Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2018
5.0
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 50 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
16
Mixed:
21
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
GinaKNov 13, 2018
I enjoyed watching Clare Foy as Salander who was very convincing, sympathetic, and more interesting to watch than her predecessors in the role. I also liked the stark winter scenery and enjoyed some of the more minor characters (for example,I enjoyed watching Clare Foy as Salander who was very convincing, sympathetic, and more interesting to watch than her predecessors in the role. I also liked the stark winter scenery and enjoyed some of the more minor characters (for example, Lakeith Stanfield who was also excellent in “Sorry to Bother You”) but the sprawling big budget production didn’t work out very well for the director Fede Alavarez, who did such an excellent job with the claustrophobic film “Don’t Breathe,” although I did like some of his overhead chase sequences. Overall the film was okay and kept the audience’s attention, thanks to the cast and sweeping outdoor shots, but I kept thinking it should have been better. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
6
moviemitch96Nov 10, 2018
I don't read much, so I never got around to reading any of the novels this film is based off of. However, I did enjoy the many film adaptations that were previously made, such as the original Swedish Dragon Tattoo trilogy, as well as theI don't read much, so I never got around to reading any of the novels this film is based off of. However, I did enjoy the many film adaptations that were previously made, such as the original Swedish Dragon Tattoo trilogy, as well as the American remake of the first that starred Daniel Craig and Rooney Mara as Lisbeth Salander. This new film is based on the fourth and most recent novel and stars Claire Foy (Netflix's The Crown) as Lisbeth in a bold, tough as nails performance. The film had its interesting moments, but the story was a pretty straightforward and predictable spy plot and it played most things out relatively safe. It definitely felt like a conventional Hollywood action thriller with more of an emphasis on action rather than style and substance like what the previous films had to offer, which I preferred slightly more. However, this isn't all bad, as Foy brings great depth and gravitas to Lisbeth and overall does great justice towards the character. I just wish the film and its story could've been fleshed out just as much. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
LatinCritic13Nov 14, 2018
The latest American entry of The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo franchise is back and I have to say that this sequel is a familiar dosage of Bond and Atomic Blonde combined, but with a mild sour taste in it. I had high hopes for Alvarez to pullThe latest American entry of The Girl with The Dragon Tattoo franchise is back and I have to say that this sequel is a familiar dosage of Bond and Atomic Blonde combined, but with a mild sour taste in it. I had high hopes for Alvarez to pull this off after the stuff he pulled off from Don't Breathe, but it didn't breathe out so well realizing that it's not clever as the first movie that Fincher made in 2011. If the next film comes out, Sony needs to hire David Fincher again to direct the sequel with the original actors from the first in it just to forget that this film is just a different movie from a different universe. Overall, this latest entry of The Dragon Tattoo franchise is decent at best by delivering just a regular action movie in the books if you like action movies. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
bkristmanNov 9, 2018
I read the book maybe 6 months ago. The film adaptation is almost a totally different story ,barely recognizable .
To get anything out of it though you should have read all the books because it won't make sense otherwise.
The new story races
I read the book maybe 6 months ago. The film adaptation is almost a totally different story ,barely recognizable .
To get anything out of it though you should have read all the books because it won't make sense otherwise.
The new story races along at break neck speed with almost no character development .
They drop Salander's I.Q about 70 points and take away much of her strength and independence.
The best things about the film are the cinematography which is cold,stark and beautiful and the film score which is tremendous. That was worth the 5 stars. The film itself was disappointing as it could have used another hr to flesh it out.
Maybe they'll make an extended version.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
bataguilaNov 10, 2018
Exagerada, la 1ra su gran acierto es lo aterrizada y creíble que es. En esta tiran todo por la borda, nadie es sueco, el periodista solo sirve para hacer nada, la historia es predecible, ningún personaje tiene carisma; matan al papá y el hijoExagerada, la 1ra su gran acierto es lo aterrizada y creíble que es. En esta tiran todo por la borda, nadie es sueco, el periodista solo sirve para hacer nada, la historia es predecible, ningún personaje tiene carisma; matan al papá y el hijo ni se inmuta. Todo los hackeos son inmamables. La LIZ esta mas cabrona que un 007, ciencia ficción en cada hackeo de un siglo 30. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
GrazhopperNov 13, 2018
We wanted Fincher, Mara, Craig and Part 2 & 3, but we got Alvarez, Foy and Part 4 instead.
Good job Sony, next time you better listen to your audience !!!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Davrosdaleks1Nov 9, 2018
After the American "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" did just okay at the box office, I'm guessing that the studio got worried about how they'd handle another one. This film is clearly made to be more American audience friendly and switchedAfter the American "The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo" did just okay at the box office, I'm guessing that the studio got worried about how they'd handle another one. This film is clearly made to be more American audience friendly and switched from a semi-down-to-Earth thriller to more traditional action film. This is far from a pure adaptation and the events and characters of the book have become simplified. I feel that this is a poor Millennium movie but as an action movie its not half-bad.

I gave "The Girl in the Spider's Web" this rating based on the intellectual side of me that wants to give others an honest appraisal and recognizes the fault in the script. The movie jumps from plot point to point too quickly without much substance, and Blomkvist, one of the two main characters in the books, is treated as an afterthought here. Though, I must admit I didn't mind at all the change to Lisbeth's past and her dynamic with her sister. I rather felt it worked here.

The fun side of me, would've bumped this up a point. The visual presentation is pretty darn good. Director Fede Alvarez, who did the Evil Dead remake and Don't Breathe has honed his skills in dark action visuals. I found there to be some pretty impressive and at times freaky imagery in this. The fight scenes, though often brief, are well executed. As a whole, the movie looks good in general with a couple really nice shots.

Though Claire Foy does an admirable job as a decent job as Lisbeth Salander, she doesn't compare to Noomi Rapace or Mara Rooney. (Same can be said for the guy who played Blomkvist.) In fairness to Foy, the film pulls more punches as Lisbeth's anti-social/on-the-spectrum traits are toned down and the character feels a bit more average. Props should be give to Sylvia Hoeks as the villain. She is effectively unsettling.

This movie will probably infuriate some fans. It's impure. I would actually recommend this more to casual viewers.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
namelessNov 12, 2018
I thought the directin and editing worked but the actress just kept pulling me out of the movie. It was more like an acting exercise... watch me do this, and now I'm going to do this. This is definitely a watch on cable so you can get to theI thought the directin and editing worked but the actress just kept pulling me out of the movie. It was more like an acting exercise... watch me do this, and now I'm going to do this. This is definitely a watch on cable so you can get to the interesting parts and move past all the miscast emotive bits. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryNov 13, 2018
This is the 3rd in the Lisbeth Salander series with a new actor as the heroine each time. For this outing, Claire Foy plays the advanced hacker and revenge stalker. Faced with a device that leads to nuclear destruction (yawn), she embarks onThis is the 3rd in the Lisbeth Salander series with a new actor as the heroine each time. For this outing, Claire Foy plays the advanced hacker and revenge stalker. Faced with a device that leads to nuclear destruction (yawn), she embarks on a complex mission to deter the culprits. While this is more like a spy thriller, it still has some cool sequences and inventive shots. On the other hand, much of the character's distinctive qualities from the first outings has been replaced with her superhero status, while some of the exploits rely too much on coincidences that stretch credibility. Still, it was mostly entertaining and visually fun. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
HucksterNov 12, 2018
Authentic, gripping, fast paced and impressive. A very worthy addition to the GWTDT series. A kind of james bond meets tomb raider vibe, with fairly savage violence and edge of the seat escapes. Have to say I loved it from beginning toAuthentic, gripping, fast paced and impressive. A very worthy addition to the GWTDT series. A kind of james bond meets tomb raider vibe, with fairly savage violence and edge of the seat escapes. Have to say I loved it from beginning to end. Apart from a continuity issue with the bathwater I couldn't fault it. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
5
shpostalNov 9, 2018
This is one of those movies where the trailer is decidedly misleading, and it's too bad that the scenes of Foy as the vigilante going after abusive men weren't the focus of the movie, because after that early scene we've all viewed onThis is one of those movies where the trailer is decidedly misleading, and it's too bad that the scenes of Foy as the vigilante going after abusive men weren't the focus of the movie, because after that early scene we've all viewed on previews the story quickly goes awry. Not that "The Girl. . . " is a bad movie - it just isn't very mindblowing, either. In a typical computer hacking story that naturally downloads some very sensitive nuke information from the NSA, and the cliched plot full of bad guys and a couple bad girls going ballistic to get the program and its information back, Foy spends most of the time running and playing "Mission: Impossible" type games as she protects a kid who knows the secret codes to open the sinister program. The trouble is that the movie is a bit jumbled and predictable when it isn't going back and forth between the good guys and bad. Yes, it's contradictory to be jumbled and predictable, but somehow the movie manages to do both at the same time. Claire Foy does a good job in her role, as do all the actors, but like "The Snowman", "The Girl in the Spider's Web" could have benefitted from a less spy vs. spy feel and perhaps focus on the vigilantism promised in the trailer. That plot would have been more interesting, as far as I'm concerned. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
KraeneeNov 10, 2018
The movie is slow and her hacking abilities go way beyond reality here. I thought it was going to much better honestly and was looking forward to this for some time.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AcaciaNov 22, 2018
I love Lisbeth salander! She is extremely smart, resourceful and mentally and physically strong. In this latest installment of the franchise, she must stay on her toes in order to stay alive and keep those she cares about from harm. SomeI love Lisbeth salander! She is extremely smart, resourceful and mentally and physically strong. In this latest installment of the franchise, she must stay on her toes in order to stay alive and keep those she cares about from harm. Some of her feats are a bit hard to believe. The timing of a couple of her rescues and all the pieces that ust fall into place are not wholly believable. But, if you like strong women characters and fast paced action, this is a great film for you. I enjoyed it and was completely entertained. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
Rebecca31Nov 24, 2018
I read the book just before seeing the film but I shouldn't have went to such effort because it doesn't look like anyone else involved in the making of The Girl in the Spider's Web bothered to read it. In all fairness to Claire Foy, thisI read the book just before seeing the film but I shouldn't have went to such effort because it doesn't look like anyone else involved in the making of The Girl in the Spider's Web bothered to read it. In all fairness to Claire Foy, this isn't her fault, she shows up and does her best but the Lisbeth Salander portrayed in this sequel barely resembles her character from the original Dragon Tattoo trilogy. 

Lisbeth Salander is a pierced, mohawk sporting, leather jacked wearing vigilante not to be messed with, "the righter of wrongs, the girl who hurts men to who hurts women." She's hired by the horribly miscast Stephen Merchant (Frans Balder) to steal back firefall. An evil computer programme that in the wrong hands would give the user the power of a god, you know access to nuclear codes and all that other generic Bond villain stuff. Yet as the trailer clearly shows you Lisbeth gets caught up in a whole web of spies and cybercriminals. But just incase you forgot this is called The Girl in the Spider's Web, lots of little spiders show up at random points in the film to remind you. Throw in the villain humming a very menacing version of the Itsy Bitsy Spider and I'm sorry but I'm done. This film is badly written, badly paced and I'm struggling to find anything I liked about it. The third time we've seen Lisbeth Salander onscreen, the unfinished David Fincher remake starring Rooney Mara is barely worth mentioning it's that forgettable. A shot by shot remake that doesn't have the atmosphere of the original. It never needed a remake and now we have Claire Foy taking on the role in a sequel. Perhaps so desperate to play a character completely different from her previous roles and although Foy is trying her best and she certainly looks the part, she doesn't have the same on screen presence that Noomi Rapace has. The changes to Salander's character are pointless and borderline insulting. It needed to be grittier, with a completely different story, this isn't a James Bond or a Mission Impossible movie yet that's what it felt like it was trying to be. Oh sure turn Salander into an action hero and hope to build an even bigger franchise out of it, well sorry lads you've even failed at that. A boring predictable crime movie you've seen done before only better. All The Girl in the Spider's Web did was make me want to go back and watch the original trilogy. The book was average at best but the film couldn't even be bothered to follow it. Skip this film, any major plot point has been spoiled by the trailer and you'll be able to predict the whole thing from the very start. Not recommended.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Nov 24, 2018
With no encouragement to offend anyone involved because after all it is simply their job. The truth is that if there was something that didn't get out of my head after finishing it, it is that Columbia Pictures made a business decision. AnWith no encouragement to offend anyone involved because after all it is simply their job. The truth is that if there was something that didn't get out of my head after finishing it, it is that Columbia Pictures made a business decision. An unfortunate decision but a business decision nonetheless.

Why do I say this? Because beyond the seven long years that have passed since Fincher's ''The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo''. Columbia applied a cost cut. The budget is lower, the protagonists are cheaper and also the director is a lot cheaper.
Maybe they think that now the right earnings will come out and finally they can have a viable franchise in hands. It doesn't matter that quality gets sacrificed in between.

Everything that made the original stories great is gone here. The Girl in the Spider's Web is obviously a film more inclined to action where the character of Lisbeth Salander becomes a kind of James Bond even with a villain and secret organization included.
A more careless plot and evidently a less experienced director result in a film certainly entertaining but incredibly dimished.

And speaking about Claire Foy, she's honestly not a bad actress, but her work here is not even the shadow of what Rooney Mara achieved with the character. She couldn't even get a bit closer to what Noomi Rapace did and when the main character isn't up to the test, you know something is seriously wrong.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
RudygerDec 4, 2018
At least, we wanted a sequel to the Fincher's first film. I don't think this Jason Bourne clone will satisfy any fan of the books.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
rmcarthurNov 16, 2018
This film comes nowhere close to matching the quality of the earlier films about Lisbeth Salander. Those films were believable, artfully nuanced, carefully plotted and with strong characterizations. This one has a ridiculous mcguffin,This film comes nowhere close to matching the quality of the earlier films about Lisbeth Salander. Those films were believable, artfully nuanced, carefully plotted and with strong characterizations. This one has a ridiculous mcguffin, cardboard characters, plot holes, an impregnable fortress impregnated, escape proof structures escaped, impossible situations, astounding coincidences, and lastly, indifferent acting. The emphasis is on violence and action. What we really have here is just a poor knock off of the James Bond genre. Skip this one and buy or rent the originals. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
AndreDaMeaNov 25, 2018
This movie is a mixed of Watch Dogs and James Bond, that used the characters name from the Millenium Collection, forgetting about all perks and traits that make the Millenium Collection good in the first place.
As a stand alone movie is quite
This movie is a mixed of Watch Dogs and James Bond, that used the characters name from the Millenium Collection, forgetting about all perks and traits that make the Millenium Collection good in the first place.
As a stand alone movie is quite watchable, but if you're a fan of the books (1 to 3), or the previous movies, you will be dissapointed.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews