bright ginger, a rags-to-riches transition Benach accommodates to without being over-the-top lavish. Especially when inside the bathroom, the wardrobe remains quiet enough to even make Gaga’s stark work uniform resemble a limiting straitjacket before meeting her beau. The costumes never call attention to themselves, as the noise depicted by the massive shaky-cam is relied upon instead to bulge out the true emotions. In any other project, this technique would come off as amateurish, but here, it helps authenticate every performance, especially when the energetic stage lights illuminate the steam to represent self-expression, achieving whatever 1980s feature-length music videos (Dirty Dancing for instance) attempted.

Yes, A Star is Born is seriously worth glowing on about, even though everything beforehand worked against me having a good time; my ticket was paid out of pocket since MoviePass went flat-out faulty on a night the theater was so packed I had to sit third row from the screen. Yet miraculously, this piece of entertainment, like the passion in superb gifts, left an ultimate impact that knows how to salt the earth and enlighten the world with others who hope to do great.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
dashtagDec 12, 2018
Surprisingly, one of the best films of the year. I really enjoyed "A Star Is Born" mainly because of the performances. Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga are SO good in this movie, they are really believable and with Cooper's directing, we reallySurprisingly, one of the best films of the year. I really enjoyed "A Star Is Born" mainly because of the performances. Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga are SO good in this movie, they are really believable and with Cooper's directing, we really have a built narrative about both complex characters. I thought the music was great, the cinematography was really well done, pretty much it was all good. It's not perfect, because it is Oscar bait and it is very dramatic, but it's done really well and it's kinda too good for what it should be. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
jeremypOct 12, 2018
It's worth it for the music and to see, and hear, Lady Ga Ga sans costume. The in between is so so, and some of the story seems to just appear without much explanation. The music which is rich and gets richer suddenly goes shallow until theIt's worth it for the music and to see, and hear, Lady Ga Ga sans costume. The in between is so so, and some of the story seems to just appear without much explanation. The music which is rich and gets richer suddenly goes shallow until the final tour de force which they ruin by cutting away from it. For those of us raised on James and Judy, and bored by Barbra and Kris, this is more for the younger set. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
AnneCSouzaOct 6, 2018
Lady Gaga looks amazing in the movie! The soundtrack is flawless, Lady Gaga sings a lot, her voice is soft and powerful at the same time. I can not stop listening! ♥ "Always Remember Us This Way", "Shallow", "Before I Cry", "Is That Alright"Lady Gaga looks amazing in the movie! The soundtrack is flawless, Lady Gaga sings a lot, her voice is soft and powerful at the same time. I can not stop listening! ♥ "Always Remember Us This Way", "Shallow", "Before I Cry", "Is That Alright" and "I'll Never Love Again" are my favorites! ♥ Expand
14 of 26 users found this helpful1412
All this user's reviews
10
TryxdarOct 5, 2018
I have no words, one of the best movies I've ever seen... congratulations Bradley and Lady Gaga for this amazing movie.
14 of 27 users found this helpful1413
All this user's reviews
10
Jennymovies111Oct 13, 2018
Cooper and Gaga light up the screen in a brilliant reimagining of the classic, tragic love story. Excellent chemistry between the two plus great music help make this possibly the best iteration of the tried and true tale of love, addiction, and fame.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
silversebOct 12, 2018
A great opening song, powerful and energetic.
All the acting, the songs and the storytelling works perfectly in this very inspired movie. It was a long time since I left the theater so involved in the story.
Bradley turns out to be a very
A great opening song, powerful and energetic.
All the acting, the songs and the storytelling works perfectly in this very inspired movie. It was a long time since I left the theater so involved in the story.
Bradley turns out to be a very talented director and Lady gaga a really gifted actress, even if this role is definitely tailored on her.
Really a rare gem. I recommend everyone to go and see it
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
GFactorOct 20, 2018
As dúvidas que tinha quanto a atuação de Lady Gaga foram sanadas, realmente se provou uma boa atriz (mas não para vencer esse Oscar). O filme é incrível, a direção maravilhosa, o roteiro e atuações marcantes! Super redondo e cumpre bem suaAs dúvidas que tinha quanto a atuação de Lady Gaga foram sanadas, realmente se provou uma boa atriz (mas não para vencer esse Oscar). O filme é incrível, a direção maravilhosa, o roteiro e atuações marcantes! Super redondo e cumpre bem sua proposta! os ápices são a performance de Shallow (que te arrepia) e a cena final de I'll Never Love Again (magnífico). A trilha é sem palavras, um dos poucos filmes em que todas são boas, em especial as duas já citadas e Always Remember Us This Way. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JustAnOldManJan 3, 2019
A great directorial debut for Bradley Cooper. Well it's the 4th version of this movie and they did not do it any disrespect. Lady Gaga absolutely shined in the movie and their chemistry was great. Signing the music live and not lip-synced wasA great directorial debut for Bradley Cooper. Well it's the 4th version of this movie and they did not do it any disrespect. Lady Gaga absolutely shined in the movie and their chemistry was great. Signing the music live and not lip-synced was a great addition to the movie. From the script, to the movie, the acting, the music, the message and the chemistry is first rate! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
katezoeOct 9, 2018
Was not as impressed as the critics or users. Lady Gaga does become a film "star" and her singing is amazing! Movie is episodic and does not provide a seamless story of his downfall and her rise. It seemed like stitched music videos with someWas not as impressed as the critics or users. Lady Gaga does become a film "star" and her singing is amazing! Movie is episodic and does not provide a seamless story of his downfall and her rise. It seemed like stitched music videos with some acting in between the videos. This version is better than Streisand's but not as good as Garland's. Expand
8 of 17 users found this helpful89
All this user's reviews
10
krm29Oct 5, 2018
A Star is Born plucks at your heart strings – and then snaps then. The movie, just running over two hours, feels the perfect length. Even though the story is somewhat dated [this film is the remake of a remake of a remake], it’s clear thatA Star is Born plucks at your heart strings – and then snaps then. The movie, just running over two hours, feels the perfect length. Even though the story is somewhat dated [this film is the remake of a remake of a remake], it’s clear that the classic Hollywood storyline can still work when done right. Gaga and Cooper’s chemistry is unmatchable against any film released for a very long time. For me, the contrast in pace between the first and second half allows us to really focus on the second half - to the best portrayal of alcoholism I have ever seen depicted in a film.
The film really is brilliant. Gaga and Cooper are both glistening stars. An instant classic.
Expand
14 of 30 users found this helpful1416
All this user's reviews
4
AxeTOct 7, 2018
Absurdly over-rated and ridiculously praised as a must by the jackass critics herd, media dunces, and the react as they're told audience now, it drags from beginning to end in a cliché laden remake story with the major debut by Gaga comingAbsurdly over-rated and ridiculously praised as a must by the jackass critics herd, media dunces, and the react as they're told audience now, it drags from beginning to end in a cliché laden remake story with the major debut by Gaga coming off like acting class as you watch her trying to act (with good acting you don't notice). Bradley is a very good actor, but he plays a contrived character with the put on voice only distracting. The singing and music are great, but it doesn't make a movie. The whole thing despite decent competent filmmaking rings false, going through the motions only. Staged.

Consider a movie with similar subject, "Crazy Heart", a far superior experience that got Jeff Bridges his Oscar (deservedly) but had no such hype because it was a small release without the benefit of huge pop diva presence. That one got to you, more subtly maybe but it had a soul. Bridges was the character. This is a watch check flick.
Expand
12 of 26 users found this helpful1214
All this user's reviews
4
VAFOct 20, 2018
I am not certain what is up with people's taste these days. How this movie has a higher score than Bad Times at the El Royale is beyond me. This movie is mediocre mediocre mediocre. I suppose Lady Gaga surprises people and she did better thanI am not certain what is up with people's taste these days. How this movie has a higher score than Bad Times at the El Royale is beyond me. This movie is mediocre mediocre mediocre. I suppose Lady Gaga surprises people and she did better than I expected, but that doesn't make this a great movie. It's- okay. The chemistry between the two is great. However the plot is boring, the movie feels and is long as you know where the story is going, and that's it. I am not saying it's terrible, and probably a good starter for Cooper, but- it's just not that engaging, surprising or interesting. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
10
JohnraphaelOct 5, 2018
The best movie of the year. The acting and the songs are brilliant. Together, Gaga and Cooper have such an unique chemistry that makes it all worth it. A classic movie that will be studied and praised for decades by art lovers.
12 of 27 users found this helpful1215
All this user's reviews
5
nntrancerOct 10, 2018
The first act was well done with great dialogue and direction. Then it bogged down, became predictable, boring and in the end, way too long. The music was mostly forgettable. One of the odd scenes was his band cranking up with wailingThe first act was well done with great dialogue and direction. Then it bogged down, became predictable, boring and in the end, way too long. The music was mostly forgettable. One of the odd scenes was his band cranking up with wailing electric guitars and you thought it was going to take off with some hard rock song. Then Cooper started singing a ballad. And Gaga didn't impress with her acting or her singing. This movie was way overrated. Expand
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
10
MatteoBuddyOct 5, 2018
Just Amazing! Gaga offered a genuine and raw yet emotional performance and showed off that she can not only sing and write songs but also act!
11 of 25 users found this helpful1114
All this user's reviews
4
GleefulnessOct 7, 2018
Definitely overrated, with a singer who can't act and an actor who can't sing. It really needed some hummable songs and decent singers who had genuine star quality. Gaga oversinging like she was in a TV talent show didn't count. Cooper'sDefinitely overrated, with a singer who can't act and an actor who can't sing. It really needed some hummable songs and decent singers who had genuine star quality. Gaga oversinging like she was in a TV talent show didn't count. Cooper's numbers were drowned out by electric guitar riffs, covering up the thin lyrics and poor melodies. Unlike 'The Man Who Got Away', it's hard to imagine that songs like the aptly-named 'Shallow' will be remembered in 60 years' time. Other reviewers have pointed out the lack of chemistry between the leads and how the story fizzles out, making the title seem somewhat ironic. Cooper was unconvincing as an alcoholic, and Gaga was ok as the ingenue but didn't convince as a star, even though she is one in real life. The movie also seemed to mock her pop persona, as against the supposed authenticity of dreadful country songs or Adele-like ballads. Cheesy plot and terrible acting in fact reminded me more of Purple Rain, though at least that movie had some half-decent songs and musical performances. Expand
11 of 26 users found this helpful1115
All this user's reviews
6
GreatMartinOct 5, 2018
The first 3 productions of “A Star Is Born” revolved around the female star while the 2018 production is more about the male star which, to a certain degree makes it a vanity project since Bradley Cooper stars, coproduced, was one of theThe first 3 productions of “A Star Is Born” revolved around the female star while the 2018 production is more about the male star which, to a certain degree makes it a vanity project since Bradley Cooper stars, coproduced, was one of the three who wrote the screenplay, also wrote a couple of the songs and directed the film. His makeup suntan and/or sunburn distracts in many scenes as he is the only one with that look. The camera is on him in many major scenes, many with Lady Gaga, taking away from other performers.

Cooper has made many changes with the most erroneous being the classic last line of the three other productions while the most interesting changes are the addition of a brother and a somewhat sleazy acting manager who takes over the star on the rise and turns her into something she isn’t.

On the other hand Cooper gives a strong performance and gives Lady Gaga a sensational movie debut. In the opening scenes we watch as Cooper gets to meet Lady Gaga as she does a rousing, sexy version of “La Vie En Rose” though not as strong as the meeting in the second movie version when James Mason meets Judy Garland in an afterhour’s jazz bar singing “The Man That Got Away” that defines her character. A definite contrast in the latter with Lady Gaga’s scene taking place in a drag bar!

We meet Lady Gaga’s father played by a subdued Andrew Dice Clay, her best friend played by Anthony Ramos, Sam Elliot as Cooper’s older brother and David Chappelle as his friend of many years all giving substantial performances.

Director Cooper handles the love story between him and Lady Gaga with help from the natural chemistry between them. He, also, delves into the masks that entertainers put forth when they become famous losing the real selves that made them famous and how it affects them.

The three remakes all have music that defines the singers and the eras in which the movies take place. In this version Lady Gaga, Lukas Nelson and Bradley Cooper have written most of the original songs either together or coupled and even solo. Of the 17 songs there are 5 duets by Lady Gaga, 3 solos by Cooper and 8 by Lady Gaga. Though many of the songs are already on their ways to be being hits I left the theatre not remembering one except the last and that is because of Lady Gaga’s performance.

As a novice director Cooper’s version runs a bit long at 2 hours and 15 minutes but overall his debut of this Hollywood often told story is quite good.

Having seen all 4 versions of “A Star Is Born” in my opinion the 1954 version, starring Judy Garland, in the uncut version is the best while this 2018 version has nothing to be ashamed of in its approach.
Expand
13 of 31 users found this helpful1318
All this user's reviews
3
RedBeardoOct 18, 2018
Shockingly self-indulgent and flat for all the praise it’s received. All the air seeps out after the first 15 minutes, and then it’s just two hours of watching the same beats over and over: Jackson promises to stop drinking, Ally belts outShockingly self-indulgent and flat for all the praise it’s received. All the air seeps out after the first 15 minutes, and then it’s just two hours of watching the same beats over and over: Jackson promises to stop drinking, Ally belts out another forgettable song, Jackson falls off the wagon, Ally gets upset, they fight, repeat. Over and over and over. At first Ally has charm and charisma but soon enough turns into a vapid, one-note pop star with ugly day-glo hair. Inexplicably, Jackson mumbles throughout in a deep raspy vocal register but always sings in a tenor’s octave with choirboy diction. Ultimately the problem is Cooper’s love for his own unedited close-ups. He’s flipped the story’s dynamics so that he’s the star here, not the ascending starlet as in previous versions. And he’s simply not as fascinating as Cooper thinks he is. Never expected to find the cringeworthy Streisand version superior, but it is in just about every way. Her narcissism may be equal to Cooper’s, but at least the scenes in that version went somewhere, the dialogue wasn’t as banal and a handful of the tunes were hummable. Expand
10 of 24 users found this helpful1014
All this user's reviews
9
TakoxOct 5, 2018
The chemistry between Gaga and Cooper is amazing, the close-ups of both are gold and only with the look they create magical scenes. The evolution of the characters is brutal. The songs are perfect and make you feel everything, tears included.The chemistry between Gaga and Cooper is amazing, the close-ups of both are gold and only with the look they create magical scenes. The evolution of the characters is brutal. The songs are perfect and make you feel everything, tears included. Shallow is the most beautiful song that Gaga has ever done, when I reached the chorus my body stopped, the same as with I'll never love again, brutal. Expand
12 of 29 users found this helpful1217
All this user's reviews
10
lonelyboyOct 5, 2018
Talented, brilliant, incredible, amazing, show stopping, spectacular, never the same, totally unique, completely not ever been done before, unafraid to reference or not reference, put it in a blender, **** on it, vomit on it, eat it, give birth to it
12 of 29 users found this helpful1217
All this user's reviews
10
vinnynguyenOct 5, 2018
A surprisingly excellent movie. The chemistry between Gaga and Cooper is outstanding. Second half of the movie has a huge and questionable tone shift, but the soundtrack is spectacular.
9 of 22 users found this helpful913
All this user's reviews
6
LamontRaymondOct 5, 2018
It's a tale of two movies - the first half is spectacular and spine-tingling. But as soon as she finds her success, it gets torpedoed. I thought she'd turn into an Amy Winehouse kind of singer, but her eventual path is highly disappointing.It's a tale of two movies - the first half is spectacular and spine-tingling. But as soon as she finds her success, it gets torpedoed. I thought she'd turn into an Amy Winehouse kind of singer, but her eventual path is highly disappointing. Even Cooper's directing choices take a few poor turns in the latter half. It's worth seeing, but nowhere near what the critics are saying it is. Expand
12 of 30 users found this helpful1218
All this user's reviews
10
wesleywalrusOct 5, 2018
Amazing directiorial debut by Cooper - both Cooper and Gaga share incredible chemistry, which shines on throughout the whole film, despite their tumultuous downs.
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
6
auburnnOct 7, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Some people say this romance can happen every time everywhere, but this it not true. The director blurs the time frame because he simply can't frame this story in any era. That is to say, the plot simply doesn't make sense - this story can happen to no rock star regardless of sex. I began to feel confused once Jackson makes Ally his wife - like you are a f**king rock star, why lose your freedom by marrying a girl you just know for weeks? This marriage compromises these two singers' personality and individuality, making them anything but rock stars. For a male rock singer who looks good enough, he can almost get laid with every girl he wants. Besides, the fans of a male rock star want to see him behave like a rock star - like the bad boys, "young, dope & proud" in a Lana Del Rey song. Sharing a stage with a random girl out of nowhere, are you kidding me? The same principle happens to a female singer too - if you really wanna gain a following then you don't want to rise to fame as someone's "wife." Take a look at the established female singers: some of them can write songs like a pro, some of them have a really beautiful voice, others revolutionize the fashion industry... A female singer either attracts female fans with her resonating strong personality or male fans as a "sex symbol." No wonder I never heard a new female singer in this industry as a "wife" of a successful male singer - this works for neither of them. It is not surprising that the original 1937 film happens in the Hollywood; the Hollywood and music industry mean totally differently for women. I have been a fan of Lady Gaga since I was 12, but sorry I can't like this movie. Ironically, no one knows what I'm trying to say here better than Lady Gaga herself: she rose to fame with no help from a male partner. She released her debut single, "Just Dance," in April 2008, which finally became a Billboard No. 1 in January 2009 thanks to her sparing-no-effort self promotion. In retrospect, she, without a male's help, was a talented new artist understood by none. Expand
7 of 18 users found this helpful711
All this user's reviews
8
foxgroveOct 5, 2018
Whilst this is undoubtedly the best version of this often told tale it still isn't without its faults. The first half of the film is almost perfectly constructed and Director Bradley Cooper has done a superb job in giving us a feel for theWhilst this is undoubtedly the best version of this often told tale it still isn't without its faults. The first half of the film is almost perfectly constructed and Director Bradley Cooper has done a superb job in giving us a feel for the places and characters, an achievement that carries right through to the film's end. The problems arise mainly within the screenplay, the story of which is so familiar that the opposing fortunes of the two lead characters are predictably delineated in scenes that are clipped and rather awkwardly written. This aside though, there is a hell of a lot to admire and enjoy. Lady Gaga makes an impressive debut and is especially good when in her element performing the musical numbers. Dramatically she is no slouch either. There is also a very fine turn from Sam Elliott as Cooper's put upon brother. However, the real news and star being born here is Bradley Cooper. Wearing at least four hats as producer, Director writer and star, he excels in at least three of these roles. Not only is his direction fluid and rich, creating a milieu that is totally believable and enveloping, but his performance is also incredible. Who knew? Definitely the best of his career thus far. It is due to him that the film reaches some real emotional highs.
On the production side the cinematography of Matthew Libatique is stunning and the music delivers as we knew it would. At least three of the original songs have a chance at an Oscar win come March and my personal favourite 'I'll Never Love Again' perfectly closes a film, that whilst not perfect itself, is almost certain to endure and improve with age and repeated viewings. Eat your heart out Barbra.
Expand
10 of 26 users found this helpful1016
All this user's reviews
10
salespopOct 6, 2018
Completamente maravilhoso, e Lady Gaga mostrando mais uma vez ser a maior artista da década.
8 of 21 users found this helpful813
All this user's reviews
10
Gabriel1995Oct 5, 2018
Best Movie of the year by far, It's so so good, the music, the acting, the scenes, the Soundtrack, the direction, everything. Gaga is a natural born actress, she deserves the Oscar, just like Bradley Cooper who's slaying as actor AND as aBest Movie of the year by far, It's so so good, the music, the acting, the scenes, the Soundtrack, the direction, everything. Gaga is a natural born actress, she deserves the Oscar, just like Bradley Cooper who's slaying as actor AND as a director AND as a singer. The songs are everything, I already see it twice but I wanna see more. Expand
9 of 24 users found this helpful915
All this user's reviews
0
jacks109Oct 20, 2018
Don't believe the hype! This movie is absolute drivel. Even if you can understand Bradley Cooper's lines without subtitles (and kudos to you if you can) it still is cliche and boring and more full of holes than swiss cheese.
7 of 19 users found this helpful712
All this user's reviews
3
joelgreenbergOct 7, 2018
The movie never avoids embracing cliches and oversimplifying the music, of which there is far too much - and lyrics are apparently unnecessary, since most of them sail by without clarity or discernible purpose.
Lady Gaga is a strong screen
The movie never avoids embracing cliches and oversimplifying the music, of which there is far too much - and lyrics are apparently unnecessary, since most of them sail by without clarity or discernible purpose.
Lady Gaga is a strong screen presence, though the script fails to serve her as it might have - I think she can probably act, but a script written in attitudes and endless repetition would be hard for even the young Streep to breathe life into. Cooper slurs his lines (and lyrics) with the carelessness that this character appears to have taken great pains to build upon as his career flourished - Kris Kristofferson without the credible vocal growl adopted here by Cooper for what I can only imagine is his musician's self-regard. Apart from all this, the movie is very long.
Expand
8 of 22 users found this helpful814
All this user's reviews
10
Gilberto23Oct 5, 2018
Bradley and Gaga are doing a great job is this movie. In every scene right up to the songs. I hope they shine at the Oscars, A Star is born deserves it.
8 of 22 users found this helpful814
All this user's reviews
6
SteveinAZOct 8, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have to admit that I found this film disappointing. I LOVED the performance by Bradley Cooper. I thought this was definitely HIS film. Gaga was just OK for me. I didn't feel the chemistry between the two. I was confused by the tinnitus side story. It didn't seem to go anywhere. I think my biggest disappointment was the music. Nothing memorable at all, which was surprising. For an overly long film (I think it could have been at least 15 minutes shorter), it seemed to leave questions unanswered. All in all, it was OK, but not an award winner to me. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
2
Astor_Oct 16, 2018
The film follows a hard-drinking musician (Bradley Cooper) who discovers and falls in love with a young singer (Lady Gaga).

The main reason why I went to watch this is mainly due to the raving good reviews I have come across on this film. I
The film follows a hard-drinking musician (Bradley Cooper) who discovers and falls in love with a young singer (Lady Gaga).

The main reason why I went to watch this is mainly due to the raving good reviews I have come across on this film. I normally steer clear of music central films. And I am excited to see Lady Gaga in action, being somewhat a fan of hers. Pretty much I went into this with relative high expectation.

The pacing of the film is slow. What is worse is that the story itself is a torture to watch through. It is so simplistic that I could predict how the film would end. This is really bad. Halfway through the film, I felt like leaving the theatre.

The only main good thing about this film is that the music are really wonderful and pleasing to listen to. But there are simply not enough of them in this film. It would have been better if the film focuses on making it more like a concert film, with mostly music performance and some light story in between.

I do not recommend watching this.
Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
10
RumoursOct 5, 2018
Best movie of the year, hands down.This 4th remake of the classic is about a young star on the rise (Lady Gaga), while her lover (Bradley Cooper) is failing. More importantly, it's their love story is a beautiful combination of perfectBest movie of the year, hands down.This 4th remake of the classic is about a young star on the rise (Lady Gaga), while her lover (Bradley Cooper) is failing. More importantly, it's their love story is a beautiful combination of perfect chemistry and wonderful performances. Expand
7 of 20 users found this helpful713
All this user's reviews
1
Arianator77Oct 6, 2018
As much as you have to love Gaga as a singer, she cannot act. She just cannot. Because of that, the movie is already ruined. You have to admire her for trying, but you can't admire the movie.
14 of 42 users found this helpful1428
All this user's reviews
0
RickBellOct 13, 2018
Lady Gaga is NOT a decent actress - she’s painfully bad. In American Horror Story she had two or three basic emotionless expressions and didn’t act much. When she does try to act in A Star is Born, it’s cringe-worthy and plain awful. How badLady Gaga is NOT a decent actress - she’s painfully bad. In American Horror Story she had two or three basic emotionless expressions and didn’t act much. When she does try to act in A Star is Born, it’s cringe-worthy and plain awful. How bad is it? Gaga makes Madonna look like Meryl Streep. Also, why the hype over Bradley Cooper’s directing? It’s nothing special and he isn’t believeable in his role at all — I mean, if you want to look like a drug addict, change your physicality like the great actors are willing to do. DeNiro gained weight for Raging Bull, others lost weight to look ravaged by disease or drugs in their films, but Cooper thinks he can look like a drug addict with a perfect gym body and pristine looks. Nope, I guess he was too vain to do anything other than grow his hair out or not shave for a few days. Most overhyped film of the decade. Expand
8 of 24 users found this helpful816
All this user's reviews
10
LatinCritic13Oct 5, 2018
After leaving from my local movie theater from seeing A Star is Born, it is a privilege to say that Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga have both made a bonafide emotional classical remake based on the previous films from the same name set duringAfter leaving from my local movie theater from seeing A Star is Born, it is a privilege to say that Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga have both made a bonafide emotional classical remake based on the previous films from the same name set during the millennial generation. A Star is Born is beautiful, charismatic, smart, and somewhat a real tearjerker that says each and every obstacle can be broken when someone special is there to make that person born as a star and it's literally amazing all around. Lady Gaga killed this role without a doubt. Each and every scene that she was in is what made this movie very special to watch especially of how emotionally flawed the characters are when reaching to superstar status. There is hope that she’ll win that Oscar though in 2019. Also, to first time director and veteran comedy actor Bradley Cooper, astonishingly nailed the direction and tone of this movie and the absolute result of it is mind-blowing compared to a Darren Aronofsky film. Plus, he even brought his own dog into the mix! The technical side of this film such as the eyegasmic cinematography by Aronofsky’s right-hand man, Matthew Labitique, nailed the look on everything which made the tension and tone of this film satisfying to watch compared to Roger Deakins. And so is to veteran screenwriter behind Forrest Gump, Eric Roth, and the production team behind it. Everything in this film has done right, and this film is at the emotional heights of Titanic and honestly, it's amazing. This film is a must watch especially on movie date nights - you won't regret it. Expand
7 of 21 users found this helpful714
All this user's reviews
3
Jerome_KirbyOct 26, 2018
A parody on 'The Room', trying too hard to be 'La La Land'. Everything about this movie is terrible, starting from the script and ending with the performances. Those artificial tears pouring from poor Lady Gaga's eyes look as cringeworthy asA parody on 'The Room', trying too hard to be 'La La Land'. Everything about this movie is terrible, starting from the script and ending with the performances. Those artificial tears pouring from poor Lady Gaga's eyes look as cringeworthy as they only can, and that scene with breaking the portraits... Yeah, Tommy Wiseau, you did a great job. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
QaarloosAOct 12, 2018
the music is really good, the song "I'll never love agaIn" is the best ballad, the film is of good quality and is very much like the life of Lady Gaga, Bradley plays an excellent role, must be nominated to the Oscars
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
hankwmardukasNov 28, 2018
An Open Letter to Dave Chappelle:

Dear Dave, My name is Hank Mardukas. You probably don’t know me. I am but a longtime fan of your work. I have been a fan of yours since I first saw Half Baked in my college dormitory. As we watched you as
An Open Letter to Dave Chappelle:

Dear Dave,

My name is Hank Mardukas. You probably don’t know me. I am but a longtime fan of your work. I have been a fan of yours since I first saw Half Baked in my college dormitory. As we watched you as Thurgood have a conversation with yourself as “Sir Smokes-a-lot”, I said to my roommate Seven, “That guy right there… He is going to be a star”. Sure enough, it was written in the stars. I am writing you today concerning a disturbing quote I read from you regarding your new movie A Star Is Born. I saw in an interview after a screening at The Toronto International Film Festival a couple months back, you were quoted as saying A Star is Born was the first “good ass movie” you’ve been in. I sir, vehemently disagree with your modest analysis of your underrated acting career.

In my very first issue of THE PURITAN POST, I reviewed one of my all time favorite movies, You’ve Got Mail. You can go read for yourself, if you’d like, Dave, highly recommend it. Issue No. 1 of THE PURITAN POST. In this issue, I talk about how your performance in that film is one of the main contributing factors to its success. That, along with fantastic performances from its two leads as well as a smart and timeless script by the late, great Nora Ephron. But I digress. My point is, Mr. Chappelle, that you shouldn’t sell yourself short in your acting career.

This isn’t a knock against A Star is Born. It’s only like the fifth Oscar-Baity remake of A Star is Born to come out in the last century. I feel like that’s not that many. Bradley Cooper is only mildly cringeworthy in it, and no, it doesn’t kill me at all that this is the movie getting him awards buzz after deserving Oscars for stirring and emotional turns in both Silver Linings Playbook and American Sniper. These things don’t bother me, Dave. They don’t bother me at all. You’ve Got Mail isn’t your only good ass movie in this writer’s opinion. The aforementioned Half Baked is stoner comedy gold. Your performances in Con Air and Robin Hood: Men in Tights are both scene stealers. Chi-Raq isn’t Spike Lee’s best, but it’s solid, as are you in it. Finally, a film you wrote and starred in, Dave Chappelle’s Block Party, directed by Michel Gondry, I believe to be one of the best documentaries ever made. You see, Mr. Chappelle, your acting career is full of good ass movies. In fact, I would contend that you almost exclusively make good ass movies. That is, aside from A Star is Born. Thanks for reading, Dave!


Sincerely, Hank W. Mardukas 
Editor & Chief, THE PURITAN POST
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulOct 13, 2018
¿Que puedo decir?
Es una maravillosa película, fácilmente se coloca entre las mejores del año entero, excelentes actuaciones, vibrantes interpretaciones musicales y emocionalmente abrumadora hasta la médula. Bradley Cooper y Lady Gaga
¿Que puedo decir?
Es una maravillosa película, fácilmente se coloca entre las mejores del año entero, excelentes actuaciones, vibrantes interpretaciones musicales y emocionalmente abrumadora hasta la médula. Bradley Cooper y Lady Gaga hicieron un trabajo magistral.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
marcelomoreskOct 15, 2018
Gaga and Bradley is fire. This movie is iconic and beuthiful. Thanks for this amazing movie
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
MathzinOct 13, 2018
I really love you lady gaga. Thanks a lot for this movie. It touched me in a way that a can't even try to explain
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
jaymoneydachefOct 16, 2018
Bradley Cooper knocked it out of the park with his directing debut. Lady Gaga's performance was glowing. The feel of the movie is very heavy in a good way. All around, great movie. A shining star.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
TrangVuOct 13, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great movie! The 2 main characters are so talented. The songs are amazing. The ending is sad but beautiful and obsessing. I cried when the man was holding the belt, I knew exactly what he was gonna do. And I know it didn't succeed when he was a child, but this time, it's gonna work and he's gonna die, really die. I know that his choice is negative, but somehow it's the only way to free him, maybe it brings him to heaven where nothing can hurt him anymore. I also cried when Ally sang Jackson's song at the end. Even when he almost ruined her life, her career, she still wanted to sing along with him the whole life. But when the man chose to kill himself, to leave her, he didn't give her any chance to save him or even say goodbye. His death doesn't help her. It just makes her life more gloomy and full of questions, like "Why I couldn't save him like the way he saved my life before?". Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
agnuszOct 6, 2018
A star is born could have been really good remake actually, if another actress had been used. I like Bradley Cooper work on this film but, Lady Gaga is very bad as actress. Her acting…It was really painful to watch, acting is not her thing,A star is born could have been really good remake actually, if another actress had been used. I like Bradley Cooper work on this film but, Lady Gaga is very bad as actress. Her acting…It was really painful to watch, acting is not her thing, she looks so wooden on the screen, you can almost see her thinking “So, what's my next line?” - she’s just not a natural. Save your time and money. Expand
13 of 40 users found this helpful1327
All this user's reviews
10
ArtKOct 5, 2018
A STAR IS BORN - Did we really need a fourth version of "A Star Is Born"? Yes! Sure the overarching concept is the same: complicated romance between rising female star and her burnout boyfriend, BUT Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga have createdA STAR IS BORN - Did we really need a fourth version of "A Star Is Born"? Yes! Sure the overarching concept is the same: complicated romance between rising female star and her burnout boyfriend, BUT Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga have created an epic love story that sizzles with chemistry.

Cooper captures mood beautifully in his first go as a film director. The concert scenes are fantastically staged and romance entirely believable. Gaga is excellent, but Cooper really commands the screen... and can sing! Supporting cast includes Sam Elliott, Dave Chappelle and Andrew Dice Clay (who's quite convincing as Gaga's father).

I love the soundtrack! A great mix of rock, pop and country songs written by Gaga, Cooper & Lukas Nelson (Willie's son). "I'll Never Love Again" feels a cross between 1977's "Evergreen" and 1980's "The Rose" - and seems destined to win this year's Oscar for Best Original Song. Other standouts are "Shallow", "I Don't Know What Love Is" "Before I Cry" and "Always Remember Us This Way".

My only quibble might be the film's length. At 2:15, it felt a tad long, but any cuts might have sacrificed a song or two - and there's frankly really nothing I would remove.
Expand
6 of 19 users found this helpful613
All this user's reviews
10
lcs_alcantaraaOct 5, 2018
obrigado gaga e cooper por esta obra prima! com certeza um dos melhores filmes deste ano.. gaga teve uma atuacao brilhante como atriz e cooper excelente como diretor!
6 of 19 users found this helpful613
All this user's reviews
10
marco_1204Oct 6, 2018
Definitely one of the best movies of the year, and imo oscar contender. Lady Gaga's acting it's just superb, the commitment, THE VOCALS, the angry and fury yet passion and lovely person ally is; combined with the magistral direction andDefinitely one of the best movies of the year, and imo oscar contender. Lady Gaga's acting it's just superb, the commitment, THE VOCALS, the angry and fury yet passion and lovely person ally is; combined with the magistral direction and acting by Bradley Cooper, make each scene a small staircase to finally throw it and break into a thousand pieces, demonstrating the harsh reality of addictions. Expand
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
10
switchupOct 6, 2018
It is just incredible. One would never believe a directorial debut can be this good. Plus, Lady Gaga gives an spectacular performance, and that's her first major movie role. Guys, it's really incredible.
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
0
Icurmt2Oct 6, 2018
Go see Venom...or the original version of this film...just not this one. I fell asleep. Lady Gaga should be heard...not seen...her acting will make you scream at the screen.
13 of 42 users found this helpful1329
All this user's reviews
2
marco34laOct 6, 2018
This version of A Star is Born is soooo over-rated, that it's maddening. Gaga gives a fine performance, but the overall drama falls flat and seems very 2 dimensional. It lacks the excitement, chemistry and STAR PRESENCE thatThis version of A Star is Born is soooo over-rated, that it's maddening. Gaga gives a fine performance, but the overall drama falls flat and seems very 2 dimensional. It lacks the excitement, chemistry and STAR PRESENCE that Streisand-Kristoferson gave in the 70s. Gaga can belt out a raspy song... but 'a voice from heaven' it is not. The other observation is that this is LESS of a story about a star being born than it is a A Star is Dying. Directed by Cooper, he focuses far too much on himself and the story from his POV and never get the sense of Gaga being star on the rise. She starts singing a song and then the film cuts to a scene about Cooper. Also, Gaga doesn't have "it" ... her sheer on-camera presence doesn't like up the screen, perhaps because she's so homely and doesn't have a spark that lights her up? The movie was watchable though. If you're in your teens and 20s and big gaga fans, you'll probably like it... cause you don't know any better. Expand
14 of 46 users found this helpful1432
All this user's reviews
10
adityarizkyOct 5, 2018
This movie is amazing, the story and the plot twist is really relevant. I'd like to see again this movie.
5 of 17 users found this helpful512
All this user's reviews
10
nemanjavesinOct 5, 2018
This is the best movie released this year, and maybe of all time! Definitely going to watch it again a few times!
6 of 21 users found this helpful615
All this user's reviews
10
TombandoAsHaterOct 6, 2018
Best movie ever. We all know that Lady Gaga is a good singer, but she's now a good actress and Bradley Cooper a good singer, director and actor.
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
9
MrMovieBuffOct 12, 2018
'A Star is Born' is not the most original movie to be released in 2018, but it is one that has to be seen. What makes this movie work is the two lead characters, their chemistry, their stories when they're together, and what they do'A Star is Born' is not the most original movie to be released in 2018, but it is one that has to be seen. What makes this movie work is the two lead characters, their chemistry, their stories when they're together, and what they do separately. Directed by and starring Bradley Cooper, who plays the famous star, Jackson Maine, and after a concert, and consuming dangerous amount of drugs which helps him concentrate on the things he needs to concentrate on, he goes to a small bar out of the town and meets a young and aspiring artist named Ally (Lady Gaga). He seems smitten by her, and is amazed at her ability to belt out some high vocals with her singing. He invites her to his tours and tries to get to know her, and she introduces him to some songs that she has written, and he thinks that she, and her songs, are worth something. Not only do both Jackson and Ally soar to new heights in their relationship, but he also encourages her to show herself onstage to a massive crowd, and the fans seem to love her. She gains huge hits on YouTube and becomes a sensation on social media. Jackson seems proud of what she's able to become, and the two start to form a life together and live happily. However, it seems that not everything is sunshine in their world, as it seems that the fame and success can drive one person to feel constantly excited, while the other remains jealous in some ways. The shining points of this film is how much of a joy it is to watch Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga work together, it's an odd couple, but they are so genuine as their characters, it's hard to keep your eyes off. The story revolves mainly towards tragedy and struggle. What I loved most about it is that Cooper doesn't try to change things by making it more challenging for modern cinema... it's refreshingly simple, and he goes through all the cliches but they feel organic. The characters you see on-screen is what makes this movie unique. You care for them, you feel bad for them, and Cooper brings out something in Lady Gaga that I think nobody would have expected. It's a film that may not be on everyone's radar, but you owe it to yourself to watch it. Plus, the music is great. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
mdmetaOct 11, 2018
This movie is extremely overrated. All the hype left me disappointed after watching it.
7 of 25 users found this helpful718
All this user's reviews
0
Megajohn85Oct 12, 2018
I went into this expecting to be wow’d due to word of mouth the film has been getting and walked out feeling like I’ve been ripped off.
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
10
CristoferReyesEOct 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I literally started crying, they both are excellent actors, that connection the build is incredible. Gaga, Cooper... Congratulations. This is definitely a must-see movie and the soundtrack is for me one of the best of all times, definitely. for me one of the best of all times, definitely. Goo and see #AStarIsBorn Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Oct 6, 2018
This is my favorite musical, my favorite romance movie, my favorite drama movie, and this is my favorite movie of all time. I loved the humor in the movie. A Star Is Born is the most beautiful and heartbreaking movie I have ever seen. BradleyThis is my favorite musical, my favorite romance movie, my favorite drama movie, and this is my favorite movie of all time. I loved the humor in the movie. A Star Is Born is the most beautiful and heartbreaking movie I have ever seen. Bradley Cooper's direction was fantastic. The screenplay, production, and cinematography was great. The leading performances from Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper were stupendous and breathtaking. The supporting cast gave stellar performances as well especially Sam Elliott, Andrew Dice Clay, Anthony Ramos, and Dave Chappelle. This is by far Bradley Cooper's best acting performances so far in his career and for this being Lady Gaga's first leading performance in a movie it was magnificent. The chemistry between Lady Gaga and Bradley Cooper was amazing. The musical numbers were done fantastically. The soundtrack and all the music featured in the movie was spectacular. The soundtrack for the movie is my favorite movie soundtrack ever. Also the makeup and hair were splendid. A++. Expand
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
10
JasonCostOct 6, 2018
Ótima atuação de ambos, e Lady Gaga mostra mais uma vez que é uma das artistas mais talentosas da nossa geração.
5 of 18 users found this helpful513
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantOct 6, 2018
An inoffensive but formula-driven retelling of this now-familiar tale (in its fourth screen iteration) that gets some things right and misses the mark on others. Musically brilliant, with an excellent acting debut by Lady Gaga and a fine castAn inoffensive but formula-driven retelling of this now-familiar tale (in its fourth screen iteration) that gets some things right and misses the mark on others. Musically brilliant, with an excellent acting debut by Lady Gaga and a fine cast of supporting characters, the film provides a great showcase for its headliner. However, the picture is at its weakest in the writing, which incorporates a refreshingly surprising amount of humor but regrettably suffers from some prolonged bloat and character development that inexplicably and frequently bounces back and forth between polar opposites. This is certainly a fine springboard for the film's leading lady, but it's a story that needs to be given a prolonged rest before anyone considers remaking it yet again. Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
10
LazloAlmasyOct 5, 2018
Best movie of the year. Just left me speechless. I already saw it two times. Gaga is a great actress.
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
10
jasharkowalskiOct 5, 2018
Sad, sad, very sad story told in an unexpectedly beautiful way ! Bradley stars and directs like he put a dozen prevolious movies under his belt....and Gaga, what to say about her and stay original ? Well, for starter - Gaga should stopSad, sad, very sad story told in an unexpectedly beautiful way ! Bradley stars and directs like he put a dozen prevolious movies under his belt....and Gaga, what to say about her and stay original ? Well, for starter - Gaga should stop wasting her talent on sugary instant pop hits and over-produced soulless music anymore....Gaga is a a pure rock baby waiting to explode, and here she just did it ! Sadly, a star is born only upon the death of another star. A must see rock saga that deliver it all ! Expand
4 of 15 users found this helpful411
All this user's reviews
0
VincentOct 6, 2018
Gaga can't act and is an artistic fraud. This movie is over hyped trash. Hopefully it wins zero awards (this movie exists as a vehicle for Lady Gaga to get oscars).
11 of 43 users found this helpful1132
All this user's reviews
0
MilaXOct 10, 2018
Will someone PLEASE tell Gaga to stick to the day job?? She's just embarrassing herself...and someone should tell Cooper that having an english accent isn't enough to carry a film outside of the US' female demographic.
6 of 24 users found this helpful618
All this user's reviews
10
GalaKapanadzeOct 5, 2018
A Star Is Born is perfect. Gaga is Perfect. Bradley is Perfect. Music is Perfect. ⭐
5 of 20 users found this helpful515
All this user's reviews
10
eriklenzOct 5, 2018
I knew it's gonna be good because of all critical acclaim it got, but I never thought I would cry because of a movie.
4 of 16 users found this helpful412
All this user's reviews
3
Mir15Oct 10, 2018
Очередной римейк, честно говоря фильм для домашнего просмотра, для фанатов Гаги и Купера
4 of 16 users found this helpful412
All this user's reviews
7
MetaflixOct 8, 2018
The trailer for 'A Star is Born' makes it feel like the film is going to be the duet version of 'Crazy Heart,' which would be an improvement in my opinion, though it also wouldn't be as popular if it were. Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga are soThe trailer for 'A Star is Born' makes it feel like the film is going to be the duet version of 'Crazy Heart,' which would be an improvement in my opinion, though it also wouldn't be as popular if it were. Bradley Cooper and Lady Gaga are so tremendously talented that their pairing makes for a powerful procession of musical performances. It's just unfortunate that handful of the plot points in between those performances often tease the boundaries of credulity.

Still, as the writer, director, and star, Cooper has duly earned every bit of success that the film is garnering, placing an even brighter spotlight on an already radiant star.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
TylerSmithDec 6, 2018
A musical with lazy storytelling, "A Star Is Born" attempts to shine brightly but that will not hide every dumb thing this movie has.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
4
Davidsco27Oct 19, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. #1. there was NO chemistry between the two characters. NONE. I've seen more chemistry in 10th Grade, and I got a D. The movie was a series of 2 or 3 minutes scenes haphazardly cut together. There was no continuity, no buildup, no story building. It seemed like they took all the First Takes and just pieced them together. The acting was mostly flat. I felt nothing for the characters. I didn't buy his drunk. There was no reason he ended up at her club in the beginning, and no reason he was attracted to her, or her to him. Nothing. No build up, no story, just a bunch of dialogue pieced together. The songs were forgettable, and most just silly cliche'd crap. His relationship with his brother had no real emotion. I don't know WHAT Dave Chapelle was doing there, and the scene between them on the lawn was useless. I don't know WHAT the hell Dice was doing there, except maybe he's buddies with Cooper, and Cooper wanted to give him a part. The Rehab scene was useless. I felt nothing at the end when she sang her song, and that was HUGE in the Streisand one. The love scenes between them, I think even they didn't feel them, and that's why they were cut so short. I thought the idea of turning Gaga's character into Gaga was a poor choice. She had said earlier, when she was advised to dye her hair platinum, that she wouldn't do that, it wasn't true to her. Then she colors her hair. Why? So Gaga fans would be happy? I felt NOTHING of her rise and his fall. It was just flat. He was the same throughout the movie, and so was she, only she colored and styled her hair. But the thing that REALLY pissed me off, was his suicide at the end. Forgetting the fact that we didn't feel with him that it was his justifiable end, it RUINED the Streisand film. In the Streisand version, John Norman leaves in his sports car, listening to her music, drunk, and under the influence, and he is seen driving recklessly, and speeding, and then it cuts to after the accident. It is left to the viewers' imagination, Did he kill himself on purpose, or was it an accident caused by his state? In this one, Boom, he hangs himself. Thanks, Brad. Thanks for just killing everything. And lastly, Gaga is NO Streisand. She wants to be, and tried real hard to be, but she is not. She's the American Idol version. I didn't get any authenticity from her songs, or or acting. She wasn't bad, in the acting department, and maybe under a better director, she could've risen to a very good performance. She has a good voice, but she just didn't move me at all. As for Cooper's directing of himself. This was his worst performance, imo. Even in stinker movies, of which he's done a couple, I've always believed him, and liked his performances. Here, I didn't buy a second of it. He needs a good director, and a better editor to guide him. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
ATRLModneysOct 5, 2018
A Star Is Born marks Cooper's directional debut and Lady GaGa's desperate attempt to find success in another department after her music career did not even last 10 years. The movie lacks chemistry between Cooper and GaGa and is overall anA Star Is Born marks Cooper's directional debut and Lady GaGa's desperate attempt to find success in another department after her music career did not even last 10 years. The movie lacks chemistry between Cooper and GaGa and is overall an unneeded remake of a Streisand classic. GaGa was simply the wrong choice for Aly, an actual "star" like Brintey Spears would have fitted much better. Expand
14 of 57 users found this helpful1443
All this user's reviews
0
LadyGagagaOct 5, 2018
Hmm, I just can't get into Lady Gaga's voice. It's kind of grating for me, it ruined the movie.
13 of 53 users found this helpful1340
All this user's reviews
0
mikeydodoOct 7, 2018
Don't waste your time or money. Unless you're some hard core lady gaga fan, just wait for netflix. this movie is soooo overrated it's ridiculous. It should be called "A Bore is Starred." It's way too long. There's no chemistry between cooperDon't waste your time or money. Unless you're some hard core lady gaga fan, just wait for netflix. this movie is soooo overrated it's ridiculous. It should be called "A Bore is Starred." It's way too long. There's no chemistry between cooper and gaga and quite honestly, gaga is so homely to look at that she doesn't have anything that feels like she should be a star. as for her voice... it's never been great. it's raspy and deep and certainly NOT heavenly as described in movie. Expand
11 of 46 users found this helpful1135
All this user's reviews