Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 21, 2018
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 219 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
168
Mixed:
30
Negative:
21
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
pnoyfilmtvadikJan 18, 2019
This film does not deserve the rating its getting. Its ordinary and it has no big surprises. Provides almost enough entertainment and very forgettable.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Puddleboy112Jan 1, 2019
Bumblebee is saving the transformers movie universe.

i really like the design of the new movie special the intro with the cybertron war scenes love the new G1 design from the 80s cartoons,the story is fine could be better ,the action is
Bumblebee is saving the transformers movie universe.

i really like the design of the new movie special the intro with the cybertron war scenes
love the new G1 design from the 80s cartoons,the story is fine could be better ,the action is great and the humour, Hailee Steinfeld did har best , the choice of music fit whith the movie hope we can see more of this in the future
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Dec 22, 2018
An absolute spectacle and visual treat like no other! Bumblebee was a surprise hit and and a charming heartfelt adventure. Though it's a "Transformers" movie, it feels and looks nothing like the Michael Bay films we've known in the past.An absolute spectacle and visual treat like no other! Bumblebee was a surprise hit and and a charming heartfelt adventure. Though it's a "Transformers" movie, it feels and looks nothing like the Michael Bay films we've known in the past. Bumblebee fixes and just about erases what Michael Bay did to the Transformers franchise, and does it justice properly. The action scenes and CGI are still incredible, the characters are actually likable, and it's a movie that appeals and entertains both kids and adults. This is the Transformers movie we all deserved and got, and enjoyed very much! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Megajohn85Dec 21, 2018
Transformers found its allspark after all. With director Travis Knight and writer Christina Hodson, Bumblebee is the first Transformers film that has a tangible plot that’s not lost in the CGI shuffle. The film is grounded and greatlyTransformers found its allspark after all. With director Travis Knight and writer Christina Hodson, Bumblebee is the first Transformers film that has a tangible plot that’s not lost in the CGI shuffle. The film is grounded and greatly benefits form a more character driven approach versus the spectacle CGI rat salad from the previous films. It’s very remisicnent of classic Amblin films. There’s so much heart and passion in this film and it actually takes the time to develop the characters. That’s the key to great filmmaking. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
eagleeyevikingDec 30, 2018
Slight but pleasant, "Bumblebee" is a heartwarming, hilarious, and action-packed 'Transformers' film.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
harsubaghJan 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the music was great, best songs of the that period but the movie was uneven and often just stupid. when the girl gets the VW, as a self gift on her birthday and the next morning her mom uses it to take their dog to the vet without asking her, then i knew the movie was dumb. it was uneven with other scenes that didnt make sense or insulted intelligence. the lead girl was excellent and the transformer was also kind of good but at no point did the girl mention to B that excess and destroying things was a no no. a movie maybe for 12 year olds? or maybe 6 or 7 year olds? sorry, dont mean to insult these kids. i can watch and enjoy dumb movies too but this movie was not for me . Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
DubeauDec 28, 2018
Bumblebee is a good film for the Transformer. It's up there with the first one. They limited the number of bots on screen and remove all those useless characters. The story is more emotional and more focused. The action are well controlledBumblebee is a good film for the Transformer. It's up there with the first one. They limited the number of bots on screen and remove all those useless characters. The story is more emotional and more focused. The action are well controlled and quite frankly, a step forward to the M. Bay's explosions and debris festival. I give it a 72% because some of the acting weren't always sharp, but the rest of the film is surprisingly good. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Dec 26, 2018
The first Transformers film never stopped being the best one in the franchise. And it's not that it was a great film but it was fun and entertaining although hardly memorable.

Surprisingly the franchise decided to look back with a prequel,
The first Transformers film never stopped being the best one in the franchise. And it's not that it was a great film but it was fun and entertaining although hardly memorable.

Surprisingly the franchise decided to look back with a prequel, they also got rid of Michael Bay and his overloaded style and they actually gave more substance to a story that had missed its mark and guidence in recent years.

Bumblebee, it turns out it's truly the best film of the franchise but only because the quality that it had to overcome wasn't so high in the first place.
However that doesn't mean that I'm minimizing its achievements, I'm just simply putting them in perspective.

It's a fun flick but I did hate Hailee Steinfeld's intervention since her character is simply an emotional anchor and the truth is that the story of the robots is 100% more interesting than hers.

Beyond that and although I wasn't expect anything from it, Bumblebee is a pleasant surprise and a good option for this end of the year.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
JackusBlackusJan 17, 2019
A friend convinced me to see this because it steps outside of the Transformers formula. I applaud the creators for that but I was not expecting a teen-girl-getting-past-tragedy movie. I imagine that it might resonate with some people, teensA friend convinced me to see this because it steps outside of the Transformers formula. I applaud the creators for that but I was not expecting a teen-girl-getting-past-tragedy movie. I imagine that it might resonate with some people, teens perhaps, but it did not work for me. I was ready to leave about halfway through the movie.

I was also bothered by the portrayal of Bumblebee as a bumbling half-wit pet throughout the film, when he is supposed to be an elite rebel fighter and a real "person" with intelligence.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
MarkHReviewsDec 28, 2018
Compared to the other installments in the Transformer series, “Bumblebee” is “Macbeth.” This movie is good enough that we won’t even be diverted by the multitude of opportunities for bad puns – the early buzz about the show – it’s just anCompared to the other installments in the Transformer series, “Bumblebee” is “Macbeth.” This movie is good enough that we won’t even be diverted by the multitude of opportunities for bad puns – the early buzz about the show – it’s just an embarrassment of riches.

The first five Transformer films, all directed by Michael Bay, seemed to focus on two primary target audiences: post-adolescent males who wanted to drool over Megan Fox or her interchangeable replacement female while living in their parents’ basements, or viewers who would later beg their parents to buy them the action figures.

In this movie, Director Travis Knight (son of Nike founder Phil Knight; previously directed “Kubo and the Two Strings”) decided to inject two previously missing elements: artful dialogue and humanity. All that’s good about this film, and there’s a lot, revolves around Hailee Steinfeld, who plays Charlie. Steinfeld first came to prominence in the remake of “True Grit,” (2010) for which she received an Academy Award nomination for Best Supporting Actress. You may also have seen her in the last two segments of the “Pitch Perfect” trilogy as well as “The Edge of Seventeen” (2016). Steinfeld infuses this film with heart and humor, all wrapped into an attractive package of adolescent angst. Along the way, she receives able support from Pamela Adlon (so excellent in the “Californication” Showtime series) as her mother, Jorge Lendeborg, Jr. as Memo, her awkward love interest and John Cena who represents the military-industrial complex with all the dramatic range one has come to expect from the alumni of WWE. The story is forgettable. Bumblebee is an Autobot. After losing a key battle to the Decepticons (subtlety is not a strong point here), the remaining Autobots must disperse. Bumblebee hides out on the West Coast in 1987 disguised as a VW Beetle. Mayhem ensues. Earth saved. Roll credits. Fortunately, this film has much more in common with “ET” than with its predecessors. There are priceless moments, such as when Bumblebee adapts to the loss of his voice synthesizer by rapidly changing the channels on the radio to “talk” with Charlie. Along the way, there are a few life lessons thrown in about dealing with loss, adolescent peer pressure and a few other emotional odds and ends.

The late 80’s soundtrack is an extra bonus. We get a sampling of Bon Jovi, Duran, Tears for Fears, Steve Winwood, Simple Minds and others, plus an extra portion of The Smiths. These tunes are an excellent introduction for a majority of the audience, a pleasant, memorable undertone for the six mature adults who have chosen to attend.

“Bumblebee” offers a surprisingly fulfilling mix of humor, action and kindness. Don’t be put off by the mechanical acting in the previous installments. This is an affirmation for people with a full range of human emotions and a cautionary tale for Decepticons everywhere.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
msteresa87Dec 21, 2018
So moving, so entertaining, easy to engage, easy to follow along, great 80s music, and nice scenic images. Classic, Transformer, G1 look. WWE John Cena and True Grit Hailee were awesome in it. So much better than anything Michael Bay has done.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
EricLCinemadudeDec 25, 2018
Wow! what a difference from the other transformer movies. Excellent Movie! I've been really tired of these movies being just about :Cool robots that transform, explosions, sex, and models from victoria's secret that serve no purpose in theWow! what a difference from the other transformer movies. Excellent Movie! I've been really tired of these movies being just about :Cool robots that transform, explosions, sex, and models from victoria's secret that serve no purpose in the film other than to look pretty and lust after.

Drives me crazy!!!! Transformer movies should be a kids movie!!! That doesn't mean adults wont enjoy it (star wars for example is a kids movie- Not saying this is like star wars- I'm just saying its was designed to be a kids film and they finally went that route with Bumblebee). All ages can enjoy this movie.

All my complaints that I had for the other transformer movies are taken care of in this movie- here's the break down:

THE INTRO WAS AWESOME! I think its what we all wanted to see since the very beginning of the franchise! The intro should always in my opinion get you hooked into the story within the first 10-15 minutes. This does just that.

Story: Story telling is better than the other movies. ( which tells you Michael Bay didn't direct it). It's family friendly and light hearted thanks to Travis Knight which I think is a very good thing. I think Christina Hodson did a good job writing this script.

Plot: Great, doesn't feel too much cliche in my opinion.

Character development: excellent! you actually care about the girl main character on her journey in this film. it even gets emotional in my opinion. You feel for the Charlie (Main character) in her ups and downs throughout the adventure as well for Bumblebee. The chemistry between these two characters is excellent. Tired of spoiled brats and stuck up jerks that no one respects in real life being the main characters from all the last transformer movies.

Action: Even better with better fight choreography.

Even the transformers themselves look better in my opinion.

This movie has heart! Transformer movie!? I know but it's true for this one. None of the other transformer movies in my opinion had any heart.

Humor felt natural and landed throughout the movie in my opinion.

Hollywood only cares about money. So I hope that this movie does better at the box office than all the other transformer movies. They need to know that this is the kind of movie you make that is based off of toy action figures for kids! (and TV show) This I can honestly say is one of my favorite movies. Please support this movie!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Falconpunch7Jan 2, 2019
Without a doubt it's the best Transformers movie. The action was actually comprehendible and entertaining. Great story formula that works
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
eastwest312Jan 13, 2019
Teen love story and robots basically, for the kids, brought my father to see a transformers for his first time ever, and his last. Maybe the 3D glasses ruined it, oh and the plot holes for instance- transformers are jets, dogs, boomboxes,Teen love story and robots basically, for the kids, brought my father to see a transformers for his first time ever, and his last. Maybe the 3D glasses ruined it, oh and the plot holes for instance- transformers are jets, dogs, boomboxes, semi trucks etc..on their home planet before ever hearing of earth Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
ELITEFCX1Dec 21, 2018
Bumblebee does the Transformers license a great justice as it brings the series back in a very different light, yet doesn't completely close itself off from creating an epic set of sequels to come. This was the perfect way for Knight to testBumblebee does the Transformers license a great justice as it brings the series back in a very different light, yet doesn't completely close itself off from creating an epic set of sequels to come. This was the perfect way for Knight to test the waters and sample this new look and feel to transformers and leaves all doors open for however they would wish to continue this series. It was a more personal story than any of the other movies in the series, but doesn't tie itself down with that. These producers and writers could even take the franchise in a more Marvel direction and make more films centered around one character, and bring them together in a major film, and based on the way that this film was presented, that style of presentation could really work for this franchise. Overall, Bumblebee does everything that this series needed and tells a more down to earth story, while still carrying the epic proportions that Transformers always has. This may not be the most epic film in the series, but it is definitely the best and if they continue to run the series like this, Transformers fans have a lot of great films to look forward to. Expand
10 of 16 users found this helpful106
All this user's reviews
1
dontwantDec 21, 2018
The expectation was to know Bumblebee, but this was hardly about him. The story story is centred around the Teenage girl and her personal issues. Minimal action and Bumblebee's dark side and warrior history is also not shown. Did not meetThe expectation was to know Bumblebee, but this was hardly about him. The story story is centred around the Teenage girl and her personal issues. Minimal action and Bumblebee's dark side and warrior history is also not shown. Did not meet expectations at all. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
10
Moviereviewer15Dec 21, 2018
Having seen #Bumblebee two weeks ago, here’s what I’ll say without spoiling it. I’m happy right now. Travis Knight has made the greatest Transformers movie since the 1980’s Transformers movie. He got rid of everything that made Bay’s moviesHaving seen #Bumblebee two weeks ago, here’s what I’ll say without spoiling it. I’m happy right now. Travis Knight has made the greatest Transformers movie since the 1980’s Transformers movie. He got rid of everything that made Bay’s movies complete trash and did something human with this movie. He gave it heart, he gave it a soul, he gave it a great cast, but most of all he gave it a great..... STORY. And, he wasn’t kidding around when he said “The Iron Giant” was a main influence on this
movie. I really think Travis Knight gave the relationship between Charlie and Bumblebee a lot of thought to make it work and it did. This movie also made me really care and love Bumblebee even more. I won’t spoil how, but, you’ll know as soon as the movie starts. I will say, and this is not a spoiler, but, I think Dylan O’Brien IS Bumblebee. I really think Hailee Steinfeld, being the Academy Award nominated actress she was 7 years ago, did a really good job playing Charlie and making us care for her as we learn about why she is the way she is and what connects her to the friendship she has with Bumblebee. And, I will say this about John Cena, coming off his most interesting year yet, he made a great human villain for the Transformers movies with Agent Burns. I think you really get why he doesn’t trust the citizens of Cybertron when they come to Earth, yet he doesn’t see that they’re not all bad. Also, Angela Bassett And Justin Theroux really deliver on the menace and muscle as Shatter and Dropkick. It’s also got a lot of 80’s references including callbacks to “Alf” and “The Breakfast Club” and a lot of really great 80’s songs. Also, the scenes on Cybertron with the autobots in their G1 form are very action-packed. But, you know what the best things are about this movie? No oversaturation Of product placements, no sexualization of underage women and best of all, NO F—-ING MICHAEL BAY. Though he produced it, it doesn’t feel like his hands are all over this movie and it turns out Paramount learned from their mistakes and limited his input on this movie. I really hope more people see this movie because it’s really great and worth seeing over Christmas vacation. And, I hope Paramount makes more Transformers movies that are as good as this movie, because, I think they have learned from their mistakes and will make great Transformers movies again as long as they don’t involve Michael Bay. So, go see #BumblebeeMovie. It’s great. Loved it. 10/10. 5 stars. ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

P.S. I think Travis Knight, regardless of whether he takes the job or not, is very capable of directing Guardians of the Galaxy 3 for Disney and Marvel Studios, should this movie do well, critically and financially, given it’s fair but cheaper $137M budget.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
Jk9785Jan 3, 2019
Though this film is not without its flaws, Travis Knight's "Bumblebee" is a surprising film with a charming performance from Hailee Steinfeld.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
mileswinterDec 26, 2018
Bumblebee is pure with hearts and storytelling, despite the overly bad sequels.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
LajaleaaDec 25, 2018
"I like the way they pop."
.
( 17/100 ) . Con un indignante 66 en Metacritic, un grosero 94 en Rotten Tomatoes y mi ilusividad, me dirigí al cine a ver la peor película que he visto en el año. Ni siquiera superó a Early Man, a la que tenía
"I like the way they pop."
.
( 17/100 )
.
Con un indignante 66 en Metacritic, un grosero 94 en Rotten Tomatoes y mi ilusividad, me dirigí al cine a ver la peor película que he visto en el año. Ni siquiera superó a Early Man, a la que tenía peor calificada hasta ahorita.
Bumblebee, que trata sobre el origen del héroe más adorado de la linea de Transformers, realmente habla sobre como se adapta al planeta tierra, un lugar en donde somos hostiles con las cosas que no conocemos.
La película es demasiado melodramática, con un personaje central que respeta el estereotipo de una persona rebelde y deprimida, con una familia disfuncional y que llama la atención de chicos nerds que se convertirán, "accidentalmente", en sus mejores acompañantes. Hailee Steinfeld no actúa mal y es muy bonita, pero el guión con el que está trabajando simplemente me ha dado una muy mala impresión. La recuerdo un poco en True Grit, por Ethan Coen y Joel Coen y su actuación fue justa y prometedora, pero saltar de ahí a Bumblebee es un mal camino para estudiar su trayectoria.
Bumblebee es melodramática, casi telenovelesca, tonta, absurda, exagerada, inútil, incoherente, ilógica y, sorprendentemente, también incómoda. El personaje principal está destinada, desde el principio, a ganar y aprender a vencer las excusas que la historia le interpone, asimismo se refleja en su complañero Autobot para enseñarle lo que ella misma tiene que aprender y, así, mostrarse como una mujer fuerte e independiente cuyo cabello se balancee al rimo del viento de la puesta del sol en el horizonte. Se necesitaría muy poca inteligencia emocional para disfrutarla plenamente, pues el sentimentalismo se fuerza demasiado en el público.
Me aburrí demasiado rápido esperando una sorpresa cinematográfica, pero ni visualmente es sostenible. Las secuencias de pelea y acción no está justificadas la mayoría de las veces, los efectos visuales son una copia y pega del cine de Michael Bay y los efectos especiales no son dinámicos ni creativos, solo construyen escenas sin estética, atractivo o intriga.
Lo que más me molestó fue la carga épica que le dan a John Cena. Se la pasa hablando con frases que lo tratan de hacer ver rudo, despiadado y fuerte, pero sin un contexto suficientemente solido como para enaltecerlo. Entonces solo se ve absurdo y en el momento dado se vuelve en amigo porque, pues, aquello que quería matar lo salvó.
Bumblebee es un ejercicio que se anula a sí mismo y te impulsará a salir de la sala inmediatamente o a aplaudir las hazañas de un golpe mercadotécnico cuyo valor artístico, repito, es nulo. Hay gente a la que le ha agradado esta experiencia, pero considero que están realizando una mala comparación. Trasformers jamás ha sido un proyecto de valoración, sino una campaña de mercado, y no porque Bumblebee sea la campaña mejor realizada de la saga significa que merece ser reconocida. Separar el reciclaje industrial de Bumblebee de la saga es como decir que una Oreo sabe mejor que las demás solo porque es gratis. Lo dije en mi reseña de Aquaman: cualquier futuro film bajo cualquier estereotipo narrativo de acción, será una vergüenza. Y Bumblebee no solo es una vergüenza, sino una tristeza enorme. Entiendo que es cine infantil y que la acción y narrativa trata de apelar a aquellos cuya experiencia en el cine sea joven, sin embargo, esa juventud tiene la oportunidad de crecer con parámetros narrativos que apelen a la innovación, a lo inteligente y, mínimo, razonable. Pero si se continua promoviendo este cine, solo estamos promoviendo un vicio idiotico en el que la sociedad se puede estancar narrativamente con presupuestos que pueden ser usados para historias de mayor impacto.
Mi mayor tristeza reside en el director, quien decidió participar en éste proyecto y manchar un poco su muy corta carrera. Travis Knight, quien fue el Lead Animator en películas de calidad indudable como Caroline (2009), ParaNorman (2012), The Boxtrolls (2014) y director de Kubo And The Two Strings ha provocado que me mantenga al margen de sus intenciones o aspiraciones.
Perdón por extenderme demasiado, pasa a veces cuando me molesto.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
JeffB4125Dec 31, 2018
Non spoiler review, fricking fantastic. As everyone has said, this is the transformers movie I have been waiting for for over a decade (though admittedly I am a bit blinded by nostalgia). I waited a while to watch this, regrettably sawNon spoiler review, fricking fantastic. As everyone has said, this is the transformers movie I have been waiting for for over a decade (though admittedly I am a bit blinded by nostalgia). I waited a while to watch this, regrettably saw Aquaman first, but recommend you reverse that order. You won't be disappointed if, like me, you're looking for a classic transformers movie that has plenty of heart Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
4
thurm33Jan 14, 2019
The plot and writing couldn't be any duller, no depth. This is a simple movie targeted to middle school schoolers who watch the Transformers series. Special effects are top notch, but that's not enough to make a great movie. For a kid movie,The plot and writing couldn't be any duller, no depth. This is a simple movie targeted to middle school schoolers who watch the Transformers series. Special effects are top notch, but that's not enough to make a great movie. For a kid movie, fine. But this wasn't the movie for me. Caveat: I don't think I've seen any other Transformer movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
lager96Dec 26, 2018
Bumblebee is the best live action Transformers movie to date. The action is well shot and choreographed. The acting is at an all time high as Hailee Steinfeld elevates the writing and character. For the first time, the transformers takeBumblebee is the best live action Transformers movie to date. The action is well shot and choreographed. The acting is at an all time high as Hailee Steinfeld elevates the writing and character. For the first time, the transformers take center stage and the movie is better for it. Bumblebee is a great character and adds emotional depth. If this is where the transformers series is headed there is a lot to be excited about. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
moviemitch96Dec 22, 2018
I've always found the Transformers franchise to be so mind-numbingly ridiculous, that I initially had no desire to see this once I found out about it. However, when it started receiving some of the best reviews of the franchise, I gave in andI've always found the Transformers franchise to be so mind-numbingly ridiculous, that I initially had no desire to see this once I found out about it. However, when it started receiving some of the best reviews of the franchise, I gave in and decided to give it a go... Ya I pretty much regret that. While it's nowhere near as over-the-top and ridiculous as the rest of the Transformers franchise, it's still pretty ridiculous, and like the rest of the films, it's attempts at humor are forced and cringeworthy at best. The story also felt lacking and uninspired. A kid or teen befriending an alien or robot that can do great things and trying to a hide it from the government... Ya like we haven't seen that before enough times already. The action is decent enough in some moments, but not enough to really make up for the rest of the film's clumsiness and weak story, and the acting just isn't that great, as expected from this franchise by now for me (not even Hailee Steinfeld or John Cena we're able to make it worthwhile.) Overall, while I will admit it does have a lot more heart than the previous Transformers films, at the end of the day, it's still loud and dumb in my book and fails in its handful of attempts to bring in some humor. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Kikex22Jan 12, 2019
A fun ride with this one, despite not having a great box office numbers is a very good movie with very good performance from hailee stanfield and john cena and a Very good plot with some things here and there hoping to get a cybertron movieA fun ride with this one, despite not having a great box office numbers is a very good movie with very good performance from hailee stanfield and john cena and a Very good plot with some things here and there hoping to get a cybertron movie in a future but besides that 9/10. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
NETMUSICJan 11, 2019
Hailee Steinfeld shines alongside the nostalgia in without a doubt the best Transformers movie to date and a fun time for the entire family. Highly recommend!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
bkristmanDec 21, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film started out really well with the transformer battle and setting up bumblebee's story of why he went to earth. The earth part was ok as well in the beginning with the cliche angry teen girl's story with finding bumblebee although it made no sense that he would be sitting all dilapidated in a wrecking yard and why if the transformers just discovered earth would they pick a car to emulate at all? About a third of the way thru though the producers seemed to wake up and remember that they were making a teen film though so he changes the tone completely by bringing in a bf for the girl and having a bunch of silly cliche bonding scenes of bumblebee and the girl/boy.
The evil decepticons sent to kill bb were pretty fun and the scenes with the military were decent.
This film would be really good for the 8-16 yr old crowd but not so much for adults.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Davrosdaleks1Jan 6, 2019
Haven't seen the fourth and fifth Transformers, but for me this one beats movies two and three and is rather better than the first Transformers.

Best part is that with Michael Bay no longer directing, Transformers gets the simple things fans
Haven't seen the fourth and fifth Transformers, but for me this one beats movies two and three and is rather better than the first Transformers.

Best part is that with Michael Bay no longer directing, Transformers gets the simple things fans have been asking for all this time: stronger story, understandable action scenes, and easier-to-make-out Transformer designs.

The movie takes place in the 80's and it really feels it was made during it too. The movie is just fun and heartfelt. Admittedly since it's about a person who's lost a parent and befriends a non-human being, there are a lot of tropes here. You can easily see where things are going. (Plus there are some annoyingly over-the-top, stereotypical, and super-vicious-for-no-reason mean girls.) Still, the movie works well enough that it didn't matter to me.

Really helps that Hailee Steinfeld is the lead. She's acting on a higher level than you'd expect for a film like this. She nails both the comedy and drama so well. She make scenes where it's just her for a long period of time talking to a giant robot that turns into a car just so natural. John Cena is also pretty funny as the human villain.

As for any downsides, the movie does inherit the Bay curse of weird plot decisions by having one scene where you're wondering "Why on Earth isn't the army supervising this!" You'll know it when you see it. Also, the resolution of Steinfeld's character's conflict with her family is a little unsubstantial.

Especially since this got overshadowed by Mary Poppins and Aquaman, I highly recommend you see this. It is just a good action adventures that's fine for the family. (Plus I want this to do well 'cuz I want a sequel or follow-up.)
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Jan 8, 2019
Bumblebee is definitely the best Transformer movie ever. This is my favorite Transformer movie ever and one of my favorite movies of all time. The visual effects and action scenes were spectacularly awesome. Hailee Steinfeld's performance wasBumblebee is definitely the best Transformer movie ever. This is my favorite Transformer movie ever and one of my favorite movies of all time. The visual effects and action scenes were spectacularly awesome. Hailee Steinfeld's performance was stupendous and was full of powerful emotion. Jorge Lendeborg Jr., Stephen Schneider, John Cena, and Pamela Adlon's performances were fantastic as well. I loved scenery and the 1980s setting they were terrific. The story, plot, screenplay, and writing were great. I also loved the soundtrack that featured tons of 80s song is was excellent. A+. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
rswitzDec 31, 2018
Although its pacing feels a tad rushed, "Bumblebee" offers amazingly creative cinematography and is the definitive gateway into the "Transformers" franchise for new fans while still providing great entertainment to "Transformers" veterans.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
ABRDec 21, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is very good prequel to first movie, which explains why Bumblebee so attached to people. The only thing I can't understand is why Bee so bad at fighting in the first battle scene. He was almost ripped apart by some decepticon (may be this dude was some kind of general or something). Anyway, in the end of the film was, probably, the best fight between transformers. Do you want know why? They transformed and fought in pure flow, that was epic.

There is not so much action. But the movie is good balanced between dramacomedyaction.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
uguraktanDec 22, 2018
Bumblebee, I think best suited to the original and the best Transformers movie ever.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
deganDec 29, 2018
I don't care, this is my favorite movie of all time, alongside Kimi no Na Wa
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
TBBEXJan 4, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I saw Bumblebee on December 30, 2018. I entered having having a feeling that this movie would not be good. I was wrong. Bumblebee actually revives the series and helps the viewer know where and how Bumblebee transformed. Hailee Steinfeld's acting was on point, John Cena was a nice surprise. There was some comedy and the action was amazing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
WhaduuthinkgirlJan 6, 2019
This movie was an absolute delight! Great special effects and a well told story that will make you laugh at times and cry at others. A good supporting cast is overshadowed by star Hailee Steinfeld who once again delivers a heart warming andThis movie was an absolute delight! Great special effects and a well told story that will make you laugh at times and cry at others. A good supporting cast is overshadowed by star Hailee Steinfeld who once again delivers a heart warming and wonderful performance. The girl’s a star! and Bumblebee is great entertainment! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
TylerLaporteJan 6, 2019
Best transformers movie to date thanks to Hailee Steinfeld and John Cena!! Also great soundtrack especially Back to life by Hailee Steinfeld!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
EpicLadySpongeDec 21, 2018
As someone who's usually against the Transformers movies (for pretty much the same reasons for every movie they release out of the movie franchise), Bumblebee is actually the first time I adore something out of a Transformers movie and that'sAs someone who's usually against the Transformers movies (for pretty much the same reasons for every movie they release out of the movie franchise), Bumblebee is actually the first time I adore something out of a Transformers movie and that's not even starring Optimus Prime as the main character. It's pretty sad how Bumblebee behaves more like an average Transformers movie than every single Transformers movie they have released since 2007. Regardless, it is still filled with flaws but not as many as even 2007's Transformers. This is something the movie franchise should have needed since its launch with 2007's Transformers. Bumblebee is a movie that experiments with breaking the mold and somehow they managed to make it work. Could I expect more out of it? I don't know about that one but only if they make it work like how they did with this one. Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
2
slikk66Dec 26, 2018
Man what a stinker. Like a cheesey lifetime original. Not at all what I was expecting and not enjoyable. Way too long.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
10
SuchiB14Dec 22, 2018
Such a **** relief that this is nothing like 'The Last Knight'; because that was absolute trash. Bumblebee is original, funny and thank God for Spielberg as a producer (the movie was very much like a Spielberg movie). The acting was greatSuch a **** relief that this is nothing like 'The Last Knight'; because that was absolute trash. Bumblebee is original, funny and thank God for Spielberg as a producer (the movie was very much like a Spielberg movie). The acting was great (John Cena was crap and pointless, sort of like a worse version of the Rock, but let's ignore that), the visuals were awesome and the plot was solid. Hailee Steinfield played her role really well and was a superb lead actress. Overall, I'm looking forward to more from the franchise considering Bumblebee's success. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
Nobody1984Dec 28, 2018
Um im Vorhinein festzulegen. Die Transformer Reihe war nie wirklich eine gute, aber mindestens hat sie unterhalten, zumindest wenn man mit den Gedanken hingeht nicht viel nachzudenken zu müssen und sich das Hirn wegblasen zu lassen durch dieUm im Vorhinein festzulegen. Die Transformer Reihe war nie wirklich eine gute, aber mindestens hat sie unterhalten, zumindest wenn man mit den Gedanken hingeht nicht viel nachzudenken zu müssen und sich das Hirn wegblasen zu lassen durch die typischen Michael Bay Explosionen. Sie haben hauptsächlich viel falsch gemacht und dieser Film gesellt sich dazu als schlechtester Film der Reihe. Ich wurde leider nicht unterhalten. Im Gegenteil, ich bin sogar mit einem schlechten Gefühl herausgegangen von erzwungenen "Momenten" , die einfach nicht da waren. Von clichéhaften und nicht glaubwürdigen Charakteren, die , so scheint mir, bewusst karikiert wurden bis zu einer langweiligen Geschichte, die tatsächlich versucht sich ernst zu nehmen und scheitert.Sozialbehaftete Kritikpunkte der letzten filmen waren die Glorifizierung alter männlicher "Vorbilder" und die Übersexualisierung der Frau, die Hand und Fuß hat und tatsächlich zu kritisieren sind. Dieses Mal wird das typische Narrativ der Aktualität, selbstbewusste starke Frau,schusseliger männlicher Sidekick bis aufs Äußerste gereizt und kommt ebenfalls nicht an. Die gleichen Fehler nur anders herum. Am Ende bleibt ein Film, der in Vergessenheit geraten wird und meine verschwendete Zeit, die ich nicht mehr zurückbekommen werde. Nicht empfehlenswert Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryDec 31, 2018
This origin story details how the Transformers ended up on Earth. The first to arrive took the form of a yellow VW bug. Hailee Steinfeld plays the frustrated teen (with convenient mechanical skills) who repairs and befriends him. ThisThis origin story details how the Transformers ended up on Earth. The first to arrive took the form of a yellow VW bug. Hailee Steinfeld plays the frustrated teen (with convenient mechanical skills) who repairs and befriends him. This approach feels more like "The Love Bug" than it does the previous more robotic iterations. The visual effects make him and the transitions seem much more convincingly real. He's scrappy (literally, you can see various car parts on his transformed body), but with a sweet personality. Director Travis Knight, who's had previous success with 3 animated films, has brought his skills to add humanity, humor and warmth to what feels more like Disney's version of the franchise. NOTE: Stay thru the short credits for one final bit. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
clarkaddisonDec 22, 2018
Bumblebee shows us how good the Transformers series could bee. (Pun inteneded) It has great action that you can actually follow who is who, in terms of transformers fight scenes. The actual transformations are legit. Old School Optimus isBumblebee shows us how good the Transformers series could bee. (Pun inteneded) It has great action that you can actually follow who is who, in terms of transformers fight scenes. The actual transformations are legit. Old School Optimus is amazing. Cybertron scenes are spectacular and the human characters are better than previous installments. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
ApolloGeoDec 21, 2018
This is the best Transformer movie i have ever watched. After many causes from Bay, Travis fixed many mistakes and i love the movie also has John Cena. The story is good, the characters are amazing although it is not as good as Spiderman one.This is the best Transformer movie i have ever watched. After many causes from Bay, Travis fixed many mistakes and i love the movie also has John Cena. The story is good, the characters are amazing although it is not as good as Spiderman one. Let's hope this will beat all Michael Bay's film Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
8
Faisal5417Dec 22, 2018
Really enjoyed the action sequences in this movie. Some of the human part was a little boring but all in all, very good!
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
jessica1215Dec 30, 2018
It's ok the movie I did like the songs was in movie some song I know already I like transformers better movie I thought movie be better review I watch on YouTube I watch it in theaters I don't know :)
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
8
dharmaJan 19, 2019
Wow...this is so weird. Did I just watch one of the best Transformers movie of them all? Yes, we all did. Bumblebee is supposed to be a side story for the Transformers series, and coming out of the debacle that was the Last Knight, audiencesWow...this is so weird. Did I just watch one of the best Transformers movie of them all? Yes, we all did. Bumblebee is supposed to be a side story for the Transformers series, and coming out of the debacle that was the Last Knight, audiences seemed to be turned off this franchise for good. Well, if they can deliver this quality...then there are more reasons to continue this franchise for good. Director Travis Knight delivers what Bay never did: a coherent and charming storyline, and golly gee...actual acting chops to the film thanks to Hailee Steinfeld. Action sequences have a sense of geography, and non nauseating. Transformers designs hail back to its original root; clean designs that allow us to discern what is going on the screen. These are the sort of things...that a proper film should have. Instead of gobbled up sequences that Bay has produced over the years. What a great surprise. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
ProteusDec 24, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Spoiler Alert - the yellow VW Beetle can transform into a fighting robot! Simple smooth goes down easy fun. Go see this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
tremaultJan 17, 2019
This is the best transformers movie of the lot. it actually has proper characters and a proper story that makes you care. There isn't too much action or explosions and you can actually see what is going on most of the time. Bumblebee is aThis is the best transformers movie of the lot. it actually has proper characters and a proper story that makes you care. There isn't too much action or explosions and you can actually see what is going on most of the time. Bumblebee is a beautiful movie that made me cry on many occasions. I can't think of a single moment in this movie that I did not like. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made me gasp in awe. I hope they keep to this formula from now on. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoVargasDec 21, 2018
The film is very beatifull and nostalgic. Is the best film of the Transformers franchise.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
freeKade1kaDec 29, 2018
The best Transformers movie. Cliched plot, but well recreated the atmosphere of the eighties, charming characters and good humor
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
WhateverHoweverDec 24, 2018
It was pretty good, kinda corny. Need to bring back Megan Fox and others.
I think some moviegoers aren't really into an interracial relationship. Nobody wants to see a kid vomiting in the car, that kinda gross. I love Transformers... but the
It was pretty good, kinda corny. Need to bring back Megan Fox and others.
I think some moviegoers aren't really into an interracial relationship. Nobody wants to see a kid vomiting in the car, that kinda gross. I love Transformers... but the sequel is kinda running out of good ideas. About bad robots want to destroy the Earth. Sigh.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
Player2-WaterDec 24, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. E-Value: 9
Acting: 9
Plot: 8

Unlike the previous Transformers movies, this movie features fan favourite character, Bumblebee, as the main lead character in his very own solo movie. In addition, this movie also serves as a spin-off and prequel to 2007’s Transformers.

In the planet Cybertron, two factions consist of Decepticons and Autobots are fighting in the Great Cybertronian War. With the Decepticons gaining the upper hand in the war, Optimus Prime, the leader of the Autobots, tells the other Autobots including Bumblebee to evacuate the planet. Bumblebee is sent to Earth where he must set up a base of operations where the Autobots can regroup while Optimus stays behind and will meet up with him soon.

Reaching Earth, Bumblebee crash-lands in California where Sector 7 lieutenant, Jack Burns (Cena), and his team attack him due to presume him as hostile invader. A Decepticons, Blitzwing, ambush Bumblebee and destroys his voicebox and memory core in the process. Despite this, he manage to destroy Blitzwing but due to being wounds he suffers from the fight, he scans a nearby 1967 Volkswagen Beetle before entering stasis.

Sometime later, a trouble teenager named Charlie Watson (Steinfeld) finds a 1967 Volkswagen Beetle from a workshop and takes it back to her house where she discovers the car’s true identity. Soon, she starts to bond with him and even teach Bumblebee to talk through using radio. Meanwhile, two Decepticons, Shatter (Bassett) and Dropkick, arrive on Earth and made contact with Sector 7 under the guise of peacekeeper to ask for their help to track down Bumblebee.

Having watched all of the previous Transformers movies, I felt this is so much better than the other instalments except the first one. This movie sticks much closer to original design of the Transformers cartoon from the 1980s. It is also very nostalgic for those who are big fan of the cartoon because the movie is set in 1987. Even the transforming sound effects from the cartoon are used which makes it even more nostalgic.

The performance of the casts is good this movie especially John Cena. From wrestler to actor, his acting skills have been improved. His performance in this movie is simply amazing and it is much better than his previous live-action movies while he was still a wrestler. Unlike the previous instalments, the main female lead character in this movie is not over-sexualised for the sake of fanservice. The movie is quite fun and have many funny moments which is very well utilised better than how it was in the previous instalments.

Despite being billed as a prequel, I have noticed that there are many inconsistencies in the continuity throughout the movie. If you have watched all the previous movies, you would have spotted those errors easily. It made me wonder if this movie is supposed to be a prequel or reboot and at this point, it is really unclear. Only the next movie will tell whether or not it is a reboot after all. Whatever the plan for this franchise, I am hoping the next movie will do better like this one.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
JetReviewsDec 23, 2018
Bumblebee is a movie that I was really looking forward to. Although the Transformers franchise is one of my guilty pleasures, I can still acknowledge the fact that they are not good films. I wanted to see a movie that wasn’t racist, sexist,Bumblebee is a movie that I was really looking forward to. Although the Transformers franchise is one of my guilty pleasures, I can still acknowledge the fact that they are not good films. I wanted to see a movie that wasn’t racist, sexist, or full of immature humor. I wanted a movie that took itself seriously, with good, non-annoying characters that I could love and feel for. Yet, for some reason, I walked into this movie expecting all of that. Does Bumblebee rise above these expectations? Yes. Bumblebee has none of it. Bumblebee is the best live-action Transformers film yet.
This movie is not directed by Michael Bay, and you can really tell. It’s brighter and has a lot more heart. It isn’t racist, sexist, or immature. It has everything a fan of the classic animated series would want, with costumes and sounds ripped straight from that show. It understood the source material, unlike the Bay films. It knew how to please the fans and give them what they want, unlike the Bay films. It wasn’t overblown or over two-and-a-half hours long, unlike the Bay films. This film is so different from the Bay films, it doesn’t even feel like it should belong in the same universe as them. Hailee Steinfeld was great in this film, and brought a lot of heart to it. She played a good character for Bumblebee to bounce off of, and both of them could really relate to each other. Bumblebee was great in this movie, too, obviously. Unlike the other Transformers films, it solely focuses on Bee, with Optimus only showing up a few times. There were not many transformers in this film at all. It feels so condensed from what the other films were, which is something the franchise really needed.
The opening battle on Cybertron was awesome to watch. The fight scenes in general were all very exciting. They weren’t full of explosion after explosion after explosion. The villains of the movie were bland Decepticons; nothing great about them, but nothing terrible. John Cena’s character was fine. The movie didn’t need a human villain, but he turned out a good guy in the end, so oh well. Charlie’s (Hailee Steinfeld) family were okay. They weren’t annoying like Sam’s family were in the first 3 Transformers films, so that’s a plus. Overall, this movie is pretty awesome. It may seem cheesy and campy at times, but that’s okay, because the classic animated series was, too. It brings heart and color to the Transformers franchise. There were some continuity issues that could come into play if they continue to stay a part of the first 5 films, but I feel they could call this a reboot and completely erase those other films from existence (but I don’t think they will). This is, by far, the best Transformers film yet. I highly recommend this, even if you are a huge hater of the franchise. It brings a lot of great changes to the franchise; changes that were very much needed.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DharmadreamsDec 27, 2018
Great movie! Bumblebee was Funny Fantastic and Outstanding ! Great Family movie
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
jessethebod619Dec 31, 2018
It was a really good movie which filled in a lot of missing pieces of information about Bumblebee's life before Transformers 1.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
kiwijinxterJan 1, 2019
Michael Bay's descent to story-lessness in his Transformers movies as they progressed meant this non-Michael Bay movie, Bumblebee, shone all the more. Hailee Steinfeld projects carefree and angst-ridden 18 year old pretty well, and she is aMichael Bay's descent to story-lessness in his Transformers movies as they progressed meant this non-Michael Bay movie, Bumblebee, shone all the more. Hailee Steinfeld projects carefree and angst-ridden 18 year old pretty well, and she is a pretty good actress in this show - showing a good range of emotions throughout the movie. In fact this was required, given that Bumblebee's "emotions" looked so human that if you put Shia LeBouf in this, Shia would look like a robot.

My most absolute favourite and most thrilling thing I got from this movie is the G1 (Generation 1 for non Transformers geeks) references to the original cartoons. I don't want to throw in a spoiler here but if you're a G1 fan, pay close attention to the beginning (Cybertron scene) and towards the end (notice what's next to Bumblebee as he drives across the bridge) of this movie and trust me, you'd be absolutely thrilled! This close link to the G1 Transformers really nailed it for me, and was never part of any of the 5 Michael Bay Transformers movies.

There's a lot more "heart" to Bumblebee that makes the story more sticky and memorable than much of Michael Bay's Transformers, especially 4 and 5. This also means that there are moments of slower paces when Bumblebee gets to know Hailee's character. I do think that it gets just a little long drawn at some parts, but it doesn't detract from the story much. That said, this movie has some great action too! Right from the beginning, it explodes with action. And the action sequences are actually really good and "feels" real. And fans of Michael Bay's fantastic action sequences won't be disappointed because the action sequences in Bumblebee is just as visceral in many parts. So it's a movie well done in terms of balance between action and story - something Michael Bay really needs to get right with his next Transformers movie. The CGI is truly amazing and a spectacle to behold.

The one thing I'm not so happy about in Bumblebee are the male actors - or at least their scripts. Gee talk about weak, clueless and useless males. There are plenty of them. Jorge Lendeborg Jr. was a token male and really adds nothing of value or weight to the story. Hailee's onscreen stepfather is a jerk for a start. The army leads are also portrayed as pretty dumb. Even the strong John Cena, has weak lines (except the ending sequence). Just because there's a strong female lead (and Hailee is a very strong and convincing actress), it doesn't mean that we have to have all the males as weak and clueless!

It's ironic that upon replacing the increasingly annoying Shia LeBouf with the much more respectable Mark Wahlberg, Michael Bay decides to completely forget stories in Transformers 4 and 5. (as a note, my favourite Michael Bay movies were Transformers 1 and 2). Of all the actors in the recent 6 Transformers movies, I actually like Mark Wahlberg best. Mark Wahlberg is a "real man" in the Transformers movies, but unfortunately stifled by weak story. All in all, it's actually a good movie. It's a good break from Michael Bay's story-lessness. Bumblebee has heart and action, and well worth the watch. Good yarn for the eyes. Watch it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesDec 21, 2018
There are moments in here that shine as the Transformers movie fans of the cartoon series have been waiting for. And parts play out like “E.T.” or other 80s films. It’s pretty fun, pretty forgettable but a scent start if they’re rebooting theThere are moments in here that shine as the Transformers movie fans of the cartoon series have been waiting for. And parts play out like “E.T.” or other 80s films. It’s pretty fun, pretty forgettable but a scent start if they’re rebooting the series... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BrianMcCriticDec 28, 2018
Bumblebee is the best Transformer movie ever made and while that's not saying much, director Travis Knight simplifies the story humanizes the Bumblebee just right and makes you care for the human characters. Not everything works in this film,Bumblebee is the best Transformer movie ever made and while that's not saying much, director Travis Knight simplifies the story humanizes the Bumblebee just right and makes you care for the human characters. Not everything works in this film, but from the great 80's soundtrack to that terrific beginning scene, this is a solid piece of entertainment and sends a signal to keep Bay's hands away in the future. Overall a high 7 a B+. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SHORTFINGERDec 21, 2018
well it was okay. at least i did enjoy the few hours i was there. music in it some of oldies and some new stuff i never heard of.. lots of slow parts in it but the action parts where great.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
mrushing02Dec 27, 2018
Cute but cliched. A good family movie. Nothing revolutionary but the best Transformers movie since the original
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GameCompletersDec 29, 2018
This is the best Transformers movie so far! Hopefully this is a reboot of the franchise. Good entertaining movie 8/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RaduADec 29, 2018
It's the best Transformers movie. The chemistry between Bumblebee and Charlie is great, the action scenes are well done and you see what's going on, the CGI is really good. In conclusion, it's not just a good Transformers movie, it's a goodIt's the best Transformers movie. The chemistry between Bumblebee and Charlie is great, the action scenes are well done and you see what's going on, the CGI is really good. In conclusion, it's not just a good Transformers movie, it's a good movie from all points of view. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
GrantD243Dec 30, 2018
The story is nothing new and follows a pretty standard formula for origin/coming of age stories. It's predictable in every way, but I will admit that it's well done. The action is solid, and Hailee Steinfeld is great. Some of the comedyThe story is nothing new and follows a pretty standard formula for origin/coming of age stories. It's predictable in every way, but I will admit that it's well done. The action is solid, and Hailee Steinfeld is great. Some of the comedy works, some of it doesn't, but even the jokes that don't land aren't as cringey as Michael Bay's Transformers films. I think that if they can build on what they've established in this film, Transformers may become the beloved franchise it was always meant to be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Daniel_EndureDec 24, 2018
Great action and heartfelt moments! I shed tears at three different parts of the movie. Hailee Steinfeld shines with such a believable performance. A few odd moments of character direction in the script hold it back from perfection, alongGreat action and heartfelt moments! I shed tears at three different parts of the movie. Hailee Steinfeld shines with such a believable performance. A few odd moments of character direction in the script hold it back from perfection, along with John Cena's awkward acting. Highly recommend regardless! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MilesTheHawkDec 31, 2018
Bumblebee movie was pretty fun and heartwarming. I went to see this movie with my buddies, and I didn't know this was a prequel for the Transformer series. I noticed that there were few twists and easter eggs. It was a nice touch! Great movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DrSancochoJan 15, 2019
After 5 equally jarring Transformers movies, Michael Bay (finally) passed the baton to Travis Knight. Bay's franchise had nowhere to go but up, yet Bumblebee comes in to reboot the franchise and inject it with a soul all of its own. BumblebeeAfter 5 equally jarring Transformers movies, Michael Bay (finally) passed the baton to Travis Knight. Bay's franchise had nowhere to go but up, yet Bumblebee comes in to reboot the franchise and inject it with a soul all of its own. Bumblebee is a heartwarming tale of growing up in an unfamiliar and hostile setting. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KarvatDec 26, 2018
Rispetto al Quarto e al Quinto film abbiamo fatto passi da gigante qui, si spera in un rilancio della saga, ma ancora, piu' uno spera di andare al cinema per vedere i Transformers, piu' si ritrova troppi umani di torno, in questo film siamoRispetto al Quarto e al Quinto film abbiamo fatto passi da gigante qui, si spera in un rilancio della saga, ma ancora, piu' uno spera di andare al cinema per vedere i Transformers, piu' si ritrova troppi umani di torno, in questo film siamo caduti un po' troppo nel romanticismo e nel sentimentalismo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Arct1cSn1perDec 26, 2018
Its good i enjoyed it, I also feel this movie has better characters than previous transformers films and also more enjoyable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Austin1Dec 27, 2018
Bumblebee was in fact way better than Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, Transformers: Dark of the Moon, Transformers: Age of Extiction and Transformers: The Last Knight, but i did like the 2007 Transformers movie better i give BumblebeeBumblebee was in fact way better than Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen, Transformers: Dark of the Moon, Transformers: Age of Extiction and Transformers: The Last Knight, but i did like the 2007 Transformers movie better i give Bumblebee 8.5 out of 10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JazzwazlerJan 20, 2019
6.4/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
gfairyJan 20, 2019
Empty, vapid movie that dumb people who watch Lifetime or Hallmark will love. Nothing new here, full of cliches, full of borderline terrible acting, and it still has nothing transformers about it. If you want to watch this movie for free,Empty, vapid movie that dumb people who watch Lifetime or Hallmark will love. Nothing new here, full of cliches, full of borderline terrible acting, and it still has nothing transformers about it. If you want to watch this movie for free, turn on Lifetime movie network or Nick Jr. When they understand bumblebee isn't a mute insect they will have a start. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews