Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 12, 2018
4.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 21 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4
Mixed:
9
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
tropicAcesOct 12, 2018
The first film was a nice surprise, full of a few genuinely creepy moments and surprisingly dark humor. This is aimed at a much younger demo, and without Black there to lead the charge it just all feels aimless.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobOct 15, 2018
The first movie was good because they got their money's worth out of Jack Black (who was the lead role and voiced some of the characters). Without him in charge, as he is really just reduced to small cameo near the end of the film, The sequelThe first movie was good because they got their money's worth out of Jack Black (who was the lead role and voiced some of the characters). Without him in charge, as he is really just reduced to small cameo near the end of the film, The sequel just feels like another weak Halloween movie aimed at kids. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Davrosdaleks1Oct 12, 2018
The last film legitimately took me by surprise. It was more fun than expected. This one is more what I'd thought the first would be: Serviceable. The entire thing is decent, but it is very standard. Jack Black's entertaining R.L. Stine is aThe last film legitimately took me by surprise. It was more fun than expected. This one is more what I'd thought the first would be: Serviceable. The entire thing is decent, but it is very standard. Jack Black's entertaining R.L. Stine is a bit part here and the interesting dynamic and obstacles of the kids from the first film is missing here. What ensues is a very by-the-numbers children's film. The actors playing the kids do a good job but they're given the most basic of characterizations and conflicts (complete with predictable school bullies). Wendi McLendon-Covey, Chris Parnell, and Ken Jeong all have fun supporting roles, but they're not big parts.

Monsters are fun. They are even a couple scenes with Slappy that are a little scarier than expected. Kids should like this. At worst, parents will probably be indifferent. The movie is okay it just doesn't stand out.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
manningn15Oct 15, 2018
The visuals were beautifully spooky and creepy just like in the first one. The writing and humor was funny but not hilarious like in the first one. The acting performances were fantastic especially Ken Jeong, Madison Iseman, Jeremy RayThe visuals were beautifully spooky and creepy just like in the first one. The writing and humor was funny but not hilarious like in the first one. The acting performances were fantastic especially Ken Jeong, Madison Iseman, Jeremy Ray Taylor, Wendi McLendon-Covey, Caleel Harris, and Chris Parnell. This one was not as good as the first one but it was still pretty entertaining. One of my favorite Halloween movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
julia12Oct 16, 2018
Amazing got chance to see it free on moviehubx dot com replace DOT by
get it there free every thing
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeOct 12, 2018
Remember 2015's Goosebumps? No? Neither did I since the movie was just too forgettable in my opinion. Prepare for a sequel that no one wanted but the crew just had to make it so that they can make more money. By that, I mean expect it to beRemember 2015's Goosebumps? No? Neither did I since the movie was just too forgettable in my opinion. Prepare for a sequel that no one wanted but the crew just had to make it so that they can make more money. By that, I mean expect it to be not funny nor scary. It's just another forgettable movie you'll probably forget about once you go out to see better movies. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Oct 22, 2018
It will definitely appeal to the taste of the audiences to which it's addressed but in general terms is a very poor sequel and although I didn't like the first one at all, at least that one had more comedy and entertainment, something scarceIt will definitely appeal to the taste of the audiences to which it's addressed but in general terms is a very poor sequel and although I didn't like the first one at all, at least that one had more comedy and entertainment, something scarce here and therefore it becomes another disappointment. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Mark_OOct 29, 2018
It's a fun kid's movie for Halloween. Don't try to look for some deep message, just watch it using boxxy software and have fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Daniel_EndureOct 12, 2018
So disappointing. The first one was a joyful ride with likable actors/characters. This sequel takes a far more childish route and is full of bad acting, but all the blame can't be put on the cast - the dialogue and sequence of events thatSo disappointing. The first one was a joyful ride with likable actors/characters. This sequel takes a far more childish route and is full of bad acting, but all the blame can't be put on the cast - the dialogue and sequence of events that unfold are poorly put together. It takes about fifty minutes for the action to get started and once it finally does, it's wrapped up all too quickly. However, I can't deny it is pretty fun when the monsters do finally make their entrance. In the end, though, I'd say just re-watch the original from 2015. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
xjvjvxOct 19, 2018
"Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween" Is a funny, thrilling, scary for all ages. But.. It mocks the Set out for "Goosebumps" so its basically the same story again but with new characters. The animation is fluffy and ugly. The movie has everything"Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween" Is a funny, thrilling, scary for all ages. But.. It mocks the Set out for "Goosebumps" so its basically the same story again but with new characters. The animation is fluffy and ugly. The movie has everything in awe but not so much to the plot. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
whackjackerOct 23, 2018
I can't stand watching Nacho Libre, but I will admit when I am wrong. Its directorial prowess and Jack Black's powerful performance as a man who just wants to do right by the people he cares about is one that has me in tears every time. ItI can't stand watching Nacho Libre, but I will admit when I am wrong. Its directorial prowess and Jack Black's powerful performance as a man who just wants to do right by the people he cares about is one that has me in tears every time. It honestly beats Kevin James in Here Comes The Boom, they are two wonderful films cut from the same cloth, but tailored by very unique minds.

2/10
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
CityOfGeekDec 9, 2018
Let me lead with the first Goosebumps film from 2015 was a delight. It had a surprisingly heartfelt backbone to the family friendly carnage with a set of well known actors giving it their full attention – no slumming around. Not to mention aLet me lead with the first Goosebumps film from 2015 was a delight. It had a surprisingly heartfelt backbone to the family friendly carnage with a set of well known actors giving it their full attention – no slumming around. Not to mention a fantastic way to adapt the spirit of the long running series. (My first was in 6th grade in 1992; I think it was “Say Cheese and Die”)

However, Goosebumps 2 is much lesser than first one. It feels like one notch above a TV movie. Think of the film you expected for the first film. The movie here is likely around the quality you expected. Since it’s a sequel, one expects to use what worked the first time and build in a different way. But this is very much the first one again with some details changed.

With being a sequel, it takes too long to get to the expected Halloween/Monster mayhem with a really sketchy set of scenes to get to it. Set ups that would work for a movie of the week but not so much on the big screen. Undercooked way to get to Slappy, and later to the monster fun. Odd as the mayhem starts about 20 minutes after it did the first time around. It’s a sequel, be bigger! When it does happen, the film is a blast with great production design for the creatures, including green orb head witches and a giant spider made from balloons. The sequence when Slappy gets the gang back together is amazing and gets the spirit going. There is a notable cheapness to the whole she-bang even when it goes as the film keeps finding excuses to exit the town getting attacked (I’m pretty sure there are piles of dead), ranging from “let’s talk in this alley” to “hang out with as annoying as normal Ken Jeong for a minute”. Jeong plays the character in a way that makes those who laugh just because he is there happy. Broad and groan-worthy. He does have the Halloween yard set up I want so bad though.

This all leads to a very rushed and easy ending. How convenient is it? It doesn’t feel done. Like there is about to be the next, real climax. But it doesn’t happen. Just wrapped up in a bow with really weird voice-over. And several subplots left unresolved.

On the plus side – the monsters look great, there is fun in the sequences you came to see. The design on Slappy is very well done – it’s not Black doing the voice this time but a reasonable facsimile. I’m pretty sure many of the extras characters straight up died. There is great report between the leads and some well-done humor and nods to horror franchises. I’m not sure if one bit was a direct nod to Halloween III: Season of the Witch or just a coincidence as I have Halloween on the brain (cough podcast cough) – and I’m watching Halloween III as I write this. We do get Jack Black on hand for a little bit, but almost feels like he’s added in when they realized he can stop by for a day during The House with a Clock in its Walls downtime.

Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween is not a terrible movie. It’s just a disappointment after the first entry showed this concept can be done better. I personally hoped the sequel would be a Horrorland type thing instead of essentially the same plot. For family-friendly horror-fantasy on the big screen, go see House instead.

C+
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews