Warner Bros. | Release Date: December 21, 2018
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 709 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
493
Mixed:
133
Negative:
83
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TryASummersaultDec 21, 2018
8.4/10 James Wan has crafted the most visually magnificent and triumphant tale of the DCU, full of heartfelt emotion and genuine fun albeit ridiculous at times. Had someone ever told me I would enjoy an Aquaman film with Jason Momoa more than8.4/10 James Wan has crafted the most visually magnificent and triumphant tale of the DCU, full of heartfelt emotion and genuine fun albeit ridiculous at times. Had someone ever told me I would enjoy an Aquaman film with Jason Momoa more than any film in the DCU, I wouldn't have believed them and laughed. The truth is imho this is the most effectively executed film of the extremely polarizing DCU, and is filled with an array of epic moments throughout, as well as a fantastic portrayal of the comic story. While it might stray away from comics in certain aspects, it thrives with its own distinct identity. The attention to detail from Wan is impeccable as usual and the visuals in this are mind blowing to say the least. The world building through the diversity of colors, environments, creature designs, costume designs, and the overall perspectives are spectacular. The CGI was heavily utilized but never looked cheap or unrefined and is some of the best work I've seen. The characters are all acted well besides Black Manta's character which I thought was a laughably bad performance though maybe it was just how his character was written. Momoa did well enough and was extremely fun to watch, but Patrick Wilson stole the show with an incredible role as King Orm and added a whole different dimension to the majestic story that I did not see coming. It's clear to see why James Wan casts him so much in his great films. I also thought Willem Dafoe did a fantastic job as Vulko and it was cool to see him once again in a comic adaptation. I did think some of the dialogue and forced comedy was hit or miss at times, and bordered on ridiculous to where i laughed in absurdity. There are some really oddly placed songs in the soundtrack that also add some laughable ridiculousness. Luckily the story thrived so much with its triumphantly heartfelt core and exciting high octane action, that some of the more cheesy parts can be overlooked. It's satisfying to see that Wan took the time, effort, and heart and broke away from tired formulas of the DCU for the most part, to procure an epic original adaptation that sets up a bright future. I just hope the Black Manta character/actor will improve, because if he will be the main villain, he will have to be more convincing and slightly better written. Overall this is a fantastic film that needs to be seen in theaters to truly savor the details and grand scapes. Expand
22 of 27 users found this helpful225
All this user's reviews
10
Alireza_sdDec 21, 2018
Aquaman was a great movie , some things that other reviewers said like the fact that this movie was like a aquarium wasn't necessary to say . they cannot use real sharks or fishes to make a movie good . i think this movie was a good one :D
16 of 21 users found this helpful165
All this user's reviews
9
M-ShahmDec 21, 2018
Ignore the metacritic notes. Some kid-brain critics are started their attacks. It's a DC movie not a Marvel/Disney. So that's the reason of this bad ratings.

Go and see it! Best DCEU movie, and an extraordinary superhero movie! You must see
Ignore the metacritic notes. Some kid-brain critics are started their attacks. It's a DC movie not a Marvel/Disney. So that's the reason of this bad ratings.

Go and see it! Best DCEU movie, and an extraordinary superhero movie! You must see it on the big screen! If it was a Marvel movie, than would be 80 points or higher!

This movie is truly a masterpiece in the superhero genre, the cinematography and visuals are breathtaking, simply beautiful to look at. James Wan probably did one of the best directing job in 2018 as everything was just perfect, nailed everything perfectly, catching the heart of the characters and story and also the whole atmosphere and tone of the movie, making everything believable. Its actually really close to the New 52 comic book run that was written by Geoff Johns, it made me as a fan really happy, seeing the villains and all the culture and people done right. Making the costumes for especially Orm, Mera and Aquaman's final suit absolute true to their comic book counterpart. It was also great cast, having a well known ensemble with names like Amber Heard, Willem Defoe, Dolph Lundgren, Patrick Wilson and Nicole Kidman that all portray their characters in a accurate and great way. Jason Momoa blew me away, he's actually a believable Arthur Curry except for the long brown hair and beard. My favorite characters have to be Aquaman and Mera like they were in the graphic novel, great duo and amazing characters!

Something that kept me interested at all times were the action sequences and plot, making it flow together nicely. The Sicily sequence and the final battle being my favorites, making this movie rewatchable more than the great characters and actors they have in store! It's epic and has a lot of heart, thanks to James Wan and everyone else that helped make the movie.
Expand
29 of 39 users found this helpful2910
All this user's reviews
10
exorcisamDec 21, 2018
The Movie is so damn cool and is filled with nail biting momemts didn't expect this from the Dc universe. The trailer was promising Taking the trailer as a consideration of Dc movies the trailers have done very well to hype up the movie butThe Movie is so damn cool and is filled with nail biting momemts didn't expect this from the Dc universe. The trailer was promising Taking the trailer as a consideration of Dc movies the trailers have done very well to hype up the movie but the result of the movie isn't that good but Aquaman changed it, it's an amazing movie. It did live up the expectations of fans the way they adore Arthur & Mera's relationship in comics! Some scenes were quite memorable ( Won't say them as it's a non-spoiler review) ... Aquaman is a very interesting character he's capable to do many stuffs you'll know when you watch the movie he's badass , Funny a good mixture of a superhero personality! Aquaman is a must watch movie ... Expand
37 of 55 users found this helpful3718
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Dec 22, 2018
"The Conjuring, "Insidious," and "Furious 7" director James Wan takes another swipe at the action genre with his adaptation of one of comic-book-dom's most infamous figures - "Aquaman." This is a surprisingly well-crafted and fun film, with a"The Conjuring, "Insidious," and "Furious 7" director James Wan takes another swipe at the action genre with his adaptation of one of comic-book-dom's most infamous figures - "Aquaman." This is a surprisingly well-crafted and fun film, with a brisk pace, and a clear narrative (a bunch attributes not often found in other DCEU offerings), featuring a commanding lead performance from Jason Momoa and some jaw-dropping visuals. It's certainly a bit more predictable and goofier than most comic book films, but I found that, in the end, it ended up being what it needed to be for the masses - a delight. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
DubeauDec 23, 2018
Aquaman is a fun film because it doesn't take itself too seriously. The story has some good scope and some intricate moments. The effects are sometimes ridiculous but making anything under water is difficult to render. Some of them are prettyAquaman is a fun film because it doesn't take itself too seriously. The story has some good scope and some intricate moments. The effects are sometimes ridiculous but making anything under water is difficult to render. Some of them are pretty well done, some feels a bit tacky. The acting is excellent from Momoa. However the actors around him are a bit odd and delivers unequal acting. There are good actions and the movie is going at fair pace. I give it a 72%. It's not perfect but it is done with respect to the comics and with a lot of nice touches of humor and craziness. Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
7
AndrewBurgeDec 24, 2018
Let's be real. Aquaman is probably the lamest most mock-able superhero ever, something which I feel James Wan was well aware of because this film is one of the most coolest-looking, over-the-top extravagant pieces of nerd masochism I haveLet's be real. Aquaman is probably the lamest most mock-able superhero ever, something which I feel James Wan was well aware of because this film is one of the most coolest-looking, over-the-top extravagant pieces of nerd masochism I have seen in a long while. There are people riding sea horses and sharks equipped with laser beams!

But in order to reduce the mockery of this "fish-man", Wan gave Arthur Curry (Jason Momoa) a really manly personality. He is chill, sarcastic and its easy to connect with him through his human personality, a perfect contrast to the Arian Atlanteans. I also like the way in which this film succeeds in justifying the motives of their villains: particularly, The Manta (Yahya Abdul-Mateen II). Sure, the revenge plot is a bit cliche like a few things in these film, but the fact that we actually see Aquaman leaving his father to die and not just hearing it through the prism of the villain, gives a certain power to it. I actually felt a bit bad for the poor guy.

One thing DC does not manage to pull off perfectly, though, is the identity of their films. There are parts in which it is truly dark and dramatic, and nearly every action scene starts with an unexpected over-the-top explosion. These moments are sometimes interrupted by funny comments and situations a-la-Marvel, but not all stick. And even if most do, they do not manage to blend together. Rather than being part of a continuous plot flow, DC stops the flow to tell a joke or two, then they get back to it.

While I could do with a few less fish look-a-like ships, I love just how abrasive and in-your-face everything is. For all its modern and visual awesomeness, this film has an old-school personality. There is a bit of predictability and lack of depth and identity struggle, but through it all, it can be really enjoyable.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
djbattDec 25, 2018
Fun movie to watch...special effects is awesome!! Go and watch it in Imax 3d if you can.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
jugadorhardcoreDec 27, 2018
great movie!!! really surprise me. I don't know why the critic destroy it...
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
8
MattyiceDec 25, 2018
Aquaman looks like another surprise hit for DC in a crowded holiday season. While it struggles a bit in the acting department, has a by-the-numbers plot, and I feel Black Manta did not need to be in this movie (and could've cut this movie'sAquaman looks like another surprise hit for DC in a crowded holiday season. While it struggles a bit in the acting department, has a by-the-numbers plot, and I feel Black Manta did not need to be in this movie (and could've cut this movie's long run time down), its action, SFX, and just overall fun nature make it a great time at the movies this holiday season. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
mrmonsterDec 25, 2018
Aquaman is awesome. No if's an's or but's about it, this movie was pure epicness from beginning to end. Seriously, it's like Lord of the Rings underwater.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
GenPattonXDec 28, 2018
I think the movie overall is very good, one of the best that the DCEU has delivered so far. Visually is amazing, the music is uplifting, powerful and beautiful. The story is a type that we have seen before, but then again these comics wereI think the movie overall is very good, one of the best that the DCEU has delivered so far. Visually is amazing, the music is uplifting, powerful and beautiful. The story is a type that we have seen before, but then again these comics were written 50 years ago, for me the movie kept it interesting all the way, there are several good humor moments, emotional moments too, the characters are well developed throughout the movie and so you get strong and believable connections between them, the acting from everyone is very good.
There are many powerful scenes, great fighting scenes and the main battle has a scale and epicness that for moments resembles the third movie of the Lord of the Rings. In all, the movie is well put together, it flows and keeps you interested. The only thing I would point out is the fact that at least 4 times the characters got interrupted by a blast, that felt a bit repetitive, but the movie does places back the DCEU at a very respectable level, since it suffered a bit from Justice League. Very good job and thank you.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
DuahDec 24, 2018
I'm making my first review due to all the crap that's being spewed by the critics.

This movie is a fun super hero movie, with a captivating and well portrayed cast. Jason Momoa has done the impossible and made Aquaman a cool and interesting
I'm making my first review due to all the crap that's being spewed by the critics.

This movie is a fun super hero movie, with a captivating and well portrayed cast. Jason Momoa has done the impossible and made Aquaman a cool and interesting character. Amber Heard did spectacular as Princess Mara, and Willem Dafoe.... He's Willem Dafoe that's all you need. Patrick Wilson took a second to warm up too as a villain, as this is my first time truly seeing him as a villain, however he killed it. All in all a very fun, and very worthwhile experience.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Luki01Dec 28, 2018
One of the best superhero movies that I ever seen! I recommend it to real comic fans.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
luciacroninDec 29, 2018
Aquaman is jam-packed with action, comedy and adventure. There are several villians/anti-heroes to keep the audience engaged without ruining the plot. Most of the character development is done well alongside brilliant acting done by JasonAquaman is jam-packed with action, comedy and adventure. There are several villians/anti-heroes to keep the audience engaged without ruining the plot. Most of the character development is done well alongside brilliant acting done by Jason Momoa, Amber Heard and Patrick Wilson. The movie was overall really entertaining, especially for superhero fanatics. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
baltowolfDec 29, 2018
The film can be mistaken in some points, but the mistakes do not take the brightness of the film, so much that it was not perfect because of some mistakes, which I will not speak about here but spoilers, but the film is wonderful, veryThe film can be mistaken in some points, but the mistakes do not take the brightness of the film, so much that it was not perfect because of some mistakes, which I will not speak about here but spoilers, but the film is wonderful, very faithful to the comics and the characters with a lot of charisma, I loved everyone!
The action scenes are spectacular, I was hypnotized, besides the graphic beauty that is this film, undoubtedly is well wronged seen the medium criticism in some sites, but remains one of the best films of the year!
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
ScornfulOrcDec 26, 2018
Occasionally brainless with some weird decisions mixed in but its a heap of fun
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SirSX3Dec 29, 2018
Best of the DCEU so far. Keep your preconceived biases of DC movies aside and just enjoy the ride. Definitely watch it in IMAX 3D if you can, it's meant to be watched that way. If you're a Aquaman comics fan, then you'll definitely enjoy it;Best of the DCEU so far. Keep your preconceived biases of DC movies aside and just enjoy the ride. Definitely watch it in IMAX 3D if you can, it's meant to be watched that way. If you're a Aquaman comics fan, then you'll definitely enjoy it; the film adapts the source material very well. The development of the Aquatic world is very well done. The visuals are very striking and the use of colours are very well done. The action sequences are incredible as expected of Director James Wan. Jason Momoa completely exemplifies badass. Supporting cast are wonderful as well. This movie will not disappoint you! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
damocles1974Dec 25, 2018
The fact that this movie gets only mixed reviews from "professional" critic once more underlines how out of touch they are when it comes to comic movies. The Success of the MCU had a steep price that many comics movies have to pay: TheThe fact that this movie gets only mixed reviews from "professional" critic once more underlines how out of touch they are when it comes to comic movies. The Success of the MCU had a steep price that many comics movies have to pay: The expectance that comic movies have to appease to classical movie structures. I'm quite fond of the fact that this movie cheerfully embraces the notion of comics to be a "bag `o` wonders". It's cheerfull, it's loud, it colourfull, sometimes it has a message, sometimes not, it's sometimes downright silly...

What's not to love? And damn, it looks good. This is one rare example of CGI and 3D done right.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
pahammerJan 11, 2019
I wanted to like it more. Really, I did. First off, Jason Momoa is great in this role. Despite his obvious physical attributes, he brings a personality and humor to the proceedings that, to be honest, it could have done with more of. AmberI wanted to like it more. Really, I did. First off, Jason Momoa is great in this role. Despite his obvious physical attributes, he brings a personality and humor to the proceedings that, to be honest, it could have done with more of. Amber Heard... well at least she's pretty, because she can't act. Nicole Kidman, Patrick Wilson, Willem Dafoe; all fine actors, grossly underused in underdeveloped characters.

So, I give it a 5/10. I wish it had been better.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
HealingToolboxJan 1, 2019
I think this puts James Wan in the same league as JJ Abrams. Audience I saw it with clapped at the end. I tell you: We have not seen such a creative fantasy script and VFX since the last JJ film. While James and JJ both lack the strongI think this puts James Wan in the same league as JJ Abrams. Audience I saw it with clapped at the end. I tell you: We have not seen such a creative fantasy script and VFX since the last JJ film. While James and JJ both lack the strong moral compass of Spielberg, excepting this, Aquaman is as creative a fantasy script and VFX as you could hope for. I come from seeing close to every fantasy movie and superhero movie made. I first liked James Wan on the X-Files and have followed his horror films from a distance. James brings a great deal together here. He’s working with well-worn tropes but manages again and again to make them seem fresh. Thor: Ragnarok is the appropriate comparison here, another crowd please, another comic book come to life successfully. Aquaman has more weight and depth than Thor:R due to its hero's journey arc. I see critics criticizing Aquaman for clashes of tone. When multiple critics say this and I do not, I always wonder how many were simply looking between the screen and checking their emails on their smart phone. I went to art school and have written 44 books where shadings of tone visually and verbally are crucial. Aquaman is a masterful blending of goofy and serious moods. Even an octopus playing multiple drums fits in. A lesser presence in one or more of the main roles could have sunk this effort. The plot point shuffling of trident fight one ending inconclusively leading to a whole middle section hero's journey to get to the second and final trident fight, is amazing effective to keep the narrative afloat. The drone rooftop chase footage is used to great effect. In a behind the scenes YouTube, James says at a superhero movie the audience should feel like they are learning something from the characters; and, that they inspire us to see our own capacity to do good in our own lives. Aquaman does 9/10 on both of these. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
andre27Dec 22, 2018
Adorei o filme. A história é toda ela bem explicada desde o inicio, o actor é top e todo o elenco é otimo. A nação Atlantida esta muito bem caracterizada e explicada e apesar de algumas cenas parecerem meio jogadas é um excelente filme.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
DavidTejadaDec 26, 2018
“At some measurement, the movie innovates DCU providing solid marine-scenic shoots and beautiful landscapes not to mention some good battles over and underwater. Nonetheless, it just feels mediocre, as if someone could have made it look more“At some measurement, the movie innovates DCU providing solid marine-scenic shoots and beautiful landscapes not to mention some good battles over and underwater. Nonetheless, it just feels mediocre, as if someone could have made it look more fabulous” The first time I saw Aquaman in the theatre was at the premier of Justice League, technically my knowledge about the character was poor and underestimating towards his powers because it was obvious he had to do something regarding water. Afterwards, I concluded that this character was the least powerful and some of the most boring I have seen for a long time. Therefore, my ambitious hopes and dreams bowing to a future-successful franchise went away due to continuous flicks failures throughout the decade (except Wonder Woman). As might be seen, my desires for a standout movie faded one hundred percent. From here on, you may be wondering the reason why I watched the movie and gave it a good score.

To begin with, we’re talking about life underwater and a brand-new world never showed before. As has been pointed out, no movie had a plot and many fights in this context. Therefore, it was worth a chance -and it didn’t disappoint whatsoever- because the movie made great efforts, stunning visual effects (including the addition of some unordinary animals) and characters whom the audience do not consider usual but enjoy watching. Consequently, the movie had a prodigious potential. Now on, it is essential to discuss the reason why the movie was as popular as expected. It follows up so many clichés and sadly, director James Wan, falls continually with them. Let me give you some examples: a) Character walking while something from behind explodes, b) Character whom you hardly know, ends up being you girl/boyfriend, c) Protagonists dwell with his/her past before reaching the climax of the movie, etc. It is plain to see the predictability from loads of scenes. On the other hand, the villain (who fosters the movie) turned out to be underdeveloped. In Thor franchise, you get to know the past of the royal siblings and Loki’s, it clearly shows the motivations of each one. Whereas, the movie Aquaman just summarizes the past in less than 5 minutes in order to fully understand the enthusiasms of each one. Did you know something about the villain’s father? I did not understand a bit of it. Finally, Black Manta was wasted as a co-villain, appearing in some shoots and finally disappearing until the very end. Surprisingly, the sequel still is going to need more and marine shoots and some good action pieces in order to make Aquaman a remarkable movie.

Not saying that was mad, just saying that it fell unfulfilled … (65%)
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
The_Man_XXJan 2, 2019
I liked Aquamam it was big,colorful, fun and overall an enjoyable DC superhero movie however it did have some significant flaws.

I can say that Aquamam was DC’s most ambitious movie to date and they nailed most.The first act of the movie is
I liked Aquamam it was big,colorful, fun and overall an enjoyable DC superhero movie however it did have some significant flaws.

I can say that Aquamam was DC’s most ambitious movie to date and they nailed most.The first act of the movie is pretty solid you get some backstory on Author Curry, some nice foundation for the plot and interesting interactions between Aquamam and the villain Black Manta earlier on which the movie does a good job of making you understand his motivations for hating Aquamam and wanting to kill him and Makes Aquamam reconsider some of his actions regarding Black Manta which was some nice writing.

The second act of the movie was surprisingly the weakest just when the story was about to kick into gear the movie gets goofy I mean characters like Mera and Aquaman become cartoony and silly as the movie’s attempts to make you laugh becomes forced and awkward I mean there is literally toilet humor in this movie.It looked like two different people were directing the movie compared to the first half of the movie. Even characters like Black Manta became campy with him saying some weird dialogue. I wouldn’t say the second act is terrible but compared to the first act of the movie it’s just not as good.Luckily the movie comes into focus in the last third of the movie with some very good action, compelling story and surprisingly great CGI throughout the movie and some of the best I’ve seen in a long while.

The best characters in the movie were undoubtedly Aquaman and Mera. Jason Mamoa and Amber Heard had nice chemistry with each other even in the goofy scenes, Aquaman’s journey to becoming King was well done as the movie made you understand why he reluctant to be King and how Aquaman’s character grew throughout the movie especially with the help of Mera who also has a good mini arc in the movie and she had some badass scenes in the movie and again her best moments was with Aquaman as they went well together.

The villain Ocean Master played by Patrick Wilson was bland, I mean they could have done much more with him but as the movie went on he became just another generic bad guy. Earlier in the movie he had some decent reasons for wanting to have War with the surface and had some good interactions between him and Aquaman since their brothers but you never got to see more of that. Patrick Wilson’s performance wasn’t even bad it was actually decent but the story involving him didn’t have anything significant to do besides being evil because he is a bad guy.

Like I said earlier the visuals were incredible and very colorful especially with the scenes under water and the sea creatures i never knew James Wan was capable of directing a movie with such incredible visuals and great CGI so one thing you could say about Aquaman is that it was truly a spectacle at times. Atlantis and other sea kingdoms looked pretty good and contributed to the story well however sometimes these under water kingdoms like Atlantis felt empty at times I mean it looked interesting but you never got to see more of it besides action scenes and water battles which was kind of disappointing.The action was also very good again the visuals helped make the action good at times especially the final battle it wasn’t the best thing ever but it was very nice.

The story is pretty solid and Aquaman’s journey is interesting as he deals with responsibilities he doesn’t want to have but he grows over time into a hero and despite being campy at times the movie has some pretty funny scenes so that’s another plus.So I enjoyed Aquaman it’s DC best movie since Wonder Woman not as great but still a pretty good movie with a solid story, great CGI and visuals and characters despite a bland villain and silly second act. Hope this continues for DC movies.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
SquaredRenDec 25, 2018
This movie is your typical "find this item....but unnecessary obstacles are in the way" type of thing. The love interest didn't grew properly, she was more like a fling. The Black Manta actor needs to go back to acting school ASAP. Very fewThis movie is your typical "find this item....but unnecessary obstacles are in the way" type of thing. The love interest didn't grew properly, she was more like a fling. The Black Manta actor needs to go back to acting school ASAP. Very few special effects didn't look good. Positives?
This movie had a great environmental message that merged well with the villains goals. It also has non-stop special effects that hits home when done right. The action sequences are great and very original. There will be things that you have never seen before done in a movie. Overall it's not a GREAT film, but it's certainly worth your time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ThechinamanDec 26, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Aquaman is big win for Warner Bros and DC, a solid Origin story that would make Aquaman a more relatable character for the audience, Art Design was PHENOMENAL, Vfx were great with a solid Third Act, Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SebastianMagnusDec 23, 2018
Aquaman arrives at the exact moment to return hope to the DC Universe, the director delivers a show and fantasy that explores a spectacularly visual underwater world. The plot explores well the background of the character, as the story at anyAquaman arrives at the exact moment to return hope to the DC Universe, the director delivers a show and fantasy that explores a spectacularly visual underwater world. The plot explores well the background of the character, as the story at any time notices become predictable. It has a perfectly balanced tone that does not even saturate. The third act is ascending until it unleashes a climax full of action. Jason Momoa is very charismatic as Aquaman and imposing, makes us interested in his asomobroso trip. One of the best points of this film is the villain Orm, Patrick Wilson delivers a decent villain for the franchise, perhaps one of the best villains of this type of film in the last 6 years and surpassing all the ones seen until now. DCEU.
Aquaman exploits very well all the potential it has, from the visuals to the most outstanding performances.
Expand
13 of 14 users found this helpful131
All this user's reviews
8
KzooKillerDec 22, 2018
Aquaman is one of those movies that critics will over think and give a bunch of bad scores to but is at the same time a freaking blast, beautiful, and not for one second boring. There's a handful of bad acting moments, interesting castingAquaman is one of those movies that critics will over think and give a bunch of bad scores to but is at the same time a freaking blast, beautiful, and not for one second boring. There's a handful of bad acting moments, interesting casting decisions and could be considered a little long but it's near the top of favorite movies of 2018. In all honesty, what James Wan did should really be applauded. He took something that should have been just awful and turned it into a fantastic movie. Expand
12 of 13 users found this helpful121
All this user's reviews
10
moorhous8Dec 24, 2018
GO see it don't just listen to critics about what they think give the movie a shot it was very good
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
7
OlilovesMoviesDec 21, 2018
(NO SPOILERS)

This film is a visual masterpiece that is sadly hindered by an unbelievably poor script. DC need to find some better writers. Thankfully though, this is a massive step in the right direction as visually the film has resonance
(NO SPOILERS)

This film is a visual masterpiece that is sadly hindered by an unbelievably poor script. DC need to find some better writers. Thankfully though, this is a massive step in the right direction as visually the film has resonance of Avatar, and moments of epic scale that feel like scenes from Star Wars of Lord of the Rings, and that is exceptionally high praise. Where was this CG team for the other DC movies?! Don't let them go DC, they are your strongest asset for now.

Jason Momoa does ooze charisma and is a pleasure to watch, even when he is forced to deliver some of the worst lines in cinematic history, and Amber Heard makes for an excellent leading lady, commanding just as much screen presence as the Massive Momoa, an impressive feat indeed.

Give this film a chance! DC may actually be on their way to being a cinematic force worth appreciating.
Expand
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
7
McdonalduckDec 21, 2018
The story is unremarkable. Like a general super hero movie. But the visual is really great. James Wan did the good job.
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
9
ABRDec 21, 2018
This is the first good movie from DC. It was awesome to watch it in the cinema.
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
7
MarkiniDec 21, 2018
Great film! Awesome visuals and action scenes. The water effects, in particular, were very well done considering something like this has never been done before. Establishing the world of Atlantis and the Atlanteans really was immersive.Great film! Awesome visuals and action scenes. The water effects, in particular, were very well done considering something like this has never been done before. Establishing the world of Atlantis and the Atlanteans really was immersive. There were some flaws, however, some of the dialogue and plot is lackluster. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
NimaHN79Dec 21, 2018
Awesome movie! A successful for dceu , James Wan did a good job
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
10
NHNDec 21, 2018
Aquaman was a great movie! I don’t understand why some critizers such as who said that was bad because it’s like a aquarium with wire :| every scenes was on point and I should say that this movie is fantasy and we shoudn’t accept reviews likeAquaman was a great movie! I don’t understand why some critizers such as who said that was bad because it’s like a aquarium with wire :| every scenes was on point and I should say that this movie is fantasy and we shoudn’t accept reviews like this :) that person wants to see that they’re on real sea and side by real sharks? :))) Please don’t listen to reviewers :) Expand
14 of 16 users found this helpful142
All this user's reviews
10
realcomicfanDec 28, 2018
Ignore the reviews.It look likes some kid brain men rated the movie :)) This is the best DCEU Movie at all.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
supermann234Dec 22, 2018
Aquaman is in my opinion the best DCEU film so far. There is action, story and pace is mostly there except towards the end. Given the good special effects and expanded imax ratio, this film is definitely worth a watch in IMAX 3D.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
10
RaphaelGalvaoDec 21, 2018
Aquaman é um filme que sem sombra de dúvidas entrega uma mitologia gigantesca, a maior vista num filme de herói, agora é só manter nos próximos filmes os reinos pra que seja uma - franquia. O CGI é realmente uma obra de arte, ver como eleAquaman é um filme que sem sombra de dúvidas entrega uma mitologia gigantesca, a maior vista num filme de herói, agora é só manter nos próximos filmes os reinos pra que seja uma - franquia. O CGI é realmente uma obra de arte, ver como ele trabalhou Atlantida da um orgulho de verdade, as cenas de ação do filme são um espetáculo a parte, seja na superfície ou no mar elas foram trabalhadas de forma excepcional.

As atuações do filme podem dividir opiniões, Nicole é o ponto alto do filme, ela traz toda a carga emotiva mesmo, Patrick como Orm é bom, mas achei ele "vilão demais" sério demais, senti falta de um ar sínico, talvez se ele tivesse mais tempo de tela quem sabe? Momoa nasceu pra viver Aquaman, de verdade, ele deixa o personagem mais interessante pro grande público e até aqueles que não gostam mesmo do herói, ele ganha o filme com sua presença carismática, ele nas cenas de ação me fez gritar de como ele é ótimo, já Amber eu senti que faltou algo nela, senti que ela é fora do tom, ela entrega cenas de ação que me provocaram histeria e deslumbre, visualmente ela está impecável como todo elenco, porém falta, espero que ela consiga trabalhar melhor a personagem que já conquistou o público.

O roteiro é bom, ele consegue ser de fácil entendimento pra todos, apesar dos reinos de Atlantida serem pouco explorados, mas acredito que isso seja material para um Aquaman 3 e a Guerra dos Reinos, as motivações dos vilões são bem executadas e da até pra defender o lado de cada um, e eu amei a forma como usaram o poder dele de falar com os peixes, ele fez com que soasse necessário demais.

Aquaman é uma divertida e linda aventura, respeita os quadrinhos e personagens de forma nostálgica e contemporânea, com visuais nunca vistos antes pra um filme do gênero, e que vai deixar o herói num patamar que ele sempre mereceu, visualmente falando é o melhor filme de herói já feito.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
7
OnaskDec 21, 2018
Visualmente impactante, con personajes relativamente bien trazados y acción a mansalva. En serio, debe de ser de las películas con más escenas de acción que he visto en mi vida. Entretenida de principio a fin, Wan crea una película deVisualmente impactante, con personajes relativamente bien trazados y acción a mansalva. En serio, debe de ser de las películas con más escenas de acción que he visto en mi vida. Entretenida de principio a fin, Wan crea una película de superhéroes con todas las letras que se preocupa de lo único que pretende preocuparse: entretener al espectador. Si es cierto que he echado en falta pausadas de conversación y diálogo profundo, sobre todo después de planos y planos de acción durante más de diez minutos sin descanso.

Aquaman se desenvuelve bien tanto dentro como fuera del agua con unas escenas de lucha cuerpo a cuerpo y coreografías muy bien diseñadas, así como colosales bestias marinas en escenarios épicos impresionantemente representados, donde la mano de Snyder como productor se ve a la legua. Sinceramente, demasiada acción incluso para lo que es: una película de superhéroes (no es broma si digo que más de la mitad de la película son tortazos a diestro y siniestro). Aún así, he salido bastante satisfecho del cine y ha levantado un poco mis expectativas con el universo DC tras Justice League. Recomendada.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
Detento4587Dec 21, 2018
Note:7.8
Aquaman is undoubtedly the most beautiful film of the genre of super heroes that I have seen, has a great villain, great pair, incredible action scenes and the director James Wan can hold his attention during all the acts ... But
Note:7.8
Aquaman is undoubtedly the most beautiful film of the genre of super heroes that I have seen, has a great villain, great pair, incredible action scenes and the director James Wan can hold his attention during all the acts ... But like no film is perfect, Aquaman has his problems, script and mediocre performances, weak dialogues and forced jokes.
Summary:
Aquaman is a visual and energetic spectacle and a great original film, he has his problems, but most of them are problems that you can relieve.
Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
ShekkyDec 23, 2018
I enjoyed this movie there were a few slow parts and 1 cheesey part in the movie. Overall this movie was enjoyable.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
avaz74Dec 23, 2018
This movie was a massively fun adventure movie. Most importantly, my children (Ages 7, 10, 13, 15) and wife loved it as well. Wan wanted to hit an "underwater Star Wars" meets "Romancing the Stone" adventure vibe and he nailed it. The filmThis movie was a massively fun adventure movie. Most importantly, my children (Ages 7, 10, 13, 15) and wife loved it as well. Wan wanted to hit an "underwater Star Wars" meets "Romancing the Stone" adventure vibe and he nailed it. The film was also a visual feast with crazy special effects, world building, and incredible action sequences. If you are looking for something fun and spectacular to watch, go see it! We thoroughly enjoyed it! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
metaknightmareDec 22, 2018
Going to see it a third time in a couple days. Epic, fun, good story and great job of sticking to the lore of Aquaman. Sure you can just enjoy it without knowing anything about Aquaman but there is so much here for fans of the character toGoing to see it a third time in a couple days. Epic, fun, good story and great job of sticking to the lore of Aquaman. Sure you can just enjoy it without knowing anything about Aquaman but there is so much here for fans of the character to dig into, I catch new details every time I watch it. Funny how some people are hating on the story when the story is based on New 52's Aquaman which was acclaimed for its story. People are complaining about some purposely cheesy lines and parts then don't go to watch comic book movies. Others are disliking the casting yet they are probably the same ones that thought the other DC movies were too serious. Don't listen to the naysayers, this movie is awesome. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
RaduADec 22, 2018
It's too much. Visual and auditory is great. The story is decent. The actors were good (Jason Momoa). For the most part, it's a win for DC but the story is everywhere...
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
Faisal5417Dec 22, 2018
This movie has some of the best CGI I have ever seen. The under water scenes are especially impressive. Not to forget, we learn more about Arthur and Atlantis, Great Movie!!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
NDC01Dec 22, 2018
Kirm to kos o dahane nane y bad kha ha y in film k kos goftn raje bsh :D aslan kir fil toshon :D
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
mrushing02Dec 21, 2018
I love being an Amazon Prime member and was rewarded with a very special perk this week, getting to see Aquaman, five days early! Director James Wan, known for his horror films, as well as the very successful Furious 7 has taken on theI love being an Amazon Prime member and was rewarded with a very special perk this week, getting to see Aquaman, five days early! Director James Wan, known for his horror films, as well as the very successful Furious 7 has taken on the titanic challenge of bringing to life the superhero that’s been the butt of every joke possible. The question on everyone’s mind has been, “Can he take that hero that talks to fish and make him cool?”. The answer, you’re darn right he can.

Wan has created the most comic book, comic book movie ever. Everything about Aquaman is fantastical and completely out of this world which he embraces with loving arms. Instead of shying away from the weird, Wan just goes for it in a way that’s always a sight to behold. It’s Lord of the Rings, Indiana Jones, Godzilla and Star Wars, all in one.

The movie rides comfortably on Jason Momoa’s shoulders. His swagger is absolutely what this movie needs, but it’s his ability to find the small moments that makes you believe. Amber Heard as Mera is awesome. Her powers look incredible and you’ll be left wanting more. Patrick Wilson and Yahya Abdul-Mateen II serve up delicious turns as villains, yet Black Manta steals the show. The rest of the cast is great, Nicole Kidman, Temuera Morrison, Willem Dafoe, Dolph Lundgren all bring just the right amount to the roles, adding the weight and gravitas needed.

The effects are excellent. The imagination on display is incredible. The movie is helped by it taking place in a world you don’t know what it should look like so what fills the screen is beautifully breathtaking in scope and scale. It’s fun, vibrant and exactly the kind of thing we love about going to the movies, being awed.

There’s more to say, but with the movie not out for another week, no spoilers, suffice to say, it’s the perfect movie for the family this holiday season! 4 1/2 out of 5 stars for the sheer, uncompromising audacity and joy of it all.
Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
khangarooDec 21, 2018
Simply put it, bad ass. From the fight scenes to the story, to the character development. I really think James Wan nailed Aquaman. And Jason Momoa was perfectly casted by Zack Snyder. This movie is a must watch!
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
9
BrisceseDec 21, 2018
ótimo filme ! a critica de filmes é comprada pelo pessoal da Marvel...
Vale muito a pena ir ver esse filme no cinema, historia boa, cenas de lutas incríveis, cenas de guerra épicas !
Assim que eu puder eu vou ver de novo !
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
8
ViniciusBritoDec 21, 2018
The world building that they created down in the sea is just fantastic and one that i don't remember in any other super hero movie with this level of quality and details, the first time that you get to Atlantis you can already see howThe world building that they created down in the sea is just fantastic and one that i don't remember in any other super hero movie with this level of quality and details, the first time that you get to Atlantis you can already see how beautiful and different it is, i don't really remember of any other world that existed in under the sea in a movie, so maybe this is the first one that are out there. The scene when we arrive there, Wan first showed an outside view, ships around the "street" flying in a way that really remembered me StarWars episode 2 when that scene in the beginning where there are a lot of ships flying everywhere, but in here the cgi is way better, when we finally got inside of the drowned city we can see the the nature working together with the edifices, it is all very good looking, they did gave a neon atmosphere in everything, the colors make contrast between the blue in the ocean giving everything a very nice aspect to it.
The action in this film is fabulous and giant, there are first solo fights from the characters against the soldiers of Atlantis, the cgi in one or another moment could have got heavy in some of these, but in overall, i think it got really nice, the choreography in some moments isn't really different, but in the fights with the tridents, and down in the ocean, things got really interesting, the floating in the sea is already really nice, to see the characters swimming arounde here and there, is a already nice and different situation, but fighting with all of this together gave some possibilities that, for me, was well made, the details in the water particles while the character were moving and hitting fast, so as the choreography in those one on one were pretty good. The power of Mera was a lot of fun, the water manipulation is a really interesting thing that can be used in some different ways, they used it as a weapon, as a escape exhaust valve and a solution for some situations, that in general it was really well used. The Black Manta visual was dope, and his action was also really nice, giving load to his strikes, and the laser was also really well done. And finally, for the action, the fantastic and giant war that have happened in the end, oh wow, that was great, the cgi wasn't really noticiable there, things were pretty there the animals fighting, the different beings doing different things, and some giant things happen there, wich i'm not going to spoile, but it was beautiful.
Technically this movie is great, the art direction is amazing, there are a lot of shots that i could just put in my wall for just how beautiful the frame was. The costumes are also amazing, the suits and armours that the royal people use in Atlantis are fantastic, the armour of the soldiers are different and also really interesting, and the main guys suit are unbelievable, Aquaman with his golden suit and the Ocean Master with the silver one, those two costumes are one of the prettiest and most loyal from the comics that have ever existed in super hero movies, the contrast that it had when they were battling got fetching. The camera movimentation that Wan uses in here is also a big differential, he uses rotating cameras in some moments, he uses the camera so nicely during the action sequences and also together with the montage, there are also moments, where he uses the camera and the atmosphere in favor to do what he is very familiar in horror movies, so it kind of gives some horror atmosphere sometimes, wich is good and different.
The script is where there is the biggest flaws in this film, first they introduce things well, saying that are different kingdoms and stuff, but things really feel rushed. There are moments where the vibe of the movie changes completely, together with the songs, there are moments where things are, intentionally, very goofy, there are moments that reminded me of baywatch, or trash comedy movies, in other things felt like blade runner, in some moments these crazy things works, in others not that much. There are some solutions that the movie found that i really didn't bought, some explanation situations also feels to conventional. There are some dialogues that are dumb, some really fun moments, some nice reliefs and some moments where more dramatic things happens that do work. The relationship between Mera and Arthur are way to rushed, i didn't really bought that, it does make sense, but definely felt rushed. Black Manta in this movie he have the function of, first to be apresented for us and the universe, second, make things a little harder for Aquaman and Mera, but he isn't really necessary for this film specifically, but he works as in this function. They say that are a lot of kingdoms in the sea, but i really think that i didn't saw all of them, and towards the end i think that in that context, would really make sense on having all of them there, the story is very predictable, we don't really have much surprises going on in here, but it is a solid story.
Expand
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
10
RoyledesmaDec 21, 2018
Es simplemente la mejor película basada en comics de superhéroes. La mejor en su género.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
8
MaxsonDec 23, 2018
I had a good time with this movie. The movie does have some cheesy moments, and some scenes felt slow in my opinion, but I still enjoyed it. The movie is absolutely stunning, probably one of the best looking films this year. The fight scenesI had a good time with this movie. The movie does have some cheesy moments, and some scenes felt slow in my opinion, but I still enjoyed it. The movie is absolutely stunning, probably one of the best looking films this year. The fight scenes in this movie are great, and the soundtrack is also pretty good. Aquaman is not one of the best films of 2018, but I definitely enjoyed it more than Justice League, BvS, and Suicide Squad. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
tsarouhasDec 21, 2018
It is not the pinnacle of cinematography, but for anyone looking for a nice adventure you got it. There are some scenes which were way too dark to figure out exactly what was going on, but most of the movie is enjoyable and a greatIt is not the pinnacle of cinematography, but for anyone looking for a nice adventure you got it. There are some scenes which were way too dark to figure out exactly what was going on, but most of the movie is enjoyable and a great improvement for a DC movie Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
fallendemonDec 23, 2018
I like it, it was much better than all previous dc movies. I think it has alot to do with the director. It is good as any marvel movie!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
jacob4Dec 22, 2018
It wasn't quite the next Wonder Woman movie, but way better than Justice League and Batman V. Superman. Aquaman has incredible visuals and awesome fight scenes,but lacks in some plot points. Though it's suppose to be an "Aquaman" movie, weIt wasn't quite the next Wonder Woman movie, but way better than Justice League and Batman V. Superman. Aquaman has incredible visuals and awesome fight scenes,but lacks in some plot points. Though it's suppose to be an "Aquaman" movie, we see more of "Arthur Curry" than the gold and green hero we all know, which doesn't quite show up until like the final fight. But still the characters were interesting, the scenery gorgeous, and even the supporting villain Black Manta stole the show during his scenes. It may not be a Dark Knight classic, but still an enjoyable thrill ride through across the ocean! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
alejandro970Dec 22, 2018
The life aquatic with one of the early superheroes from DC. Jason Momoa does´nt take anything serious and mixes the action with discret touches of comedy. The SFX does the needly for make awesome the battle sequences. Maybe not so mighty asThe life aquatic with one of the early superheroes from DC. Jason Momoa does´nt take anything serious and mixes the action with discret touches of comedy. The SFX does the needly for make awesome the battle sequences. Maybe not so mighty as Wonder Woman or Nolan´s Batman but is´nt a waste of time. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
rowlandsDec 22, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best movie of 2018. Spoilers below!


James Wan takes us from the beginning of how Aquaman began and has glimpses into the past from the present to help us guide the story's arc forward. Visually outstanding, and a captivating story about how one person who doesn't want a throne becomes the Ocean Master.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
Mrcool1989Dec 24, 2018
Again, this is a movie you must see for yourself. When I first heard DC was doing a Aquaman movie I was like “Oh the guy who talks to fish” Yea count me out, But MANNN James Wan made Aquaman a joke of the past. Jason Momoa is what RobertAgain, this is a movie you must see for yourself. When I first heard DC was doing a Aquaman movie I was like “Oh the guy who talks to fish” Yea count me out, But MANNN James Wan made Aquaman a joke of the past. Jason Momoa is what Robert Downey Jr. is to Ironman. Aside for Jason’s performance every actor and actress in this movie killed it. This movie was a turn away from the Zack Snyder dark and gritty world and that’s fine. With credit to Zack for casting Jason. Yes, the movie can be a bit cheesy and silly but that doesn’t hurt the movie at all there is a nice balance of it. I say if you’re into Science fiction, comic books or fantasy you can’t go wrong with Aquaman. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Woziak99Dec 23, 2018
Aquaman is a total blast, a full on melodramatic visual spectacle about a reluctant hero born of two worlds who is shunned by his Atlantean heritage due to his Mother, Atlanta, wonderful played by Nicole Kidman falling in love with a surfaceAquaman is a total blast, a full on melodramatic visual spectacle about a reluctant hero born of two worlds who is shunned by his Atlantean heritage due to his Mother, Atlanta, wonderful played by Nicole Kidman falling in love with a surface dweller, Arthur played Temeura Morrison. The story is a simple story about family and love, the action is frantic and some of the dialogue cheesy but who cares when your having this much fun. Jason Momoah knocks it out of the park and Amber Heard is suprisingly good as his partner in saving the world, their chemistry is just one of the two beautiful love stories wonderfully interwoven in this epic fantasy superhero adventure. The villain Orm, played by Patrick Wilson is cheese personified, but his message is not. Orm wants to attack the surface world for pollutating the oceans and destroyong the sealife. The tonal shift is so subtle, that one minute your laughing and the next you have a tear in your eye, that's what makes this film so beautiful, it has so many messages and the more you watch the film, the more you will fall in love with it. Go see this movie in Imax 3d to fully appreciate the wonder of Atlantis and please Warner Brothers, hire James Wan to make Aquaman 2 because watching this film in Imax 3d is so exhillerating that I and many more fans will become addicted to Wan's thrilling style of action adventure movies. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
SwainjerryDec 22, 2018
Awesome. It was more enjoyable than any recent superhero film I've seen. Simple but effective plot/story, fantastic CGI, beautiful camera work, and some of the BEST action scenes and choreography I've ever witnessed. All the costumes wereAwesome. It was more enjoyable than any recent superhero film I've seen. Simple but effective plot/story, fantastic CGI, beautiful camera work, and some of the BEST action scenes and choreography I've ever witnessed. All the costumes were gorgeous, and comic fans will love the source material accuracy. Highly recommend watching in theaters, and one of few movies which I preferred watching in 3D. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
sb23Dec 23, 2018
Breathtaking,visuals and CGI probably the best in comic-book movies till now!!!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
SuuuupDec 28, 2018
Thank you James Wan! I’m so excited to see that the decide to make a sequel!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
JoeiDec 28, 2018
I don't know what movie some critics watched?
It is a fun, exciting and action packed movie that leaves you wanting to know what happens next. The casting was near perfect and the chemistry between them is great. While itdoes suffer from a
I don't know what movie some critics watched?
It is a fun, exciting and action packed movie that leaves you wanting to know what happens next. The casting was near perfect and the chemistry between them is great. While itdoes suffer from a little too much silly 'marvel' humor
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
LeonardoVilarDec 28, 2018
By far the most entertaining comic book movie of the year. Amazing fight scenes, incredible visual effects, AQUAMAN is a huge game change for the DCEU. I hope James Wan can make more movies for DC.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
Just1nsaneDec 21, 2018
Im not sure why the critics again are on the other hand on this one. I was sucked into this world and just did not want to leave once the movie was over. James Wan has done it again creating one of the most epic, adventurous, sci fi fantasyIm not sure why the critics again are on the other hand on this one. I was sucked into this world and just did not want to leave once the movie was over. James Wan has done it again creating one of the most epic, adventurous, sci fi fantasy with some horror at times movie. I wouldnt say this is a perfect movie where there are some dialog that fall flat and are pretty cheesy which will take you right out of the movie but good thing its only the beginning. This is my 3rd favorite comic book movie this year. Good job WB and James Wan! Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
8
GFactorDec 21, 2018
That's what happen when producers let the director work with his vision on a project: a great movie with its own idenity and amazing visuals! I'm fascinated with everything about Mera! Congratulations Jason, Amber, Patrick, Willem, Yahya,That's what happen when producers let the director work with his vision on a project: a great movie with its own idenity and amazing visuals! I'm fascinated with everything about Mera! Congratulations Jason, Amber, Patrick, Willem, Yahya, Nicole (one of teh best surprises of the movie) and mostly: James Wan! This is one ofe the best DC movies! Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
10
JoricDec 21, 2018
By far, the best DCU movie released to date. The visuals had me with my mouth open most of the time. The story didn't really center around the main character. It was a near-fantasy journey of a quest for the object of power. It was veryBy far, the best DCU movie released to date. The visuals had me with my mouth open most of the time. The story didn't really center around the main character. It was a near-fantasy journey of a quest for the object of power. It was very uplifting, engaging, and in the end an epic journey of humanity, who is worth saving. Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
8
GreykingDec 21, 2018
This literally one of the dumbest movies I've ever seen and I loved every minute of it. Don't go into expecting much. But its bright, colorful, and doesn't take itself too seriously.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
9
michael1208Dec 21, 2018
The sixth installment in the DCEU is a total bonkers adventure similar to Marvel's Thor inspired by Lord of the Ring trilogy, Star Wars and Tron: Legacy, a major improvement following the disappointing events in Justice League. It is aThe sixth installment in the DCEU is a total bonkers adventure similar to Marvel's Thor inspired by Lord of the Ring trilogy, Star Wars and Tron: Legacy, a major improvement following the disappointing events in Justice League. It is a standalone and unique superhero origin not seen before thanks to Wan's amazing effort for being able to fit in wide variety of his visions throughout a straightforward background story of a special boy with ability to talk to fish. It offers a spectacular undersea experience in terms of scope with stunning CGI visual effects on par with those in Avatar, impressive editing and energetic wide-angle shots of different action sequences, including beautiful scores as usual from Rupert Gregson-Williams. Character development might not be strong but the chemistry between Arthur (Jason Momoa) and gorgeous Mera (Amber Heard) is just so charming on screen, even the villains King Orm (Patrick Wilson) and Black Manta (Yahya Abdul-Mateen II) felt surprisingly threatening compared to other superheroes flicks in recent years. Despite long running time and usual flaws, it explores the seven seas myths in depth, fast pacing with good transition, a third act at a majestic scale that ends in a positive note that would certainly lead DCEU to a brighter tone in future. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
Jonny_cash758Dec 21, 2018
The visuals are spectacular...I really enjoyed myself from beginning to the after credit
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
MuyihDec 21, 2018
A very good movie though I don't like dc so much but I think this is the greatest movie from them than other superheroes in dc comics
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
emhelkeDec 21, 2018
This movie offers non-stop excitement through exhilarating action sequences at every step of the journey. Despite what you may read from critics, this movie is way more than "H2Ok", with excellent casting choices for every role andThis movie offers non-stop excitement through exhilarating action sequences at every step of the journey. Despite what you may read from critics, this movie is way more than "H2Ok", with excellent casting choices for every role and breathtaking CGI that is unrivaled for a superhero film. There is never a dull moment in Aquaman, and the action sequences (especially in the third act) will leave you on the edge of your seat for the full two hours and twenty minutes. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
9
Kabir2oo1Dec 21, 2018
I knew this movie was gonna be good from what I’ve seen but GOD DAMN it blew my expectations out of the water. Yes it is a visual spectacle. The colors were bright and vibrant but when it had to get dark the directors horror background hadI knew this movie was gonna be good from what I’ve seen but GOD DAMN it blew my expectations out of the water. Yes it is a visual spectacle. The colors were bright and vibrant but when it had to get dark the directors horror background had its chance to shine. The plot wasn’t too convoluted or confusing it was pretty straight forward and the characters in that story fit perfectly. The movies tone was done well, it had a great balance and didn’t try to make Aquaman a clown, it knew exactly who he was and Jason played that part to a. Orm was a great villain and understandable. From the sound, to the cast, to the visuals, to the action scenes Aquaman delivers then delivers even more. ANY fan of good films should be seated to watch. And any comic fan owes it to themselves to witness this amazing work
9.5/10
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
beckoflightDec 22, 2018
Please do yourselves a favor and ignore the so called proffesional reviewers, they got it so wrong + the DC HATE is so big still i've seen some ok marvel films that have the usual problems that most superhero films have but the reviewersPlease do yourselves a favor and ignore the so called proffesional reviewers, they got it so wrong + the DC HATE is so big still i've seen some ok marvel films that have the usual problems that most superhero films have but the reviewers somehow ignored them & with DC they are always using the microscope. This film is fun, in fact i'm going to see it a second time in two hours :), the visuals are like "the second coming of matrix", trully groundbraking, the story is great & very faithful to the source material but still very opened for casual audiences. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
10
Ken16Dec 22, 2018
Don't pay attention to haters, watch it and judge yourself great time watching this movie.
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
DontBeNastyDec 26, 2018
provided that I haven't seen Wonder woman and justice league yet, Aquaman is the first DCU film I can FINALLY get behind. Aquaman accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do, deliver colorful, over the top comic book action, and it succeedsprovided that I haven't seen Wonder woman and justice league yet, Aquaman is the first DCU film I can FINALLY get behind. Aquaman accomplishes exactly what it sets out to do, deliver colorful, over the top comic book action, and it succeeds with witty characters and a sense of adventure and grandeur I haven't felt in a movie for a long time. It does have some flaws, like the movie uses some somewhat misplaced flashbacks to explain Arthur's backstory and I would prefer if it was all in the beginning as a normal sequence. Another thing is that it might be a bit hard to follow with all the kingdom and their plights thrown around and it might leave the uninitiated, like myself, a bit lost and slow to pick up what is going on. But besides these issues the movie is still pretty great. Not some sort of cinematic masterpiece, mind you, but it would be unfair to judge it as some oscar bait trash. Don't judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
KenmeiDec 27, 2018
This is a very self-aware movie that knows what it's doing by ignoring the many plot holes, to focus on the fun times offered by Jason Mamoa whenever he's on screen. Amber Heard does a great job as Mera, who really steals the show half theThis is a very self-aware movie that knows what it's doing by ignoring the many plot holes, to focus on the fun times offered by Jason Mamoa whenever he's on screen. Amber Heard does a great job as Mera, who really steals the show half the time she's on screen and has wonderful chemistry with Mamoa. There are many plot holes however. Things that just aren't explained before they move onto the next portion of the movie. And the main villain is almost comically evil throughout the movie. Even though he's well acted, it comes off at a little bland for my tastes. The visuals were great, even if most of the outfits throughout the movie are seemingly ripped from a bad 70's comic book movie. But there's just a ton of fun to be had with this movie. Especially considering the fact that the DC movies have just been utter garbage up to this point, besides Wonder Woman. It was nice to watch a movie that didn't feel like it needed to be the savior of the DC cinematic universe. It knew what it wanted to be throughout the movie and it doesn't apologize for a lot of the negative aspects that come with it. I respect the filmmakers decision to do that and it might have saved this movie from being a total piece of crap if they had tried to change anything. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
QuietlionmusicDec 29, 2018
A wild and epic ride packed with a detailed underwater universe you never knew existed.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Ryan24Dec 27, 2018
Huge marvel fan but this is probably the best superhero movie I've seen, absolutely amazing and I can't wait to watch it again.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
FNBosquimDec 24, 2018
O filme possui vários pontos altos, me surpreendeu positivamente, mas também teve alguns pontos baixos que não influenciaram na qualidade do filme.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
JamesIrish68Dec 30, 2018
Jason Mamoa is the Thor of the DC world. An outstanding physique coupled with cheeky sense of humour. Loved him.
Creating an entertaining underwater world is an extremely difficult task. Movie history is littered with failures but in this
Jason Mamoa is the Thor of the DC world. An outstanding physique coupled with cheeky sense of humour. Loved him.
Creating an entertaining underwater world is an extremely difficult task. Movie history is littered with failures but in this case James Wan hit the ball out of the park.So much is deserving of praise but I'll single out the youthification (sic) tech used. Very good.
Some of the casting could have been better. Amber Heard wouldn't have been my choice for example. Plenty of better red heads out there. All in all though. Best DC in a long time.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
PecetowiecDec 21, 2018
The script is dull but director James Wan gives this movie so much life. Delightful visuals, weird music, Jason Momoa's and Amber Heard's charisma, all of this is just amazing. If you enjoy high budget B movies which are so over the top, youThe script is dull but director James Wan gives this movie so much life. Delightful visuals, weird music, Jason Momoa's and Amber Heard's charisma, all of this is just amazing. If you enjoy high budget B movies which are so over the top, you will probably like Aquaman. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
DaigoustDec 30, 2018
Até o momento o melhor filme da DC, estou dando nota maxima para contrapor a nota 55 dos críticos sem nocao, mas na verdade dou nota 8, ele é longo porém cheio de ação e sempre acontecendo alguma coisa, ou seja, passa rápido e nao éAté o momento o melhor filme da DC, estou dando nota maxima para contrapor a nota 55 dos críticos sem nocao, mas na verdade dou nota 8, ele é longo porém cheio de ação e sempre acontecendo alguma coisa, ou seja, passa rápido e nao é cansativo!!! estou Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
HTGamerDec 30, 2018
Aquaman is a good superhero movie from DC. It's a definite improvement over their previous garbage movies (Suicide Squad, Batman v Superman and Justice League), but it's not as good as Wonder Woman.

Jason Momoa looks nothing like the Aquaman
Aquaman is a good superhero movie from DC. It's a definite improvement over their previous garbage movies (Suicide Squad, Batman v Superman and Justice League), but it's not as good as Wonder Woman.

Jason Momoa looks nothing like the Aquaman from the comics, but he brings humor and some laid back, "brawn-with-a-heart-of-gold" attitude. Momoa's Aquaman is like a random dude enjoying life's little pleasures.

The film tries to be more humorous than the other darker DC movies and approach Marvel's quasi-comical style, but the writers' attempts at making jokes mostly fall flat. I'll never forget the tough guys gang with the pink smartphone asking for a selfie with Aquaman. Yikes!

The script has a few good core ideas but overall is a complicated mess. There is so much going on, too much backstory and legends thrown into the mix, and so many characters walking around, that the plot quickly loses its focus and characters don't have enough room to develop. The movie's story is at its best when talking about marine pollution, the desire of underwater people for revenge, and the strange relationship between half-brothers Aquaman and Oceanmaster, but the writers decided to also branch the story in a King Arthur and Excaliber-kind of direction because Aquaman's human name is, ehm, Arthur. Well, at least it's not nearly as bad as the infamous "Martha" moment in Batman v Superman. And if all that wasn't enough, here is a large scale underwater battle (rivaling those of the Lord of the Rings movies) to top it off. In Aquaman's first movie!

Black Manta was a highlight of the movie for me, but DC sidelined Aquaman's arch-enemy for the eventual sequel.

After DC released a bunch of horrible movies, Wonder Woman and Aquaman have vastly improved upon their predecessors. Will DC be able to keep up with their upcoming movies like Shazam, Flash, and others? Only time will tell.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
ecasarrubiaDec 30, 2018
First things first, Aquaman is a superhero movie about not just a guy, but a whole civilization underwater! You must suspend your disbelief and embrace its cheeky weirdness. Now, more than a movie, Aquaman is a visual JOURNEY, an immersiveFirst things first, Aquaman is a superhero movie about not just a guy, but a whole civilization underwater! You must suspend your disbelief and embrace its cheeky weirdness. Now, more than a movie, Aquaman is a visual JOURNEY, an immersive experience. This movie is all about its breathtaking world-building, lavish CGI and VFX. The very straightforward story and its charming characters serve one purpose: make you dive deep into their world and fall in love with it. Remember Avatar? Well, Aquaman delivers ten times more joy, awe-inspiring views and badass characters, with almost no political agendas. This movie is aware of what it is and it doesn't pretend to be anything else, because it really doesn't need to, which makes it DCEU's most honest film so far. Back to CGI and VFX, it's the most ambitious film since Avatar and even Gravity, as it makes possible what was believed to be impossible (and even unthinkable): an underwater epic, of which we only really had gotten a glimpse with James Cameron's The Abyss. That was almost 30 years ago! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
rak_ibDec 23, 2018
Great Movie.Loved It.It has nice action story & visual effects.Jason Momoa & Amber heard shares nice on screen chemistry.If you like superhero movies then it's a must watch.Best movie from DC so far.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
LannisterDec 22, 2018
Aquaman rises from the depths and brings back faith in the DCEU! After the underwhelming Justice League movie, the task of keeping the light on in the darkness of the DCEU falls on the most underestimated member of the roster: Aquaman. In theAquaman rises from the depths and brings back faith in the DCEU! After the underwhelming Justice League movie, the task of keeping the light on in the darkness of the DCEU falls on the most underestimated member of the roster: Aquaman. In the biggest surprise of the last couple of years, the new DC is movie is not only good, but probably the best of the new universe. All in all, I, for one, left the theatre in good spirits, a feeling that persists even a day later as I’m writing this review.

Even the synopsis is more coherent than most of the other DCEU movies. When it comes to the story, Aquaman is inspired by Geoff Johns‘s New 52 story-arc that relaunched the character in critical and public acclaim. While they are not profound or thought provoking, the story and the script are simple, easy to follow and very engaging. It is inspired by the Arthurian quest, while also being a swashbuckling-adventure movie. The way the story goes always makes you excited for the next step in the hero’s journey, because Aquaman finally manages to follow the classical mythic structure. I’m not saying moviemakers shouldn’t take risks bending or modifying this structure, but most of the time we get convoluted and confusing stories like Batman V Superman. The third act of the movie and the fact that it embraces every element, be it silly or not, makes it better than Wonder Woman, for me.

The cast is pretty solid and the characters receive a pretty balanced screen time. Jason Momoa's performance in JL was decent, but felt out of place. Here, Momoa shines. He unleashes all of his charisma and has fun playing a fun character. Aquaman in light-hearted and a little arrogant, coming to terms with his heritage and history. He isn’t very changed after the events of JL, but he does understand the consequences of his actions. He grows on his arthurian journey and becomes a more responsible person. His relationships with those around him are also very important. Mera (Amber Heard) is his guide on the journey and the chemistry between Momoa and Heard plays a big part. I was very impressed with Amber‘s acting. Vulko (Willem Dafoe) is his mentor, the one that showed him the atlantean way and I was sad that his role was not as big as I hoped, but Dafoe makes the best out of his appearances. Nicole Kidman as Atlanna, Arthur’s mother, also does a very good job. Temuera Morrison‘s role as Tom Curry is small but brings an important emotional element.

The movie has two villains, King Orm, Arthur half-brother, as the main one and Black Manta, as a secondary one. Patrick Wilson as King Orm does a terrific job! His character is constructed as a roman emperor: stern, noble and arrogant. Orm has a purpose and his motives are always clear, so no mumbo-jumbo villain here. He sees himself as the true leader of the Atlantean Empire and acts like it. His experience working with James Wan on both franchises, but also in horrors gives him an edge in playing a menacing, but powerful character. Black Manta (Yahya Abdul-Mateen II) is Aquaman’s main antagonist in the comics, but the story nedeed to focus on Arthur’s rise and his battle with Orm, so Manta is merely introduced here. His origin story is very well done, as we find out about him and his hatred for the hero and seeing just enough of him to understand his story. He is clearly set up as a bigger villain the future Aquaman stories.

Visually, Aquaman is breathtaking. The underwater world looks amazing. Blending elements of Sci-Fi and fantasy, Aquaman shows us an imaginary world that is the stuff of dreams. Yes, the movie is bonkers! You have sharks with laser guns on their backs, armored seahorses, warrior crabs and an octopus playing the drums! But it’s the kind of stuff we used to imagine as kids, the kind of creations that made us daydream forever and it is amazing. It might seem silly, but Aquaman doesn’t shy away from going full on comicbook style and for that, it deserves a golden starfish! The soundtrack is also very well crafted, composed by Rupert Gregson-Williams. The music fills every scene with that sense of wonder and heroism, making the whole journey an adventure for the viewer as well.

Overall, Aquaman is a solid superhero movie! It knows what it wants to make us feel and never strays from the path it chose. When I left the cinema I felt good, I felt entertained and pleasantly surprised, as I was cautious, it being a DC movie. Aquaman made me feel that spirit of adventure, awe and wonder that I haven’t felt since I was a kid and stayed up late to watch The Wizard of Oz or The Clash of Titans on TCM and that makes it one of the best comicbook movies. Because, in the end, as much as we want drama and profound lessons, we need superheroes and their stories to make us feel better, to take our minds away from our daily lives and our problems and transport us into a fantastical world brimming with adventures, heroes, monsters and the hope of a better world.
Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
9
GameAnalyzerDec 21, 2018
This is that kind of movie one gets to sit back and simply enjoy for the sheer CGI spectacle of its premise. One of a kind that does not happen every often and can appease the fans of the cbm genre. It just quadruples the effect when viewedThis is that kind of movie one gets to sit back and simply enjoy for the sheer CGI spectacle of its premise. One of a kind that does not happen every often and can appease the fans of the cbm genre. It just quadruples the effect when viewed on the biggest screen possible. James Wan shows his brilliance with a character that was a running joke all these years and manages to bring charisma with Jason Momoa on board. I have to admit that some of the high octane sequences really felt even better with second viewing and raises the bar slightly above most of the generic stuff we are used to. Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
LBXZeroDec 22, 2018
If there were anything negative to say about this movie, all of the positives fully outweigh and drown them. Aquaman is easily the best superhero film to date. It is a must watch.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
umovieisgoodDec 21, 2018
The visual effects are stunning,with phenomenal action sequences, you need to see this on the biggest screen
13 of 18 users found this helpful135
All this user's reviews
10
TrustedCriticDec 21, 2018
'Aquaman' is an absolute blast! Great full on action, intriguing story, and lead by charmful performances from 'Jason Momoa' and 'Amber Heard'. Apart from some cheesy dialog, the movie is overwhelmed by the other strong points of the movie'Aquaman' is an absolute blast! Great full on action, intriguing story, and lead by charmful performances from 'Jason Momoa' and 'Amber Heard'. Apart from some cheesy dialog, the movie is overwhelmed by the other strong points of the movie that you forget about it. If fans were worried if the movie wouldn't take inspiration from the comics, be glad to know that it stays true to the comics a lot, sometimes too much. With that being said, 'Aquaman' takes the crown for best DCEU movie. Expand
13 of 18 users found this helpful135
All this user's reviews
10
tiusesDec 21, 2018
this is a visual masterpiece, jason momoa isnt the best actor around but he is charismatic af. Jamens Wan was the perfect choice to direct this movie, he was able to fit everything in this movie perfectly, and the villains are awesome lookingthis is a visual masterpiece, jason momoa isnt the best actor around but he is charismatic af. Jamens Wan was the perfect choice to direct this movie, he was able to fit everything in this movie perfectly, and the villains are awesome looking and they have a great backstory and motivation, best dceu movie and best dc movie since the dark knight Expand
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
9
Trineo99Dec 22, 2018
First of all, the actors did great jobs as their characters. One that shocked me the most was Jason Momoa. I honestly thought I wasn't going to like him as Aquaman but I did. He had some funny lines that made me laugh and he also came acrossFirst of all, the actors did great jobs as their characters. One that shocked me the most was Jason Momoa. I honestly thought I wasn't going to like him as Aquaman but I did. He had some funny lines that made me laugh and he also came across as a guy who honestly didn’t want to be king. This film has a lot of underwater scenes which means that they’re going to need great visual effects and they did. Every time you see Atlantis it makes you feel like you’re there with those characters. It kind of reminded me of Avatar with how the visuals looked. The musical score, which was composed by Rupert Gregson-Williams, helped intensify every scene. The music matched each scene perfectly. My only complaint about the music was the song “Ocean to Ocean” which is a hilariously bad version of “Africa” by Toto. I’m just thankful it only played for a few seconds in the movie. All of the action in this film is well choreographed and well shot. Every scene where people are fighting you can clearly see everything that’s happening in that scene. There was not a lot of camera angle changes and when there were they were to keep somebody in focus and to show what they were doing. James Wan directs this film and he’s mainly known for horror movies, and there are elements of that in here, but he makes it clear he can direct anything and make it great. The main villain Orm is a great villain and is well portrayed by Patrick Wilson but I wish they gave him more of a reason for hating the surface world. I wish they did his training scenes before they showed him as an adult. This way you would know how he got to be this comfortable with his powers. There is an end credit scene that gives a hint to a possible storyline for the possible sequel. In the end, Aquaman was a surprisingly good movie. Hopefully, DC continues with stuff like this because then maybe they will be able to challenge Marvel. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
VifargentDec 23, 2018
This movies remind me the goold old days of the 80's/90's movies. Just a savant mix of cheesy scenes, serious ones, over the top costumes, epic battles and scenery. The CGI can be a little "bad" sometimes, but it's like watching this good oldThis movies remind me the goold old days of the 80's/90's movies. Just a savant mix of cheesy scenes, serious ones, over the top costumes, epic battles and scenery. The CGI can be a little "bad" sometimes, but it's like watching this good old saturday morning shows (even if at the 90's era, CGI are relatively uncomon). I have the feeling of reading a comics when i see this imperfect but controled CGI. I'm going to have 30 years old, and the kind, somewhere in my memory, somewhere in my mind, who watched tv series on saturday morning and reading comics, is trully happy. Same for the man i become. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
Nima_HN79Dec 28, 2018
Great movie! Great action! Great soundtracks! Don’t attention to the reviws!
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
d0vla11Dec 21, 2018
I did not have much hype for this movie even though I'm a DC universe fan. But, it was really fun and beautiful. The world James Wan created is so original and amazing...just wow.
Acting was good, Jason Momoa perfectly played Aquaman, Orm and
I did not have much hype for this movie even though I'm a DC universe fan. But, it was really fun and beautiful. The world James Wan created is so original and amazing...just wow.
Acting was good, Jason Momoa perfectly played Aquaman, Orm and Mera were good.
And I won't forget to mention the soundtrack, one of the best I've heard in a while.

Why am I giving it an 8? I felt the story could've been a little better. It's just that.

If you are a superhero comic/movie fan, it's a must watch!
Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
7
Cereal-KillerDec 21, 2018
Despite the cringe and silly dialogues and sometimes bad acting, Aquaman has a solid and simple plot, a charismatic cast, a great villain with a plausible motivation, an amazing action and it´s visually outstanding. Totally worth watching it.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1Dec 29, 2018
9/10

Aquaman is the second DCU movie to hit it out of the park. Though, I concede that Wonder Woman still had the stronger story. The whole thing looks great. The film goes full balls-to-the wall in creating the entire fictional kingdom of
9/10

Aquaman is the second DCU movie to hit it out of the park. Though, I concede that Wonder Woman still had the stronger story.

The whole thing looks great. The film goes full balls-to-the wall in creating the entire fictional kingdom of Atlantis and several other underwater kingdoms and locations. The whole thing has an 80's fantasy/sci-fi/adventure feel to it. A lot of work went into the details on this. The movie includes one dress and one visual sequence (you'll know it when you see it) that really catch your eye. The fight sequences, including a full-scale battle, really nail it. I also applaud the movie's effort to bring Black Manta and Ocean Master's outfits to life without majorly reworking the designs.

The script does a fair job of balancing drama and comedy. Jason Momoa remains utterly cool and charming as the lead. He and Amber Heard as Mera have good chemistry. Credit should also be given to Patrick Wilson as Ocean Master. He is a complete jerk in this, but you always understand where he is coming from and why he feels justified in what he is doing.

The movie does try to cram in a little too much. We get Aquaman's backstory, Atlantis' surprisingly in-depth backstory, all three of Aquaman's best known villains, and practically every major supporting character except Aqualad. You do tend to get thrown from one scene to the next, and I wished Mera and Aquaman had a little more time to build their relationship. Still, I do give director James Wan credit for trying to get in as much of the Aquaman mythos as possible. There is a lot of thought put into this world. The script is busy, but it isn't confusing or particularly jerky. You are given all the info. needed, and the flashbacks about Aquaman's origin are really well integrated and don't overstay their welcome.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
MallRat15Dec 30, 2018
A very cool and fun DC movie to watch. Jason Mamoa is great in the leading role and has great chemistry with the supporting cast. Movie drags out a little to much for my liking and many scenes are longer than necessary. Still an entertainingA very cool and fun DC movie to watch. Jason Mamoa is great in the leading role and has great chemistry with the supporting cast. Movie drags out a little to much for my liking and many scenes are longer than necessary. Still an entertaining movie to watch with great visuals and effects. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
tyano123Dec 30, 2018
The movie is cool. It was fun to watch and definitely a blast. I enjoyed it a lot.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews