Columbia Pictures Corporation | Release Date: January 4, 2019
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 24 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
12
Mixed:
6
Negative:
6
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
LamontRaymondJan 4, 2019
Sure, none of the multiple endings were entirely amazing, but if you're an escape room person, like I am, you'll have fun with this! It's always fun to think how bodily injury can come into one of these rooms, and they've explored thatSure, none of the multiple endings were entirely amazing, but if you're an escape room person, like I am, you'll have fun with this! It's always fun to think how bodily injury can come into one of these rooms, and they've explored that effectively. The acting is solid - shocked that they got 3 of these actors to do this film, frankly. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
BinSenseiJan 4, 2019
Saw x Cube x The Belko Experiment, if you like those movies then you should like this one.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
tropicAcesJan 5, 2019
‪so, for a PG-13 horror film coming out in the first week of January, ESCAPE ROOM isn’t half-bad. The structure is obviously blah, but there are several sequences where my palms were sweating. For $9 million, it’s impressively designed, too‬
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
theirrelephantsJan 8, 2019
If you like crappy saw ripoffs (not that SAW was good to begin with), you'll love this movie.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1Jan 5, 2019
Escape Room is about a group of strangers invited to participate in a series of escape rooms (for the unaware: group puzzle-solving activities) only to find out they're deadly. Sure, yeah killer traps and rooms have already been done inEscape Room is about a group of strangers invited to participate in a series of escape rooms (for the unaware: group puzzle-solving activities) only to find out they're deadly. Sure, yeah killer traps and rooms have already been done in previous films, but I appreciate the idea of an escape room in general being used as a force of murder considering how popular they are these days. I wasn't sure how this film would turn out based on the previews, but I was pleased with the final product.

Yeah, the movie has some predictable characters and elements, but this is a very polished film. The script, occasional joke without sabotaging the mood, characters, and general direction are all solid. Great main cast all around, better than expected for movies of this type.

A lot of thought goes into the murder rooms, which are all impressively decorated and designed. They are a little over-the-top, but the film manages to explain how they work practically. The challenges and threats all pan out nicely. The ending, while I wouldn't say it was bad, wasn't ideal for me. To clarify, I'm talking about the wrap-up after the final fight for survival, which works. 1) This final part breaks the tenuous suspension-of-disbelief as the antagonist or antagonists does/do something that seems impossible to pull off even with his/her/their resources. 2) There is a semi-long tacked-on setup for a possible sequel that seems more at home for a big blockbuster than a horror film.

Also, be forewarned that the reveal of the human face/faces to the antagonist/antagonists is a little underwhelming.

I wouldn't say Escape Room is a must-see, but I do recommend it to any horror fan who wants a good time.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
Daniel_EndureJan 4, 2019
Escape Room feels like a spin-off to the Saw franchise - with a better premise behind it, that is. The film will draw your attention throughout with its continual far-fetched thrills, however, some moments of cringe-worthy dialogue andEscape Room feels like a spin-off to the Saw franchise - with a better premise behind it, that is. The film will draw your attention throughout with its continual far-fetched thrills, however, some moments of cringe-worthy dialogue and unconvincing reactions on behalf of the cast might just keep you from getting entirely sucked into the grand mystery at hand. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
corinthiansJan 4, 2019
This movie is so boring and predictable. Another waste of time, this kind of movie always disappoints.
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
10
AceTrigger94Jan 4, 2019
A good time if you are into "Saw" type of movies but with less gore and more puzzles.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
timaoJan 4, 2019
Awful,stupid,cheap,unfrighten,not interesting,horrible that's how I can call Escape Room.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKJan 9, 2019
I thought this film was clever, interesting, and fun. The actors were all very believable and likable, and this was a good vehicle for them to prove they are worthy of going on to something a bit better. I am not into blood and gore for itsI thought this film was clever, interesting, and fun. The actors were all very believable and likable, and this was a good vehicle for them to prove they are worthy of going on to something a bit better. I am not into blood and gore for its own sake (even though I like a good horror movie like, for example, the original Halloween) and this film kept me guessing without pissing me off with dumb tricks. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
odzimaJan 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Schauen Sie sich den ganzen Online-Film an
Schauen Sie sich alle neuen Filme kostenlos online an Kostenlose Online-Filme
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
PopSocketingJan 19, 2019
Personally, I very much enjoyed Escape Room. The dialogue may be a pit predictable at times, however the acting makes up for it along with the complexity and diversity of the puzzles and/or their rooms. There are indeed several spots that canPersonally, I very much enjoyed Escape Room. The dialogue may be a pit predictable at times, however the acting makes up for it along with the complexity and diversity of the puzzles and/or their rooms. There are indeed several spots that can be predicted throughout the movie, however the twists were very enjoyable. Overall, the movie is quite fun to watch because of the way it handles its characters and development. The ending is a bit rough, but it only proves that this is a movie that requires you to think. If you have spare time this weekend, go watch it! Escape Room is a thrill that tends to focus more on its story rather than throwing gore at your face every 5 seconds. Basically, the movie is solid all around; however, the roles of the actors are kind of cliché, and it can get confusing. The movie definitely could have improved if there wasn't so much being left out; like "Birdbox," it could have used more structure in the plot. However, if you're a nerd who enjoys surrealism and seeing people lose their minds like me, chances are you might get something from this movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
moviecritic68Jan 16, 2019
About 10 minutes into the movie I was looking for a clue on how to escape the theater. You could hear the sarcastic chuckles from the few who attended wondering why they were still in their seats. (Another red flag - sparse audience) I'mAbout 10 minutes into the movie I was looking for a clue on how to escape the theater. You could hear the sarcastic chuckles from the few who attended wondering why they were still in their seats. (Another red flag - sparse audience) I'm bitterly disappointed with some of the misleading user scores from some of the people I rely on. Amateur acting mixed in with a poorly written script. SAVE YOUR MONEY & TIME Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
roastbirdJan 19, 2019
1. Copycat of many movie, SAW+CUBE most likely.
2. MOST players died in accidents, if you are calling this escape room, they should die because of playing it wrong or etc.
3. Always sick rich **** behind everything, come on it is 2019.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
manningn15Jan 20, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was good but it was predictable at times. This movie was very thrilling and suspenseful. The acting was great especially from Taylor Russell, Logan Miller, Tyler Labine, Deborah Ann Woll, and Jay Ellis. I enjoyed this movie overall. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JazzwazlerJan 20, 2019
3.7/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews