Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 16, 2018
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 99 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
80
Mixed:
11
Negative:
8
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
LamontRaymondNov 28, 2018
Easily one of my favorite movies of 2018. I can see why cynical movie critics can't embrace it, but it's got all the ingredients of a feel-good movie, with some harsh realities, and what it takes to be a good friend. I loved every minute of it.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKNov 22, 2018
It’s been a very long time since I have heard an audience applaud spontaneously after a film in an ordinary local theater, but it happened today after a screening of Green Book. And I must admit I had to agree with the audience verdict aboutIt’s been a very long time since I have heard an audience applaud spontaneously after a film in an ordinary local theater, but it happened today after a screening of Green Book. And I must admit I had to agree with the audience verdict about this one. Perhaps the “message” was obvious, but the commitment, believability, and humanity of the two main actors (Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali) was extraordinary. I really felt like I took the journey with them. This is definitely one of the best films I have seen this year – beautifully written, directed, and acted. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
consumerguyDec 6, 2018
"This based on a true story" film is an unexpected surprise. Few films are able to combine compelling drama and comedy without stretching one genre or the other. If you had given me a list of one hundred candidates for the role of a"This based on a true story" film is an unexpected surprise. Few films are able to combine compelling drama and comedy without stretching one genre or the other. If you had given me a list of one hundred candidates for the role of a semi-educated 1960s nightclub bouncer from the Bronx, I probably would have placed Vigo Mortenson I at the bottom of that list as a likely candidate for the role. And he knocks the role of Tony Lip outta the park. Mahershala Ali, who won an Oscar for his role as the ominous drug dealer in Moonlighting is no less a surprise as the somewhat prissy and bottled-up jazz pianist
Don Shirley.
In balancing issues of racism and violence with laugh-out-loud humor, director Peter Farrelly is this film's third surprise. Along with brother Bobby, Farrelly is most famous for dopey and base comedies like the "Dumb and Dumber" flicks.
I was amazed by Farrelly's deft handling of transitions that move from Tony's knuckle-headed ignorant insights to the humiliations heaped upon a refined black man in the mid-twentieth century Deep South by hypocritical sophisticates.
Green book is an emotional, artistic and fulfilling gem.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryNov 29, 2018
This charmer is based on the real relationship between a rough-edged, Italian-American bouncer (Viggo Mortensen) and the refined African-American jazz pianist Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali). Lip is hired to drive Shirley on a concert tour thruThis charmer is based on the real relationship between a rough-edged, Italian-American bouncer (Viggo Mortensen) and the refined African-American jazz pianist Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali). Lip is hired to drive Shirley on a concert tour thru the Deep South in the 60s. As expected, they go from contrary attitudes to an endearing, mutually-beneficial friendship, so it's up to the filmmaking to create something special. Both of the lead actors give deep and affecting performances. Director Peter Farrelly (best known for silly comedies) has maneuvered between racial discord and human interaction with skill, assurance and a few laffs. The script, while predictable, still manages to create an involving narrative. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
shpostalNov 23, 2018
"Green Book" is a fairly true story of a gifted concert pianist and his hired Italian driver making a swing through the Deep South in 1962 at the height of Jim Crow before the civil rights battles really started. The actual "green books""Green Book" is a fairly true story of a gifted concert pianist and his hired Italian driver making a swing through the Deep South in 1962 at the height of Jim Crow before the civil rights battles really started. The actual "green books" were indeed real, and were handed out at gas stations or other locations to help African Americans find locations to eat, sleep and otherwise be entertained without being harassed by the ignoramus separatist white racist idiots especially in the South. Viggo Mortenson plays a Bronx semi-wise guy Italian who needs a few months employment as his club where he is employed as a bouncer, the famous Copacabana is undergoing renovations, and lands a job as a driver for Dr. Don Shirley, brilliantly played by Mahershala Ali. Both men are absolutely genius in their respective roles, as Shirley, a gifted and very erudite and intelligent concert pianist play off each other during this two month tour of the Deep South. It's a shock to the system of the time with a white man driving the affluent and privileged African American around between gigs, and the film carefully examines the strife and attitudes of the day and age without getting into some of the truly horrendous events that also happened. The film doesn't really cover a lot of new ground here, and has its similarities with "Hidden Figures", the blockbuster from a few years ago without being a derivative. Without being a spoiler, we are witnessing the gradual closing of the gap of understanding the world as both men know it, including Dr. Shirley's own unawareness of the awful poverty he witnesses during the trip of his fellow African Americans, and learns that Tony, his driver lives in very modest circumstances of his own in the Bronx. This is a movie where we don't really see a cataclysmic event, but rather the common behaviors of a Jim Crow south, where patrons in cities like Memphis and Birmingham want to be seen as "cultured" and have no problem with Shirley performing at their private swanky parties, but that tolerance stops obviously the second the show's over. "Green Book" serves a duel purpose: the enormous racial divide, class divisions and the courage it took for more open minded people of all races to begin to stand up and unite against the profound hate that sadly still exists today, but was a genuine threat to life and limb back then. It's a great movie and highly recommended. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
lmorinJan 6, 2019
Two days after seeing A Star is Born, which I loved, I saw Green Book--a more impressive move. Funny. Touching. Great acting. I'd give it a 10 but for a few details I didn't like. Hard to believe this story reflects real events and attitudesTwo days after seeing A Star is Born, which I loved, I saw Green Book--a more impressive move. Funny. Touching. Great acting. I'd give it a 10 but for a few details I didn't like. Hard to believe this story reflects real events and attitudes of 1962. The nation has taken many steps away from that era, thank goodness. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
netflicDec 26, 2018
Based on real events and real people, this film is about relationship between a famous black pianist Don Shirley and his driver Tony, a New York bouncer of Italian origin.
The name 'Green Book' refers to a hotel travel guide in the Deep South
Based on real events and real people, this film is about relationship between a famous black pianist Don Shirley and his driver Tony, a New York bouncer of Italian origin.
The name 'Green Book' refers to a hotel travel guide in the Deep South where black people were allowed to stay in 1960th. Obviously, racism (especially in the South) is one of the main themes of the movie.
It's also about family, dignity, courage, self-identification, and many other things, foremost about an earning to connect, to feel close. It is a serious drama peppered with funny episodes.
Great performances from both leads. Believable script, detailed nuances.
Overall, the movie is quite enjoyable to watch.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
tropicAcesNov 21, 2018
Funny, breezy, emotional and impactful. Great performances and screenplay. Just an enjoyable movie with a tiny bit of a message (even if it doesn’t get as deep as it maybe could have).
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticNov 23, 2018
A film that tended to by to glossy on some of its subject matters, but because of the phenomenal chemistry and performances by Viggo and Mahershala you can't help but laugh and cry. Definitely the feel good film of the year. Overall a low 9 an A.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantNov 28, 2018
A superb fact-based road trip buddy film featuring two of the unlikeliest of travel companions. This tale of an African-American pianist and his New York Italian driver on a concert tour of the American South in 1962 hits all the right notesA superb fact-based road trip buddy film featuring two of the unlikeliest of travel companions. This tale of an African-American pianist and his New York Italian driver on a concert tour of the American South in 1962 hits all the right notes without belaboring its message while effectively capturing the unusual friendship that grows between the film's two protagonists. Excellent performances by Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali are punctuated by a script that's full of laughs, poignancy and heart. An underrated gem that deserves high marks and well-earned accolades. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AcaciaDec 2, 2018
Fabulous movie! Go see it. You won’t be disappointed. My review ended up under Green Room! Did not realize that Green Book didn’t come up.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixNov 29, 2018
'Green Book' barrels past some initial hokeyness to take us on a poignant journey through the deep south ... and into the heart of America's persistent deficiency in overcoming racial inequality.

Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen both
'Green Book' barrels past some initial hokeyness to take us on a poignant journey through the deep south ... and into the heart of America's persistent deficiency in overcoming racial inequality.

Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen both disappear into their roles as only actors of their caliber can, making every scene so captivating that the movie's 130-minute run time feels half as long. There's plenty of contemplation and outrage to go around. However, it's the genuine laughs that truly round out the film, providing a full range of delightful (and sometimes dizzying) emotions that quickly come and pass like mile markers on the side of a highway.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
votingNov 27, 2018
One of the best movies of the year. Both performances are fantastic. Inspiring and heartfelt.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MarkHReviewsDec 13, 2018
“The Green Book” derives its name from The Negro Motorist Green Book, an annual publication from 1936-1966 designed to help people traveling while black to find friendly lodging, restaurants and gas stations and to keep from running afoul of“The Green Book” derives its name from The Negro Motorist Green Book, an annual publication from 1936-1966 designed to help people traveling while black to find friendly lodging, restaurants and gas stations and to keep from running afoul of a variety of arcane local laws (if you’re interested, learn about “sunset towns”).

In 1962, Dr. Don Shirley, a classically trained pianist, left his opulent apartment above Carnegie Hall in NYC to tour the Midwest and Deep South. The record company sponsoring his tour had the good sense to hire a driver/bodyguard/valet to help him navigate the perils of the South in the period just before the Civil Rights Act. Tony (Lip) Vallelonga was hired for those roles and worked with Shirley during his two-month tour. The challenges faced and overcome by Shirley are entirely predictable – overt racism, harassing cops, etc. But “The Green Book” is not intended to be a history lesson. It’s a story about enduring friendship.

As the two lead characters, Mahershala Ali (House of Cards, Oscar for Moonlight in 2016, a can’t-wait upcoming role in True Detective, Season 3) and Viggo Mortensen (Lord of the Rings series, A History of Violence, Eastern Promises) perform a series of memorable duets. Unable to rely on his Danish-American heritage for this role, Mortensen (Tony) adopts a Bronx accent that would fit right in on The Sopranos. This makes perfect sense, given that the real Tony Lip had a recurring role in the series. (Regrettably, for all his talking, our Tony never lets loose with “Ba-Da-Boom, Ba-Da-Bing.”) His rough-and-tumble, street-smart approach to the world stands in stark contrast to the well-educated Dr. Shirley (Ali), who struggles mightily because he is neither black enough not white enough to fit in anywhere. Dr. Shirley’s struggles to teach Tony diction, manners and Oxford English (Oxford, England, not Oxford, Mississippi) are highlights of the film.

What drives the narrative, though, is the bond built between the two men. Tony is in awe of Dr. Shirley’s regal bearing and erudition (Shirley earned a doctorate in Music, Psychology and Liturgical Arts). Shirley, in turn, sees Tony’s good heart and envies the passion and wonder through which he views the world. Spying a road sign announcing a KFC up the road, Tony enthuses, “Kentucky Fried Chicken in Kentucky – when’s that gunna happen?” The chemistry between the two is funny, touching and the glue that holds this film together.
Director Peter Farrelly (There’s Something about Mary, Dumb and Dumber, Stuck on You) has reined in his slapstick impulses and over-reliance on visual humor. The result is thoughtful, honest and memorable.

“The Green Book” does not offer its audience profound insights into the human condition. But it does suggest, as Shirley’s character discovers, that occasional human interaction, in small controlled doses, might actually be worthwhile.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moviecritic68Dec 12, 2018
Easily in the running for Best Picture. The theater was filled with laughing outburst throughout and the audience left with a gleeful buzz. The 3 negative critiques should be banned from the site. 9.75 is my final tally because I'm old enoughEasily in the running for Best Picture. The theater was filled with laughing outburst throughout and the audience left with a gleeful buzz. The 3 negative critiques should be banned from the site. 9.75 is my final tally because I'm old enough to remember the racial divide in the 60's and I grew up in one of the southern cities displayed in the movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
GiuliusNov 24, 2018
Prepare to sit through a very long "before" as the movie explores Tony's thuggish, comic-book background. (Cross a Mafiosi and a New Yoaker, that's Tony!) Then sit through a well-meaning but laborious exposition of how he and a self-centered,Prepare to sit through a very long "before" as the movie explores Tony's thuggish, comic-book background. (Cross a Mafiosi and a New Yoaker, that's Tony!) Then sit through a well-meaning but laborious exposition of how he and a self-centered, judgmental black musical genius develop a (dare we say it) quasi-affectionate relationship. After one hour I took my leave, but maybe you'l stay longer and tell me how it ends... Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
1
pdw123Dec 24, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't understand all the fawning here in the user reviews, since those are notoriously always more honest, minus the trolls who often don't even see the film or give it 0's without giving constructive reviews----but I think this is being way overrated and for AA marks as well. While the 2 leads are indeed outstanding actors and have been in the past, that just doesn't make up for the timid and craven story structure in a time period and place that from what we've viewed before for Academy consideration---Selma, 12 Years a Slave, The Butler, etc.---was just far from a peaceful place where this protagonist only gets roughed up once, and is so cursory a scene related to the "Odd Couple" type film, that you don't even notice it, nor trials/tribulations that this character just must've had to endure in that time period. It just doesn't convince me of the true story or reality, nor does the acting in many instances, sadly. That, and mainstream theaters in this USA are getting to be a crowded pain with new recliner seating that has pushed ticket prices through the roof, and made films just plain hard anymore to get out and see. Perhaps the DVD will offer more explanations for these obvious shortcomings---just didn't cut it for this viewer, truly hoped it were better, but alas probably mostly because of the direction/production. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
gxm143Dec 23, 2018
All I need to know about film critics is that the putrid The Favourite rates a 94 and Green Book a 70. Green Book is one of the best movies I have seen this decade. It is funny, dramatic, relevant, touching, and is the rare picture thatAll I need to know about film critics is that the putrid The Favourite rates a 94 and Green Book a 70. Green Book is one of the best movies I have seen this decade. It is funny, dramatic, relevant, touching, and is the rare picture that leaves you feeling good as you leave the theatre. It's 1st place at TIFF should translate into Oscar gold, if there is any justice. The leads are absolutely stellar. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
TrevorsViewDec 27, 2018
Meet Frank “Tony Lip” Vallelonga, who back in 1962 was challenged to remain upright alongside greater authority against his will, except that isn’t clear from the shallow focus of Green Book. The real Tony had a marriage much like Clark GableMeet Frank “Tony Lip” Vallelonga, who back in 1962 was challenged to remain upright alongside greater authority against his will, except that isn’t clear from the shallow focus of Green Book. The real Tony had a marriage much like Clark Gable teaching Claudette Colbert how to hitchhike, but the crunched cinematic events with Tony’s wife, Dolores, move too quickly. Rather, focus falls more on getting to know Tony through travelling musician Don “Doc” Shirley, whom he drives across the country as his personal chauffer.

While Tony takes on a stereotype reversal against his Italian blood, Dr. Shirley goes against Black stereotypes by his consistent calmness. Plus, the thinner Black companion writes better than the pudgy Italian, who is more familiar with Black musicians than the Black man is. By that retrospective, the Italian is internally Black, and the African is internally White. While Dr. Shirley loathes the prejudice of his new friend, he asks what defines “Blackness,” which turns out quite effective for us viewers to hear. So henceforth, dumb and smarter progress on a journey full of Kentucky Fried Chicken while everyone back at Tony’s home eats clams on spaghetti, all where you ache to see the resolution.

Between each person, both from the ensemble and two leads, the details guarantee chuckles. One of those humorous touches that fuel the teal Cadillac toward its warm finale includes when Tony folds an entire pizza in half, then chomps down onto it, big. Even if counting the more dramatic moments, small moments put you on its side. These moments kick off instantly with a performance of, “That Old Black Magic” to open the feature, and the momentum of this small moment collection continues without halt.

Yet here’s the problem with this well-meaning story structure: no big moment ties any reasonable story arcs together. From the main arc of Tony left in his own little universe, it just makes everybody else impossible to connect with, especially Dolores, who never succeeds to teach her husband anything valuable. While Don has the advantage of flaunting way more screen time, he’s no easier to relate to since he almost matches Jesus-levels of moral perfection, even though he’s clearly not. Case in point: this “king of the jungle” keeps ivory tusks as trophies, suggesting an engagement in illegal animal poaching.

It’s particularly weird how this film aims for a PG-13 rating; there’s no reason for it to do so, for its lack of inappropriate content doesn’t mean teenagers will overlook the cheap production values. They’re still used to watching televised recreations of their own drama; most of them aren’t ready for a story like this. As for the parents, the moms won’t take such a boring character like Dolores seriously, since her makeup in bed after waking up still looks perfect! Many dads also won’t relate to Tony’s type of masculinity very well—one that always has a cigarette in his mouth of missorted life priorities. His pompous ego that shines through the symbolism of a stolen jade rock supposedly gets a change of heart once he listens to Don Shirley’s traveling band, except that impact is not felt from the audience’s perspective; the band in truth is about the same amount of fun to listen to as any old street musician.

Many other missed opportunities prevent this picture’s intentional importance from resonating long term. Throughout his travels, Tony writes down that he is basking in the beauty of the US south… beauty that by the way seldom reveals itself to us viewers, as the image often lets a map visual take up space. It’s not just stylistic inconsistency that’s the problem, other glossed-over narrative points are missed to their advantage, particularly one hot dog eating contest. Among numerous incomplete philosophies that just fill up page space without a payoff later, one said by Tony includes, “whatever you do, do it 100%.” Pretty deep, ain’t it?

At the end of the day, most of the characters in this feature just act racist without justification as they themselves become offensive caricatures, such as one White manager at a theater who refuses to clean a piano for Dr. Shirley’s performance. This overall attitude loses the impact upon Tony’s sin as racial connections overbear the focus in a way that feels manipulative rather than personal. Such shame-filled preaching lacks subtlety, particularly in a poorly executed scene when the Cadillac car breaks down beside the glares of Black field workers, a scene that served no real plot purpose.

At this point, a boy taking out his anger through an imaginary tree monster would be better to watch than the skimmed long-stretching beauty of Green Book. I believe Mr. Vallelonga’s story might have been better if Participant Media focused more time on his home within the Bronx, that way we could see how Tony’s unemployment affected others around him.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryNov 26, 2018
"Green Book" is the true story of Dr. Don Shirley, the great classical/jazz pianist and his famous 1960's tour of the deep south accompanied by his driver, Tony Lip Villelonga, as they travel together using the infamous Green Book which"Green Book" is the true story of Dr. Don Shirley, the great classical/jazz pianist and his famous 1960's tour of the deep south accompanied by his driver, Tony Lip Villelonga, as they travel together using the infamous Green Book which served as a guide for African American travelers as to where they could and could not find accommodations in the southern part of our nation. As the book so brutally states in its logo "avoid aggravation on your vacation".
The film stars Mahershala Ali as Dr. Shirley and Viggo Mortensen as Tony Lip Villelonga. Directed by Peter Farrelly who co-wrote the screenplay with Bruce Currie and Nick Villelonga, this is a warm and deeply moving story of the plight of a talented world class musician who, like most black entertainers in that era, could perform and entertain in the "white only" establishments but could neither sleep nor eat there. The film serves as a great reminder of how demeaning and wrong the culture was in all too many parts of our country and how so many of its citizens were robbed of the dignity and rights they were otherwise entitled to have and enjoy. Although Mr. Ali's performance was noteworthy, the true star of the film is Mr. Mortensen who, deviating from his normal "leading man" role, portrays the Bronx born and raised Tony Lip Villelonga with sensitivity and caring in spite of, and perhaps maybe because of, his Italian American heritage and upbringing.
I give this film an 8.0 rating and suggest that it be seen by all who wish to understand where we were as a nation 56 years ago, where we are now and how far we still have to go.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 3, 2019
The performances of Mortensen and Ali make this movie worth watching. Both actors really bring their characters to life and make this movie a must watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
GreatMartinNov 23, 2018
A treat!

I was very hesitant about going to see "Green Book" starting with it being directed by Peter Farrelly who was known for such 'low' films as "Dumb and Dumber" and "There's Something About Mary" which dealt with obscene language and
A treat!

I was very hesitant about going to see "Green Book" starting with it being directed by Peter Farrelly who was known for such 'low' films as "Dumb and Dumber" and "There's Something About Mary" which dealt with obscene language and scenes though big hits. It also sounded to me like a takeoff of "Driving Miss Daisy" only with a white driver and a black passenger which would probably be 'Hollywoodized" and "the Odd Couple" thrown in as the arc of the movie and it is..

I went only because I am a long time fan of Viggo Mortensen and was impressed with Mahershala Ali in "Moonlight". I expected to see a so-so film with good performances and we certainly saw the latter but it won me over showing the Carnegie Hall apartments, though I never did see one like Ali had. Also the scenes supposedly filmed in the Bronx was not a Bronx I was raised in but all of a sudden I was laughing and then being touched and going through layers of emotions.

Yes Viggo Mortensen as Tony Vallelonga and Mahershala Ali as Dr. Don Shirley are cliches in many scenes but they are both such good actors you believe what they are saying and doing not to forget the touch of family that Linda Cardellini as Tony's wife brings to an Italian Bronx thug who does love his wife and 2 sons, along with other family members.

Based on a true story I must admit I had never heard of Dr. Don Shirley but his story of being a black entertainer who is going to travel through the south in 1962 it is reasonable that he would hire a Tony 'type' to be his chauffer and, in a sense, protector. A lot of cliches are nothing more than stereotypes and much what we see and hear of Shirley and Vallelonga sound and seem familiar which is sad because we aren't surprised.

"Green Book" is being sold as 'a true story of a friendship' and it is just that with many laughs and tears supplied by two brilliant actors who bring more to the script than the script brings to them. There are a couple of scenes that took me by surprise which if talked about would mean spoilers and should be discovered on their own but one question I would love if anyone knows if Mahershala does his own piano playing or is it Hollywood magic?

Both "Green Book" and "The Hate U Give" are two of the best films I have seen this autumn and though both deal with race they are completely different and also have leading performances that should get nominations , if not actual wins, for their performances.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
WaelJan 15, 2019
"Green Book" is simply a fantastic film. It takes on many important themes through a simple, lovely story, and layers them with so much moral. It has some very funny bits and lines of humor, but it also has several tender, even heart-warming,"Green Book" is simply a fantastic film. It takes on many important themes through a simple, lovely story, and layers them with so much moral. It has some very funny bits and lines of humor, but it also has several tender, even heart-warming, some heart-breaking moments. The writing is deft, and the characters are extremely lovable, audiences will sure find themselves bonding with them as they bond with each as the story progresses. The chemistry between Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali is so natural, and the performances from the two are just excellent. This is a very neat, masterful film-making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 30, 2018
Though its softened edges and cautious approach might irk some of the more discerning viewers in the audience, its "Green Book's" benevolent nature and engaging thematic material that should be commended above all. Generally more of a comedicThough its softened edges and cautious approach might irk some of the more discerning viewers in the audience, its "Green Book's" benevolent nature and engaging thematic material that should be commended above all. Generally more of a comedic filmmaker, director Peter Farrelly handles the story behind Don Shirley and Tony Vallelonga's true-to-life friendship with a surprising patience and care, ultimately lending a tremendously feel-good experience. Spearhead all of that with some unsurprisingly magnificent performance work from both Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen, and you've got yourself one of the better movies of the year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Nov 22, 2018
This was a simple yet culturally significant, funny, and often times very heartwarming and crowd-pleasing film while also providing important social commentary regarding race and discrimination. The film follows an Italian-American bouncerThis was a simple yet culturally significant, funny, and often times very heartwarming and crowd-pleasing film while also providing important social commentary regarding race and discrimination. The film follows an Italian-American bouncer (Viggo Mortensen) who is hired to drive an African American pianist with a Doctorate in music (Mahershala Ali) on his musical tour through the American South in the 1960s. From the film's opening moments, I knew I was in for a charming and great time, cause despite the serious historical subject matter and depiction of racism throughout the film, every moment in the film is played out surprisingly light-hearted but never too much so as to remind us of the important cultural and historical significance of these different and difficult times in America. In addition, Mortensen and Ali play off each other perfectly from start to finish, seemingly forming a genuine bond and friendship as the film progressed. I was especially impressed with Mortensen however, who not only had so many great and funny moments and lines, but also showed serious commitment, gaining approximately 40 lbs or so for his role. Overall, despite the film's rather safe and restrained depiction of racism and prejudice, it nonetheless remains very mature and insightful regarding these themes and depictions, and the performances and chemistry between Mortensen and Ali are undoubtedly the film's biggest charm, with all of these elements coming together to make the film a mostly smooth yet satisfying ride. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
darkbloodshed13Dec 4, 2018
Green Book is directed by Peter Fairly and is about the journey and friendship between Tony Vallelonga, an Italian driver played by Viggo Mortensen, and Dr. Don Shirley, a black pianist played by Mahershala Ali, as they journey though theGreen Book is directed by Peter Fairly and is about the journey and friendship between Tony Vallelonga, an Italian driver played by Viggo Mortensen, and Dr. Don Shirley, a black pianist played by Mahershala Ali, as they journey though the south in the 60's. That concept sounds pretty simplistic but this film executes it so well that you don't think that. The relationship between our two leads is portrayed excellently. The film is at it's best when it's just the two of them having a simple conversation. Viggo Mortensen plays Tony Vallelonga perfectly as the typical Italian during the 60's, his comedic timing and delivery makes him hilarious but relate able and is balanced excellently Mahershala Ali's stoic and dramatic portrayal as Dr. Don Shirley. Peter Fairly has established him self as good comedy director with the Dumb and Dumber movies, but this the first time that I have felt like he has hit that perfect balance of drama and comedy. In conclusion this is the best film of the year so far and if you haven't seen it yet then see it immediately. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ViniciusBritoJan 4, 2019
"You never win with violence, Tony, you only win when you maintain your dignity. DIGNITY ALWAYS PREVAILS."
"Yes, i live in a castle, Tony. Alone!"
"So if i'm not black enough, and if i'm not white enough, and if i'm not man enough, then tell
"You never win with violence, Tony, you only win when you maintain your dignity. DIGNITY ALWAYS PREVAILS."
"Yes, i live in a castle, Tony. Alone!"
"So if i'm not black enough, and if i'm not white enough, and if i'm not man enough, then tell me Tony, what am i?!"
"The world is full of lonely people afraid to make the first move."
Based on the true story of Don Shirley and Tony Lip. Tony Lip looking for a job, ends up meeting "Doc." Shirley, piano musician, and the job that he offers to Tony is to be his driver and assistant while making a tour in the deep south in United States. In a time that racism was literally everywhere in the worst way as possible they gonna go through a lot of struggle and also face a big self learning with eachother. Directed by Peter Farrellt and written by Peter Farrelly, Nick Vallelonga and Brian Currie.
The story is based in real facts, and it is really interesting how they make us know the characters, in a lot of moments, without dialogue, just how they are, or what attitudes they got into some situations, in simple things, like throwing two cups away for a specific reason, or drinking and starring at people talking and having fun, it's not necessary to the characters to verbally say something, you get a lot just by watching them. I giant thing about this movie is the dialogues, the dialogues in this film are outstanding, those who wrote this deserve some awards, the dialogues in here go really deep, they do make you have a reflection about many different things and in many different layers, it does teach a lot with different and smart conversations.
I like that this movie give different layers for it's story, it isn't a story where they approach racism, just saying that white people do bad things, there is this, yes, and it is important, there are really shocking moments where they approach this, showing how ugly racism is, but in this story they show also that, there are good white people, so as there bad black people, this movie isn't trying to make your thoughs agains one or other, they show nice black people in bar, so as bad trying to steal, so as they show a bad white cop, so as one that just wanted to help them, so i think that this movie is trying to unite, wich is really important.
The relationship between them are really nice, that makes the movie, you can got different layers from both of them, not just personally, but also in a society form, preconception, solitude, fear, there are so many different themes that this story reaches, and i think that it was all very satisfactory, there is a lot in here.
The journey of the character Tony, is really nice, they first show that he is a racist, but a subtle one, that doesn't make anything better, so with time, with his time with Shirley, learning a lot with him, having him helping with letters, i think that he kind of lost that, showing that with conversation you can solve things a lot of times, at the end there is a really moment of hope, wich worked for me.
The film may have some continuity problems, some sequences felt lacked in giving the results of something that was happening right before, it felt like the sequence got broken.
For this movie to work, the both main characters would have to play a great job, their chemystri would have to be really good, and in fact, it is outstanding as well. Viggo Mortensen is amazing in here, first his accent that he keeps perfectly during the whole course of the film, it is not just funny but also categorical, his character is very imposing, strong, you totally believe in him beeing able to fix possible problems while a trip, he is definely a guy that you would like to have around, he does that character more like not caring for many things, more swinish. Mahershala Ali is exatcly the contrary, and he is damn perfect, he is fine, speaks like a gentle, have really careful choice of words, and have a posture of a king, his composure and wisdom are really interesting, he does have some lines that are really deep, and i think that he could give that depth in the way he spoke, you truly believe in those words, like he knows what he is talking about, another really great thing about his work, that he could made see the sadness in some moments, it wasn't like he just talked about it a few times, you could see in the way that he looked to the others, fantastic job. Another casting that i found really fun, is the members of the Tony Family, they actually got the real people from his family to put in the movie, that was nice. Linda Cardellini is also in here, she is at least functional, nothing very challenging, but she was good.
Green book is a amazing film, it does show the grown of a relationship, as a both people becoming good friends, as a individual point of view as well, very clear how they grown with eachother, and also as a society, talking about racism and loneliness with great dialogues, funny and dramatic moments and awesome lines.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeDec 29, 2018
No Bookmarks. No Regrets.

Green Book Farrelly's meticulously planned trip goes every way as it was anticipated; fun, lighthearted and awe-inspiring. This already overridden concept on film-making, narrows down the finite possibilities of
No Bookmarks. No Regrets.

Green Book

Farrelly's meticulously planned trip goes every way as it was anticipated; fun, lighthearted and awe-inspiring. This already overridden concept on film-making, narrows down the finite possibilities of the makers where they are cornered in the familiarity, and Farrelly's heartwarming answer to these accusations is simplicity. Carrying out the usual theme with a typical textbook structure, there is an ease, almost impenetrable by any of the weakness, that helps bubble up the best possible outcome from this journey. In fairness, Farrelly is not challenging himself. He is playing way too safe, convincing but never a stranger.

His fear over going an avant-garde vocab wrong is won over by his brilliant execution. His world, no matter how unfair, is perfectly balanced. Raising questions and clearing doubts, the trajectory of all the sub plots is predictable and yet entertaining. These old methods of intertwining two opposite personas in a room and working its way up to an imperishable friendship by accepting the difference of opinion, just works, it flows.

And we may have already encounter the usual, narrow minded and open minded, coy and bold, rich and poor debate over the years in cinema but with a performance as such from the cast, you cannot stop yourself for being giddy up for more. Mortensen as a free spirited Italian-American living at the brisk of his life is the teddy bear of the film. His adorable feature may as well be funny, but a world so tiny and shiny with his eyes is something the viewers connect with instantly.

And balancing the other side of the coin, Ali as a poised artist that quotes "dignity", is the huskier bit of the film. Portraying an infamous persona as such, Ali's performance is a testimony to his marvelous career, from performing an act on stage through resisting the urge to be parental with Mortensen, his performance craves your attention. But nevertheless, Mortenson's buoyant expressive nature is much more three dimensional and cinematic to share the applause, from his body language to his sense of humor, he slaps other artists on screen with an unflinching portrayal. Your usual montage sequences like helping each other with something they are natural with, this half and half team makes a complete ten on screen.

Mortensen preaching on the practicality and ruggedness of the street is hysterical whilst Ali's genuinely moving descriptions over the letters, humbles your opinion as it ages on screen. Clocking at more than two hours, narration flows like a smooth vivid fluid that keeps encouraging you for more of these stops. Has Farrelly managed to make his best film till date? Definitely, but what surprises you, is that it is his funniest too. He is just natural in his comic tone. And the dramatic part is relied upon the performance which never disappoints. The toe-tugging conversations in a car cruising over the locations is the ultimate peak of the film that is delivered at multiple orderly stages. Green Book is an already-read open book, but it never hurts to revisit those pages, the perspective has evolved.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Slovenly_MuseJan 2, 2019
A powerful and affecting movie, which could only have been improved by centering the story more firmly around its black protagonist, and avoiding overly-simplistic story beats celebrating white characters for overcoming racism.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SweevilJan 8, 2019
Best movie of 2018. Beautifully written, shot and acted. The only people who don't like it are certain cranky old white lefties who refuse to approve of ANY movie touching on racial issues unless every single white character is an evil,Best movie of 2018. Beautifully written, shot and acted. The only people who don't like it are certain cranky old white lefties who refuse to approve of ANY movie touching on racial issues unless every single white character is an evil, irredeemable, murderously vicious racist. Fingering all other white people as racists allows cranky old lefties to feel marvelously sanctimonious and superior.

Don't listen to these self-serving, mean-spirited idiots. This compelling true story, at times hilarious, other times deeply moving, doesn't flinch at showing southern segregation at its ugliest but -- the white lefties cannot abide this! -- it shows individuals can help heal the country's racial wounds by gaining understanding and reaching out with kindness and generosity.

This message is not happily received by the sort of white lefties who feel all white people are racist and must die. All white people EXCEPT them, of course ...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AceZachRocks2Nov 21, 2018
I was shocked how much I liked this movie, It has a heart of gold. It's always sweet and funny and you love the two leads despite some of there opinions and weird charms. This is one of the best Comedy Dramas I have seen in a while. I hopeI was shocked how much I liked this movie, It has a heart of gold. It's always sweet and funny and you love the two leads despite some of there opinions and weird charms. This is one of the best Comedy Dramas I have seen in a while. I hope either of the leads will win some award because without them this movie would be bland. 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman1999Jan 6, 2019
The best work of Peter Farrelly's career as a solo project after 24 years of sharing the director chair with his brother. And a reminder that Viggo Mortensen has never won an Oscar.
I mean... how on earth you people say that Green Book is a
The best work of Peter Farrelly's career as a solo project after 24 years of sharing the director chair with his brother. And a reminder that Viggo Mortensen has never won an Oscar.
I mean... how on earth you people say that Green Book is a feel-good movie?! This is so dark and infuriating!

Seriously though, despite its heavy themes, this movie is, surprisingly, supremely delightful to watch. Partly, thanks to the electrifying chemistry between Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen, whose equally phenomenal performances prove that they are two of the most talented actors working today. But largely, thanks to Peter Farrelly's nifty direction. Not only has he shown maturity as a director, but Farrelly also completely understood how to blend his sense of humour with a dramatic movie, and hence more earnest tone and more serious subject matter, way more serious! If he sticks with this refreshing style of filmmaking, and collaborate with excellent screenwriters, such as the writers of the screenplay of this movie, I bet that he will be one of the most popular directors in the coming years. The way he handles his performers, or shots a comedic scene here were really out of the ordinary.

The relatively deliberate pace couldn't have been more challenging for Peter Farrelly to stick with a particular tone, and find balance for this movie, but besides his palpable capability of doing so, the script, which he also co-wrote, offered sincere and genuine smart dialogues, and extremely likable reasonably fleshed-out characters, made this task way much more easier. Let alone the astonishing performances from the entire cast.

The screenplay is what to blame, however, for these two points I took away from my rating for this movie.

First, there is an action Mortensen's character, Tony Lip, take at the beginning of the movie that didn't add anything to the movie. This action also had some consequences that took some time. Adding insult to injury, this action, along with its consequences, was nothing but a cheap trick to make the viewers make a wrong judgment about the character.

Secondly, there was an abrupt change of mind made by the same character that, however understandable it might be, I still found it hard to swallow.

Thirdly, and most importantly, the illogically symmetric pattern of the storytelling; the plot keeps moving forward in a very unrealistic by making every phase in the movie seemingly predictable. It's safe to say that a movie with a fairly familiar themes like this one can easily suffer from such problem.

That said, Green Book is undoubtedly one of the most 2018 movies that I've enjoyed watching. Peter Farrelly miraculously managed to make a movie that tackles such sore themes, a breezy crowd-pleaser. "That's how to break a peak", Peter!

(8/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DrSancochoDec 14, 2018
Two of the year's most engaging performances lead this biopic about clashing personalities coming to understand each through intimate conversations and sincere empathy. Green Book made me laugh as it made me reflect about the society its era,Two of the year's most engaging performances lead this biopic about clashing personalities coming to understand each through intimate conversations and sincere empathy. Green Book made me laugh as it made me reflect about the society its era, a time where empathy and culture were defined by shallow preconceptions about each other. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThatFilmGuy20Jan 1, 2019
Green Book is as smooth as they come, this film covers a lot of things at once and it does it so seamlessly and effortlessly and the credit for that goes to two amazingly talented leads who shape this film to what it is, an affectionateGreen Book is as smooth as they come, this film covers a lot of things at once and it does it so seamlessly and effortlessly and the credit for that goes to two amazingly talented leads who shape this film to what it is, an affectionate friendship story, considering that this is based on actual real-life story and how hard is to put together something worth telling without slipping to no man's land of storytelling is amazing in and of itself, but this film doesn't stop there it offers a heartwarming story between seemingly opposite men but deep down they're the same.

I gotta say that Viggo Mortensen opposite Mahershala Ali is one of the best lead partnership I've seen in the last couple of years, talk about chemistry and strong presence, they make this story memorable and gripping and convincing as well, they have this special back and forth in dialogue that makes it very enjoyable to watch.

Adding to all of that, Green Book is extremely well put together from the directing to the camera work and the writing and it just has that good ol' fashion classic film framework to it and you can't beat that.

To put Green Book in a few words, I'd say it's a satisfying story that couldn't be presented in a better way, I absolutely love this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews